Middle-earth, dreamed up by J.R.R Tolkien, is the hometown of the characters in The Lord of the Rings trilogy. Thanks to New Zealand film-maker Peter Jackson, Middle-earth came alive with Jackson's use of New Zealand's visually stunning ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 124 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Me and my 2 teenage sons really enjoyed this tour even though it is a very long day and just under 600klms travelled. Waitomo was very cool and would be worth spending a bit more time there to explore the other caves. Hobbiton was amazing and sooo gorgeous, it made it all worth while. I loved it, especially finishing off with a drink in the Green Dragon. We would definitely recommend this tour or maybe if you have more time do each separately.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour was terrific. Our tour guide Paul was great fun and very knowledgeable (and drove sensibly!). The tour locations, lunch and whole itinerary were great. And we also learnt heaps about the local area which was a bonus. I would highly recommend this trip. It was also fun to spend the day with other Lord of the Rings fans and muck around taking photos.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Jack our tour guide was fantastic... Very knowledgeable in every thing Lord of the Rings.... Plus some!!!!

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Amazing experience! Very well organized, the driver was awesome and his facts were super interesting and very funny. Hobbiton is breathtaking. Super recommended wether you're a fan of Tolkien and the movies or not!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Phenomenal experience!! Everything is taken care of, the incredibly friendly and professional tour guides tell you at each step where and what to do and take care of everything for you. All you have to do is keep your camera ready and enjoy the experience!

The Waitamo Caves and Hobbiton tours themselves are amazing, with the tour guides answering all your questions and making the tours really relaxed and fun! Despite the careful planning, we never felt like we were being rushed, which was a testament to the professionalism and experience of the guides.

Definitely book through Viator, all we needed was to show a print out once at pickup and the rest was taken care of for us!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Hobbiton was fantastic and a highlight was the ale at the Green Dragon Inn. The hobbit holes have been restored after filming of The Hobbit and there is so much detail to the sets. Well worth a visit and the distance from Auckland is not too bad - lovely scenery on the way.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a beautiful tour, the guide was informative and fun. I am not a huge Lord of the Rings fan but many on the tour were. the scenery was worth the trip. what a beautful part of the country. I was traveling alone and was very comfortable with the group , everyone was very friendly. Well worth the time and the money.

Doing what: 'Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent tour! We got picked up from our hotel and transferred to a big bus. The driver who also doubled as a guide around Auckland was great and responsible. He briefed us before and after each stop and divided us into groups that were doing separate tours.

The Hobbiton tour and glow worm caves were fantastic, took loads of pictures! Great for our family of 4 with varying interests.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Kierra
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Such a great way to see as many attractions possible in Rotorua as well as the famous Hobbiton movie Set. All our guides were fantastic. The farm show at Agrodome was a real laugh, they really get everyone involved no matter you age! I even got to milk a cow! Te Puia, there is nothing like this anywhere! Such an incredible and unique place that not only offers visitors an insight into the history of the Maori Culture but also the history of Rotorua and the Geothermal activity. The Hobbiton movie set is amazing. You are taken into a whole new world and it’s just so amazing. A Fantastic tour and highly recommended for those wanting to see as much of Rotorua on a short timeline.

Doing what: Rotorua City Tour and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This was a fantastic day. The caves were beautiful and the history of them very interesting. Hobbiton Movie set was fun with a nice walk around and lots of photo opportunities. Our bus driver/tour guide was very informative and kept us entertained while on the road.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Every part of this tour was fantastic, from the bus driver to the lunch and Hobbiton ofcourse.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

3 mates and i decided for this Hobbiton tour bec. it was the only one to fit our flight schedule. We were sceptic at first, but the tour was a blast! A friendly bus driver (Tom) made the trip highly enjoyable, and our tour guide (Eric, 90 years old by the way!) had amazing LotR knowledge. A+ :-)

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

What a wonderful day. My husband and son are the Hobbit fans but I thoroughly enjoyed this trip also. Small bus, great driver, beautiful day. Lovely lunch. Worth every cent. Would definitely recommend this trip.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This was without a doubt the best guided tour we have been on. Extremely week organized, very knowledgeable and our guide was brilliant. This tour us well work the money and well worth a Trip to Wellington just to experience it. Being fans of the LotR and The Hobbit, we knew it was going to be good, but even then it blew away all our expectations.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message