From New York City, the mighty executive, legislative and judicial institutions of the nation’s capital make a fascinating day trip. Once you arrive in Washington DC, head straight for Capitol Hill, where you’ll witness the Capitol itself as well as ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 939 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

comfortable bus ride
stops at the right places
due to some extra time, we were also taken to see the pentagon though only from the bus so we could tick another spot on our to see list.
only one thing... the itinerary was not clear before the trip so we had no idea we were going to see the madamme tussauds museum and the air and space museum which we had already covered in new york .
the guides were well versed and we were lucky to have 2 guides english speaking and hebrew speaking so got to hear them both in our trip.

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We really appreciate this tour. Our guide, Maya, she knew a lot and was interesting to listen to. Even the two teenager 18 yrs thought it was a good trip.

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

We enjoyed the day, even though it was a long day, made longer by a minor accident with the bus as we were leaving Washington. Our guide was great and explained everything well in English and German. We got to see so many sights and felt it was money well spent.

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

very good trip and excellent tour guide will recommend it.

Doing what: 2-Day Washington DC, Philadelphia and Amish Country Tour from New York

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

This was a great tour and covered all the attractions. Worth doing.

Doing what: 2-Day Washington DC, Philadelphia and Amish Country Tour from New York

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

Very, very rushed. More time could've been spent at the monuments instead of the museum

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2015

This was supposed to be an 'English language' tour, however, I was surprised to see that the tour guide's native language was not English but Hebrew. This would be ok if he was fluent in English but the problem is that he wasn't. Further, he wasn't the politest tour guide starting with not knowing what to do with my printed voucher to reserving seats at the front of the bus for Hebrew speaking persons at the expense of others, which brings me to the other point around preferential treatment towards the Hebrew speaking customers. His narrative also seemed to be very opinionated to the point of being uncomfortable, for example, pointing out the DuPont site which could be a potential terror target and the fallacy of gun control laws! Not something that I would expect to hear on a tour. I can go on about this individual but I think you get the message. The cherry on top was the fact that he explicitly asked for 20 per person as a customary tip at the end of the tour. Anyway, as far as the tour goes, I think it's probably best to do away with the Madame Tussaud's visit and add some additional time at another monument or at the Capitol. The bus was comfortable and the stop at the halfway point was appropriate. Overall, it would be a good tour if not for the tour guide.

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

A big day from New York, chock full of interest, with outstanding drivers and guides.

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

good guide, always interesting, everything as advertised, more thought should be given to lunch stop mcdonalds was the only option

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

If you only have limited vacation time whilst in NYC, and would like to visit the capital, then this tour is a must. It's a full on day, but you have plenty of chance to rest on the comfortable bus. Our guide was very informative and answered any questions.

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Excellent but felt very rushed at times, I understand there a lot to fit in but maybe leave out Madame Tusauds which did not allow time for photo's to be taken etc

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

A good day to see the sights. Our tour guide gave us the option of the Smithosian Institute of flight or the Art Gallery and this was good....not everybody likes the flight museum. The day goes fast and the only time you really notice the distance is on the way home....as you've seen it all. Worth it if you want to see some of Washington DC.

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

Was a good day out , guide was very knowledgable

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

It was a very nice trip when it comes to the places you visit, however I think that going to the wax museum is not relevant for such an interesting trip, plus they looked us to a place to buy souvenirs were you can see that they give a percentage from the sales to tour guide and driver, it looks too commercial!

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

This was not the best I have ever been on. The tour was late starting and since it is such a big day this was not good., There are too many things packed into this day and not enough time to enjoy each attraction. Leave one or two things out. The wax museum is a waste of time. Spend more time at the White House and the war memorial. The Science and Aviation Museum are great but not enough time to enjoy it as you have to fit in lunch. The guide was not good and could not get his right from his left when pointing out views. As some people are always late getting back to the bus it cuts down time on the next attraction - waste of time and very late getting back to NY. Cut down the attractions and spend more time at the worthwhile places. Needs better organisation to start on time.

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Absolutely fantastic day trip to Washington. Would recommend this day out. Tour guide rep Ben was brilliant, well done.

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I couldn't make this tour due a ittle accident I had. But thank you for the refund again

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Trip was great. Guides were helpful and informative. Managed to see a lot in the given time slot if on a short visit to NY City but also want to see a little of Washington DC, Philly and Amish Country. Would definitely recommend. Thanks heaps and also for getting us back to NYC at a reasonably early time of night.

Doing what: 2-Day Washington DC, Philadelphia and Amish Country Tour from New York

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tour and tour guide were very good. Was a great day out! Would recommend both tour and tour guide to anybody.

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Loved the tour but was disappointed in our tour guide. It would have been better if we had an audio headset. We were on our own and did not get an explanation of our sites. What you see if well worth the long bus ride there and back. Overall I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great trip! Awesome way to see the DC when you only have a day spare

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

Dean W
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tour guide was excellent, very knowledgable. really enjoyed the day!

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This your was great. A relaxing and stress free way to see Washington. The guide was excellent and very informative.

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The trip was very good, very well narrated and visited the major monuments on the city.

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message