Seeing as Aotearoa (New Zealand) is part of the Polynesian Triangle, it should come as no surprise that many traditional Maori customs are similar to those found elsewhere in the Pacific. While many travelers are familiar with the luaus of Hawaii, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 27 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was a highlight of our New Zealand holiday! My 8 and 12 year olds sons totally loved this event! From the minute we were picked up by the bus driver Dennis the Menace we thoroughly enjoyed every minute of this 3 hour tour. The information about the Maori was in depth and demonstrated practically for my kids to totally understand. The performers all appeared to enjoy what they were doing and were all very friendly. We wished more time were spent in the village learning about each aspect of culture. It was so informative! The hangi dinner pit and then the meal were excellent. The performances in the marae and singing after at dinner added so much to the whole evening in terms of atmosphere and understanding of Maori culture. We wanted to go back the next night! So worth the money too.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We highly recommend this Tour. We were picked up and dropped off at our hotel. We had an enjoyable evening immersed in Maori culture. The staff were friendly and happily answered questions. The hangi dinner was lovely. 5 stars.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The experience was out of this world you learnt about the culture and there way of life
You got shown craft music and how they use to life
And the hangi out end was good to

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

My mom and I had a great time at Hangi dinner and performance. It was great to experience the Maori culture and we got personal pick up and drop off from the show.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The Hangi Dinner and Performance were absolutely sensational. It was my husbands first trip to NZ and we really wanted to experience some traditional Maori culture. He was lucky enough to be chosen as a "chief" on the night and thoroughly enjoyed his responsibility!
The whole evening was run very professionally from our hotel pickup, to the performances to the beautiful Hangi meal, we cannot give this tour and it's organizers enough credit.
I would HIGHLY recommend this tour as it really is a fun night with a mix of cultures and new experiences. We would definitely have no hesitation booking this experience again on our return to Rotorua.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

A fantastic introduction to Maori history,customs and way of life.
The hangi was delicious, a great selection of perfectly cooked chicken, lamb,fish,mussels and a great selection of vegetables.
All the Maori were great ambassadors for their race and passionate about maintaining their story.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The bus driver darren was so funny the maori performance and dance was teary for me for a kiwi who now lives overseas the hangi was devine well worth it will recommend it

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I think this may have been one of my absolute fav experiences, in my life! I loved meeting the Maori. Their culture richly steeped in history and legends....They were a most beautiful people. I am so glad I did this.
Aside from learning their history and practices, we were treated to a wonderful traditional Hangi dinner, cooked in the ground. The food was awesome!
Anyone looking to learn and experience Maori culture must do this!!!

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

We had a wonderful night right from the very start when we were picked up from our hotel by a very entertaining coach driver Mark. It was rather wet, but this did not hamper the traditional greetings and the visit round the village. We then moved inside a large hall where more traditions were explained through dances and displays. Some visitors were given lessons in how to perform the haka. Next we moved to the fire pit where the hangi dinner was being cooked, the food was delicious and cooked to perfection. We had a choice of Lamb and Chicken, with potatoes and sweet potatoes. There were further choices available once we were in the dining area. The dessert was just as good as the main meal. It was a very memorable night and I would like to thank everyone who made our evening so enjoyable.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Sauly
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

What an evening with Tamaki Tours , our guide/driver "DAZZA " who says his nickname was given to him by Aussies as I am a Aussie must give comment was a blast of entertainment before we even arrived at the Maori Village for our culture tour , show and fabulous Hangi Dinner , fully worth every dollar spent on this tour booking. Great hospitality , great food and great learning experience to get a little piece of the Maori culture.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

My wife and I visited the Tamaki Maori village in February 2013. We both had a fantastic evening and were very impressed with the tour. We were picked up from our hotel in the tour bus by a Maori lady, who was a real character. She didn't stop talking and telling us all about the Maori and the local area and teaching us their language for the whole journey. She also put a big emphasis on everyone being friends, so we all had to introduce ourselves to each other. We also had to nominate a 'chief' from our bus to 'confront' the Maori tribe. At the village we were treated to a traditional welcome ceremony and haka, with our chiefs and the rest of us welcomed into the village. In the village we went around each hut and took part in various traditional games and activities, which were great fun. After watching our dinner being pulled from the ground, we trooped into the chief's ceremonial lodge for an hour or so of traditional entertainment, consisting of singing and dancing. Then we made our way to the dining hall, where we enjoyed our hangi dinner, which was very tasty and there was plenty to eat. The journey home was very entertaining - each country was asked to sing a song from their country, karaoke style! The whole evening was very entertaining and informative and we had a great time. However, it is very interactive, so don't expect to just sit and watch - you will be asked to join in, so if you're not happy being the centre of attention or singing in a bus load of people, then you'll probably feel a little uncomfortable!

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our whole evening, from the bus driver who picked us up, through the show and hangi meal. We learned a lot about the Maori people, which we knew very little about, and developed a high respect for their culture. Thanks for making it such a great family event for us!

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Had an absolute ball. We were treated very well and learnt a lot about Maori Culture. Loved the performance, hangi and local hospitality especially Aroha our bus driver. Highly recommended and a must for tourists. Very good value for money and would definitely do this again if I had the chance to.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Very well organised by a fantastic crew. Performance was brilliant. Great insight into their culture. Hangi food was exceptional and plentiful. Sing song on the bus home with Dennis was very memorable!

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

A great night out! The singing and dancing was enchanting, although the Hangi Dinner was slightly rushed. However, it tasted great.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message