From New York City, the mighty executive, legislative and judicial institutions of the nation’s capital make a fascinating day trip. Once you arrive in Washington DC, head straight for Capitol Hill, where you’ll witness the Capitol itself as well as ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1000 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Bong P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Highly recommended. From NY, We went to DC after blizzard, lots of snow in the areas but still very exciting and unforgettable. the tour guide shares a lot of information during the tour and really helps a lot. Keep it up!

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

cmdbautista

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The weather was not so good that day, it was raining the entire day but it was just an amazing tour I would say. The tour was great with a very good driver and a very knowledgeable tour guide. We covered all those listed in the itinerary with just enough time to take pictures of every famous monuments and landmarks. Overall, it was an excellent and wonderful tour. I would definitely recommend to everyone who want to see and explore Washington DC in a day.

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

Brett P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This tour is well worth doing if you only have a short time to spend in Washington. Our tour guide Scott was absolutely fantastic and very knowledgeable. We got to see so many sights in one day. The car we travelled in the was very comfortable and spacious for a family of five. Highly recommended!!

Doing what: Private Washington DC Day Trip from New York

natasha.nadesan South Africa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Lovely day trip to DC, it covered all the highlights. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable, the bus was very comfortable. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

MELANIE M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

long ride on the bus but worth the trip, excellent tour guides and bus driver very informative worth the money,

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

Andrew F

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

If you want to see DC monuments in one day, then this is the way to do it. The Avenue, the White House, the Capitol Building and the Air and Space museum are all excellent. Unfortunately you'll have to go to Madame Tussauds and the food options aren't that great in the places the bus stops. The bus itself is nice and has free wifi.

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

Mrs A H

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

This trip was well worth while. Neither myself nor my friends had been in Washington before and decided to take a day out our New York stay to visit. The bus trip was well organised and left NY at around 0715 hrs. The lady tour guide made the 4 hr journey very interesting by advising us of historical events and places of interest on the way. We stopped en route at a huge service area in Delaware for refreshments and, thankfully, it wasn't too busy, as I can imagine it must get packed at certain times of the year. In Washington, the tour stopped at the Lincoln Memorial, The White House, The Capital Building, National Space Museum, and Madame Tussauds, and also passed by the Ford Theatre where Lincoln was shot, and the FBI building. We had more than enough time at all these venues to have a look around and take photos. We arrived back in NY at around 2100 hrs. Enjoyed it very much.

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

Martin J

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

A long day, which covered a good deal

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

Julie A

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2016

Wouldn't recommend going by bus. We were caught in traffic both ways and had little time in Washington. We're unable to go to Capitol Building due to a demonstration but there was no substitute. Also felt the guide didn't know anything more than the buildings, should have been aware of the demonstration. Also didn't like the hard sell for a tip

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

whaytee

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

A very good long day trip and highly recommended...Bruno is a legend...

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

ALWYN

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Excellent tour with a very excellent guide.

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

Trudi T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This is a must to see all the monuments ... Abe in the large chair etc etc

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

Jackie D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great tour for a day trip. You get to see all the famous landmarks with enough time to spend at each one. Highly recommended if you only have a day to spare to visit.

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

Kai Lun L

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Good overview of Washington DC in a short day - I opted for the Mandarin Tour for my wife's benefit. Mayan the english guide was very informative and Clare mandarin guide tried her best to update us to her best knowledge/ability.

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

Nina

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

We did this tour as we only had 7 days in NYC and wanted to see Washington but didn't have time to stay overnight/fly etc.

This tour was good but be warned it's a very very long day/night. The drive to Washington from NYC isn't bad and the guide talked along the way about American history and about the places we were driving through.

Washington itself itself is beautiful and unbelievably clean. Our guide was very knowledgeable and our tour was both in Italian and English. We saw three war memorials, The White House , Capitol building and spent some time in the museum. We also saw the Lincoln memorial. This tour does well to try and fit so many important sites into limited time.

The only part we didn't like is the bus trip back took approx 5 hours which can't be helped by the guide or the driver but it was a long day. Worth it though if you're short on time!

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

Betty Heinz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Scott was our driver and guide on this Washington DC Day Trip from NYC. Pickup time was early at 5 a.m. from our hotel at Times Square. He was there ahead of time, all smiles and welcoming. The tour was well organised and Scott was a very good guide. He gave us sufficient time to stop and see things and did not rush us. On the way back to New York, we were caught in traffic but Scott was very patient. Dspite running late, he still drove us to Phillips Seafood in Maryland for dinner. There was a bit of extra road to travel but he didn't mind, just because we indicated in the morning that he wanted seafood for dinner. We appreciated his professionalism and good company. WE totally enjoyed the tour. Without Scott, we would not have been to see so much of DC in one day. We highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Private Washington DC Day Trip from New York

Peter D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent trip with great tour leader and very good drivers and coach. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

Miriam K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We really enjoyed the trip to Washington... Guide was great! We visited the Whitehouse and then got photos taken with ex presidents in Madam Tussauds which was great... the Monuments were beautiful and the trip to the Air Space museum was very good.... Washington is full of museums and would be worth spending several days there but we were glad to see what we did in one day.... worth doing

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

Jan Gerrit S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Perfect! It was great that Arlington Cemetery was added to the program.

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

Jinty

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Albeit our tour starting early......Had to be at meeting point at 6.30 am for bus leaving at 7.00 am, would thoroughly recommend this tour.
Our guide Jutta, was a hive of knowledge of USA, in particular, dates, famous names and places.
She was superb, speaking English and German.
Our day, unfortunately had some rain, but that didn't dampen our tour.
Korean War Memorial, Vietnam War Memorial, made even more poignant by being the day before Veterans Day. We saw some Veterans laying wreaths in memory of those lost.
Lincoln Memorial, Washington Memorial, White House, Madame Tussauds, where my daughter enjoyed dressing up in different outfits and ending with the Smithsonian Institute, Space Travel.
Well worth visiting. Great guide. An asset to the company.

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

John D

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

While the weather was terrible the tour was great. I would have appreciated time to visit Arlington Cemetery.
Otherwise all good, thanks

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

Julianne D

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

A very good informative tour. Really enjoyable and fitted a lot into the day. Early morning and late night home but was a good day

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

Nathasia T

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

visited the places we wanted to see so mission accomplished! very knowledgeable guide and enough bathroom breaks.

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message