Middle-earth, dreamed up by J.R.R Tolkien, is the hometown of the characters in The Lord of the Rings trilogy. Thanks to New Zealand film-maker Peter Jackson, Middle-earth came alive with Jackson's use of New Zealand's visually stunning ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 255 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Georgina C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

A great tour. Would even do it again. Our bus driver was very informative, giving us information about many things along the way. Our Hobbiton guide, Hope was also very informative and knowledgeable on everything related to the movies. Detailed information given and we enjoyed it very much. Tour ended with a great lunch too! Well worth doing.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

Kathrine M S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We had a wonderful day at Hobbit-on. It was raining quite hard but it just didn't matter. Warren was our driver for the day, and he was informative and entertaining. The tour itself was magic, the luncheon was delicious, and Warren helped make the day one of the best days.
Thanks so much,
Cheers, Kathy and Craig Stewart

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

Anessa R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This tour was AMAZING!! I enjoyed it so so very much. Our tour guide Damian was the absolute best tour guide I have ever had. He was so informative, helping and way fun! If you've ever had him as your tour guide then you know what I'm talking about. Thank you for the amazing experience, he made the tour that much better. Hobbiton is AWESOME and so fun! The Waitomo caves were beautiful, would do this tour over again.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Michaelle S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Definitely one of the highlights of our trip to New Zealand. The small group was a good way to spend the day. Our guide was knowledgeable and entertaining and an excellent driver. The seats in the vehicle need new padding as our butts were sore from the bouncy splish, splashing thru the waterholes, and thru the river...the scenery was spectacular and beautiful. The opportunity to do the reenactment with Hobbit capes and hold swords on location added to the fantasy. Definitely appreciated the skill of our driver, Jenn- especially up the crazy road to Skippers Canyon. Lunch restaurant was ok. We were extra lucky because three of our group only took half day

Doing what: 'Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Tour

Jessy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

A really great tour! Although expensive, it was worth it! Dawn, our driver from Bush and Beach, was very warm. And our guide at Hobbiton, Leah, was the best! She made sure our family had enough time to take pictures at each hobbit hole - she would tell the group before us to move on to give us time to have each house all to our own. And, the meal served at Green Dragon was sumptuous!!!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set

Janna B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We had such an amazing time on this tour. Our bus driver - Damien - was so passionate about New Zealand and the attractions we visited. Made the transit time much more enjoyable, so much so, that it was difficult to sleep because the information was so interesting. Hobbiton and the lunch was superb. Waitomo Caves was so beautiful. Definitely recommended.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Ryan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This is a really great tour for everyone. I was very happy with the tour guide -- Damian -- who by the way provided much appreciated commentary on route to our various destinations from Auckland . . . it was no small task for him to keep my attention after a good buffet lunch and beer at Hobbiton

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Shannon Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Tour Guide/Bus Driver Damien was a wealth of knowledge but also ensured everyone got their pictures taken when at the Hobbiton Gift Shop. This is a long day and I think the order of going to Hobbiton first then Waitomo Caves was the best option. Lunch was included and it was amazing! I would highly recommend everyone this tour!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Shawn A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We had a great day at the Hobbiton Movie Set we were the first on the set and didn't have to fight crowds. We had a fantastic guide who knew everything about Lord of the Rings and the Hobbit and the move sets at the Hobbitation. We had the best food at our brunch at the Green Dragoon. It was a great experience!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set

Deborah G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great experience! Our coach driver was wonderful - kept us entertained for the 2.5 hour ride to Hobbiton, and then to the Caves, and then the 2.5 hour return trip to Auckland. Hobbiton was awesome and lived up to our expectations! And the Caves were spectacular! Great trip and glad we went thru Viator!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Dino H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

An excellent and thoroughly enjoyable day tour even for people who haven't seen any of the Hobbit/Lord of the Rings movies or don't know anything about glowworms. I have never been fond of sci-fi or fantasy movies like the Hobbit series, but I went on this tour after a friend recommended it. I'm so glad I went, and my girlfriend says the same thing.

The bus ride, with entertaining and informative driver Damian, was very pleasant. I usually sleep when bus drivers start talking, but Damian had me interested the whole time because he talked about the country and the people and the history instead of just rattling off boring statistics like most other drivers do.

The Hobbiton scenery is amazing! It's real, but it's so beautiful it looks like a movie. Even if you don't care at all about Hobbit movies, like me, go and check it out. There's no other place like it in the world, I bet. You'll get some fantastic photographs sure to make all your Facebook and Instagram buddies jealous, guaranteed. And the lunch at the end of the Hobbiton tour was an outstanding all-you-can-eat buffet, with all sorts of high-quality breads, meats, fish and veggies. I stuffed my face until I couldn't even squeeze in dessert, that's how good the lunch was.

