Middle-earth, dreamed up by J.R.R Tolkien, is the hometown of the characters in The Lord of the Rings trilogy. Thanks to New Zealand film-maker Peter Jackson, Middle-earth came alive with Jackson's use of New Zealand's visually stunning ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 115 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent tour! We got picked up from our hotel and transferred to a big bus. The driver who also doubled as a guide around Auckland was great and responsible. He briefed us before and after each stop and divided us into groups that were doing separate tours.

The Hobbiton tour and glow worm caves were fantastic, took loads of pictures! Great for our family of 4 with varying interests.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Kierra
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Such a great way to see as many attractions possible in Rotorua as well as the famous Hobbiton movie Set. All our guides were fantastic. The farm show at Agrodome was a real laugh, they really get everyone involved no matter you age! I even got to milk a cow! Te Puia, there is nothing like this anywhere! Such an incredible and unique place that not only offers visitors an insight into the history of the Maori Culture but also the history of Rotorua and the Geothermal activity. The Hobbiton movie set is amazing. You are taken into a whole new world and it’s just so amazing. A Fantastic tour and highly recommended for those wanting to see as much of Rotorua on a short timeline.

Doing what: Rotorua City Tour and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This was a fantastic day. The caves were beautiful and the history of them very interesting. Hobbiton Movie set was fun with a nice walk around and lots of photo opportunities. Our bus driver/tour guide was very informative and kept us entertained while on the road.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Every part of this tour was fantastic, from the bus driver to the lunch and Hobbiton ofcourse.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

3 mates and i decided for this Hobbiton tour bec. it was the only one to fit our flight schedule. We were sceptic at first, but the tour was a blast! A friendly bus driver (Tom) made the trip highly enjoyable, and our tour guide (Eric, 90 years old by the way!) had amazing LotR knowledge. A+ :-)

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

What a wonderful day. My husband and son are the Hobbit fans but I thoroughly enjoyed this trip also. Small bus, great driver, beautiful day. Lovely lunch. Worth every cent. Would definitely recommend this trip.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This was without a doubt the best guided tour we have been on. Extremely week organized, very knowledgeable and our guide was brilliant. This tour us well work the money and well worth a Trip to Wellington just to experience it. Being fans of the LotR and The Hobbit, we knew it was going to be good, but even then it blew away all our expectations.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

I highly recommend this tour if you are a big Lord of the Rings fan. Our tour guide, Kenny, did a fantastic job taking care of us.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The hobbiton movie set tour was excellent. There were four of us on the tour. It was very personalized and our tour guide was extremely informative. This tour is highly recommended.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Absolutely fantastic! My wife loved every minute of it. I think she has a photograph of every door in Hobbiton. All 44 of them.The Guide was informative and there was plenty of time to see all we wanted to. The caves were also amazing and the guide cheerful and he gave us lots of facts and even a song. Our only criticism was the coach on the way back to our hotel. This was poorly organised and we got the feeling that the coach driver couldn't care less, dropping us and eight other people off for another coach which arrived nearly an hour later. The bus company organised the coach so I suppose that was about right. They do not seem to put the visitor at the top of their priorities.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

It was awesome worth every dollar. They picked me up from the cruise ship and although it was only me, an irish couple and the driver, it was great. The driver we had went out of his way to make the trip enjoyable giving us cool facts and telling us interesting stories about the places we were headed. Hobbiton was all and more that I expected, absolutely fantastic. Best opportunity, Although we saw heaps it wasn't as if we were pressed for time, we got to see everything we wanted and got to waste some times on the gift shops before arriving at the dock in time to walk around for an hour before the ship left.

Great value for money. Looking at the prices at Hobbiton and Rotorua there is definitely no way that doing it yourself would be in any way cheaper.

The timing of the tour was fantastic as well. Going to hobbiton first meant we were on the first group tour which meant we could take awesome unobstructed views of hobbiton without previous groups in the way. It gave the whole place an awesome atmosphere as it was not too hot and not crowded. Then we drove to Rotorua hotsprings, this was incredibly interesting but incredibly hot. Unfortunately no opportunity to swim but the history and information about the place more than made up for that. Seeing the geysers and getting steam from the hot springs was amazing (really did help my asthma). Be prepared though, the hot springs certainly stink. They showed us the cooking pools they use and after watching a traditional maori dance we got the chance to purchase some corn cooked in the pool. I normally hate corn, but this was delicious, perfectly sweet and moist, best corn I have ever had.

I would highly recommend this tour to anyone visiting at Tauranga, especially to those people on cruise ships. The ships offer to do one or the other for approximately the same price as Viator offers both. And don't worry about getting back in time, the drivers are more than aware of the cruise times and will get you back.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour Including Rotorua Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Waitomo Caves were awesome! Amazing really. A must do.
Hobbiton was also nice. Beautiful country. The bus ride alone was interesting.
They should have coordinated travel from Hobbiton back to Auckland better. Waited outside without shelter for the bus in cold weather for 40 minutes.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Great experience. Left early in the morning so we avoided big crowds and was able to get photos of Hobbition without people in them. Our driver was very friendly and had a great knowledge of New Zealand. She even stopped on the way back so we could get ice cream! The tour itself in Hobbition was fantastic, our guide's knowledge was immense. Highly recommended experience.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

An absolutely wonderful day. Waitomo Caves were beautiful. But, truthfully, the Hobbiton Movie Set was the highlight of the day. The site is spectacular and much better than expected. The guides were great! Well worth spending the day!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message