Insider's Guide to New Zealand

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Middle-earth, dreamed up by J.R.R Tolkien, is the hometown of the characters in The Lord of the Rings trilogy. Thanks to New Zealand film-maker Peter Jackson, Middle-earth came alive with Jackson's use of New Zealand's visually stunning ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 287 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Zack

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour and very well organised. Geoff was a superb guide and gave us valuable information on the drive to Hobbiton - he really knew his stuff! The stops enroute were just long enough to get takeaway coffee and pastries - perfect. Everything was so well planned out at Hobbiton and in both directions of travel. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

d4fwilson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our Lord of the Rings tour. Our guide was great, lots of info about NZ, the earthquake, local history and the making of the film. The vehicle was purpose built, lots of big windows, very comfortable. The scenery was stupendous, we had a great time imagining the set of Edoras in that windswept panorama. Mind boggling. Thoroughly recommend the tour.

Doing what: Lord of the Rings - Journey to Edoras from Christchurch

Vikram N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This would be a must do sort of trip if you are in Auckland. Our Tour Guide Damien was one of a kind. The tour itself was awesome made awesomer by our guide Damien. Hobbiton is a couple hours drive from Auckland. During the drive Damien went over the history of NZ, its settlers, its relation with natives, the local flora and fauna, the impact of settlers on NZ, its flora, fauna and most importantly what it is to be a Kiwi. We learnt a lot about NZ in this trip. The Hobitton @ MataMata was a sight for the eyes. It was an experience not to be forgotten especially for Fans of Lord of Rings. Really Awesome and spectacular. Our Guide Beth @ Hobitton was also amazing and gave lots of interesting facts about the movie and sets. Totally worth it

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Deborah K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Absolutely stunning day. Definitely recommend even if you aren't a Lord of the Rings fan.

Doing what: Lord of the Rings - Journey to Edoras from Christchurch

Deborah K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A must for any Lord of the Rings fan. Even in not so great weather we had a spectacular day. Waitomo Caves was surreal.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Dria Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Hobbiton was amazing. It was so beautiful and a once in a lifetime experience walking through the sets. The lunch provided was very filling. We had a super friendly tour guide.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

jennie k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent weather for the trip to Hobbiton and caves! Hobbiton was even better in person than online pics! Food was great. Highly recommend both dispite the driver could not drop us off at the hotel due to traffic. If you are not a Hobbit fan, you will be after this tour.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Roderick V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The trip to Hobbiton is informative and entertaining. Our driver, Damian, is quite knowledgeable about the history of New Zealand and about the local area. We enjoyed visiting Hobbiton in costumes as the Lord of the Rings characters and really immersed ourselves in the experience. The food at the Green Dragon Inn is great and quite hearty. I recommend the tour for everyone and Tolkien fans would really love it.
The Waitomo cave is quite an experience too. My son sang the theme song for the Hobbit inside the cave 'cathedral' and the sound was mesmerizing. In the boat ride, you can see thousands of glow worms like blue christmas LED lights.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Harry Saputra

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

my tour leader Alex is really good. He is very enthusiastic and knowledgeable.
Hobbiton is a wonderful place, I will come back someday.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

spbarr2000

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour, prompt pickup and transfer by well informed, humorous and courteous driver.
Tour guide was very knowledgeable, helpful with photographs and patient with stragglers while moving the group through the set.
The Hobbiton Movie Set was an excellent venue, much better than we expected, very good value for money and we would highly recommend it.

Doing what: 'Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Tour

Sandra

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Our guide was Emma and she was very interesting and informative. I very much enjoyed this tour. As we drove through Wellington to get to our first stop, Emma gave us interesting info about the city. We visited the area where the first part of the Lord of the Rings was filmed and Emma talked about how special effects were filmed and created. Very informative. We visited the studios where not only the Lord of the Rings special effects were created, but also where other special effects, props and studios are used for filming. An interesting tour.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

Sandra O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A must for any LotRs and Hobbit fans. Great value for money.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

Jean B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We found this tour excellent. Our tour guide was very good and knowledgeable not only on Hobbiton but on the areas we were going through.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

Ray W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Whether you are a huge fan of LOTR or not, the Hobbiton Movie Set Tour is well worth the time and money. The staff was energetic and entertaining and the set itself is maintained as though hobbits were really living there. Definitely should not be missed.

