• USD ($)
  • English

Nice ATTRACTIONS See all

Le Chateau (Castel Hill)

Le Chateau, the shaded hill and park at the eastern end of Quai des États-Unis, is named after a 12th-century château that was razed by Louis XIV in a fit of pique in 1706 and never rebuilt. There are some ruins but not really a chateau ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 94 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The three hour bike ride could not have been any better! The guide stopped along the way to point out historical and interesting side notes to the city you would not be able to get otherwise. Definitely recommend it. Lots of fun!

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We were only 2, therefore had a private tour to ourselves! We loved Marion, she was warm and knowledgeable about the food and history of Nice and is a charming person. The foods tasted were excellent and she also recommended local value restaurants. I would definately do this again. I am booking a similar tour through her agency for Paris in July.

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Very nice! Very nice! Very nice! The tour guide was great. Loved the places he took us to visit. WOW. For sure if you go to Nice do this tour!!!

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

The tour was top rated by all participants-our guide was knowledgeable and friendly. It did seem a bit odd that she did not drink alcohol and therefore knew little about wine and spirits. it really didn't deter from the tour -just seemed not to fit.

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

My daughter and I really enjoyed our tour. Dorothy was a wonderful guide. She was pleasant and efficient.

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This tour was fantastic, not only did we get to taste all kinds of food items but we received historical information about nice from our guide as well. We went to a outdoor market, olive oil producer, tasted some local rose wine, and went to a cheese shop. This was a wonderful way to discover the local food items from Nice that we would have otherwise never known about.

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Al was our guide and very knowledgable on history and anecdotes about Nice. We were a party of 3, which included a teenager. At times the history input was a little heavy going for some, but with a diverse group you can't please everyone !. However Al was very informative, and very helpful and relaxed in how he delivered the tour. This included being flexible in the tour because we had already visited some sites, he took us to others that we had not previously seen. It was great getting around some of the tiny backstreets that we would certainly not have found on our own. This tour is well recommended and i would suggest doing early on during your trip to Nice in order to get your bearings. The bikes are easy to use and you do not have to be a fit cyclist to enjoy or keep up.

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I was so excited when my husband told me we were going to Monaco by boat instead of bus. We got to the port and climbed aboard at 9.30. We went to the upper tier of the boat and got brilliant seats. The captain and his mate were funny and kept us all amused the whole way there and back pointing out the homes of the rich and famous and giving us a history lesson along the Cote D'Azur. This was 1 of my best experiences EVER in the South of France(and we go 4/5 times a year). The trip there was great but the trip home was fantastic, we sat on the back lower tier on the way home and felt as if we were returning to Nice on a speed boat. Ever sight was from a different angle, Eze castle on the hill, Casino and Palace in Monte Carlo from the water. It was a wonderful experience and not to be missed. Loved it!!!
Just be careful if you go on the upper deck that you sit in front of the stairs as everyone from the lower deck stands in front of you to take photographs and get there early as the French have no concept of queuing.

Doing what: Cruise to Monaco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

My husband and I just got back from two weeks in Europe, and we did a bike tour in each major city. This was the best one by far (even better than Munich)! The guide actually made an effort to learn our names and spoke so well about the history and sights of the town - you could tell he really loved living there! The ride was very easy with the exception of one climb up castle hill (we dismounted and walked part of the way), but he gave everyone plenty of time. At the end, he handed out a recommendation sheet of restaurants, activities, and nightlife/cafes in the area, which became our go-to for the rest of our trip. So wonderful!

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Excellent day trip,only 6 of us.Approx 3 hours in Monaco and 1 in Monte Carlo.The day included a purfume factory tour and a trip to Eze,a really lovely village on a hill.Great views.The lady tour guide could talk for England,but to be fair she was very good.In Monaco you can see the changing of the guard,stroll around the palace gardens,visit the museum with its great aquirium,take a train(pontins style)around the town.Then off to M-Carlo,not a great deal to do,mostly things to see,great boats,shops and buildings.

Doing what: Monaco and Eze Small Group Day Trip from Nice

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Fascinating tour; views over Nice harbour, visits to Eze, built on a hill-top, the Fragonard perfume factory, then on to Monaco and Monte Carlo. We saw the Place and the Cathedral where Gratia Patricia Principis Ranierii III Uxor (Grace Patricia Princess Wife of Ranier III, Grace Kelly) and Prince Ranier are buried. We did not have time to visit the Museum of Oceanography, but saw Jacques Cousteau's Yellow Submarine.

Then we went to Monto Carlo. We visited the Casino and watched some rollers lose money. The other half of the building is Opera Garnier, built by Garnier who built Opera Garnier in Paris. Great Architecture. As we drove to Monto Carlo and back we dove on the roads used in the Monaco Formula I Grand Prix.

A great day.

Doing what: Monaco and Eze Small Group Day Trip from Nice

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Tour guide was a little too chatty, but very sweet. Would have liked to have biked more and seen more, rather than stop off and talk so much, but still recommend this trip to see some areas of the city. We were given restaurant info/local info to take away at the end, which is a reason to book as early as possible in the trip.

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

We had a great time on this tour! The purfumery was amazing and our time in Gourdon France was breath taking! We had lunch in Gourdon with views that were incredible! If it wasn't a cloudy day, you could have seen about 90 miles in each direction. The only recommendation I would have is to do the wine tasting in Provence. The wine tasting is at a beautiful chateau in Nice, but we thought we'd be going to a winery in the country-side. Other than that, it was a great trip!

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Grasse Perfumery and Provence Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Nice

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

We used this service to travel to the hills area of Cimiez. Despite there being two buses on the circuit we waited 45 minutes at stop 4 and then only got off at one stop and made sure we were there an hour later or suffer the same fate again.

Doing what: Nice Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

My mom and I went on this tour and it was the highlight of our time spent in Nice. Marion was our guide and she was incredibly knowledgable about the history, culture and food of the region. We started out trying traditional Nice specialties from the market, picked up baked goods, stopped in a lovely cheese shop, made a stop at a cafe for socca and espresso and concluded at an olive oil shop where we sampled the oil and sat down to enjoy the treats we purchased in the morning with some great rose wine. This is a must do tour for anyone wanting an insiders look into old Nice. Thank you Marion!

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message