Middle-earth, dreamed up by J.R.R Tolkien, is the hometown of the characters in The Lord of the Rings trilogy. Thanks to New Zealand film-maker Peter Jackson, Middle-earth came alive with Jackson's use of New Zealand's visually stunning ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 144 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

As a mega fan of Lord of the Rings books and movies, this was a dream come true. Our driver and guide was very friendly and knowledgeable and kept us well informed as the day progressed. A wonderful, exciting day! I would rate this tour a 5. Oh yeah, the lunch was tasty too.

Mary - Canada

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was an excellent trip. There were very few people, so lines were short and the bus driver could pay special attention to us. The bus driver was informative not only about New Zealand history, landscape, and agriculture, Hobbiton, and the glow worm caves, but also talked about some current events that an international visitor wouldn't know about. Hobbiton was wonderful, uncrowded, unrushed (having read other reviews, I worried about that). The glow worm caves were interesting and the food was okay, but I didn't expect better than that. Watch out for the birds if you eat there -- they are tenacious and fearless. Our bus driver was Allen.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a great trip - terrific driver, small group and we got to see both Hobbiton and Rotorua in the same tour. Well worth the money. The kids and I loved it.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour Including Rotorua Sightseeing

bonnie
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We loved every moment
My husband worked on first lord of rings production screening some of the rail rushes. He was in his element. Our family love hobbit series. The green dragon was just so special and the ginger beer amazing. Our guide was outstanding. Lots of information and even taking photos.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour guide was extremely helpful. At the last minute without telling the travel company we decided that we wanted to travel to Rotorua after Hobbiton rather than head back to Hobbiton. Our tour guide sorted it all out and somehow managed to get us on another tour bus going to Rotorua! Amazing work and very much appreciated. Can't thank him enough for being thrown this curve ball and coming up with a great solution.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Terrific day out despite the early start from Auckland. Well organised with a very friendly and knowledgeable tour guide who really put himself out. Hobbiton is a must see for any devotees of the books or the films - I just wish it was bigger with more of the sets, especially the set for Bree from LoR but the Green Dragon does make up for it and the beer is superb - (but no pipe weed!). Amazingly a couple of people on the tour had neither read the books or seen the films but were very impressed with the whole experience. 5 star rating.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Beautiful tour and really great tour guides. The tour guides are very knowledgeable and willing to answer any questions, they also give you plenty of time to take pictures of Hobbiton and will gladly take pictures for you if you like!

Doing what: 'Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed the tour. As a LOTR fan, it was really fantastic being able to walk through Hobbiton, a place I felt I already knew. Fantastic tour guide, very friendly and knowledgable

Doing what: 'Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour to Waitomo Caves and Hobbiton. The bus driver was very informative. We had been in New Zealand for 10 days and learned a lot about the country from listening to his monologue. Good lunch at the Waitomo Caves.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

From pickup at the ship to the return trip the half day tour was full of facts and information from out knowledgeable tour guide. Visiting sites where the Lord of the Rings was filmed was amazing and our tour guide showed us film clips of the actual sites. Wetta Studios was also a very impressive place to visit.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Fantastic day. I booked this in advance, directly with via Viator, leaving from Auckland on the 5th November. We traveled from the UK to go on a Holland America cruise, which also did these trips, but we saved over $364 by doing this on our own, compared to the ship prices for both of these events. We were well looked after by our bus driver John, who was both entertaining and knowledgeable during our drive. The Waitomo Caves were absolutely stunning, where we got a lovely lunch, then on to Hobbiton. Our guide there, Kess, was full of snippets, but the atmosphere far exceeded my expectations. All of this ended with drinks in the Green Dragon. What an experience and great beer. It was a long day, with a lot of driving involved, but one that I will not forget. Well done Viator for everything. Hotel pickup, snacks on the bus, lunch and an entertaining driver. First class! Both of these places are worth the time taken to visit them.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Great tour. Had a great driver and guide at Hobbiton. Highly recommend the early tour.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We loved the trip. The driver was friendly engaging through out the trip, and the guide at Hobbiton provided interesting and often amusing anecdotes about the Hobbiton set and what went on during the filming.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

gloworm caves mazing and pleasantly surprised with the Hobbiton tour

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Me and my 2 teenage sons really enjoyed this tour even though it is a very long day and just under 600klms travelled. Waitomo was very cool and would be worth spending a bit more time there to explore the other caves. Hobbiton was amazing and sooo gorgeous, it made it all worth while. I loved it, especially finishing off with a drink in the Green Dragon. We would definitely recommend this tour or maybe if you have more time do each separately.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message