Nice ATTRACTIONS See all

Le Chateau (Castle Hill)

Le Chateau, the shaded hill and park at the eastern end of Quai des États-Unis, is named after a 12th-century château that was razed by Louis XIV in a fit of pique in 1706 and never rebuilt. There are some ruins but not really a chateau ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 208 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Claudia our guide was amazing! She was flexible, shared tremendous knowledge of the city and the food, and took us to some wonderful places - we had a blast and enjoyed everything that we tried. Bought a lot of great foods to take home!

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Amazing, if you do one thing in Nice do this tour foodies will love this! Tasted such a variety of food, culture and history in one morning. Our guides knowledge was superb, so enthusiastic and answered our many questions while staying on theme. If your staying on in Nice for a few days you will appreciate the food markets and historic tour of the old city. There was also a high level of engagement with the group, lots of laughs - a winner!

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour was awesome! We had the best tour guide I can't remember her name but she was not originally from Nice but you could tell she loved the city so much! She was knowledgable and fun. We stopped many times and heard wonderful stories about Nice as well as the history of the city. The highlight is the bike ride up to Castle Hill- it is breathtaking! Be prepared, it is a pretty tough ride and it was HOT but I would completely and totally recommend this tour! Also we used the paper she gave us for a couple of restaurants and some nightlife!

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Loved this bike tour! Our guide Megan was great, providing lots of fantastic recommendations that we used throughout our time in Nice. Would recommend doing this tour early on in your visit, as you get to know the city and lay out of all the main spots on this tour.

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

My husband and I had a great time on this tour. We got a great overview of the city

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Good fun, especially once we sped up a bit up to the castle. Fun way to see Nice and nowhere near as hot as walking!

Doing what: Nice Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

hadn't been on a bike for about 3years so was a bit nervous. our guide was cheery, well informed person and the bike was light weight. It was raining so we were given ponchos to wear. It was good cycling in the rain as the streets were quiet. Nobody chastised me for walking up the castle hill with the bike! would definitely do it again

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The Tour was extraordinary and the guide was very very friendly and informative.
My family and I enjoyed every minute of the tour.
I will recommend to extend the stay in Ezze to enjoy this charming village,half hour more will be good, and in Monaco castle one hour more as there is a lot to see.

Doing what: Monaco and Eze Small Group Day Trip from Nice

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Great walking tour of old town Nice markets and stores. We were part of a small group of six, which made it very easy to listen to our guide. Our group consisted of two Danes, two Aussies and two Texans, and the guide made it easy for us to get to know each other, which added to the enjoyment of the tour. She made a lot of recommendations for places to buy foods and for future restaurant bookings.

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

I didn't enjoy Monaco, thought it was over-rated. Town of Eze was interesting though i wishes we had more time to chill there. Guide was good

Doing what: Best Monaco and Eze Small Group Half-Day Trip from Nice

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was this highlight of our 1-week cruise! There were 12 of us in the group and we all shared this opinion. Our guide, Kelly, was high-energy, super-patient, so informative and a lot of fun. She showed us more to Nice than we knew existed. We would highly recommend this tour to anyone!! Just excellent!

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a great tour! We tried a variety of different foods and walked quite a bit around Old Town. Dorothy, our tour guide, was extremely knowledgeable and friendly and explained a lot about what we were tasting and how it pertained to the Nice culture! Would definitely recommend doing this on the first or second day of your trip in Nice!

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I was the only person on this tour and the drive is worth it alone even without the museums this is Paul Allen's house, this is Elton John's house, etc. There's plenty of time in each place and it does not feel rushed. I felt underwhelmed by the Villa. It's in a magnificent setting, but I've seen private homes, castles, etc. that have wowed me a lot more.

Doing what: Best Nice Art Tour: Chagall Museum, Matisse Museum and the Villa Ephrussi de Rothschild

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Claudia was a wonderful, entertaining, and informative guide. The small group Nice food tour was fun for our entire family. The morning passed quickly and this tour is one of our family's favorite memories of our France vacation. Great guide and excellent food!

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

It was a nice experience visiting the food shops and the guide was great.

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

This Tour was well worth taking. Our Tour guide, Thomas, was courteous, prompt and helpful, and we had a wonderful day. The only fly in the ointment was that we were allowed only 20 minutes in Eze, which is a wonderful little medieval hilltop village full of craft stores and interesting places to explore. Twenty minutes wasn't even enough to walk around the whole village let alone look in any of the shops or go through the garden. By contrast we had nearly 2 hours and Monte Carlo which, is far too much unless you're planning to actually play in the casino. One hour in each place would have been much better, and I think this would've been the general view of our group.

Doing what: Monaco and Eze Small Group Day Trip from Nice

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was exceptional! It was so fun to walk the streets of Nice and learn about the history of the food culture there. All the food tasting was delicious as well as wandering through the town as a local. It was cool to see the cheese shops, olive oil stores, and etc. that locals clearly go to to buy their everyday products. Our guide was fantastic and so adorable. I would recommend this tour to anyone in Nice!! Especially any foodie or food lover!

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great guide. V knowledgeable. 5 stars!!!

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We loved this bike tour! Our guide was great fun and we learned a lot about Nice. It's such a lovely way to explore the city, seafront and surrounding hills to go around by bike. It was not at all rushed, and the entire group was nice, friendly people. I also felt at ease to see everyone else was normal, and participants were from all ages. So this is not a tour for sports freaks only.

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a great way to see - and hear about a lovely city. Great guide, small group, good chat, everyone smiling!

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Far exceeded our expectations!! Our tour guide Marion did a beautiful job! She started out with the history of Nice then walked us through this amazing produce and flower market where we had more tastings than originally described in the tour. She also gave us great restaurant recommendations!!

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Kevin gave a fantastic tour of the city, complete with beautiful sights, historical references, and a near-constant flow of his own entertaining stories and observations. Afterward, he helped direct us to the train and a fantastic lunch in Villefranche. I highly recommend!!

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a great walking tour of old town Nice. Claudia was a wonderful, passionate guide and was very knowledgeable about food, wines and the area. We sampled many of the local foods and finished off with a nice glass of Rose. This was definitely a 5 out of 5.

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We really enjoyed our tour. Thelma was our guide , and is a lot of fun and a pleasure to spend time with . We would certainly choose this tour again and recommend it to anyone, especially if Thelma is the guide..
W Winchell
L Cornelius

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had Thelma as our tour guide. Super informative about the history of Nice with a mix of her own funny stories. Had a great time.

Eat breakfast before you go so you can make it up the hill. Beautiful views from the top. It was a great experience and favorite part of my time in Nice!

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message