You’ll find it hard not to be impressed at the opulence of The Breakers, the crown jewel of the Newport cottages. The 70-room four-story mansion was the summer estate of Cornelius Vanderbilt II, the grandson of railroad tycoon Commodore Vanderbilt. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 8 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Good tour of the Newport area and insights into the history behind the mansions. Also took the tour of the Breakers and Elms mansions - both were very informative. Would suggest the addition of the tour behind the scenes at the Elms to see how the servants worked. Tours take a good 2-3 hours each so plan accordingly - we were able to work this over two days since the tour tickets do not expire. Great experience!

Doing what: Newport Mansion Tour Along Ocean Drive

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

My fiancee and myself went on this tour and it was excellent ! The van was spotless.The tour guide was excellent and very well informed. The drive along Ocean Drive was beautiful.
We went on to tour The Breakers and Marble House ..it was very beautiful, informative and was so very ostentatious.
Newport is full of history and how much wealth and privilege some acquired at that moment in time.
Will definitely return !

Doing what: Newport Mansion Tour Along Ocean Drive

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

The enjoyed our tour of Ocean Drive Newport RI. The minivan held 10 passengers so we were not in a large, cumbersome group. We visited two mansions individually as part of our tour. The driver dropped us at Breakers and we had tickets for bus transport to the next mansion and back to the port. We had a great tour and a fun day at Newport.

Doing what: Newport Mansion Tour Along Ocean Drive

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Driver was really nice and really knew his stuff. Lots of cool information and a nice tour. BREAKERS!!!!!!!!!!! was epic and really worth every penny.

Doing what: Newport Mansion Tour Along Ocean Drive

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

This is the standard mansion tour we pre-booked to ensure the tours were not sold out on a beautiful fall weekend with cruise ships in town. The tour covers the Bellevue mansion area only. It allows a visit to one or two mansions depending on your preference. We toured the always fabulous Breakers and the veru unusual Marble House. Tickets are supplied for the return trip to the visitors center.

Doing what: Newport Mansion Tour Along Ocean Drive

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The guided tour on Ocean Drive was great. The driver was knowledgable and friendly. Only con - he was bashing the president which was inappropriate. He dropped us at The Breakers and we did not realize we had to use the public buses to get to our next mansion and back. The buses were overcrowded.

Doing what: Newport Mansion Tour Along Ocean Drive

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

The Breakers was fantastic. The driving tour showed hard to see mansions behind fences and hedges passed at lightning speed. Not what I had hoped for. The tour guide was knowledgeable.

Doing what: Newport Mansion Tour Along Ocean Drive

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

The tour was just mediocre. First of all, it had not been made clear to us that the van would not provide our transportation back to the visitor center, and that we were on our own to hop the local bus it was a cold street corner wait with nowhere to sit while waiting. The van ride itself was very bumpy for some reason ? schock absorbers.The tour operator and guide were fairly knowledgeable, but a little confused as to the route, etc. We did enjoy the tour of The Breakers. Next time we would probably go directly to the mansions and forget the tour.

Doing what: Newport Mansion Tour Along Ocean Drive

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message