Middle-earth, dreamed up by J.R.R Tolkien, is the hometown of the characters in The Lord of the Rings trilogy. Thanks to New Zealand film-maker Peter Jackson, Middle-earth came alive with Jackson's use of New Zealand's visually stunning ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 199 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Wayne was awesome and very informative. Drive was broken up with a stop going there and back. Hobbiton was all you could ask for. Wish we had a little more time to shop but we were able to buy all we wanted.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Even though it rained, it was a wonderful tour. Loved Hobbiton and the caves are amazing even though the guide in the cave was not very good.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amazing tour around 600 km of panoramic views of New Zealand North Island countryside on your way to both the Waitomo caves and the Hobbiton Movie Set. WELL worth the trip!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The waitomo caves and Hobbiton are definitely unique places to see while in New Zealand. The trip was well-organized, communication from the touring company was excellent, and timetables were met. It was a fun trip for us on our first trip to New Zealand.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was fantastic! Our guide was very knowledgable and enthusiastic about showing us the most beautiful locations were the movies ' hobbit' and the LOTR was shot. Queenstown and its surrounding areas. Including Glenorchy is one of the most beautiful place we have ever been to. Definitely recommended.

Doing what: Glenorchy Movie Locations Tour: The Lord of the Rings

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The Waimato caves were simply amazing! To see the glow worms inside the dark caves felt like looking at the universe with million stars. It was truly incredible! The next leg of the tour was Hobbiton movie set in the McDonald farm, which is privately owned. Our guide Paul was a wealth of knowledge. The Hobbiton is preserved beautifully and is very picturesque. The only downside was the way the tour is designed. We had to travel to a farmshow expo place and then had to piggyback to Hobbiton,making a long day longer.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

JENNIFER K
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Magnificent day out. I was not over excited before doing this tour, but I was so wrong. This is such an enjoyable tour. Hobbiton is a magical place and you would never tire of viewing all these little places, complete with wheelbarrows, gardens, clothes lines with tiny clothes on and many more things to make this place come alive. Nice touch was the ale in the Green Dragon Inn and the lunch was delicious. On the way home we stopped for an ice cream and for A2 you got the biggest, tastiest ice cream we have ever had. About fifty flavours to choose from. All in all a really wonderful tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Okay, I am assuming while writing this you want to go to Hobbiton but are wondering whether to pay the extra bucks or not. Now, we went on a few tours in New Zealand, as you, the reader, will probably also be doing. A lot of these tours will be to big popular sites and you will be one of a throng of people, only asking for 20 second bursts so you can see something or snap a photograph. Let me tell you this is the ULTIMATE TOUR EXPERIENCE you will get! This is truly an early tour, before anyone else gets in. The tour guide Alexander, who was AWESOME, very smart, and very knowledgable about all aspects of New Zealand - we had long conversations in the van going up and back to Hobbiton, which went on some weird tangents when I asked about such minor and sweeping topics like animal rights activists and the Dunedin music scene told us there's never more than a handful of people who spend the extra money for the early tour, and sure enough there was just my wife and I, the Hobbiton tour guide, and another tourist who were taken all around Hobbiton, all by ourselves. Halfway through the tour the place opened up for real and we saw groups of 20 people start, all snapping pictures and getting in each other's way. NOT SO WITH THE EARLY TOUR! We took our time, I snapped about 200 photos I think! We got to go inside Bilbo's house which the regular tour does not allow, and you see other things not shown to the general public. You can take sweeping landscape photos with no a person in them. Hobbiton is well kept up all the tour guides double as maintenance crew, and sure enough we saw a young lady with a wheelbarrow at one point and was bigger, grander, and more of a spectable than I, a jaded tourist, had thought possible. Alexander was our guide there and back and we had a special Hobbiton guide once we got there who was very very knowledgable about all the minutae our geek group had. Finally: the breakfast ranks as the single best meal of my New Zealand trip!!!!!!!!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great trip, both the Caves and Hobbiton are outstanding.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great trip, both the Caves and Hobbiton are outstanding.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Funny and friendly bus driver Wayne who explained us plenty things about the region and Hobbiton itself. Nice and informative guide Paul who even offered taking pictures of us.
I can highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The trip was everything we dreamed it would be. The coach driver was very knowledgeable. He gave a great tour on our way to Hobbiton and answered all questions we had. The tour guide from Hobbiton was great and the lunch was perfect. Thank you so much for a wonderful day

