Middle-earth, dreamed up by J.R.R Tolkien, is the hometown of the characters in The Lord of the Rings trilogy. Thanks to New Zealand film-maker Peter Jackson, Middle-earth came alive with Jackson's use of New Zealand's visually stunning ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 309 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

dave

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We really enjoyed our visit to Hobbiton. Our bus driver was fun to talk with, our guide was awesome, the scenery was breathtaking, and the village a lot of fun. Our time in the Green Dragon Tavern was the cherry on top... lots of fun.

Doing what: 'Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Tour

Meghan P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I had an awesome time on this tour. Worth every penny. Our tour guide/bus driver from Great Sights New Zealand was awesome and not only gave us great info on Hobbiton, Waitomo Caves, and things we saw along the way, but also provided wonderful insights on the social issues, politics, history, and economics of New Zealand.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Lucinda D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a wonderful day primarily because of our driver/guide, Damian. He spent the 3 hour drive to Hobbiton educating the group on the history of New Zealand, including her politics and economy. He was very knowledgeable! The tour of Hobbiton was fun, and Damiam proved to be as knowledgeable as the private guide we had there, Beth. He also shared helpful tips on buying souvenirs. After our visit to the Waitomo Caves, Damian chose a route home that allowed us to see wildlife along the roadside. GREAT!!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Jacqui D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was more than I had hoped for. I loved it. Our bus tour guide was awesome I learned so much I surprised myself. The Hobbiton tour guide was friendly, informative and funny. Awesome

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

Nancy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

If you are a Lord of the Rings fan this tour is your way to see the locations for some of the film. Our guide was very knowledgeable and had pictures of what the scene looks like in the film. Our group did scene reenactments with capes and swords provided. Great fun and worth the money.

Doing what: Glenorchy Movie Locations Tour: The Lord of the Rings

sherlynpinon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This is the only way to see Hobbiton! Our driver was friendly and personable. Once we arrived at the movie set our tour guide there was excellent. Early Access means plenty of time to stop and take photos. We didn and #39;t feel rushed and the breakfast was excellent.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set

Kevin M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour was amazing. Hobbiton was such a great experience. The buffet lunch was huge as well! I took a lot of photos from the movie set. It's remarkable how good it all looks. You can't take photos within the Waitomo Caves but that was such a surreal experience to see all of the glow worms. There are a LOT of glow worms too. It was also great to see a lot of the landscapes of New Zealand. Our bus driver Damian was a great guy and gave us a lot of information about the history of New Zealand and the Maori people. This tour was definitely great value for money!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

David D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent job. Geoff, our driver picked us up at our hotel on time. He was pleasant and provided interesting information and was accommodating for us. The actual tour was great. Our guide had a natural enthusiasm for the movies which was also expressed in his part of the tour. I would definitely recommend this tour for someone wanting an easy Hobbit experience.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

Kristin G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour was just the right amount of time to get the inside scoop on Hobbiton filming and see all the hobbit holes and spend time in the green dragon. Really enjoyed the tour, the bus driver Danny was great and our tour guide was fantastic as well.

Doing what: 'Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Tour

Alan R B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This is an excellent tour and combines not only a fascinating insight into the making of the Hobbit, but also a good dose of beautiful New Zealand countryside. I real highlight of our trip to New Zealand.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

Nancy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was evenmore enjoyable than I thought it would be.Our driver Alexander was extremely knowledgeable about New Zealand as well as the Tour itself. Jordan was our guide and she was excellent. I was blessed in that we had only 6 people total on our tour and all of them were friendly and well versed in the movies. This made the tour so enjoyable. The weather held off the rain until we were all finished the tour and at the green dragon having our elevenzees meal. The food was great and we had plently to each plus a drink: choice of one of two beers, or cider or soft drink. I don't know what the tour is like in the summer but the day I went was so enjoyable. I would recommend this tour for anyone who loves the Hobbit movies or Lord of the rings. money well spent.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set

Joseph A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was great. The driver provided a lot of information about New Zealand's history and culture on the way to each of the destinations. The Hobbiton Movie Set and Waitomo caves are definite must sees while in New Zealand and this tour allowed me to see both in one day. Being able to enjoy an included meal in Hobbiton was an added plus to the tour. I didn't feel at all rushed at any point of the journey and the driver ensure we were able to get to most out of the experiences.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Clariza Mae G. R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our tour bus driver Ben was awesome! He was a great guide with a sense of humor. It made the long ride enjoyable. He was also very patient, especially when a lady from our group was missing. When we entered the set, we found her. She went with another tour group.

