• USD ($)
  • English

Nice ATTRACTIONS See all

Le Chateau (Castel Hill)

Le Chateau, the shaded hill and park at the eastern end of Quai des États-Unis, is named after a 12th-century château that was razed by Louis XIV in a fit of pique in 1706 and never rebuilt. There are some ruins but not really a chateau ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 124 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great tour, enjoyed the scenery and commentary. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

A fabulous introduction to Nice! Our guide was wonderful and gave us a fantastic insight into the best places to visit.

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

What a fantastic tour and bike ride round the beautiful city of Nice. the two girls who run the tour were lovely girls, very informative and made sure our bikes comfortable before setting off. The only hard work was the hill climb at the end but well worth the climb as the views over the city were spectacular. Anyone coming to nice for the first time should join these girls as they take you round the old town and talk about the history of the city. What a wonderful way to see Nice along the promenade and round the back streets on a bike

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Fun experience. We did the 2 hour ride which I recommend over the 1 hour ride as it included riding to the top of Castle Hill where the views were amazing.

Doing what: Nice Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Marian was a super tour guide on the food tour in Nice! We visited a wide variety of shops to taste fruit candies, cheese (my favorite), olive oil and many more things. She provided a brief history of Nice also, which was interesting. I'd recommend this tour to anyone going to Nice!

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This food tour was great fun. We covered a lot of ground in 3 hours and got to taste many types of local food while learning about the history of Nice's food and culture. Great for an introduction to Nice! I'd definitely recommend doing this near the start of your trip.

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful! This was the highlight of our two week European vacation, which also included a seven day cruise from Rome to Barcelona. We had 12 hours in Nice, and we knew we would be a little itchy after art history and architecture tours in Rome and Florence. This Bike Tour trip was perfect. There were nine people on our tour, ranging from about 12 to about 60. It was physically active, including a ride up a couple of hills, but not overly challenging. Our tour guide, Nadia, was FABULOUS!! She knew the city well. We biked through narrow historical alleys and beachfronts, as well as stopped about every five to ten minutes for great stories that covered varied time periods (i.e. not just stories of military history in the 1500s). The bikes were well maintained. The route was varied and informative. I would HIGHLY recommend this tour. I wish we could have done it at every stop.

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was a lot of fun! We explored the old quarter on bikes before heading down the Promenade des Anglais which warmed us up for the cycle up castle Hill. The view at the top definitely made the climb worthwhile! Thelma was a great guide with may interesting stories to tell along the way. This is a very fun way of seeing Nice.

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

Monique S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great tour! Good pace. Leader always makes sure you're safe. All the good sites plus extra information for your stay in Nice. Overall a fantastic day! Recommend to all!

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

Monique S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great tour! Good pace. Leader always makes sure you're safe. All the good sites plus extra information for your stay in Nice. Overall a fantastic day! Recommend to all!

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We had a lovely time with Dorothy. She explained about the food, market, restaurants
And the walk to and from the Waterfall. Lots of little tastes arranged by her contacts.
I will definitely book another Viator tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

Kerri M
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

A fabulous day...my most anticipated day of my European trip and I wasn't disappointed! Picked up from our hotel by the delightful, Sylvia, she was smiling the entire day! Just the two of us and one other older family of 4, it was an intimate group who got along well and made the day a pleasure rather than being led around in a giant group. Mini-van was comfie for the 6 of us. Great views up above Nice and Villefranche on the other side, then up to Eze which was brilliant. Great to walk around for an hour or so discovering small cobblestone winding alleyways and tiny shops up on the hill. Then onto the Fragonard factory which was ok if you like that sort of thing (I normally do, but it felt like a bit of a production line of tourists going thru then a bit of a sales pitch at the end in the shop...I did buy some perfume however!). Then onto Monaco. Sylvia parked the van and walked us past giant groups of tourists to the Royal Palace then left us for a few hours to sightsee and lunch. So much to explore and the views are spectacular. After meeting up, we then drove around to the Monte Carlo area, again with an hour or so to see the Casino, Opera and the famous Hotel de Paris and Cafe de Paris, where we sat and had a drink and watched amazing cars drive by one after the other for the rest of our time there. A great day, highly recommended!

Doing what: Monaco and Eze Small Group Day Trip from Nice

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

An excellent way to cruise round the beautiful city of Nice. Although I've done segway-ing before in other cities, doing it Nice gave me new excitements as the track include hills, beaches, small lanes, etc, taking segway experience to a new level. Tour guide, Anna, was friendly and informative, too

Doing what: Nice Segway Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Our tour guide was fantastic, she was very informative, I think her name was Monica?? We thought Eze was great, magnificent scenery and the medieval castle was great to see.
Monoco and Monte Carlo a must!!!! Enough spare time at both places.

Doing what: Monaco and Eze Small Group Day Trip from Nice

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message