New Zealand ATTRACTIONS See all

Tongariro National Park

Made a World Heritage Site in 1993, Tongariro earned its status for a combination of both cultural and natural features. The oldest national park in New Zealand – and the fourth national park established in the world -- it’s set at the end of a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 15 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Neeve

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I cannot rate this hike highly enough, there is no doubt that is physically demanding however there are plenty rest stops and it is easy to set your own pace, I was also relieved to see people of all ages on this trek. The crossing itself is well sign posted and you will not have to worry about getting lost along the way. It is important to be well prepared as there are no opportunities to buy food or water after the bus drops you off. Once you reach the Emerald Lakes the views are simply breathtaking, it is a certainty that this will be a lifelong memory of your New Zealand vacation.

Doing what: Full-Day Tongariro Alpine Crossing Hike

John C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Fantastic experience, skilled boat driver and very funny comentary.

Doing what: Taupo Adventure Combo: Jet Boat Ride, Helicopter Flight, Scenic Cruise and Whitewater Rafting

Thomas C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The hike was very challenging but beautiful.

Doing what: Full-Day Tongariro Alpine Crossing Hike

Lee S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Bus driver arrived 15 minutes early. We were not sure he was part of the Viator tour bus, but he took us. We and 10 other people traveled with him from the parking lot at the end of the Tongariro Crossing trail. He was young, friendly, and good natured. The travel was safe and drop-off prompt. No stops along the way at base camp. But he did radio in to base camp.

Doing what: Full-Day Tongariro Alpine Crossing Hike

Mary B Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Highly recommend this activity. Don't go if you want to stay dry, go if you want a fun time and an exhilarating ride. Jeremy was a great captain we loved the boat trip.

The White Water Rafting was the highlight of our time in NZ. The staff were rpfantastic, professional and fun. Everything was supplied we were safe and had an exciting trip. Then something to eat just topped it off. We will do this trip again when we return to NZ.

Doing what: Taupo Adventure Combo: Jet Boat Ride, Helicopter Flight, Scenic Cruise and Whitewater Rafting

Geoff B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We had a wonderful tour, thanks in large part to our incredible driver and guide, Tom Stuart of The Road Trip! Tom was expert at helping us to see and appreciate the spectacular natural beauty of New Zealnd and we are so glad we were able to travel the country with him. North Island has a lot to offer and we loved every minute of it!

Doing what: Private Tour: 8-Day North Island Tour from Auckland Including Rotorua and Wellington

Danya R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amazing experience, would definitely recommend to anyone.
We did the rafting at the end of May, and even though it was cold we were fine. We had wet suits and thermals and I didn't jump into the water so I was dry. Plus the exercise itself keeps you warm. They also provided us with hot chocolate midway through the trip - so lovely to drift along the river and sip hot chocolate. We were also taken to a hot pool afterwards and were provided with soup when we returned to base. So don't get put off by cold weather - the river itself apparently doesn't vary much in temperature throughout the year! Great for beginners and kids, and even my partner whose done rafting before had a great time!

Doing what: Taupo Adventure Combo: Jet Boat Ride, Helicopter Flight, Scenic Cruise and Whitewater Rafting

willow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was a fantastic way to spend an afternoon in Taupo. The jet boat was a lot of fun. We did get soaking wet but that was the best bit. In fact we loved it so much we went a second time! I would recommend going in Summer rather than Winter as the water is icy cold.

Doing what: Taupo Adventure Combo: Jet Boat Ride, Helicopter Flight, Scenic Cruise and Whitewater Rafting

Luca C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

A great way to get your action kicks in the adventure capital of Taupo! We did the Jet Boat Whitewater Rafting combo and both were so much fun by themselves and even better together! Be prepared to get wet!

Doing what: Taupo Adventure Combo: Jet Boat Ride, Helicopter Flight, Scenic Cruise and Whitewater Rafting

Christopher C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Just amazing! We went on the jet boat ride in the morning and took to the waves at top speed - a real blast! The highlight for my wife and me, though, was the rafting in the afternoon. The team were just faultless... friendly, informative, safety-conscious and funny. We enjoyed amazing weather, lively rapids and loads of laughs, and the team were fantastic. This combo is a great way to experience the best of the Lake Taupo region's thrills and spills, and I'd recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: Taupo Adventure Combo: Jet Boat Ride, Helicopter Flight, Scenic Cruise and Whitewater Rafting

Dan V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Absolutely the best my wife and I really enjoyed the Jet Boat and Helicopter Flight a must do if you go to lake Taupo it was a first for both of us and we are in our 60's

Doing what: Taupo Adventure Combo: Jet Boat Ride, Helicopter Flight, Scenic Cruise and Whitewater Rafting

Mark L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

The tour was great, however by booking this combo through Viator, you are not booked into all activities!! We were disappointed when we arrived at our whitewater rafting to discover they did not have a booking for us! The Tongariro River Rafting staff were absolutely amazing!! We had a great time!

Doing what: Taupo Adventure Combo: Jet Boat Ride, Helicopter Flight, Scenic Cruise and Whitewater Rafting

Toni P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

We had an amazing time, heaps of fun and the guides were great :)

Doing what: Taupo Adventure Combo: Jet Boat Ride, Helicopter Flight, Scenic Cruise and Whitewater Rafting

wendy t

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Our trip was amazing, the people were very friendly, Taupo is so beautiful we were very disappointed we couldn't hire a tinny to go fishing we had to hire a charter boat that cost us $150 per hour, lots of places to eat although most were extremly expencive, the jet boat an rafting wa incredibl

Doing what: Taupo Adventure Combo: Jet Boat Ride, Helicopter Flight, Scenic Cruise and Whitewater Rafting

Peter H

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Excellent day in Taupo starting with a 2 hour cruise over the lake. This could have been organised a bit better but overall a beautiful cruise. Followed by a helicopter ride over the lake and down to Huka Falls - AMAZING! They did an awesome job with the jet boating, would highly recommend them in the furture!

Doing what: Taupo Adventure Combo: Jet Boat Ride, Helicopter Flight, Scenic Cruise and Whitewater Rafting

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message