Middle-earth, dreamed up by J.R.R Tolkien, is the hometown of the characters in The Lord of the Rings trilogy. Thanks to New Zealand film-maker Peter Jackson, Middle-earth came alive with Jackson's use of New Zealand's visually stunning ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 178 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Awesome trip! It's a long drive to the Waitomo Caves from Auckland, and sadly, no photography is allowed in the caves, even if you turned off your flash, but it is just so amazing to see! I was expecting to see only specks of light, but the glow worms really illuminate the otherwise pitch-black caves and it's almost magical!

Lunch at the Waitomo Caves wasn't fantastic though. Just a buffet with a small spread made up mostly of mediocre salads.

The Hobbiton Tour was awesome -- definitely one of my favorite spots of my NZ vacation. The Hobbiton guide was super friendly and shared so many interesting stories and tidbits, and the free beverage at the Green Dragon Inn was a nice way to end the tour.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This excursion was the highlight of my husband and my trip to New Zealand. We were on the Sea Princess and they didn't offer Hobbiton and Rotorua in the same excursion, as this was our first time I was worried about going with a company outside for an excursion but I had no need to worry. Grant from Zealander was very informative, courteous, punctual and helpful from start to finish. He had exceptional knowledge and nothing was too much for him. Could not praise him enough. He really made it a great tour for all aboard. We could only hope to have him again and would highly recommend this excursion to anyone. Grant and Zealander tours are a great combination. Thank you.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour Including Rotorua Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

It was a fantastic day. My sons really enjoyed their time wandering through Hobbiton. We only wish they had a tour that arrived just as the place opens. We had a good time sampling the ale at the Green Dragon.

Doing what: 'Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Wonderful tour! We had an excellent driver Wayne from the tour company from Auckland. He gave us plenty of history of the region on our way from Auckland to Hobbiton. The crowds had not arrived yet so we got to take plenty of pictures and view the setting and were not rushed through. Afterwards, the tour included a sample of ale and a lovely lunch. Would recommend..

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour was wonderful. I enjoyed the duck boat and the glow worm caves. My wife thoroughly enjoyed Hobbiton, and the Tamaki village was a lot of fun. I definitely recommend this for anyone visiting New Zealand for the first time.

Doing what: 2-Day Waitomo Caves, Hobbiton Movie Set and Rotorua Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Absolutely awesome for LOTR or Hobbit fans! Having spent countless hours playing Lord of the Rings Online, seeing Hobbiton so well looked after was amazing. Guide was fun and informative. The group was moved along steadily, but not rushed at all.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

A REALLY ENJOYABLE TRIP. THE DRIVER WAS REALLY FRIENDLY AND VERY KNOWLEDGABLE ABOUT THE ROUTE AND HOBBITON. THE GUIDE AT HOBBITON ITSELF WAS ALSO VERY WELCOMING AND KNEW HIS STUFF.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Had a great time. Everything was as described; Ben picked me up on time (actually a little early - he was waiting when I stepped outside), Wayne did a great job storytelling the whole way there and most of the way back. Hobbiton was of course wonderful. I posted a picture of myself in front of Bag End on facebook. My son responded "That man couldn't look more smug if Gandalf himself had invited him on an adventure". Apparently, I had a VERY good time. Thanks so much - definitely delivered above expectations!

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Fantastic!!! The guide, Tony was knowledgeable, funny and very personable. It was an easy way to get out of the city and see some more of New Zealand. Hobbittion was great! I would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

If you are a fan of Hobbits, don't miss it. Got great pics.

Doing what: 'Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

I enjoyed this trip so much! Our tour guide Damian was fantastic. They catered to my vegan dietary requirements. The Caves and Hobbiton are two things which everyone need to experience when visiting New Zealand.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Wonderful tour from the moment we were greeted as we left the cruise ship until we were dropped off again. Informative, friendly bus driver and fantastic guides at Rotorua and Hobbiton. Our family of four highly recommend this tour and this company - a fantastic way to see two amazing sites in the one day and not feel rushed at either. Thank you to all involved!

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour Including Rotorua Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Had an amazing time at Hobbiton. Our driver and tour guide were excellent. It was a brilliant day, very enjoyable.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Really great day tour if you wanted to fit in waitomo and Hobbiton!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was the highlight of my two week trip to New Zealand. The bus rides were never boring, as the guide was extremely knowledgeable about the area and kept up a running commentary on the way there, and showed videos on the way back. Mount Sunday and the surrounding area were absolutely stunning, by far the most beautiful place I've ever visited. It's well worth visiting even if you aren't a fan of Lord of the Rings.

Doing what: Lord of the Rings - Journey to Edoras from Christchurch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message