1. MOMA The world's premier modern art gallery, MoMA (Museum of Modern Art) provides visitors with a master class in modernist and contemporary art. The collection numbers more than 150,000 works of art, along with a sizable film and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1091 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was fantastic. Very interesting stories by our tour guide. The visit to the church was wonderful , great singing and church service in a welcoming congregation . The lunch was excellent. I would definitely recommend this tour

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

I’ve been to NYC many times and wanted to do a gospel tour since long – yet never managed for lack of time. During my recent visit, just before Christmas, together with my wife I finally had a go. And then it all began with a mistake. I had booked the tour on a Sunday, but then realised that we would have to cut it short, as we needed to head for the airport for our transatlantic return flight earlier than I’d thought. I contacted VIATOR by mail about the options. VIATOR replied, first by mail and subsequently by phone, recommending me to change the booking to the Wednesday tour. I took their advice and appreciated the extra mile in the personal phone call.

In the morning we made the way to the 690 8th Avenue meeting point (not really easy to find – the office is located in the first floor and the street-level entrance is, diplomatically put, quite modest), but we were welcomed by some very nice people and the tour bus left shortly afterwards, taking us through Harlem, including a visit to the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture. And then the church service at the Greater Central Baptist Church on the corner of 5th Avenue and the 132nd street. The tour guide was brilliant – probably the best, I’ve ever encountered. He made everyone feel like a very special guest and was extremely well informed about the places and the history of New York and Harlem in particular.

The church service left a big impression on us. Most of the guests were like us – tourists. Yet it was not a show. It felt genuine, honest and heart-warming. It was simply a great experience.

The tour included a ‘brunch’. To be honest, we’d expected lunch bags or some simple food, so we were surprised to be taken to Sylvia's Soul Food restaurant on Lenox Avenue. I wouldn’t describe the food there as a culinary highlight, but portions were massive and the restaurant cosy and very interesting. A member of the Wood’s family entertained us at our table about the history of the place, and we will k

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Passeio muito divertido e instrutivo.Roteiro interessante.Pizza deliciosa.

Doing what: New York Pizza Tour to Brooklyn and Coney Island

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

It was inspiring! The music was great and the people were friendly.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great tour, pizza was delicious . Our tour guide was fantastic, knew a lot about Brooklyn
and had a great sense of humour.
We would definitely recommend doing this tour.

Doing what: New York Pizza Tour to Brooklyn and Coney Island

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Absolutely fabulous tour - I would highly recommend it along with the 'soul food' lunch option!!

Doing what: Harlem Wednesday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Really enjoyed this tour and was made very welcome by green pastures church

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great tour, Paula was a wonderful guide. We were very well informed about Brooklyn and looking forward to more tours with A Slice of Brooklyn Bus Tours next time were in NY.
Mahattan? Fudgettaboudit!!!

Doing what: New York Pizza Tour to Brooklyn and Coney Island

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our guide Alvin was terrific. We learned so much about the history and architecture of Harlem. The gospel service was so uplifting and wonderful. A great way to wrap up our trip!

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

My favourite of all the tours we did in New York. Better than I thought as I was just doing this one to placate my hungry 16 year old. We learned a lot of Brooklyn history (fun and interesting) ate great pizza and got wonderful photo ops, especially of the Brooklyn bridge and Manhattan skyline. Our guide was well informed, amusing and endearing. Tell your friends!!

Doing what: New York Pizza Tour to Brooklyn and Coney Island

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was a fantastic tour. Took my teenage son, and he wasn't expecting to enjoy it so much but we both loved it. Tony is an amazing guide - entertaining, informative, and it's hard to believe he does so many, he was so fresh and on the ball. The movie clips were slickly done, the pizzas great (we loved Grimaldis best) and so nice to have an expert guide show us around places we might not have visited on our own, on this short trip to NYC. Thoroughly recommend! Will be writing him up for The Express newspaper

Doing what: New York Pizza Tour to Brooklyn and Coney Island

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Do it!! Go on this tour, you wont regret it!

My daughter and I went on this tour 15.2.14, the coldest Sunday morning ever. We went to the office to change our tickets, and to get instructions about the bus. The young people in the office where all kind, smiling and serviceminded. ( we even bought Shuttle back to JFK there).

Our guide, Duane, gave us informations about the buildings we passed, stories about celebritys, stories about "old and new" and was very well informed about Harlem and Manhattan. Even the story of why The Bronx are named The Bronx he told. He made everyone to feel special and welcome. Thank you Duane for that!

Our visit in the church was very special experience. The song and music, where as we expected. Great! I got tears in my eyes when all members in church one by one, came, took our hand looked us in our eyes and welcomed us.....

After church we went to Sylvias Soul Food Restaurant, to eat brunch, off course there was song all the time, - just like we have seen on TV. And again: An excellent experience!

Do it! Take the tour, you get an experience for life :0))

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Takeshi I
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Absolutely outstanding. We got The Boss Scott for this tour and what he does not know about New York Pizza is not worth knowing. The three pizzerias we went to were Lombardi's, Prince St and Famous Joes, all different but all delicious. With plenty of detail and a detour to the oven repairers / manufacturers on the way, this tour is a must-do if you have any interest in New York Pizza. Bravo, Scott !

Doing what: Pizza Walking Tour of Manhattan

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

The tour of Harlem and the Gospel Service in the Bronx were excellent. The Soul Brunch was Ok but less good value for money as the food was less than outstanding and the music session quite short only about 5 numbers.
Chris from UK

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Great fun and good pizza

Doing what: New York Pizza Tour to Brooklyn and Coney Island

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message