Harlem is famous for its jazz clubs - everybody knows that. But not as many people know Harlem is equally famous for its religious and gospel music at a handful of local churches. Taking a New York City gospel tour gets you a front-row seat at ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 519 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Highly worth a visit. Tour guide was really knowledgeable and the full tour was extreme well organised

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was unexpectedly amazing. Harlem was totally unlike what I expected, very pretty, lots of interesting stuff. Singing in service was great but service very stuffy! No photos allowed. Soul food brunch was fabulous, amazing food, great atmosphere, had a fab time. The gospel singing here was out this world.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Align with description and our expectation

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

The church service was definitely the highlight. Everything I expected and more. Loved every moment of the happy congregation.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Damien the tour guide was great. He had lots of interesting stories.
The Salem Church we visited was disappointing. There were only 5 singers and the performance was not of the level we were expecting.
The soul lunch was excellent. Great food in a relaxed atmosphere and then live soul music that had everyone captivated.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

Not enough time at the church, the guide was fed up as her microphone didnt work . My previous trip with Tom at Ellis Island was so good but this trip seemed rushed with a not so happy guide. It was Mothers day and I went with my daughter felt like a flop.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Guide was excellent. Absolutely fascinating. Offbeat NYC at its best

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The tour of Harlem was quite informative. The church experience was fantastic!

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I loved this tour!! It was awesome and very well run. No problems whatsoever.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I had enjoyed very much the tour. The guide who knows many things about Harlem and NYC taught many valuable things for us.
I'm a Japanese who speaks English a little, but I'd been able to understand almost things what she was speaking. Easy to hear for everyone.
Highly recommended for Everyone!!!

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

SibellUK
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

it was a wonderful experience in such a beautiful day with a lovely local guide absolutely loved it!

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We where there with Easter. Magnificent play Love of God

Doing what: New York Gospel Music Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Excellent guide! Learned all bout the history of Harlem. The service was wonderful. Beautiful voices. I would recommend this to everyone.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was a fun way to spend a Sunday morning. The guide was very lively and she was full of information about the places we visited and the famous entertainers/revolutionary statesmen who lived in Harlem. We spent an hour at the Paradise Baptist church where the Pastor and the congregants were very welcoming to us. The choir was small but energetic and the tour members were encouraged to join in at various points. I highly recommend this tour to any adult who is interested in the history of Harlem and who enjoys Gospel singing.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Tour guide was fantastic. Church was ok.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

The info about where to meet was poor and the sign on the door was so small it was lucky we found the office in time. The tour guide was good, very informative but you don't see a huge amount. There were two actual stops where you could get off and then it was on to the Church Service, which for me was the highlight. I loved the Church and the people were very welcoming but the suggestion that we all made a 25 contribution to the Church seemed a bit steep. Surely the tour company make a contribution to be allowed to take groups in. Overall an OK trip if you want to expieriecne something different.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was fantastic. Very interesting stories by our tour guide. The visit to the church was wonderful , great singing and church service in a welcoming congregation . The lunch was excellent. I would definitely recommend this tour

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

I’ve been to NYC many times and wanted to do a gospel tour since long – yet never managed for lack of time. During my recent visit, just before Christmas, together with my wife I finally had a go. And then it all began with a mistake. I had booked the tour on a Sunday, but then realised that we would have to cut it short, as we needed to head for the airport for our transatlantic return flight earlier than I’d thought. I contacted VIATOR by mail about the options. VIATOR replied, first by mail and subsequently by phone, recommending me to change the booking to the Wednesday tour. I took their advice and appreciated the extra mile in the personal phone call.

In the morning we made the way to the 690 8th Avenue meeting point (not really easy to find – the office is located in the first floor and the street-level entrance is, diplomatically put, quite modest), but we were welcomed by some very nice people and the tour bus left shortly afterwards, taking us through Harlem, including a visit to the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture. And then the church service at the Greater Central Baptist Church on the corner of 5th Avenue and the 132nd street. The tour guide was brilliant – probably the best, I’ve ever encountered. He made everyone feel like a very special guest and was extremely well informed about the places and the history of New York and Harlem in particular.

The church service left a big impression on us. Most of the guests were like us – tourists. Yet it was not a show. It felt genuine, honest and heart-warming. It was simply a great experience.

The tour included a ‘brunch’. To be honest, we’d expected lunch bags or some simple food, so we were surprised to be taken to Sylvia's Soul Food restaurant on Lenox Avenue. I wouldn’t describe the food there as a culinary highlight, but portions were massive and the restaurant cosy and very interesting. A member of the Wood’s family entertained us at our table about the history of the place, and we will k

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

It was inspiring! The music was great and the people were friendly.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Absolutely fabulous tour - I would highly recommend it along with the 'soul food' lunch option!!

Doing what: Harlem Wednesday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Really enjoyed this tour and was made very welcome by green pastures church

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our guide Alvin was terrific. We learned so much about the history and architecture of Harlem. The gospel service was so uplifting and wonderful. A great way to wrap up our trip!

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Do it!! Go on this tour, you wont regret it!

My daughter and I went on this tour 15.2.14, the coldest Sunday morning ever. We went to the office to change our tickets, and to get instructions about the bus. The young people in the office where all kind, smiling and serviceminded. ( we even bought Shuttle back to JFK there).

Our guide, Duane, gave us informations about the buildings we passed, stories about celebritys, stories about "old and new" and was very well informed about Harlem and Manhattan. Even the story of why The Bronx are named The Bronx he told. He made everyone to feel special and welcome. Thank you Duane for that!

Our visit in the church was very special experience. The song and music, where as we expected. Great! I got tears in my eyes when all members in church one by one, came, took our hand looked us in our eyes and welcomed us.....

After church we went to Sylvias Soul Food Restaurant, to eat brunch, off course there was song all the time, - just like we have seen on TV. And again: An excellent experience!

Do it! Take the tour, you get an experience for life :0))

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

The tour of Harlem and the Gospel Service in the Bronx were excellent. The Soul Brunch was Ok but less good value for money as the food was less than outstanding and the music session quite short only about 5 numbers.
Chris from UK

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Interesting. Guide provided fun and informative information about the tour and the area. Would have rated more highly if had been more seeing and less church service

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message