From New York City, the mighty executive, legislative and judicial institutions of the nation’s capital make a fascinating day trip. Once you arrive in Washington DC, head straight for Capitol Hill, where you’ll witness the Capitol itself as well as ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 800 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Had such an informative day and it was well worth the money

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Perfect organization, highly professional guide, excellent driver. Sights were very impressive. Tussaud museum was too much fun.

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Firstly I'd say this tour is well worth doing although there is some negatives to it too, the day starts at 6.30am everyone should be at the meeting point by then but we had to wait for 2 guests who were 45 minutes late and didn't even apologise, our guide was Sharon, she was definitely the least friendliest guide we had on our whole 10 days in New York kind of spoilt it a bit, they say wifi is available on the bus but that's only if it works and it didn't it was awful and you're travelling for hours so that also was a let down, when you eventually reach Washington though it is lovely, you begin at the memorial for the war dead and pause to hear some interesting facts, you can see the Jefferson Memorial also as it stands so tall, you then move onto the Abraham Lincoln statue and if you look closely you'll see the actual step Martin Luther King did his famous speech, that was lovely and the views are amazing there too, you carry on in that area for about 20 odd minutes before moving onto Madame tussards for a quick photo with the obamas etc and then go to the White house, you will be surprised when you see the building but it is amazing, next stop smithsonian air museum for lunch and tour for an hour or so, that was ok before ending the day at Capitol Hill. Leaving there you depart on the long journey back to New York, you do stop at Deleware servive station for a quick 20 minutes break going/returning, we didn't get back to New York until 10.30 pm which really is far too late but traffic was awful, they do expect a tip of about $25 per family although they say it's optional, if our guide had been nicer and less patronising when everyone made it back on the bus on time she would've got a bigger tip than I left, saying that though Washington is lovely to visit

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

Lee M
New Zealand

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

A great way if you are pushed for time. Get to see the things you need to see in Washington a long bus ride but plenty of food and toilet stops and ended with a movie on the bus. I would have rather gone for a few days at my own pace but as mentioned if you have a spare day in New York this is a must do!

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

Shane
Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed the trip albeit not long in Washington. Worthwhile going there for a sneak peak. Just a very long bus ride.

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

I would have liked to know the outline of the day, in writing, upon boarding the bus, or even more general information BEFOREHAND; ie how many food and drink stops, where and when, that the bus would have a toilet on board, which sites would we visit in Washington, how much walking is involved, that wearing a hat and taking some water is recommended in order to walk around the city in the heat. I realise that several things must be flexible, but your online information stated none of these. Our tour leader, RayAnne (?) did a good job as we went, but I felt frustrated and unprepared beforehand. I enjoyed the day, as it was the only chance I had to see a bit of Washington while we were in New York.

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

The only good things about this tour was the tour guide (very friendly and knowledgable) and the places itself which you are going to visit.

Disastrous organization between the busses by moving us to a rest place then switching busses and keeping us on the street for 45 mins waiting for the bus. Last but not least, we took 5 hours to get back to NYC after the tour was finished due to clumsiness of the driver like it was his first time driving on the road.

It is worth going, I enjoyed the places I went to, but the organization and the drivers selection is awful.

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Philadelphia and Washington DC were fabulous. Great tour with a great itinerary, would absolutely recommend. I didn't know that I would be on multi-lingual tour (German/Hebrew) and was one of only 3 English speaking tourists. I had to ask a number of time for English translation, which was frustrating. Our guide seemed uninterested in his job.

Doing what: 2-Day Washington DC, Philadelphia and Amish Country Tour from New York

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Could have been better paced though so you get to see more.

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The whole tour was very well organized. We managed to visit all the attractions in schedule, there were no delays. The tour guide, Stefano, was very nice. He spoke italian for the whole group, and explained everything in enghlish once more just for me and my friend. This is the perfect trip if you have limited time and want to see both cities. Just enough time to visit the most interesting places. The hotel was old and needs a lot of renovation,but its ok for one night. Thanks to the whole team,the experience was really worthed!!!

Doing what: 2-Day Washington DC, Philadelphia and Amish Country Tour from New York

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

A great way to see Washington DC if you have limited time. We saw all the sights.

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message