Nice ATTRACTIONS See all

Le Chateau (Castel Hill)

Le Chateau, the shaded hill and park at the eastern end of Quai des États-Unis, is named after a 12th-century château that was razed by Louis XIV in a fit of pique in 1706 and never rebuilt. There are some ruins but not really a chateau ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 152 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This is our first visit to Nice, and we wanted to experience the local foods and people.
Well I must say that is was a highlight in our trip. All of your senses will open up and you will truly taste, smell, see and share what Nice is about.
Marion, well she is absolutely fabulous! A true embassador!

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

There was a lot that was packed into this tour. While all of the sites were interesting, it would be better if the last stop of the tour was something less time intensive than the Rothschild chateau. We only had at most an hour and a half to spend in the huge chateau and looking at all of the gardens. You could easily spend 3-4 hours doing this.

Doing what: Nice Art Tour: Chagall Museum, Matisse Museum and the Villa Ephrussi de Rothschild

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

My husband and I had a great time on this trip with Wagner as our guide. He was upbeat, knowledgeable, and a terrific person to spend a day with.
We started the day in a small village market about 45 minutes from Nice. Then we went to Grasse for a tour of the Fragonard Perfumery. This was very interesting. Our guide spoke terrific English and was very knowledgeable about the perfume making process. We especially liked being able to sample different perfumes/colognes for men and women at the end of the tour. We were on our own for lunch in the city of Grasse. We found a crepe stand nearby and had a delicious quick lunch.
Then we went to the small town of Gourdon in a somewhat mountainous area not that far from Grasse. We ended the day at the Chateau de Cremat which is one of only a handful of wineries in the Nice wine region called Appellation Bellet. We had an interesting tour of the winery including an area built by the Romans to store wine. Then our visit concluded with a tasting of several wines. Our winery guide was very knowledgeable about the wines and the region making our tasting all that more enjoyable.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Grasse Perfumery and Provence Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Nice

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

I was in Nice on my own and it was the perfect way to spend a morning. The tour guide was fabulous, made everyone welcome and had a real enthusiasm for his job. Nice is a beautiful city to see by bike. Going on the tour gave me the chance to see parts of the city I would not have gone to otherwise. Cycling through the old town was great. Thoroughly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

What a wonderful way to get acquainted with Nice - there is so much we would have missed on the market and in the old city's food shops if we had not taken this tour. Delicious, entertaining and inspiring - we wish we would be there again today and could enjoy it a second time.

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Great tour, especially because the day was warm and sunny.
Very pleasant walking through the markets and hearing about the products specific to the region. Enjoyed sampling the purchases with coffee then later at the olive shop. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

My wife was a little apprehensive before the tour however she loved it. It is the best way to travel all around Nice. We had a fantastic guide in Raphael. He was very knowledgeable and patient and took us around at a nice leisurely pace. It is without doubt the easiest way to go to the top of the hill for the brilliant views over Nice. We were there end of October 2014 for only one night so wanted to see as much as possible in as short a time as possible and we achieved that. On two separate occasions people approached Raphael for information on how they could book. Great fun. Just do it!!

Doing what: Nice Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I give the cycle tour 5 stars. Kevin is a terrific guide. He is knowledgeable, entertaining, thoughtful and the tour gave us an excellent insight into Nice, it's history, where to eat, where to go, which bus to take and much more useful info. Recommend wholeheartedly. Nola

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Generally great... could have got started a bit quicker and been a bit more cultural/historical tour and less of a celebrity guide tour... but overall great. The hill climb was hard work but worth it.

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fantastic tour - great way to find out history and places to go in Nice.

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A wonderful trip with an enthusiastic, smiling and skilful guide! We enjoyed the short and interesting history lessons wherever we stopped and in particular the cosy lunch at the back of the olive shop!

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Amazing trip! I love biking riding and this was the very first thing I did on my first full day in France. The tour guide we had was Kevin and he was very friendly and knowledgeable of the area. The trip was fun and informative, and everyone got along great. After the tour most of the people in the group ended up going for lunch together as well, which was very nice. Highly recommended to anyone who likes to ride a bike!

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was great. It takes you up into the hills above Nice to visit great little villages and a stop at perfume factory. A great time was had by all six of us.....a couple a great Aussie sisters and friends from New York and us from California.

Doing what: Provence Countryside Small Group Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our tour was outstanding. The guide was there right on time. We spent some time walking around in Nice, then headed to Eze (where our guide told us exactly the best place to go and things to do), and finished with a visit to Monaco (with a visit to the Castle and cathedral in Monte Carlo and a drive along the Grand Prix course). Along the way our guide stopped for us to get a couple pictures from a great viewpoint. She was full of information about each place we visited, had a wonderful attitude and was simply perfect. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!

Doing what: Villefranche Shore Excursion: Private Day Trip to Monaco, Eze and Nice

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message