No visit to Newport is complete without seeing the city’s magnificent collection of mansions, built by the wealthiest New York families with names like Astor and Vanderbilt, who in the late 19th century chose Newport as their summer resort. These ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 22 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The bus tour and walking tours 2 Mansions went well--learned about the people of the past, their thought process and what they wanted in the their lives to be shared by their family and friends. Tour with LIVE people were the best-- the interaction, ability to ask questions, and be challenged was a major draw. Recorded tours are OK- less costly for sure, but may not add to the P and L in the long run.

Doing what: Newport Mansion Tour Along Ocean Drive

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Wonderful time. Rained every day, but did not care. Mansions were beautiful. Currently re-paving major downtown street. Everybody was extremely friendly.

Doing what: Newport Mansion Tour Along Ocean Drive

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Good tour of the Newport area and insights into the history behind the mansions. Also took the tour of the Breakers and Elms mansions - both were very informative. Would suggest the addition of the tour behind the scenes at the Elms to see how the servants worked. Tours take a good 2-3 hours each so plan accordingly - we were able to work this over two days since the tour tickets do not expire. Great experience!

Doing what: Newport Mansion Tour Along Ocean Drive

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The man who drove the van and his helper were very knowledgeable and helpful!! The mansions which we got to see 3 of them were very interesting, we even entered more numbers into audio tour to get more information on different areas of interest.

Doing what: Newport Mansion Tour Along Ocean Drive

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

The enjoyed our tour of Ocean Drive Newport RI. The minivan held 10 passengers so we were not in a large, cumbersome group. We visited two mansions individually as part of our tour. The driver dropped us at Breakers and we had tickets for bus transport to the next mansion and back to the port. We had a great tour and a fun day at Newport.

Doing what: Newport Mansion Tour Along Ocean Drive

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A lovely tour of Newport and its historic mansions. Our tour guide was outstanding - shared facts and humorous details. A great shore excursion.

Doing what: Newport Ocean Drive Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour starts at the Visitors Center which was easy to find and had parking. Cost of parking was expensive. Our tour guide Bob provided a wealth of information on the history and people of Newport. I felt that he "knew" the info as opposed to reciting a script. He stopped and let us step off the bus at several spots to get good pictures. He gave us detailed directions on what to do when he let us off at the mansion for the tour and how to get back to town by bus at the end of the tour. He also recommended some places to see and eat. We had a choice of mansions to see. It was a treat to see the architecture and furnishings up close. The tour was done with an audio headphone. In most rooms there were "featured spots" where you cold listen to even more details on the period or people. This allowed you to go at your own pace. You could walk through the garden to the lawn overlooking the ocean. The breeze showed us why these city people enjoyed their summers here. We thoroughly enjoyed this tour which was well worth the money.

Doing what: Newport Mansion Tour Along Ocean Drive

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Driver was great, with lots of interesting and amusing stories about the mansions and the people who built and lived in them. Very nice bus tour. Well worth the low cost...go for it!

Doing what: Newport Ocean Drive Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

One of the best tours we have ever taken! The tour guide was very knowledgable and friendly! Seeing all those mansions was fantastic, along with the history. We would have loved the tour to be longer. We wouldn't think twice about taking another tour with Viator!

Doing what: Newport Ocean Drive Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Great overall tour of the beautiful mansions and coastline.

Doing what: Newport Ocean Drive Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

This is the standard mansion tour we pre-booked to ensure the tours were not sold out on a beautiful fall weekend with cruise ships in town. The tour covers the Bellevue mansion area only. It allows a visit to one or two mansions depending on your preference. We toured the always fabulous Breakers and the veru unusual Marble House. Tickets are supplied for the return trip to the visitors center.

Doing what: Newport Mansion Tour Along Ocean Drive

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Amazing mansions and beautiful drive. Our driver/guide was very personable and knowledgeable. He stopped several places along the way and gave us info on whatever it was we were seeing.

Doing what: Newport Mansion Tour Along Ocean Drive

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

We had a wonderful tour guide for a driver. We lucked out and ended up the only 2 for the ride. Very personalized and interesting. Mansions of course are beautiful and well worth the trip! Ocean drive is gorgeous.
The only negative is that viator needs to be a little more explicit on the confirmation sheet as to instructions on how the tour works.

Doing what: Newport Mansion Tour Along Ocean Drive

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Interesting historical tour of Newport and the mansions. Enjoyed the experience.

Doing what: Newport Mansion Tour Along Ocean Drive

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The guided tour on Ocean Drive was great. The driver was knowledgable and friendly. Only con - he was bashing the president which was inappropriate. He dropped us at The Breakers and we did not realize we had to use the public buses to get to our next mansion and back. The buses were overcrowded.

Doing what: Newport Mansion Tour Along Ocean Drive

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

The Breakers was fantastic. The driving tour showed hard to see mansions behind fences and hedges passed at lightning speed. Not what I had hoped for. The tour guide was knowledgeable.

Doing what: Newport Mansion Tour Along Ocean Drive

ElizabethD
United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

This was definitely worth doing but I would recommend a longer tour that included a visit to a mansion and perhaps stopping on the Cliff Walk. I had thought that the driver would stop to give us an opportunity to take photographs or even just to admire the glorious views, especially along Ocean Drive. I wasn't impressed with the driver we had - Mike, as he only made one stop when people were almost throwing themselves out of the mini bus to get a better look and photo of one of the mansions. He pointed out the Cliff Walk, just a few hundred metres away but simply advised that we take buses from the centre of town if we wanted to see it. This was disappointing but the tour is well worth doing as long as expectations are realistic. The tour I took was only 90 minutes so I would recommend taking a longer tour.

Doing what: Newport Ocean Drive Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

Mansion tours were self guided but overall it was good

Doing what: Newport Mansion Tour Along Ocean Drive

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

The tour was just mediocre. First of all, it had not been made clear to us that the van would not provide our transportation back to the visitor center, and that we were on our own to hop the local bus it was a cold street corner wait with nowhere to sit while waiting. The van ride itself was very bumpy for some reason ? schock absorbers.The tour operator and guide were fairly knowledgeable, but a little confused as to the route, etc. We did enjoy the tour of The Breakers. Next time we would probably go directly to the mansions and forget the tour.

Doing what: Newport Mansion Tour Along Ocean Drive

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2013

it was ok not what I was expecting I paid for two mansion tours got dropped off and had to catch the bus to the next mansion then back to where we took off from would not recommend this

Doing what: Newport Mansion Tour Along Ocean Drive

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

Thought it was pretty much a waste of time. Would have been better off just going to the mansions. Guide was not very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Newport Mansion Tour Along Ocean Drive

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2014

Overall, I was extremely disappointed with the mansion package from Viator. For the cost of the tour we got nothing extra. We waited on a long line, we were rushed through the tour and to be perfectly honest I'm not sure what the $55.oo per person was to cover. We had to drive to the vistor center and then we left from there, we couldn't even take our time throughout the mansion. We were initially told that the tour would be approximately 2 hours and we were there at most 45 minutes. I would never use them again and would never recommend them. I was extremely disappointed.

Doing what: Newport Holiday Mansions Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message