The boat ride in the glowworm caves was much shorter than I expected, but that was fine. It came at the end of the day, after the Hobbiton tour, and was appropriate in its length. Don't book the glowworm caves as a separate activity or tour because it fits in comfortably at the end of this tour.

Overall, this Hobbiton/Waitomo glowworm caves tour is highly recommended.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

kathysapp

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We enjoyed this tour very much, especially the scenery which was absolutely fabulous! Our tour guides Martin and Sally made the tour fun and interesting. Great for any Hobbit!

Doing what: Glenorchy Movie Locations Tour: The Lord of the Rings

Andrew N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

I'm not a big Lord of the Rings fan, but visiting the Hobbiton movie set was still worth it. The scenery was beautiful and what you experienced here will last you a lifetime.

The Waitomo cave tour was pretty short 30-40min, but that might be a good thing if you're not that interested in rock formations. I definitely enjoyed the 10 minute-ish boat ride while looking up to see the glow worms. It was peaceful, relaxing, and mesmerizing all at the same time.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Lynn K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Hobbiton was beautiful. I was also impressed with the Hobbit style lunch feed provided in the marquee at the Green Dragon.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

deborah e

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

It may considered a bit 'pricey', but for the experience you have, it isn't. Picked up from our hotel in Auckland at 6am by our driver for the day, Tony. Whose enthusiasm for this tour is obvious. Nine of us went on this tour and everyone raved about it. We even had the opportunity of going into Bag End for a photo looking out. Lunch in the Green Dragon in our own area was great, and then some Tip Top ice cream on the way back. If your a Lord Of the Rings fan this is well worth it.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set

Andreas H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

As a LOTR fan this was an absolute dream come true.
Our guide Tony was amazing, not only regarding Hobbiton but in filling us in on interesting information regarding New Zealand on our way to Hobbiton.

Loved it, definitely a must do!

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

AB

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour was amazing!! We truly enjoyed the entire day. The first half of the day you spend going to Te Puia, Agrodome, and Rainbow Springs. All of which were awesome! It was a bit rushed but that's to be expected when you are going to see a bunch of things in a short time. We felt like the amount of time we spent at these locations was enough. The Hobbiton portion was definitely the highlight of our day. This tour is absolutely worth the money! Highly recommended if you are only in Rotorua for a short time!

Doing what: Rotorua City Tour and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set

lcleary United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was an excellent trip. The early tour of Hobbiton before the crowds was great and we got to see
some areas that the general tour does not. Also, the breakfast was wonderful, and such a great setting -
the Green Dragon's Inn. Our driver was very helpful and made the trip unrushed and even more enjoyable. I would definitely do this again.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set

Brooke S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Pick-up in the morning was on-time and easy, our tour driver gave us lots of laughs on the way to Hobbiton. When we reached Hobbiton, we had Shaun who was fantastic. He really knew his stuff. Being able to see how much detail went into the making of these films, really does have to be seen to be believed. The lunch was amazing. Because we were one of the very first groups on site, meant we had first dibs on the delicious food. Make sure you save room for dessert. The trip home was picturesque and we stopped for ice-cream. I'd eaten my fair share at lunch, but was told by others that it was delicious.
If you're a Lord of the Rings fan or even if you're not, I can highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

goerlitz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Amazing movie set. We loved this tour and the beer inside a Hobbit pub at the end of the tour. Tons of information about the filming and building of the set. Don't miss this tour on your visit to New Zealand.

Doing what: 'Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Tour

Kelly S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour was the main reason why I extended my layover in Auckland and it was worth it!

Our driver was great and picked my sister and I up promptly from our hotel. We were then joined by three others and began our two hour drive to the farm. Along the way we learned the history of New Zealand and the landmarks we passed by. It was so informative and I really appreciated knowing more about where I was.

Our tour guide was fantastic! The weather was perfect and we got to take our time going through the set before the general tours came through. The breakfast they served us at the end was delicious and the ice cream was a great way to end the day!

Seeing the Shire is a must for any Lord of the Rings/Hobbit fan and this Early Access tour is the only way to see it!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set

James T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The Hobbiton tour brings to life the LOTR and Hobbit movies. It feels like a hobbit should walk right down the lane.

Doing what: Rotorua City Tour and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set

craig b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

this was a very enjoyable tour, we cannot fault this tour our guides were fantastic both on the bus to Hobbiton and at Hobbiton itself
We had a very good day there we would recommend this tour

Doing what: 'Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Tour

Shelly L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was a great trip from start to finish. The bus driver was entertaining, the tour guide knowledgeable and patient, doing her best to keep the group together. Hobbiton is an amazingly well maintained environment, you can almost see the Hobbits. The life-like nature of this place is like nothing I have ever seen before. Thanks Viator!

Doing what: 'Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Tour

zezmail

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This is the BEST way to see Hobbiton!!!
Early access is well worth the extra cost!! Great photo opportunities before the BUS CROWDS arrive.
Delicious Green Dragon Breakfast!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message