Middle-earth, dreamed up by J.R.R Tolkien, is the hometown of the characters in The Lord of the Rings trilogy. Thanks to New Zealand film-maker Peter Jackson, Middle-earth came alive with Jackson's use of New Zealand's visually stunning ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 135 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Beautiful tour and really great tour guides. The tour guides are very knowledgeable and willing to answer any questions, they also give you plenty of time to take pictures of Hobbiton and will gladly take pictures for you if you like!

Doing what: 'Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed the tour. As a LOTR fan, it was really fantastic being able to walk through Hobbiton, a place I felt I already knew. Fantastic tour guide, very friendly and knowledgable

Doing what: 'Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour to Waitomo Caves and Hobbiton. The bus driver was very informative. We had been in New Zealand for 10 days and learned a lot about the country from listening to his monologue. Good lunch at the Waitomo Caves.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

From pickup at the ship to the return trip the half day tour was full of facts and information from out knowledgeable tour guide. Visiting sites where the Lord of the Rings was filmed was amazing and our tour guide showed us film clips of the actual sites. Wetta Studios was also a very impressive place to visit.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Fantastic day. I booked this in advance, directly with via Viator, leaving from Auckland on the 5th November. We traveled from the UK to go on a Holland America cruise, which also did these trips, but we saved over $364 by doing this on our own, compared to the ship prices for both of these events. We were well looked after by our bus driver John, who was both entertaining and knowledgeable during our drive. The Waitomo Caves were absolutely stunning, where we got a lovely lunch, then on to Hobbiton. Our guide there, Kess, was full of snippets, but the atmosphere far exceeded my expectations. All of this ended with drinks in the Green Dragon. What an experience and great beer. It was a long day, with a lot of driving involved, but one that I will not forget. Well done Viator for everything. Hotel pickup, snacks on the bus, lunch and an entertaining driver. First class! Both of these places are worth the time taken to visit them.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Great tour. Had a great driver and guide at Hobbiton. Highly recommend the early tour.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We loved the trip. The driver was friendly engaging through out the trip, and the guide at Hobbiton provided interesting and often amusing anecdotes about the Hobbiton set and what went on during the filming.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

gloworm caves mazing and pleasantly surprised with the Hobbiton tour

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Me and my 2 teenage sons really enjoyed this tour even though it is a very long day and just under 600klms travelled. Waitomo was very cool and would be worth spending a bit more time there to explore the other caves. Hobbiton was amazing and sooo gorgeous, it made it all worth while. I loved it, especially finishing off with a drink in the Green Dragon. We would definitely recommend this tour or maybe if you have more time do each separately.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour was terrific. Our tour guide Paul was great fun and very knowledgeable (and drove sensibly!). The tour locations, lunch and whole itinerary were great. And we also learnt heaps about the local area which was a bonus. I would highly recommend this trip. It was also fun to spend the day with other Lord of the Rings fans and muck around taking photos.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Jack our tour guide was fantastic... Very knowledgeable in every thing Lord of the Rings.... Plus some!!!!

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Amazing experience! Very well organized, the driver was awesome and his facts were super interesting and very funny. Hobbiton is breathtaking. Super recommended wether you're a fan of Tolkien and the movies or not!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Phenomenal experience!! Everything is taken care of, the incredibly friendly and professional tour guides tell you at each step where and what to do and take care of everything for you. All you have to do is keep your camera ready and enjoy the experience!

The Waitamo Caves and Hobbiton tours themselves are amazing, with the tour guides answering all your questions and making the tours really relaxed and fun! Despite the careful planning, we never felt like we were being rushed, which was a testament to the professionalism and experience of the guides.

Definitely book through Viator, all we needed was to show a print out once at pickup and the rest was taken care of for us!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Hobbiton was fantastic and a highlight was the ale at the Green Dragon Inn. The hobbit holes have been restored after filming of The Hobbit and there is so much detail to the sets. Well worth a visit and the distance from Auckland is not too bad - lovely scenery on the way.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a beautiful tour, the guide was informative and fun. I am not a huge Lord of the Rings fan but many on the tour were. the scenery was worth the trip. what a beautful part of the country. I was traveling alone and was very comfortable with the group , everyone was very friendly. Well worth the time and the money.

Doing what: 'Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message