The Hobbiton Movie Set was beautiful! The tour and allotted time to take pictures in front of the hobbit holes was appreciated and the lunch served at the party tent was good, especially the desserts. The Waitomo Caves was definitely an experience and interesting. Definitely worth it for the price we paid! I have recommended it to my family and friends. On my next trip to Auckland with my family, this is on the itinerary.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Rajwant C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was soooo great. The tour guide was amazing. We had 2 hours to drive in the morning and he filled it with so much cool information on NZ and the places we would be going to.

Both Hobbiton and Waitomo lived up to all my expectations. And much more

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

rahema b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Hobbitant tour was magnificent, the waitamo caves were a slight let down don't get me wrong the view was splendid just wasn't allowed in there long enough I think the boat ride was five minutes. The tour driver Damien from city sights was amazing gave me so much information that I wasn't expecting. Having done a tour of the South Island for ten days I did this tour the day after I arrived I learnt more from Damien then I did in ten days in the south.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Lco323

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Amazing tour. My family and I totally enjoyed Hobbiton with the help of a very interesting commentary from our guide Shalia ?. The picnic lunch that was promised turned out to be a buffet, so that was a major surprise. The Waitomo Caves tour was phenomenal with outstanding tour by our guide Mark. Being in the cave with the glowworms was like floating in space. I've never done anything like it before. Take this tour- you won't regret it :

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Trossi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was fabulous and really well organised! I was travelling alone but still had a great time and met some great people. Our tour operator was very knowledgeable and the day flowed well. Best part was Hobbiton and the lunch at The Green Dragon Inn, which was amazing, and the lunch was well catered and delicious. Overall I would highly recommend this day tour to all travellers!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Zack

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour and very well organised. Geoff was a superb guide and gave us valuable information on the drive to Hobbiton - he really knew his stuff! The stops enroute were just long enough to get takeaway coffee and pastries - perfect. Everything was so well planned out at Hobbiton and in both directions of travel. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

d4fwilson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our Lord of the Rings tour. Our guide was great, lots of info about NZ, the earthquake, local history and the making of the film. The vehicle was purpose built, lots of big windows, very comfortable. The scenery was stupendous, we had a great time imagining the set of Edoras in that windswept panorama. Mind boggling. Thoroughly recommend the tour.

Doing what: Lord of the Rings - Journey to Edoras from Christchurch

Vikram N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This would be a must do sort of trip if you are in Auckland. Our Tour Guide Damien was one of a kind. The tour itself was awesome made awesomer by our guide Damien. Hobbiton is a couple hours drive from Auckland. During the drive Damien went over the history of NZ, its settlers, its relation with natives, the local flora and fauna, the impact of settlers on NZ, its flora, fauna and most importantly what it is to be a Kiwi. We learnt a lot about NZ in this trip. The Hobitton @ MataMata was a sight for the eyes. It was an experience not to be forgotten especially for Fans of Lord of Rings. Really Awesome and spectacular. Our Guide Beth @ Hobitton was also amazing and gave lots of interesting facts about the movie and sets. Totally worth it

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Deborah K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Absolutely stunning day. Definitely recommend even if you aren't a Lord of the Rings fan.

Doing what: Lord of the Rings - Journey to Edoras from Christchurch

Deborah K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A must for any Lord of the Rings fan. Even in not so great weather we had a spectacular day. Waitomo Caves was surreal.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Dria Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Hobbiton was amazing. It was so beautiful and a once in a lifetime experience walking through the sets. The lunch provided was very filling. We had a super friendly tour guide.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

jennie k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent weather for the trip to Hobbiton and caves! Hobbiton was even better in person than online pics! Food was great. Highly recommend both dispite the driver could not drop us off at the hotel due to traffic. If you are not a Hobbit fan, you will be after this tour.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Roderick V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The trip to Hobbiton is informative and entertaining. Our driver, Damian, is quite knowledgeable about the history of New Zealand and about the local area. We enjoyed visiting Hobbiton in costumes as the Lord of the Rings characters and really immersed ourselves in the experience. The food at the Green Dragon Inn is great and quite hearty. I recommend the tour for everyone and Tolkien fans would really love it.
The Waitomo cave is quite an experience too. My son sang the theme song for the Hobbit inside the cave 'cathedral' and the sound was mesmerizing. In the boat ride, you can see thousands of glow worms like blue christmas LED lights.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message