For those who want to experience Niagara Falls up close, a tour of Cave of the Winds is a must. In fact, the excursion takes you as close to the falls as you can possibly get. Sporting a souvenir poncho, you’ll descend 175 feet (53 meters) via ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 48 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Mark R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

My Facebook status after my Tour read: Probably one of the best days of my life visiting Niagara Falls and the tour guide was just awesome. I think that says it all!

Pre-booked the Niagara Falls in One Day: Deluxe Sightseeing Tour of American and Canadian Sides tour of Niagara Falls before I left Australia as Niagara Falls have been on my bucket list and wanted to get the most of the day I had in the Falls.

I travelled down by Coach from Toronto and was met at the coach terminal by our tour guide for the day, Caleb and what a delight he was! We picked up the other six people from both the Canadian and US sides and spent the first half of the day on the US side, starting with the Maid of the Mist, which allowed us to get a true appreciation for the sheer size and volume of the falls. This was followed by a tour of Goat Island and then down to the Cave of the Winds. A look at the hydro power stations and then back across the border into Canada for lunch and then more sights of the Canadian side before heading up to Skylon Tower.

Caleb, a history major at school, really looked after us well and explained everything with precision detail and included a significant amount of research and history. Caleb really knew his stuff and was happy to share it with us all. For a young guy, he knew exactly how to explain everything and was engaged with the group for the full seven hours we were all together. Caleb is a real credit to Over the Falls Tours and the company have reason to be be proud of him. Single handedly, Caleb gave me one of the best days in my entire life!

I highly recommend this local Tour company and the 'Niagara Falls in One Day: Deluxe Sightseeing Tour of American and Canadian Sides' tour to anyone wanted to truly experience Niagara Falls at its best.

10/10

Doing what: Niagara Falls in One Day: Deluxe Sightseeing Tour of American and Canadian Sides

Nikolay K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

I went on the Niagara Falls in One Day tour in August, 2015 and absolutely loved it. Our tour guide, Jim, was very enthusiastic and passionate about the place. He was constantly telling incredible stories that sounded more like a fiction until he showed is evidences of proof. He made sure we saw everything that was planned and expanded our tour program by making a few extra stops on the way and showed us some of his personal photos of how the place looks like in winter time, which I must say is no less spectacular than in summer. He also made sure we spent as much time as needed, had enough food and bathroom breaks, and arrived at the right places at the right time. He turned 6-hour tour into 10-hour journey through the beauty and history of the Niagara Falls. We saw the falls from different angles, from the front at Maid of the Mist, behind at Luna Island, from the side at Prospect Point observation tower, below at Cave of the Winds, almost underneath at the Hurricane deck, across from Canadian side and above from Skylon observation tower. I've made about 600 photos and they all look amazing it's going to be a struggle to select which ones to delete. We also stopped at rapids and famous whirlpools that took away lives of many adventurous fellows and one of the largest power plants in North America, which I found fascinating. The tour made me realize that there is so much more to the Niagara Falls than the Falls themselves and I would highly recommend others take this tour to have a similar unforgettable experience.

Doing what: Niagara Falls in One Day: Deluxe Sightseeing Tour of American and Canadian Sides

Melissa S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

excellent tour- excellent tour guide -cave of the winds is amazing maid of the mist boat ride incredible view of the falls

Doing what: Niagara Falls American-Side Tour with Maid of the Mist Boat Ride

Brian W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Standing directly in the falls at Cave of the Winds was amazing.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Niagara Discovery Pass

Karen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our guide even made waiting in line interesting. The ride on the Maid of the Mist was awesome but the Cave of the Winds was really fantastic. You experience the true meaning of power standing so near the falls.

Doing what: Niagara Falls American-Side Tour with Maid of the Mist Boat Ride

George W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was one of my BEST vacations ever! Our tour guide was very informative, helpful and inventive in getting us to our tour sites on time! Imagine Fourth of July, weekend, perfect weather.....Crowded! Bob, our tour guide, got us to The Cave of the Winds, ushered us through every step and held all our shoes for us until we came back up! The Cave experience was so exhilarating ! Bob got us across town, somehow, through all that traffic, in time for our Maid of the Mist adventure. Another great experience thanks to Bob! The phone attendants answered all our questions and even rerouted the tour bus to pick us up at a more accessible location. I highly recommend using Viator! From the moment we booked our tour until the time we stepped off the bus that night , everything was perfect! Thank you Viator!

