Harlem is famous for its jazz clubs - everybody knows that. But not as many people know Harlem is equally famous for its religious and gospel music at a handful of local churches. Taking a New York City gospel tour gets you a front-row seat at ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 461 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was fantastic. Informative, interesting and inspiring. Thanks so much for a great time.
Janet
Australia

Doing what: Harlem Wednesday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent guide and tour.

Doing what: Harlem Wednesday-Morning Gospel Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Nice ride and sympathy of the people of the gospel.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Great tour, saw more than I expected, would have liked to be at the church service a little longer though. ..

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

very good tour, nice experience. I had done it before and included a main street with wall paintings that we didn t see on this ocation. also a flee market at harlem and we visited a farm house. on this opportunity we did not see those things. I missed them for my children.
Besides, always extremely nice and diffent to see a Gosspel ceremony. all on time, good bus and good tourism guide.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The tour was worth it but there were some surprises. Our "soul food" brunch was not at all "Soul Food" but Asian fusion - however, it was excellent and very fresh, and saved me a bunch of calories. It was a buffet with good jazz music, but we could not get them to bring beverages - except the water. The next table of people on our tour also were not serviced for beverages. The guide was very knowledgeable but was not really from NYC, but all-in-all it was a good tour and I felt it was worthwhile and the guide made it fun.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This trip was superb, excellent guide and driver and the visit to the Bronx church was superb. I highly reccomend this tour to those who are interested.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Loved this tour. It was amazing. Harlem was not anything like I expected but the church and gospel service were wonderful. Loved the atmosphere and welcome from the congregation. An experience I will always remember. Shame was we were called out of the church and back on the bus much too quickly. Would have liked to stay longer.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Wonderful food great experience

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

A very nice tour, but I did expext to see The Apollo Theater from the inside.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Our guide made many thought provoking comments during the tour and was very knowledgeable about the area and its history. The coach was comfortable and air-conditioned which was needed in July! As we were the last tour group to arrive at the church for the service our seats did not have a great view, however we moved upstairs which was much better. Being able to join in with the choir at the final hymn was a marvellous experience.

Doing what: Harlem Wednesday-Morning Gospel Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Informative and interesting

Doing what: Harlem Wednesday-Morning Gospel Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Informative and interesting

Doing what: Harlem Wednesday-Morning Gospel Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

What a wonderful way to see a piece of Brooklyn in additional to finding out the history of how Gospel began. Be prepared for a great deal of walking in hot or cold weather. Wear a hat and sunglasses plus your sunscreen or umbrella and jacket. We ended up at the Brooklyn Tabernacle for a rousing, spirit- moving church service with the B. Tabernacle Choir. Really enjoyed this tour.

Doing what: New York Gospel Music Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

A great way to start a Sunday and experience gospel singing. Lots of fun and uplifting. Thumbs up!!

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message