Nice ATTRACTIONS See all

Le Chateau (Castle Hill)

Le Chateau, the shaded hill and park at the eastern end of Quai des États-Unis, is named after a 12th-century château that was razed by Louis XIV in a fit of pique in 1706 and never rebuilt. There are some ruins but not really a chateau ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 198 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was this highlight of our 1-week cruise! There were 12 of us in the group and we all shared this opinion. Our guide, Kelly, was high-energy, super-patient, so informative and a lot of fun. She showed us more to Nice than we knew existed. We would highly recommend this tour to anyone!! Just excellent!

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a great tour! We tried a variety of different foods and walked quite a bit around Old Town. Dorothy, our tour guide, was extremely knowledgeable and friendly and explained a lot about what we were tasting and how it pertained to the Nice culture! Would definitely recommend doing this on the first or second day of your trip in Nice!

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I was the only person on this tour and the drive is worth it alone even without the museums this is Paul Allen's house, this is Elton John's house, etc. There's plenty of time in each place and it does not feel rushed. I felt underwhelmed by the Villa. It's in a magnificent setting, but I've seen private homes, castles, etc. that have wowed me a lot more.

Doing what: Nice Art Tour: Chagall Museum, Matisse Museum and the Villa Ephrussi de Rothschild

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Claudia was a wonderful, entertaining, and informative guide. The small group Nice food tour was fun for our entire family. The morning passed quickly and this tour is one of our family's favorite memories of our France vacation. Great guide and excellent food!

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

It was a nice experience visiting the food shops and the guide was great.

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

This Tour was well worth taking. Our Tour guide, Thomas, was courteous, prompt and helpful, and we had a wonderful day. The only fly in the ointment was that we were allowed only 20 minutes in Eze, which is a wonderful little medieval hilltop village full of craft stores and interesting places to explore. Twenty minutes wasn't even enough to walk around the whole village let alone look in any of the shops or go through the garden. By contrast we had nearly 2 hours and Monte Carlo which, is far too much unless you're planning to actually play in the casino. One hour in each place would have been much better, and I think this would've been the general view of our group.

Doing what: Monaco and Eze Small Group Day Trip from Nice

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was exceptional! It was so fun to walk the streets of Nice and learn about the history of the food culture there. All the food tasting was delicious as well as wandering through the town as a local. It was cool to see the cheese shops, olive oil stores, and etc. that locals clearly go to to buy their everyday products. Our guide was fantastic and so adorable. I would recommend this tour to anyone in Nice!! Especially any foodie or food lover!

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great guide. V knowledgeable. 5 stars!!!

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We loved this bike tour! Our guide was great fun and we learned a lot about Nice. It's such a lovely way to explore the city, seafront and surrounding hills to go around by bike. It was not at all rushed, and the entire group was nice, friendly people. I also felt at ease to see everyone else was normal, and participants were from all ages. So this is not a tour for sports freaks only.

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a great way to see - and hear about a lovely city. Great guide, small group, good chat, everyone smiling!

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Far exceeded our expectations!! Our tour guide Marion did a beautiful job! She started out with the history of Nice then walked us through this amazing produce and flower market where we had more tastings than originally described in the tour. She also gave us great restaurant recommendations!!

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Kevin gave a fantastic tour of the city, complete with beautiful sights, historical references, and a near-constant flow of his own entertaining stories and observations. Afterward, he helped direct us to the train and a fantastic lunch in Villefranche. I highly recommend!!

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a great walking tour of old town Nice. Claudia was a wonderful, passionate guide and was very knowledgeable about food, wines and the area. We sampled many of the local foods and finished off with a nice glass of Rose. This was definitely a 5 out of 5.

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We really enjoyed our tour. Thelma was our guide , and is a lot of fun and a pleasure to spend time with . We would certainly choose this tour again and recommend it to anyone, especially if Thelma is the guide..
W Winchell
L Cornelius

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had Thelma as our tour guide. Super informative about the history of Nice with a mix of her own funny stories. Had a great time.

Eat breakfast before you go so you can make it up the hill. Beautiful views from the top. It was a great experience and favorite part of my time in Nice!

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Must do in Nice. The tour guide was great, delicious samples, a lot of history of the city and the region. Everyone should start visit to Nice with this tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had a great day with 6 others on this tour. Matilda was our driver and how she drives those roads is a credit to her. We had lots of photo opportunities, even though weather was very hot. We loved the hilltop village of Eze and Monaco was grand, you just have to go there. Well worth the money as you dont have to worry about anything. Christine and Matthew, Australia

Doing what: Monaco and Eze Small Group Day Trip from Nice

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Driver was very informative and organized. Eze had better tour area and shops could have sent more time there than in Monaco. The side trip up to top of hill overlooking Monaco was the best part

Doing what: Monaco and Eze Small Group Day Trip from Nice

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amazing how she managed to get us all through Nice and be so informative of the history of the area from an Irish girl

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Olivia and Kimberly (guides) were very knowledgeable and enthusiastic!

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was an excellent experience. Marion was sweet, personable, knowledgable and fun. We enjoyed learning about the history, culture and influences that created the food of Nice. A Yummy morning well spent. Thank you Marion.

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour. Very informative, enjoyable and very interactive. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Loved our tour guide, Meghan!!! She makes the tour so interesting and personal. A great way to see the city and we only had one day in Nice. The best way to see the city.

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great trip. Easy going pace. Hill at the end a bit tough but break halfway up with great views at top terrace. Guide Megan great fun and very informative. Made great suggestions for restaurants and pubs. Good familiarisation trip for the area.

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message