From New York City, the mighty executive, legislative and judicial institutions of the nation’s capital make a fascinating day trip. Once you arrive in Washington DC, head straight for Capitol Hill, where you’ll witness the Capitol itself as well as ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1014 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

rod0849

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

The trip was delayed by an accident that backed up traffic. The bus driver had to find an alternate route which delayed us about an hour. From there on the trip, the stops, were rushed. I was always having to catch up with the group especially when I looked up a friends name at the Vietnam memorial. I was very uncomfortable being told all day that we had to move on.

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

Lynne G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

What a wonderful day in DC. Scott was extremely patient with my 80 year old parents for this day trip from New York. Since my parents had never been to DC, I wanted them to see it all. Somehow we did, in just one day!

Doing what: Private Washington DC Day Trip from New York

angela m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I have to rate this tour 10 out of 10 and whilst it was a very long day, it was well planned with some nice comfortable breaks and a very informative guide. The transportation was excellent and very comfortable and we left right on time and arrived back to base pretty well on schedule. The tour was wonderful and the Nationals capital held so many points of interest and history. For a day trip we could not be more happy. The only comment I shall make is the start location, some people got confused with tour operator and Greyhound and those people were directed to the main bus station and only just arrived for the 7am start. Please thank all concerned. Angela and Stephanie

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

Gregory S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our tour and our guide Richard was fantastic- very knowledgeable and helpful. We didn't think so much could be fitted into two days but everything was timed to perfection.
We would certainly recommend this tour!
Greg and Lynne Smith
Sydney Australia
March 2016

Doing what: 2-Day Washington DC, Philadelphia and Amish Country Tour from New York

WAN HEI NATALIA C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A great way to go about Washington DC in a day's trip, albeit a tiring long day, from 7 in the morning till midnight upon return. A good trip to see everything in DC. The seafood place at Baltimore on the return trip was a pleasant bonus. Overall an excellent trip conducted by a most professional and friendly tour guide.

Doing what: Private Washington DC Day Trip from New York

Virpi A

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Everything else was nice except the choise of film on the way back. Other tour quide seemed to want to show that particular film and the choise of film definitely was not ok for kids omboard - and inluding myself, not all adults like such violent movies. But on the positive side, the portuguese speaking guide was very professional, presented everything very well, and was nice to listen to her.

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

Juliana K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Since we're in New York, figured we should do a quick day trip to Washington. It was well organised and while there were three languages going on to cater to the different tourists, it didn't feel like there was any lag. The guide was clear and enthusiastic and we learnt lots about NY City, as well as the other cities en route to Washington. It was also very well managed in terms of time.

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

josepp

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

That was a amazing trip, all details were perfectly planned and scott was very close and nice with us during trip, there were no problem and we receive a lot of information and data to take advantage from all place we visit

Doing what: Private Washington DC Day Trip from New York

RexShim

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Our tour guide was Joseph, he was very professional and extremely well organized, we were able to visit all these main places in Washington on time, weather was awesome we were very lucky, bus was comfy tour was awesome. Highly recommended if you and #39;re visiting New York

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

Angela

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Muito bom. Adorei o Tour.

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

garymarsh6 United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We were on a mixed coach of German and English speaking tourists for our day trip to Washington. We had a great day although four hour drive there and four hours drive back may be a bit much for some people. We actually had a great time. Washington was superb we got to see all what we expected as described in the tour. The Capitol was partially covered in Scaffolding but it was a magnificent sight walking right up close, the White house was a bit underwhelming and small, Madame Tussaud's was interesting but the Lincoln memorial the reflection lake and Vietnam war memorial were magnificent. The Smithsonian air and space museum was brilliant. We had a fun day. The tour guides were wonderful and filled us in on historical and up to date facts. The two bus drivers were magnificent drivers and we felt quite safe in their hands. The bus stopped every two hours so it was quite manageable and the coach was comfortable. We thought it highly amusing as the film on the way back to New York was the Enigma code. I would definitely recommend this tour as it was a most enjoyable day trip. An added bonus was the wonderful cherry blossom Peak.

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

Christopher M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2016

The tour guide did not seem to know a lot about Washington DC.

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

Bong P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Highly recommended. From NY, We went to DC after blizzard, lots of snow in the areas but still very exciting and unforgettable. the tour guide shares a lot of information during the tour and really helps a lot. Keep it up!

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

Brendon D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Fantastic.....loved it....

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

Muhammad K

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Well planned.
Very knowledgeable tour guide..
A definite must for a snapshot of us history and government

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

cmdbautista

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The weather was not so good that day, it was raining the entire day but it was just an amazing tour I would say. The tour was great with a very good driver and a very knowledgeable tour guide. We covered all those listed in the itinerary with just enough time to take pictures of every famous monuments and landmarks. Overall, it was an excellent and wonderful tour. I would definitely recommend to everyone who want to see and explore Washington DC in a day.

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

Brett P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This tour is well worth doing if you only have a short time to spend in Washington. Our tour guide Scott was absolutely fantastic and very knowledgeable. We got to see so many sights in one day. The car we travelled in the was very comfortable and spacious for a family of five. Highly recommended!!

Doing what: Private Washington DC Day Trip from New York

natasha.nadesan South Africa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Lovely day trip to DC, it covered all the highlights. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable, the bus was very comfortable. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

MELANIE M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

long ride on the bus but worth the trip, excellent tour guides and bus driver very informative worth the money,

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

Andrew F

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

If you want to see DC monuments in one day, then this is the way to do it. The Avenue, the White House, the Capitol Building and the Air and Space museum are all excellent. Unfortunately you'll have to go to Madame Tussauds and the food options aren't that great in the places the bus stops. The bus itself is nice and has free wifi.

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

Mrs A H

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

This trip was well worth while. Neither myself nor my friends had been in Washington before and decided to take a day out our New York stay to visit. The bus trip was well organised and left NY at around 0715 hrs. The lady tour guide made the 4 hr journey very interesting by advising us of historical events and places of interest on the way. We stopped en route at a huge service area in Delaware for refreshments and, thankfully, it wasn't too busy, as I can imagine it must get packed at certain times of the year. In Washington, the tour stopped at the Lincoln Memorial, The White House, The Capital Building, National Space Museum, and Madame Tussauds, and also passed by the Ford Theatre where Lincoln was shot, and the FBI building. We had more than enough time at all these venues to have a look around and take photos. We arrived back in NY at around 2100 hrs. Enjoyed it very much.

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

Martin J

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

A long day, which covered a good deal

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

Julie A

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2016

Wouldn't recommend going by bus. We were caught in traffic both ways and had little time in Washington. We're unable to go to Capitol Building due to a demonstration but there was no substitute. Also felt the guide didn't know anything more than the buildings, should have been aware of the demonstration. Also didn't like the hard sell for a tip

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

whaytee

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

A very good long day trip and highly recommended...Bruno is a legend...

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message