Doing what: 'Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Tour

Ms D M J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Overall, the trip was a very good experience. There was a lot packed into the two days. I enjoyed all the trip activities - it was good to go along and try everything, and I rather liked swapping around buses. There were lots of friendly people on the buses including the drivers and the same people would appear at different times and places, like old friends! If you don't have a lot of time, or your own transport, this is a great way to get around. The caves were rather crowded at first, but I was surprised at the extent of the caves - and the quiet boat ride was lovely. Rotorua was fascinating. The Duck Tour was fun and I got to see the lakes around Rotorua. The Maori village was a good combination of factual information and fun, and our driver to and fro the village had a fine singing voice. He also did the actions to the songs - I've never been on a coach before where I've cried with laughter! If you're a Hobbit/Lord of the Rings fan, you'll adore Hobbiton. It was amazing! My sister is totally jealous.

Doing what: 2-Day Waitomo Caves, Hobbiton Movie Set and Rotorua Tour from Auckland

Judy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great from start to finish. Nice bus for transportation, plenty of time to visit the set and take pictures. We enjoyed the shop, and had a very nice included lunch buffet and drink. My husband is the Hobbit fan, but after seeing the set, I am now a fan. We are going to watch the DVD again.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

Ann D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

we had a fantastic day. Tour guide Simon was excellent. absolutely stunning scenery -a MUST DO for Lord of the Rings fans. When booking we were a bit concerned about the price but after the tour felt it was money well spent - it was our favorite tour of NZ

Doing what: Lord of the Rings - Journey to Edoras from Christchurch

Korina Ana Philippines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

My brother and I really enjoyed this tour. It's worth every penny, especially if you're a huge LOTR fan. Our guide going to and from Hobbiton, Alexander, was very friendly and knowledgeable. We learned a lot, not just about Hobbiton about New Zealand in general. He even recommended places for us to visit when he learned we were going to other parts of NZ.

I've forgotten the name of our guide in Hobbiton itself, but she was very accomodating. Some of the tidbits you learn during the tour is mindblowing. You'll learn how much of a mad genius Peter Jackson is. The place itself is beautiful. I particularly liked the small details included in each of the Hobbit houses.

By the way, make room for lunch because it is fantastic.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set

Katie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Even though it rained pretty much the whole day, we had a great time! I'm not sure how the companies are related, but we were taken by Great Sights. I really enjoyed the commentary by our driver, Damian. He didn't just talk about the different sights we saw including things along the way to these places, but also about the country's history, people, politics, etc. Very-very informative! The Hobbiton and the and the caves, we were led by professional tour guides who also did a fantastic job. At Hobbiton, beside the tour, the drink and lunch was very tasty. At the caves, the main site was actually closed for a bit due to CO2 build-up, due to the rain, so we got to see an even bigger cave nearby.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Willard P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Hobbiton is amazing. The caves were like nothing we had ever visited. The journey from Auckland was a bit long but worth it.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland with Private Transport

Kerri R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

A fantastic way to do a day trip out to Hobbiton. And Hobbiton itself is totally worth it! I would love to visit again to do the evening tour and to grab some more of their special brew.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

GD O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Hobbiton was a lot of fun and our guide, AJ, was exceptional. The lunch and drink at the Green Dragon included in the tour price was very good and appeared to cater to a wide variety of dietary requirements. We were unable to enter the Waitomo Caves due flooding, but the staff there were very professional and flexible and were able to organise another cave for us to see the formations and glowworms. Very happy with this tour and would recommend it, but it is a long day with lots of driving.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Alan L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was a great trip, Hobbit fan or not. Guide Hannah? was very knowledgable and added to the event.
You need to book in advance to ensure you get there, especially if you want to do the evening one where a meal in the Green Draggon is also part of the trip.
Highly worthwhile

Doing what: 'Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Tour

Cathy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Did not know that Damian was that famous! Rightfully so. Damian is a five times five star! I never joined a tour where the driver acted as a guide as well. And he was one knowledgeable one from 1600s history upto present. I felt very enriched with the narration he made. He was well balanced as he was not afraid ro share the bad things as well with proper POV. I especially appreciated not being rushed even if we were late with the schedule. Well, we were but he has asked so nicely so it did not feel that bad at all. I also liked how he talks about real things - not only those you read in books - points to the things you see and worth seeing as you pass by them.

The wifi in the bus was really good. It had some dripping aircon problem on one seat. Fortunately our bus was not full.

I appreciated the flexibility of viator and this company as I was supposed to be booked the day after but glad that they came back to me with my request to move it earlier. Win win for both of us.

I think choosing these two places only is about right. The free cold beer in Hobbiton after a hot walk was a nice one. This tour has free snack in the morning and buffet lunch in Hobbiton.

The price frankly is too expensive for me but with lack of time to research, national holiday, too tired to drive, and no idea what public transporation to take, this is already a deal.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Monica Megan M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was a fabulous experience! The best day ever! Our driver was very friendly and the tour was informative. Food was delicious and the fact we got our own tour guide for Hobbiton was amazing! I would go again in an instant! PS. Don't forget to use your voucher in the gift shop!

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message