From New York City, the mighty executive, legislative and judicial institutions of the nation’s capital make a fascinating day trip. Once you arrive in Washington DC, head straight for Capitol Hill, where you’ll witness the Capitol itself as well as ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1042 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

ANDREW B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

fantastic day out....so much to see and the guide was really informative ... well worth the money

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

Mamikie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Wow, what a trip. Stephano was wonderful, extremely knowledgeable and funny. Washington was packed as it was Memorial weekend, but he managed to time everything precisely so we got the most benefit of our tour. A huge thank you to Frank our driver also. Awesome team. This trip was worth it.

Doing what: 2-Day Washington DC, Philadelphia and Amish Country Tour from New York

Rosinwien Austria

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This really is a long trip. It took more than an hour to get out of Washington so we got back to New York at 10 pm. The regular stops for food and restrooms made the journey manageable . The guide was helpful and very knowledgeable . We saw so much and had time to explore some sites alone. Very interesting overview of American history . Worth doing despite the long bus ride.

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

Ken

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a long day, about 14 hours, but they did a great job getting you to DC, seeing many of the major sites, and back to NYC. The bus was comfortable with good viewing options. Two tour guides provided commentary to support 4 different languages English, French, German, and Mandarin. The tour did not provide food but stops were made to allow passengers to purchase food and use restrooms. Highly recommended if you're staying in NYC and dedicate a day to get a taste of DC.

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

Keith M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Thoroughly enjoyable long day but saw everything we wanted. The guides and bus drivers were very friendly and provided enough information without going into too much detail - would definitely recommend this trip to others.

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

Peter S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We both really enjoyed the trip.

Bus was comfortable, guides were excellent.

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

Nenita S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

Roald O

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

god dag, god tur. anbefales! :-

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

Amy R

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Great tour to see both cities in a short amount of time. Victoria our leader was brilliant, told us all the history to know. Unfortunately there were 2 leaders as the group had 4 different nationalities.. the other leader Jose / Joseph wasn't as pleasant or friendly as Victoria. Would recommend the trip if you don't mind that its not an all English speaking tour.

Doing what: 2-Day Washington DC, Philadelphia and Amish Country Tour from New York

ozgurcagin

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

We had a caring and resourceful tour guide. Yet the tour is so short within Washington. You spend more than 8 hours on the road. 1 hour at Smithsonian Air and Space Museum was for only lunch. No time to see any part of Smithsonian. Ofcourse you know these when you decide for a day trip to Washington. For a glimpse of DC, this tour is OK, because you see the White House,Capitol Building and the memorials each max. 15 mins. That's all.

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

A C K

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Great trip. Seen a lot. Enough rest moments. Very great guide, JONATHAN! We love him.
Next time another trip please wit Jonathan.
One remark: Madam Tussauds has to be back in the program!

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

Albert J Moore M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

This is a great way to visit Washington for a day from NY when one has limited time. Washington is now on my list should I ever be back in the US for a stay of a few days.

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

NORMA G

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

Liping Iris L

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

Shane B

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

A very long day left a 7 am were back in New York at 11 pm. We had enough time at each site however it is a long bus trip.

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

Bev B Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Great for first timers to DC giving a good overview of the highlights .
Two hours for lunch break at the Smithsonsian was hardly time to scratch the surface and felt rushed.
A very long day from NYC.
Maybe a two day trip, incorporating more time to explore would work

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

josepm

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

The meeting place at 777 is quite chaotic with passengers for all the morning trips languishing inside without a decent lounge to be seated. waiting and to be properly attended to. Instead, travellers experience like a marketplace, with men in blue shouting in several languages. Despite the online bookings made, there is confusion among the tour guides on the list they are given and the onus appears to be on the traveller to find the right guide and bus. Seating arrangements were unsatisfactory to begin with, as a group needing commentary in Japanese, were not seated together and neither of the two guides knew who had the responsibility to sort this out. The tour guide did his best but someone with more understanding of American history with the right style of delivery and interpersonal skills, would have made this trip more rewarding.

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

John R

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

I took my mom on this one, she's 72 and gets around fine, but these tour guides were more like cattle drivers and we were the cattle. They ran us like cattle through Arlington cemetery at a brisk walk that a borderline jog. This was sad cause my Mom was not the only older person that went on this tour. Some of the older people did not go on all the stops cause the tour guides were rushing everybody through everything. Oh if your an American be prepared to be treated like a second class citizen, yes back of the bus and the tour guide was not attentive to us as they were to the other foreign tourist. For instance the Amish horse carriage ride the father and son from Israel was able to set in the front with the driver and talk with the driver, but since we're American go to the back of the carriage. This was really bad, and I would not do it again.

Doing what: 2-Day Washington DC, Philadelphia and Amish Country Tour from New York

Noelene G

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

The train trip was OK but the bus was terrible. The drivers were surly and the first one did not give us earphones. When we got upstairs a passenger went down and got them for us When we got off for the Whitehouse and returned we waited over an hour for our bus while 2 of the opposition buses came along. On the whole very disappointing. I had been before but my friend hadn't

Doing what: Independent Day Trip to Washington DC from New York

Naubrey_88 Bermuda

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was my first time trying something like this and it ended up beinthe best day trip ever! Even though the bus ride was long it was expected. The rest stop helped out alot with grabbing a bite and stretching your legs. Saw all attractions which was amazing. Plenty of time at all locations. Tour guides let you have your space and explore different places also. Took tons of pictures! Very humorous tour guides, they did a good job speaking multi languages. The bus was Very comfortable. Would recommend this tour to anyone who is in NYC for a few days and wants to do something different. Already planning my next tour! Thanks Viator!

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

Janaina M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I love it!Great experience!The tour guide Andres is very kind and have a great knowledge about the place.

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

mauriciocacao

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excursão excelente. Recomendo.

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

rod0849

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

The trip was delayed by an accident that backed up traffic. The bus driver had to find an alternate route which delayed us about an hour. From there on the trip, the stops, were rushed. I was always having to catch up with the group especially when I looked up a friends name at the Vietnam memorial. I was very uncomfortable being told all day that we had to move on.

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message