Middle-earth, dreamed up by J.R.R Tolkien, is the hometown of the characters in The Lord of the Rings trilogy. Thanks to New Zealand film-maker Peter Jackson, Middle-earth came alive with Jackson's use of New Zealand's visually stunning ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 168 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Had a great time. Everything was as described; Ben picked me up on time (actually a little early - he was waiting when I stepped outside), Wayne did a great job storytelling the whole way there and most of the way back. Hobbiton was of course wonderful. I posted a picture of myself in front of Bag End on facebook. My son responded "That man couldn't look more smug if Gandalf himself had invited him on an adventure". Apparently, I had a VERY good time. Thanks so much - definitely delivered above expectations!

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Had a great time. Everything was as described; Ben picked me up on time (actually a little early - he was waiting when I stepped outside), Wayne did a great job storytelling the whole way there and most of the way back. Hobbiton was of course wonderful. I posted a picture of myself in front of Bag End on facebook. My son responded "That man couldn't look more smug if Gandalf himself had invited him on an adventure". Apparently, I had a VERY good time. Thanks so much - definitely delivered above expectations!

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Had a great time. Everything was as described; Ben picked me up on time (actually a little early - he was waiting when I stepped outside), Wayne did a great job storytelling the whole way there and most of the way back. Hobbiton was of course wonderful. I posted a picture of myself in front of Bag End on facebook. My son responded "That man couldn't look more smug if Gandalf himself had invited him on an adventure". Apparently, I had a VERY good time. Thanks so much - definitely delivered above expectations!

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Had a great time. Everything was as described; Ben picked me up on time (actually a little early - he was waiting when I stepped outside), Wayne did a great job storytelling the whole way there and most of the way back. Hobbiton was of course wonderful. I posted a picture of myself in front of Bag End on facebook. My son responded "That man couldn't look more smug if Gandalf himself had invited him on an adventure". Apparently, I had a VERY good time. Thanks so much - definitely delivered above expectations!

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Fantastic!!! The guide, Tony was knowledgeable, funny and very personable. It was an easy way to get out of the city and see some more of New Zealand. Hobbittion was great! I would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

If you are a fan of Hobbits, don't miss it. Got great pics.

Doing what: 'Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

I enjoyed this trip so much! Our tour guide Damian was fantastic. They catered to my vegan dietary requirements. The Caves and Hobbiton are two things which everyone need to experience when visiting New Zealand.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Wonderful tour from the moment we were greeted as we left the cruise ship until we were dropped off again. Informative, friendly bus driver and fantastic guides at Rotorua and Hobbiton. Our family of four highly recommend this tour and this company - a fantastic way to see two amazing sites in the one day and not feel rushed at either. Thank you to all involved!

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour Including Rotorua Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Had an amazing time at Hobbiton. Our driver and tour guide were excellent. It was a brilliant day, very enjoyable.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Really great day tour if you wanted to fit in waitomo and Hobbiton!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was the highlight of my two week trip to New Zealand. The bus rides were never boring, as the guide was extremely knowledgeable about the area and kept up a running commentary on the way there, and showed videos on the way back. Mount Sunday and the surrounding area were absolutely stunning, by far the most beautiful place I've ever visited. It's well worth visiting even if you aren't a fan of Lord of the Rings.

Doing what: Lord of the Rings - Journey to Edoras from Christchurch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour was amazing and so was my guide Michael. We went to heaps of locations and he gave us lots of information regarding The Lord Of The Rings, and to go to weta workshop as well was amazing. To top it all off you get to go somewhere special at the end. It's after your main tour around Wellington and weta workshop that you go to an iconic place, but I'll let you figure it out what it is. So do the tour!

Thank you very much!

Doing what: Middle-Earth Filming Location Lord of The Rings Trilogy Tours

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

There were 3 main things I wanted to see in New Zealand and this tour covered them _ Waitomo Caves, Rotorua and Hobbiton. I hadn’t done a tour like this where bus loads of people kept splitting up and getting on new buses for different tours. Although my wife and I had 7 different buses it all went smoothly. A bit of time is lost waiting and changing buses but I am not sure if this could be done better.
We loved the tours of Waitomo Caves, Rotorua and Hobbiton. We also had a “duck” tour which went right into the lakes at Rotorua. The Maori village and hangi feast, spouting geysers at Te Puia, Kiwi birds at Rainbow Springs and even a sheep show at the Agrodome. The accommodation at the Millennium Hotel was very comfortable, although prepare yourself for the smell of sulphur.
I couldn’t imagine how I could have organised this myself in the time frame. I strongly recommend this tour to anybody visiting New Zealand.

Doing what: 2-Day Waitomo Caves, Hobbiton Movie Set and Rotorua Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Excellent tour guides on coach, glowworm caves and Hobbiton! Enjoyable tour!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

My tour date was 03/02/15 i had Damien i think was his name as our tour guide, he was amazing. As i was solo on this trip and a bit of a drive it was nice that he talked all the way there and i found all the history and culture of New Zealand very interesting. First stop was the Glow worm caves, incredible! The worms were like stars, magical! Then onto Hobbiton as i am a big fan of the films i thoroughly enjoyed it. The guide was very informative the movie set is awesome! The buffet lunch included was delicious. You have to go! Well worth the money :-

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message