Nice ATTRACTIONS See all

Le Chateau (Castel Hill)

Le Chateau, the shaded hill and park at the eastern end of Quai des États-Unis, is named after a 12th-century château that was razed by Louis XIV in a fit of pique in 1706 and never rebuilt. There are some ruins but not really a chateau ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 166 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Kevin was a Great Guide! He was very interesting, very informative and very knowledgeable about Nice and the special attractions the city offers! We covered almost about everything in such a short time! This was a most wonderful experience!

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Our tour guide, Claudia, was fantastic. Her passion for quality food is infectious. I learned a lot from her about Nice and its relationship with food. She even arranged a delicious small snack/lunch for us with items she had bought. I highly recommend this tour if you are a foodie, and even if you are not because you will become one after the tour! Claudia's tour reminds people to eat mindfully and joyfully. I would give this tour more than 5 stars if I could!

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Wonderful way to discover the food and markets of Nice. Our tour guide Marion was terrific and helped us to understand and enjoy the fabulous flavors of the French Riviera. A great experience.

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Very informative, friendly tour guides,well organised. Our tour was a 3 hour tour that took nearly 4 due to the patrons being urged to ask question or vary from the schedule as the ownership of the was ours to see as much in a short time. We will being recommending this tour back in Australia.

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

Mark
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Great tour, especially the all day tour. You get a great visit to Eze which is a quaint small hill top medieval village, great guide in a comfortable minivan. Also, plenty of time to see Monaco and even visit the Oceanography museum and the palace entry tickets not included.
Overall good value.

Doing what: Monaco and Eze Small Group Day Trip from Nice

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This food tour was the best part of our Nice experience. Marion was so nice and sweet! She took us through Old Nice, Castle Hill and we sampled really yummy food!!!! We definitely would not have found these gems without her help. She also told us dinner spots where local people eat. Stay away from the tourist spots and go where she suggests! We are so happy we did the tour. Thank you!!!!

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Marion is fantastic and super engaging

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Trip was excellent our guide was very knowledgeable, friendly and welcoming this is a must for anyone visiting Nice.

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Don't go to Nice without booking this tour! Marion is a fantastic guide with a wonderful personality. She took us to all the best food shops and market stalls, and taught us a lot about Provencal cuisine. I was very impressed with the effort she put

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

the reviews and picures in viator didnt give justice to this tour. Gourdon (medieval castle) was absolutely amazing. so was the quaint and medieval town of Grasse.

Doing what: Provence Countryside Small Group Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We had a lovely time as we discovered the history and tasted the food of the old town. We tried foods we wouldn't of otherwise tasted and they tasted great. Our lovely tour guide was very passionate about Nice and food and I would certainly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

A fun way to be introduced to Nice. Our tour guide not only gave us a history tour but recommended various places to eat and foods to try. There was one hill at the end but hey if you can't make it to the top you just walk the last part it's worth the view at the top.

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was great got to see so many back streets and places we would never have found ourselves ! Our guide Marion was so informative and we had lots of tastings of different produce !

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was a highlight of our week there. Our guide put together history, culture, and food together. The tastings were especially worthwhile.

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This is our first visit to Nice, and we wanted to experience the local foods and people.
Well I must say that is was a highlight in our trip. All of your senses will open up and you will truly taste, smell, see and share what Nice is about.
Marion, well she is absolutely fabulous! A true embassador!

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

There was a lot that was packed into this tour. While all of the sites were interesting, it would be better if the last stop of the tour was something less time intensive than the Rothschild chateau. We only had at most an hour and a half to spend in the huge chateau and looking at all of the gardens. You could easily spend 3-4 hours doing this.

Doing what: Nice Art Tour: Chagall Museum, Matisse Museum and the Villa Ephrussi de Rothschild

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

My husband and I had a great time on this trip with Wagner as our guide. He was upbeat, knowledgeable, and a terrific person to spend a day with.
We started the day in a small village market about 45 minutes from Nice. Then we went to Grasse for a tour of the Fragonard Perfumery. This was very interesting. Our guide spoke terrific English and was very knowledgeable about the perfume making process. We especially liked being able to sample different perfumes/colognes for men and women at the end of the tour. We were on our own for lunch in the city of Grasse. We found a crepe stand nearby and had a delicious quick lunch.
Then we went to the small town of Gourdon in a somewhat mountainous area not that far from Grasse. We ended the day at the Chateau de Cremat which is one of only a handful of wineries in the Nice wine region called Appellation Bellet. We had an interesting tour of the winery including an area built by the Romans to store wine. Then our visit concluded with a tasting of several wines. Our winery guide was very knowledgeable about the wines and the region making our tasting all that more enjoyable.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Grasse Perfumery and Provence Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Nice

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

I was in Nice on my own and it was the perfect way to spend a morning. The tour guide was fabulous, made everyone welcome and had a real enthusiasm for his job. Nice is a beautiful city to see by bike. Going on the tour gave me the chance to see parts of the city I would not have gone to otherwise. Cycling through the old town was great. Thoroughly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

What a wonderful way to get acquainted with Nice - there is so much we would have missed on the market and in the old city's food shops if we had not taken this tour. Delicious, entertaining and inspiring - we wish we would be there again today and could enjoy it a second time.

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Great tour, especially because the day was warm and sunny.
Very pleasant walking through the markets and hearing about the products specific to the region. Enjoyed sampling the purchases with coffee then later at the olive shop. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

My wife was a little apprehensive before the tour however she loved it. It is the best way to travel all around Nice. We had a fantastic guide in Raphael. He was very knowledgeable and patient and took us around at a nice leisurely pace. It is without doubt the easiest way to go to the top of the hill for the brilliant views over Nice. We were there end of October 2014 for only one night so wanted to see as much as possible in as short a time as possible and we achieved that. On two separate occasions people approached Raphael for information on how they could book. Great fun. Just do it!!

Doing what: Nice Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I give the cycle tour 5 stars. Kevin is a terrific guide. He is knowledgeable, entertaining, thoughtful and the tour gave us an excellent insight into Nice, it's history, where to eat, where to go, which bus to take and much more useful info. Recommend wholeheartedly. Nola

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Generally great... could have got started a bit quicker and been a bit more cultural/historical tour and less of a celebrity guide tour... but overall great. The hill climb was hard work but worth it.

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fantastic tour - great way to find out history and places to go in Nice.

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message