• USD ($)
  • English
Harlem is famous for its jazz clubs - everybody knows that. But not as many people know Harlem is equally famous for its religious and gospel music at a handful of local churches. Taking a New York City gospel tour gets you a front-row seat at ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 446 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This trip was superb, excellent guide and driver and the visit to the Bronx church was superb. I highly reccomend this tour to those who are interested.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Great experience. The bus tour prior to the church service was very informative. Our guide, Damian, was very knowledgeable and had some great stories about the Harlem area.

The Church was extremely welcoming and the gospel singing was fantastic.

The only downside was the brunch afterwards. It was supposed to be a "soul food" brunch but what we got was not what our guide said it would be and not what we expected. The food was nice, but it was more a standard buffet as opposed to soul food.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

found this rather boring, not what I expected. and the church was so bloody cold sitting up top, and did not appreciate having to put money in a bowl, that should be included in the price...

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

my tour was all that i expected and more the tour guide was the most knowledgeable guide that I have every had on a tour, the tour itself was great, didn't see all of the stuff that was advertised but the tour i would recommend to anyone,

Doing what: Harlem Wednesday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This tour was amazing our guide (Glenn) was so knowledgeable as he grew up in Harlem and we walked around the neighbourhood and then attended a service. The Service was amazing and they included you all of us in it. It was fantastic, such amazing voices, we left on a high and enjoyed the lunch at Sivlia's for some soul fold. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Harlem Wednesday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was ineresting and a lot of fun

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our tour guide was extremely knowledgeable. The congregants welcomed us with open arms, and the singers and musicians were amazing!

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Very interesting, Damian our guide was full of interesting facts. He was enthusiastic and engaging.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was the highlight of our stay in New York, what a great experience, we ended up at the THESSALONIA WORSHIP CENTRE in the Bronx, we witnessed genuine worshippers going about their Sunday worship singing and talking about their community, at the end they all turned around and waved us off shaking a few hands along the way, if you are going to New York this trip is a must, my wife and I are not religious you will not be preached at but you will be invited to join in and ITS FUN.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This trip was amazing from start to finish our tour guide Darren was superb and the gospel choir were awesome

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Guides knowledge was fantastic, great insight into Harlem.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

I recommend for everyone. It is fantastic feeling to hear singing gospel. Driving by bus would be much more pleasant if the bus would be with open roof and we could sit outside.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Great experience!

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

We loved our trip to Harlem and the tour guide was excellent. The church we went to was rather empty so we didn't get the full experience however the people were lovely. Lunch was a bit rushed but atmosphere really good. All round we really enjoyed this side of New York.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

The only thing that I regret was that it wasn't possible to make any pictures.

Doing what: Harlem Wednesday-Morning Gospel Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message