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Damond was the best tour guide ever- he shared interesting stories, was considerate about stopping, and was such a nice guy. The Hobbiton was amazing, and something truly spectacular to see, plus the ice cream for purchase on site was amazing. Also, the free beer during the tour was so delicious! The Waitomo Caves were neat, but not as spectacular as I was expecting- other tours probably show more of the glow worms. I was still glad we made it a stop on our trip though, it was in a beautiful area.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Awesome trip! It's a long drive to the Waitomo Caves from Auckland, and sadly, no photography is allowed in the caves, even if you turned off your flash, but it is just so amazing to see! I was expecting to see only specks of light, but the glow worms really illuminate the otherwise pitch-black caves and it's almost magical!

Lunch at the Waitomo Caves wasn't fantastic though. Just a buffet with a small spread made up mostly of mediocre salads.

The Hobbiton Tour was awesome -- definitely one of my favorite spots of my NZ vacation. The Hobbiton guide was super friendly and shared so many interesting stories and tidbits, and the free beverage at the Green Dragon Inn was a nice way to end the tour.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This excursion was the highlight of my husband and my trip to New Zealand. We were on the Sea Princess and they didn't offer Hobbiton and Rotorua in the same excursion, as this was our first time I was worried about going with a company outside for an excursion but I had no need to worry. Grant from Zealander was very informative, courteous, punctual and helpful from start to finish. He had exceptional knowledge and nothing was too much for him. Could not praise him enough. He really made it a great tour for all aboard. We could only hope to have him again and would highly recommend this excursion to anyone. Grant and Zealander tours are a great combination. Thank you.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour Including Rotorua Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

It was a fantastic day. My sons really enjoyed their time wandering through Hobbiton. We only wish they had a tour that arrived just as the place opens. We had a good time sampling the ale at the Green Dragon.

Doing what: 'Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Wonderful tour! We had an excellent driver Wayne from the tour company from Auckland. He gave us plenty of history of the region on our way from Auckland to Hobbiton. The crowds had not arrived yet so we got to take plenty of pictures and view the setting and were not rushed through. Afterwards, the tour included a sample of ale and a lovely lunch. Would recommend..

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour was wonderful. I enjoyed the duck boat and the glow worm caves. My wife thoroughly enjoyed Hobbiton, and the Tamaki village was a lot of fun. I definitely recommend this for anyone visiting New Zealand for the first time.

Doing what: 2-Day Waitomo Caves, Hobbiton Movie Set and Rotorua Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Absolutely awesome for LOTR or Hobbit fans! Having spent countless hours playing Lord of the Rings Online, seeing Hobbiton so well looked after was amazing. Guide was fun and informative. The group was moved along steadily, but not rushed at all.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

A REALLY ENJOYABLE TRIP. THE DRIVER WAS REALLY FRIENDLY AND VERY KNOWLEDGABLE ABOUT THE ROUTE AND HOBBITON. THE GUIDE AT HOBBITON ITSELF WAS ALSO VERY WELCOMING AND KNEW HIS STUFF.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Had a great time. Everything was as described; Ben picked me up on time (actually a little early - he was waiting when I stepped outside), Wayne did a great job storytelling the whole way there and most of the way back. Hobbiton was of course wonderful. I posted a picture of myself in front of Bag End on facebook. My son responded "That man couldn't look more smug if Gandalf himself had invited him on an adventure". Apparently, I had a VERY good time. Thanks so much - definitely delivered above expectations!

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Fantastic!!! The guide, Tony was knowledgeable, funny and very personable. It was an easy way to get out of the city and see some more of New Zealand. Hobbittion was great! I would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

If you are a fan of Hobbits, don't miss it. Got great pics.

Doing what: 'Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

I enjoyed this trip so much! Our tour guide Damian was fantastic. They catered to my vegan dietary requirements. The Caves and Hobbiton are two things which everyone need to experience when visiting New Zealand.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Wonderful tour from the moment we were greeted as we left the cruise ship until we were dropped off again. Informative, friendly bus driver and fantastic guides at Rotorua and Hobbiton. Our family of four highly recommend this tour and this company - a fantastic way to see two amazing sites in the one day and not feel rushed at either. Thank you to all involved!

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour Including Rotorua Sightseeing

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message