• USD ($)
  • English
Middle-earth, dreamed up by J.R.R Tolkien, is the hometown of the characters in The Lord of the Rings trilogy. Thanks to New Zealand film-maker Peter Jackson, Middle-earth came alive with Jackson's use of New Zealand's visually stunning ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 98 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Absolutely fantastic! My wife loved every minute of it. I think she has a photograph of every door in Hobbiton. All 44 of them.The Guide was informative and there was plenty of time to see all we wanted to. The caves were also amazing and the guide cheerful and he gave us lots of facts and even a song. Our only criticism was the coach on the way back to our hotel. This was poorly organised and we got the feeling that the coach driver couldn't care less, dropping us and eight other people off for another coach which arrived nearly an hour later. The bus company organised the coach so I suppose that was about right. They do not seem to put the visitor at the top of their priorities.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

It was awesome worth every dollar. They picked me up from the cruise ship and although it was only me, an irish couple and the driver, it was great. The driver we had went out of his way to make the trip enjoyable giving us cool facts and telling us interesting stories about the places we were headed. Hobbiton was all and more that I expected, absolutely fantastic. Best opportunity, Although we saw heaps it wasn't as if we were pressed for time, we got to see everything we wanted and got to waste some times on the gift shops before arriving at the dock in time to walk around for an hour before the ship left.

Great value for money. Looking at the prices at Hobbiton and Rotorua there is definitely no way that doing it yourself would be in any way cheaper.

The timing of the tour was fantastic as well. Going to hobbiton first meant we were on the first group tour which meant we could take awesome unobstructed views of hobbiton without previous groups in the way. It gave the whole place an awesome atmosphere as it was not too hot and not crowded. Then we drove to Rotorua hotsprings, this was incredibly interesting but incredibly hot. Unfortunately no opportunity to swim but the history and information about the place more than made up for that. Seeing the geysers and getting steam from the hot springs was amazing (really did help my asthma). Be prepared though, the hot springs certainly stink. They showed us the cooking pools they use and after watching a traditional maori dance we got the chance to purchase some corn cooked in the pool. I normally hate corn, but this was delicious, perfectly sweet and moist, best corn I have ever had.

I would highly recommend this tour to anyone visiting at Tauranga, especially to those people on cruise ships. The ships offer to do one or the other for approximately the same price as Viator offers both. And don't worry about getting back in time, the drivers are more than aware of the cruise times and will get you back.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour Including Rotorua Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Waitomo Caves were awesome! Amazing really. A must do.
Hobbiton was also nice. Beautiful country. The bus ride alone was interesting.
They should have coordinated travel from Hobbiton back to Auckland better. Waited outside without shelter for the bus in cold weather for 40 minutes.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Great experience. Left early in the morning so we avoided big crowds and was able to get photos of Hobbition without people in them. Our driver was very friendly and had a great knowledge of New Zealand. She even stopped on the way back so we could get ice cream! The tour itself in Hobbition was fantastic, our guide's knowledge was immense. Highly recommended experience.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

An absolutely wonderful day. Waitomo Caves were beautiful. But, truthfully, the Hobbiton Movie Set was the highlight of the day. The site is spectacular and much better than expected. The guides were great! Well worth spending the day!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The bus driver was very informative and transportation was comfortable.. The caves were really neat --- but our tour of Hobbiton was our favorite ! Glad we scheduled this excursion during our 10 day trip to New Zealand :)

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

My wife really wanted to do this tour so I went along expecting to be somewhat bored as I am not a big Hobbit fan, plus I wasn't looking forward to a long bus ride to the set and back….The day turned into a very pleasant surprise as the tour operator conducted a very informative narration during the drive through some most fantastic scenery….Hobbiton itself was extremely enjoyable as well with a great lunch/drink on site…I am a Pilot and I pride myself on my navigational skills, but trying to find Hobbiton on your own would be a challenge…I highly recommend this small group tour !!! I was so impressed with this tour that we signed up for the " Best of both Worlds" Auckland tour the next next….also Outstanding !!!

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

absolutely loved hobbiton, it was exceptionally excellent to get there early before any of the tour busses arrived, hobbiton , the happiest place in NZ

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

I only had a weekend layover in Auckland and I was looking for something to do that allowed me to see the rest of New Zealand and get out of the city. This full-day tour was exactly what I wanted. It picked up in the morning at the bus depot, a couple hours drive to the caves (magical), lunch on the bus, afternoon in Hobbiton (surreal), a few hours back home. It's a great way to see a lot of the area quickly.

Driver was very knowledgeable and friendly. He always knew when to tell us about the scenery and when to let us relax and take it all in. Very intuitive guy!

I do wish there was more time at the agro-ville sheep/wool farm. This was the transfer point to the Hobbiton bus. We only had about 10 minutes and I wanted to look around!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

The glow worm caves were absolutely magical and Hobbiton has become one of my funnest travel experiences! I'm a big fan of the movies, must see for any other fans out there!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Very well organised and balanced day. Our driver was professional and his running commentary was most entertaining. We loved the stops en route, but what about one at the Matamata (Waimai) cheese factory? Hobbiton was fantastic. Drinks and lunch at the Green Dragon were brilliant. Our guide was great. Congratulations on providing a hot sunny day for us. Altogether an outstanding day out. Our guests from Australia and UK loved it as much as we did.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Hobbiton lived up to my expectations. It's a wonderful place. Unfortunately, no-one else booked the Early Access tour so it was cancelled. Make sure you ring the local supplier to confirm your booking, as Viator tell you to.
I was disappointed not to have breakfast in The Green Dragon (even though I was picked up at the same time as I would have been for the Early Access tour). We had lunch instead, in a marquee behind the pub.
We arrived at the same time as two cruise ship tour groups and wasted half an hour or more just standing around while people used the two toilets. The bus driver could have suggested using the facilities available at our 'coffee stop' on the way to The Shire.
Even with a lot of people there the tour guides manage to avoid congestion by taking different routes. However, our group was 28 people so every time we stopped anywhere we couldn't linger. We only had time for a few quick photos and then had to move on for the people behind to do the same. Instead of lunch I would have preferred to wander around by myself and really look at everything. I understand why this can't happen but next time I'll book a different small group tour, which hopefully won't feel so rushed (and won't be cancelled).
Viator were very prompt at refunding the difference between the two tours. Thank you.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This was a fantastic tour!!! My only complaint was I felt a bit rushed, I was trying to get really good pictures and video to take home and kept falling behind on the tour. It would be great if they allowed more time to wander around. Overall it was fantastic!!!! I would highly recommend it to anyone looking to explore Hobbiton!! Very well done.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

The hobbiton set was awesome! Just like the movie. Beautiful place. The driver was very friendly. Enjoyed his company. Definitely worth it.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Tour guide was very informative and we were lucky to get someone who actually worked on the set during the filming of the Lord of the Rings and the Hobbit movies, The film making stories made a great experience amazing.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message