Doing what: Niagara Falls American-Side Tour with Maid of the Mist Boat Ride

Deborah T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Despite the Falls killing my camera- this tour was awesome! Guide was knowledgable about the area and we definitely say the Falls from every conceivable angle. I was picked up from my hotel on time and the tour was definitely comprehensive. I highly recommend it- give everything a go- especially the Thunder Platform at the Cave of the Winds! But wrap your camera in plastic first!!!

Doing what: Niagara Falls in One Day: Deluxe Sightseeing Tour of American and Canadian Sides

Harriett E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We were able to experience the most interesting views and experiences relating to Niagara Falls and learn some history along with it. The tour guide Nick was informative and had some good suggestions to improve the different experiences such as save your ponchos from the boat tour for the Cave of the Winds tour. I highly recommend the tour.

Doing what: Niagara Falls American-Side Tour with Maid of the Mist Boat Ride

Mekong Moon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Even though everything is fairly close to each other and easy to get around in Niagara Falls, we were so glad we booked this tour. You probably feel a bit rushed at certain stops such as Cave of the Wind walk, but you get a chance to see everything in one day and with the help of a knowledgeable guide. We were glad we did. Our tour guide Jim was really nice and helpful, gave us some great tips to enhance our stay in Niagara Falls area.

Doing what: Niagara Falls in One Day: Deluxe Sightseeing Tour of American and Canadian Sides

DAVE

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This excellent tour was handled by Over the Falls. Nick our guide was knowlegable and funny. This tour allows you to do a lot in a short time. The Canadian side is basically sightseeing along with lunch and souvenir shopping. The Skylon Tower offers great views all around. The Maid of the Mist and Cave of the Winds are on the American side. They are wet and intense and a blast. There were 8 folks in our group so the bus was not crowded and allowed us to visit. You get a lot of bang for your buck-I doubt my wife and I could have done half of these things on our own in 6 hours. Ask for Nick! We highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Niagara Falls in One Day: Deluxe Sightseeing Tour of American and Canadian Sides

S L O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

After much deliberation I decided to book this deluxe sightseeing tour instead of one of the shorter, cheaper ones. I'm so glad I did - you only go to Niagara once! After all it is only a bit of water, as my husband said!
There were four in our party (age range 45 to 75) and, boy, did we have the most fantastic of days. Our tour guide was absolutely delightful and so very knowledge.
We were on a small coach (+/- 30 people) and so did not feel as if we were a stereotype tourist getting on and off a coach every two minutes with a camera in their hands. Although we must have been!
All aspects from the viewpoint overlooking the whirlpool, to the Maid of the Mist, to the caves, to the Souvenir Market where you go for lunch, was queue-less, clean, efficient and spectacular.
If you can afford it definitely go for this tour.

Doing what: Niagara Falls in One Day: Deluxe Sightseeing Tour of American and Canadian Sides

Thomas W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was an excellent tour. We REALLY enjoyed the Maid of the Mist and the Cave of the Winds. We had a small group of 4 people which was nice and Ed, the tour guide, was very knowledgeable. We would have liked to have an opportunity to shop at Maid of the Mist or Cave of the Winds shops instead of the Souvenir City that he took us to, but that was the only negative. The tour included a drive around the Canada side to see the Floral Clock, power plants, etc. There was quite a bit of walking so it might not be the best tour for those with limited ability.

Doing what: Niagara Falls in One Day: Deluxe Sightseeing Tour of American and Canadian Sides

Jacqueline R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We had a fantastic day and could not recommend this tour and our guide Nick highly enough.Maid of the mist boat ride is hard to put into words but is truly awesome, as is cave of the winds. We were picked up at our hotel by Nick who was very friendly, approachable and professional, I'm sure our tour went longer than usual but Nick did not pressure anyone with time restraints and made a great day into a fantastic experience. Thanks again Nick for a once in a life time experience

Doing what: Niagara Falls American-Side Tour with Maid of the Mist Boat Ride

Ann D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We stayed only one day in Niagara and the tour was really good. They bring you on the places you can see and enjoy your visit to the falls. Only the film was a disappointment and a waste of time. The boat ride and the cave of the winds were really very good. After the tour we have made a walk against the flow and saw the river before it arrives to the fall and that was also very heavy and nice to see.

