Nice ATTRACTIONS See all

Le Chateau (Castel Hill)

Le Chateau, the shaded hill and park at the eastern end of Quai des États-Unis, is named after a 12th-century château that was razed by Louis XIV in a fit of pique in 1706 and never rebuilt. There are some ruins but not really a chateau ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 130 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I booked the two hour tour and although very nervous to begin with as I have never used a Segway, I greatly enjoyed the tour. The clear highlight of the tour was being able to go up Castle Hill at full speed and then having time to take in the views of Nice from the top. As such I was very pleased to have booked the two hour tour (booked in advance for a cheaper price). The guide was informative and helpful.

Doing what: Nice Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We took this tour on our first day in Nice. Our guide was Kevin, a Brit who has lived in Nice for the last 7 years or so. It was a great way to be introduced to Nice and get a bird's eye view of the city. The mini-bikes we used were comfortable and ideal for sight-seeing. The route was an easy ride and the bikes were light and maneuverable. Kevin had great local knowledge, pointing out landmarks and spicing his commentaries with side stories which are unavailable in local guide books. Highly recommended for your first day in Nice.

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A memorable trip into the Provence countryside made all the more special because of our guide Rolf whose knowledge of the area and commentary added another dimension to our tour. We had a comprehensive tour of Canne and then meandered through the hills of Provence to Medieval Gourdon and Saint Paul de Vence taking in captivating views of these villages perched on top of rocky outcrops and calling into Grasse on the way. Wandering through these hill top villages was a delight. The hotel pick up was spot on and very convenient. I highly recommend this tour to visitors to the French Riviera and made our visit to Nice even more memorable. Thank you Rolf and Viator.

Doing what: Provence Countryside Small Group Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was the most enjoyable bike tour I have ever done.
It was a great way to see the real beauty and true heart of Nice.
The pace of the tour was really relaxing, I wasn't able to cycle the steep hill but I was able to walk up with my bike still feeling comfortable and under no pressure.
Our tour guide was friendly, informative and a really lovely person.
There is honestly nothing we could fault.
It was our favourite part of our holiday and we would highly recommend this fun tour to anyone :)

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had a wonderful time with Dorothee. As we walked through the Old City, she seemed to know EVERYONE! The tour was a nice mix of the city's ancient history, as well as the modern lifestyle of the locals. It was amazing to walk all over the city , from the market place in the valley to the castle on the bluffs, but the best part was getting to spend time with the girls at the gourmet olive oil and specialty foods shop. The women who worked there, along with Dorothee, spent so much time immersing us in their culture and food--they were SO NICE! Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great tour, enjoyed the scenery and commentary. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

A fabulous introduction to Nice! Our guide was wonderful and gave us a fantastic insight into the best places to visit.

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

What a fantastic tour and bike ride round the beautiful city of Nice. the two girls who run the tour were lovely girls, very informative and made sure our bikes comfortable before setting off. The only hard work was the hill climb at the end but well worth the climb as the views over the city were spectacular. Anyone coming to nice for the first time should join these girls as they take you round the old town and talk about the history of the city. What a wonderful way to see Nice along the promenade and round the back streets on a bike

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Fun experience. We did the 2 hour ride which I recommend over the 1 hour ride as it included riding to the top of Castle Hill where the views were amazing.

Doing what: Nice Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Marian was a super tour guide on the food tour in Nice! We visited a wide variety of shops to taste fruit candies, cheese (my favorite), olive oil and many more things. She provided a brief history of Nice also, which was interesting. I'd recommend this tour to anyone going to Nice!

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This food tour was great fun. We covered a lot of ground in 3 hours and got to taste many types of local food while learning about the history of Nice's food and culture. Great for an introduction to Nice! I'd definitely recommend doing this near the start of your trip.

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful! This was the highlight of our two week European vacation, which also included a seven day cruise from Rome to Barcelona. We had 12 hours in Nice, and we knew we would be a little itchy after art history and architecture tours in Rome and Florence. This Bike Tour trip was perfect. There were nine people on our tour, ranging from about 12 to about 60. It was physically active, including a ride up a couple of hills, but not overly challenging. Our tour guide, Nadia, was FABULOUS!! She knew the city well. We biked through narrow historical alleys and beachfronts, as well as stopped about every five to ten minutes for great stories that covered varied time periods (i.e. not just stories of military history in the 1500s). The bikes were well maintained. The route was varied and informative. I would HIGHLY recommend this tour. I wish we could have done it at every stop.

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was a lot of fun! We explored the old quarter on bikes before heading down the Promenade des Anglais which warmed us up for the cycle up castle Hill. The view at the top definitely made the climb worthwhile! Thelma was a great guide with may interesting stories to tell along the way. This is a very fun way of seeing Nice.

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

Monique S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great tour! Good pace. Leader always makes sure you're safe. All the good sites plus extra information for your stay in Nice. Overall a fantastic day! Recommend to all!

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

Monique S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great tour! Good pace. Leader always makes sure you're safe. All the good sites plus extra information for your stay in Nice. Overall a fantastic day! Recommend to all!

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message