Despite being a South Pacific nation, the islands of New Zealand are so fantastically large that exploring them can be overwhelming. Luckily when visiting by cruise ship, however, most of the country’s famous sights are within range of an all-day ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 158 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Max B
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A really interesting tour of Christchurch and scenic drive back to Akaroa

Doing what: Best Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

On time picked at ship side, dropped of at train station on schedule and had enough time to get train ticket, picked up on time after the trip and had a nice sight seeing. Good deal. Cheaper and better than the cruise line excursion.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Wow! What can i say loved Akaroa.And then to take a trip to Christchurch was Great.
The tour was also worth doing.I will be back!

Doing what: Best Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Fantastic tour, one of the best!! Very well organised. The scenery was just beautiful.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent. The scenery is beautiful!! The train was comfortable and warm, even the coffee was not too bad. Had a lovely day. Getting to and from the Cruise ship went effortlessly.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I throughly enjoyed our trip. Our driver was amazing, giving us personal experiences along with lots of information. He stopped numerous times so we could take pictures, which I really appreciated. The trip through the mountains was great and I would do it again in a minute.

Doing what: Best Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Booked as a birthday treat, the views, commentary and buffet service on the train were great. Enjoyed the City coach tour too and the chance to buy some souvenirs.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Very enjoyable way to experience the natural beauty of the area. Loved it. Well worth it.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

Colin
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We booked this trip to pick us up from our ship. The starting point was a few yards from the ship and we had an excellent tour at less than half the cost other people on the ship had paid for the ships tour. The big difference between the two tours is that the ships train is multiple carriages and they were served lunch but only had a 20 minute city tour. Our train was 4 carriages including a buffet car which served hot drinks, sandwiches and snacks and we had a 2 hour city tour after the train ride before being dropped back at the steps of the ship. Excellent trip worth every penny

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Amazing the best trip highly recommend it to anyone

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Well organized, completed all events as advertized. Good value for money.

Doing what: Best Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

An excellent excursion into the Taieri Gorge. Reserved seats for everyone and the scenery was breathtaking. Well organized and everything went smoothly.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent way to see all of the sights, the drivers were very knowledgable and gave excellent commentary all the way through. Fow someone who has never visited before, it is the best way to get around.

Doing what: Best Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Good value for the money.everyone prompt and waiting fot us at he pier. Train comentator was very informative..all in all a wonderful time

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

absolutly stunning excursion. withthe best personal tuch in a small group.
highly recommended

Doing what: Best Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The weather in Dunedin was not great at the start of this tour, however the train surely made up for it. This is a great trip starting at the incredible Dunedin Station and then following the twists and turns of the Taieri river up into the high country. The weather high up was far better where we stopped at the quaint 'whistle-stop' town of Middlemarch. The train conductor on this trip was a real character and kept us entertained and informed for the duration of the trip up and back. There were many opportunities to get great photo's for the full duration of the trip. On return, our bus driver provided a very comprehensive and informative tour of Dunedin before returning us to our ship. Well worth the money.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Enjoyed the train ride with the scenery and explanations. Amazing feat to build such a railroad. Interesting to find local people at stops selling their wares. Liked chatting with them. Very friendly and social.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Extremely pleased with the Taieri Gorge train tour. The scenery was outstanding. The train very clean and quaint. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Very good tour. We wanted to know how the earthquake had affected the city and its people and we felt we came away with a very good knowledge of both the tragic and positives of this horrific time. Highly Recommended... take your camera!

Doing what: Best Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

A great day out. It was sobering to see the extent of the devastation of Christchurch but heartening to see the efforts at rebuilding. The tour was well organized with plenty of great photo opportunities both to and from from Christchurch.

Doing what: Best Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

A great trip on the train lovely scenery and the trip around Dunedin certainly showed us a lot of the city and surrounds well worth doing

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This trip was by far better than we could have expected. Our very professional and friendly bus driver, Richard swiftly sorted out some teething problems with our booking system and made sure we were safely on the train. We were seated in the dining car - and were able to photograph and see the wonderful views of the gorge as we went along. After the train trip Richard took us on an extensive city tour - his knowledge was amazing! I felt very safe with his in the driver's seat. Pat - in charge of the dining in the train - made a wonderful cappuccino - and the sandwiches were delicious. The announcer on the train was also excellent - easy to understand and extremely knowledgeable of the journey. This was our first Viator tour - thank you.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message