Middle-earth, dreamed up by J.R.R Tolkien, is the hometown of the characters in The Lord of the Rings trilogy. Thanks to New Zealand film-maker Peter Jackson, Middle-earth came alive with Jackson's use of New Zealand's visually stunning ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 154 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

There were 3 main things I wanted to see in New Zealand and this tour covered them _ Waitomo Caves, Rotorua and Hobbiton. I hadn’t done a tour like this where bus loads of people kept splitting up and getting on new buses for different tours. Although my wife and I had 7 different buses it all went smoothly. A bit of time is lost waiting and changing buses but I am not sure if this could be done better.
We loved the tours of Waitomo Caves, Rotorua and Hobbiton. We also had a “duck” tour which went right into the lakes at Rotorua. The Maori village and hangi feast, spouting geysers at Te Puia, Kiwi birds at Rainbow Springs and even a sheep show at the Agrodome. The accommodation at the Millennium Hotel was very comfortable, although prepare yourself for the smell of sulphur.
I couldn’t imagine how I could have organised this myself in the time frame. I strongly recommend this tour to anybody visiting New Zealand.

Doing what: 2-Day Waitomo Caves, Hobbiton Movie Set and Rotorua Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Excellent tour guides on coach, glowworm caves and Hobbiton! Enjoyable tour!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

My tour date was 03/02/15 i had Damien i think was his name as our tour guide, he was amazing. As i was solo on this trip and a bit of a drive it was nice that he talked all the way there and i found all the history and culture of New Zealand very interesting. First stop was the Glow worm caves, incredible! The worms were like stars, magical! Then onto Hobbiton as i am a big fan of the films i thoroughly enjoyed it. The guide was very informative the movie set is awesome! The buffet lunch included was delicious. You have to go! Well worth the money :-

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Loved this trip. I was in NZ for three weeks and I took more photos at Hobbiton than the entire trip. Love this country!! Had a great day and an excellent driver. That bus had shonky gears and she handled it really well.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

The tour was a great experience. David of Great Sight went beyond his call of duty! As much as he is knowledgeable of NZ he was also a very nice person; told us not to worry about our pram and attended to our stuff while me, my wife and toddler enjoyed Hobbiton.
Murray, driver, was nice and polite.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

As a mega fan of Lord of the Rings books and movies, this was a dream come true. Our driver and guide was very friendly and knowledgeable and kept us well informed as the day progressed. A wonderful, exciting day! I would rate this tour a 5. Oh yeah, the lunch was tasty too.

Mary - Canada

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was an excellent trip. There were very few people, so lines were short and the bus driver could pay special attention to us. The bus driver was informative not only about New Zealand history, landscape, and agriculture, Hobbiton, and the glow worm caves, but also talked about some current events that an international visitor wouldn't know about. Hobbiton was wonderful, uncrowded, unrushed (having read other reviews, I worried about that). The glow worm caves were interesting and the food was okay, but I didn't expect better than that. Watch out for the birds if you eat there -- they are tenacious and fearless. Our bus driver was Allen.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a great trip - terrific driver, small group and we got to see both Hobbiton and Rotorua in the same tour. Well worth the money. The kids and I loved it.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour Including Rotorua Sightseeing

bonnie
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We loved every moment
My husband worked on first lord of rings production screening some of the rail rushes. He was in his element. Our family love hobbit series. The green dragon was just so special and the ginger beer amazing. Our guide was outstanding. Lots of information and even taking photos.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour guide was extremely helpful. At the last minute without telling the travel company we decided that we wanted to travel to Rotorua after Hobbiton rather than head back to Hobbiton. Our tour guide sorted it all out and somehow managed to get us on another tour bus going to Rotorua! Amazing work and very much appreciated. Can't thank him enough for being thrown this curve ball and coming up with a great solution.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Terrific day out despite the early start from Auckland. Well organised with a very friendly and knowledgeable tour guide who really put himself out. Hobbiton is a must see for any devotees of the books or the films - I just wish it was bigger with more of the sets, especially the set for Bree from LoR but the Green Dragon does make up for it and the beer is superb - (but no pipe weed!). Amazingly a couple of people on the tour had neither read the books or seen the films but were very impressed with the whole experience. 5 star rating.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Beautiful tour and really great tour guides. The tour guides are very knowledgeable and willing to answer any questions, they also give you plenty of time to take pictures of Hobbiton and will gladly take pictures for you if you like!

Doing what: 'Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed the tour. As a LOTR fan, it was really fantastic being able to walk through Hobbiton, a place I felt I already knew. Fantastic tour guide, very friendly and knowledgable

Doing what: 'Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour to Waitomo Caves and Hobbiton. The bus driver was very informative. We had been in New Zealand for 10 days and learned a lot about the country from listening to his monologue. Good lunch at the Waitomo Caves.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

From pickup at the ship to the return trip the half day tour was full of facts and information from out knowledgeable tour guide. Visiting sites where the Lord of the Rings was filmed was amazing and our tour guide showed us film clips of the actual sites. Wetta Studios was also a very impressive place to visit.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message