Doing what: Niagara Falls American-Side Tour with Maid of the Mist Boat Ride

alexander c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent tour of several sites around Niagara with a very thorough and entertaining tour guide. The Maid of the Mist ride and Cave of the winds were breathtaking!

Doing what: Niagara Falls American-Side Tour with Maid of the Mist Boat Ride

Keith O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The falls are amazing. The tour was great because we covered all the highlights in one day. My fav was the Cave of the Winds.

Doing what: Niagara Falls American-Side Tour with Maid of the Mist Boat Ride

Marcia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had a great experience and loved the hotel pick-up! The tour offered exactly what we wanted in activities, especially the Maid of the Mist boat ride and the Cave of the Winds site. Our tour guide, Brandon was friendly and courteous. Great time!

Doing what: Niagara Falls American-Side Tour with Maid of the Mist Boat Ride

Susan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Loved the tour. Vinny was great and knowledgeable. The cave of the Winds were wonderful.

Doing what: Niagara Falls American Side Highlights Tour

Andrew L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We didn't want to just visit The Falls without being sure to see as much as we could. We booked this trip as it seemed fairly comprehensive. As we booked it online the night before, the staff had not got our details, but were organised and efficient and very friendly, giving directions ( we drove). OurTour guide Ed was great, we were a smallish group, and he remembered all our names and where we were from, several times he offered to take photos of the two of us together which was lovely as we usually only get one or other of us in pictures. The maid of the mist boat ride was awesome, and we would have booked that ourselves anyway, but we also really enjoyed the Caves of Wind, especially the Hurricane Deck ( not for the faint hearted as you get soaked and blown around,) you really feel a small measure of the immense power of the falls.
We really felt we saw everything we wanted to. One couple were heading back that evening, and ed gave them very detailed information on the route and parking etc. a really good tour which I have no problem recommending

Doing what: Niagara Falls American-Side Tour with Maid of the Mist Boat Ride

Anna G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This tour was fabulous. We truly enjoyed the Maid of the Mist boat ride and Cave of the Winds climb
surrounded by the roar of the American Falls.. Awesome!! If not for this tour, we would not have experienced the American side. We would have really misses out.
Our tour guide was very informative regarding the history of Niagara Falls and had many interesting stories to tell us. He had a wonderful sense of humor and made the trip extra special. It was great to do the tour with a van of people. It was fun to enjoy this adventure with others.
Would highly recommend taking this tour. Wonderful!!

Doing what: Niagara Falls in One Day: Deluxe Sightseeing Tour of American and Canadian Sides

Gary L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We greatly enjoyed the tour. Although we knew about the Maid of the Mist boat ride and the Cave of the Winds, the tour took us to some places we did not previously know about. The tour guide was informative and entertaining.

Doing what: Niagara Falls American-Side Tour with Maid of the Mist Boat Ride

Howard S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

We can't say enough good times regarding our tour. Neither of us had ever been to Niagara Falls and wanted to be guided instead of guessing about where to go. Our tour guide Nick H. was great, his knowledge of the area and of all the points of interest was wonderful, he also had some cute jokes as well. Nick was very mindful of the limitations of some of the people in his group, such as bad knees and not being able to tackle all the steps at Cave of the Winds. Be sure to wear comfortable shoes as there is quite a bit of walking but it is worth taking this trip especially if seeing the Falls for the first time and don't forget your camera.

Doing what: Niagara Falls American-Side Tour with Maid of the Mist Boat Ride

Adi S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Great tour. Excellent tour guide, funny and knowledgeable. Loved the variety of activities, especially the cave of the wind and the maid of the mist

Doing what: Niagara Falls American-Side Tour with Maid of the Mist Boat Ride

Joanne W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Our tour guide Dave was great. He never rush us so that we could experience everything. The sights on the Canadian side were so beautiful. I am so glad we went to the American side so we could experience the Cave of the Winds walk. The 3 Sisters islands were fantastic and so breathtaking. What a wonderful way to start our vacation.

Doing what: Niagara Falls in One Day: Deluxe Sightseeing Tour of American and Canadian Sides

Abdul Rauf P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

It was awesome. Oyur guide Greg ws fantastic. Very informative and gave us a very good time. Highly recommend this tour. The cave of the winds and the Maid of the Mist were the highlight of the tour.

Doing what: Niagara Falls American-Side Tour with Maid of the Mist Boat Ride

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message