From New York City, the mighty executive, legislative and judicial institutions of the nation’s capital make a fascinating day trip. Once you arrive in Washington DC, head straight for Capitol Hill, where you’ll witness the Capitol itself as well as ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 793 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Had such an informative day and it was well worth the money

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

Lee M
New Zealand

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

A great way if you are pushed for time. Get to see the things you need to see in Washington a long bus ride but plenty of food and toilet stops and ended with a movie on the bus. I would have rather gone for a few days at my own pace but as mentioned if you have a spare day in New York this is a must do!

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

Shane
Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed the trip albeit not long in Washington. Worthwhile going there for a sneak peak. Just a very long bus ride.

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

I would have liked to know the outline of the day, in writing, upon boarding the bus, or even more general information BEFOREHAND; ie how many food and drink stops, where and when, that the bus would have a toilet on board, which sites would we visit in Washington, how much walking is involved, that wearing a hat and taking some water is recommended in order to walk around the city in the heat. I realise that several things must be flexible, but your online information stated none of these. Our tour leader, RayAnne (?) did a good job as we went, but I felt frustrated and unprepared beforehand. I enjoyed the day, as it was the only chance I had to see a bit of Washington while we were in New York.

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The whole tour was very well organized. We managed to visit all the attractions in schedule, there were no delays. The tour guide, Stefano, was very nice. He spoke italian for the whole group, and explained everything in enghlish once more just for me and my friend. This is the perfect trip if you have limited time and want to see both cities. Just enough time to visit the most interesting places. The hotel was old and needs a lot of renovation,but its ok for one night. Thanks to the whole team,the experience was really worthed!!!

Doing what: 2-Day Washington DC, Philadelphia and Amish Country Tour from New York

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

A great way to see Washington DC if you have limited time. We saw all the sights.

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Had an amazing day. Weather was in the nineties. Our guide was great. The only thing they bothered me was the only place we could have lunch was in the mcdonalds in the smithsonian and I hate McDonald's. It would have been better if an hour was added to go somewhere else to eat as it's a long day x

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I went on 4/7/14 when we had to walk more but we saw the end of the parade.It was free into madame tussards and the space museum and we saw the memorials and the main sights like Lincoln memorial and the white house.A very full and informative day by the guide

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my day in Washington, the pace of the day was quite challenging considering the heat, but it was still a great day.

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent tour! Long day of driving - got back to NYC at around 9.30pm instead of 8pm

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message