Harlem is famous for its jazz clubs - everybody knows that. But not as many people know Harlem is equally famous for its religious and gospel music at a handful of local churches. Taking a New York City gospel tour gets you a front-row seat at ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 484 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Excellent a grat experience, made to feel very welcome.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Cecilia C
Argentina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

The tour was great. Our guide Damian not only explained us about Harlem, the Gospel service and the things we were seeing, but about New York city history and other emblematic places as well. It was a difficult day for driving in the city, due to the 42km Marathon, but the driver and the guide managed the situation very professionally and we had a great day!. The Sunday morning Gospel service was very interesting and amusing. The whole tour was an experience to open our minds. Don't miss it !!. Cecilia

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

We really enjoyed the gospel singing. The tour guide was well informed and there were no real glitches except that the bus couldn't get around a tight corner on which someone had parked illegally. The lady bus driver did an awesome job.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

The Gospel performance was phantasmic!

Doing what: Harlem Wednesday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The Harlem Gospel Tour was excellent. The vibe inspiring, buzzing and lots of fun. I really appreciated the fact that the purpose of the choir was for drug rehabilitation and that the members were voluntary. It was truly an uplifting experience and the soul food at Sylivia's was definitely worth the extra money. I even bought her Soul food cookbook! Thoroughly enjoyed this tour.

Doing what: Harlem Wednesday-Morning Gospel Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had a super day. The guide was really informative and made everybody feel at home.

We went to some interesting places before the service.

The service was vibrant and we were made to feel welcome. Such an uplifting experience.

Food at Sylvia's was terrific and plentiful. Chicken-fish-ribs- wonderful potato salad-rice.
Great singer there - again everybody was friendly .

Would recommend this trip to anybody.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent tour-excellent guide and lots of interesting facts. The Gospel church experience was amazing and we also were given an opportunity to do a little shopping.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very informative tour - began with a tour of Harlem and then a visit to a wonderful, welcoming Gospel church. Guide was excellent and very knowledgeable. Highly recommended,

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

WONDERFUL tour guide, Duane! Gave so much great info on not only Harlem but Manhattan and Bronx, too. The church was most welcoming and a very enjoyable hour. Architectural highlights in Harlem were wonderful. Excellent tour, would recommend to a city visitor.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was the highlight of my recent trip to NYC! The tour guide was very informative about all areas that we travelled through. The church that we were privilidged to visit, was wonderful. They welcomed us at a certain point in the service. The energy from the congregation was infectious. From the older members down to the youngest of the young their involvement in the service was absolute! I would definitely want to go back to this church on my own to enjoy the warmth of the congregation.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We loved this tour. Duane was very knowledgeable and interesting. We saw lots of sights of Harlem and many lovely areas and buildings. But the highlight of the tour was at the Great Universal Baptist Church service in the Bronx. It was a wonderful experience and everyone was so welcoming. I found the whole experience very humbling and emotional and would recommend a visit there to everyone.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Loved the tour, the guide was very informative and helpful. Loved the Gospel Tour and also enjoyed the tour around Harlem.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a great day--we loved every moment of it. It was great to get out of"downtown' and into an ara with real people. It was great to see the work being done by people like Magic Johnson to put pride into the community. The church service and choir were uplifting and we felt privileged to be a part of it. Lunch at Sylvias's was fabulous and a must-do at the end of the trip.

Doing what: Harlem Wednesday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Wonderful insight, fabulous Tour Guide, enjoyed Soul Food and entertainment.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

This was a worthwhile experience, not only for the music at the church but for showing us interesting places in Harlem and the Bronx.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message