Nice ATTRACTIONS See all

Le Chateau (Castle Hill)

Le Chateau, the shaded hill and park at the eastern end of Quai des États-Unis, is named after a 12th-century château that was razed by Louis XIV in a fit of pique in 1706 and never rebuilt. There are some ruins but not really a chateau ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 252 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Mallory H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We loved this tour! Our tour guide can't remember her name, but she was a younger girl with red hair was great hotel pick-up was right on time and told us everything we needed to know about all of the places we were visiting. We first visited Eze, which is a small city on a hilltop. We stopped long enough to walk through the little city and have a coffee. Then we visited Fragonard, which was brief, but still interesting. There was not a lot of pressure to buy anything after the tour we did, but others in the group didn't. We were then off to Monaco where we were able to see the old city and the changing of the guard and Monte Carlo. We were back in Nice by 2PM. We were happy to have done only the half day tour, as there really isn't too much to see and do in Monaco unless you're a high roller. We had a great morning tour and were happy to have the afternoon back in Nice. Would definitely recommend this tour to someone who wants a little taste of Monaco without breaking the bank.

Doing what: Monaco and Eze Small Group Half-Day Trip from Nice

Shari

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Loved the tour!!! My favorite of all things we done on this and other trips we've been on. Would def recommend.

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

Patricia K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The tour was great! What a wonderful way to experience Nice! Walking and eating and drinking!
Great Guide, Great time!

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

Karlis S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A wonderful tour with just the right balance of history, culture and food. I would even gladly take it again, provided I can have the same tour guide and better weather.

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

Mirko H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

It was one of the best Food Tours we did. Very good Tour Guide Marion, she did a great job.

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

Aubrey M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This tour was a favourite of our time in Nice. Our tour guide, Marion, was amazing. She provided useful and interesting information, was most friendly and thoughtful and our whole family found it fun and interesting. My grandsons learned a lot and wished that school could be more like this tour!!!!! We highly recommend this tour to all.

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

Sami G

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2016

The Tour guide did not show up when she was supposed to. Terrible!

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

Snorre L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

We had a great bike ride around Nice for 3 hours. Jenny was a great guide and showed us the important things of Nice, and also had some interesting information you don't find easily in any book. I can recommend this trip and Jenny as a guide if you want a good and interesting trip in Nice

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

Bronya F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The tour was really fun and informative, the guide very entertaining and full of life - really recommend it!

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

Kearaujo France

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This is the only way to see the city! Our guide was great, and we cruised up the hill to the Chateau with ease, garnering envious looks from everyone who was trudging up the road! So much fun!!!

Doing what: Nice Segway Tour

Thomas S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was a great educational trip. Our guide was exceptionally knowledgeable and fun to be with.

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

Vladimir S

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

The Tour was organised well, introducing us not only to local cuisine but a bit oif history of Nice as well. Claudia's choice of local specialities was spot on, adjusted to the preferences of the group and helped us to plan the rest of our gastronomic adventure in Nice, including selection of restaurants and bistro's

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

Sarah K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

An amazing way to see Nice! Our guide was friendly, the bikes top notch, and the sights breathtaking. Highly recommend!!

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

Lynne B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was really good Claudia was excellent
The tour was interesting and very informative
We even got some tips on places to eat which was very helpful
Would recommend it to everyone

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

David G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The Small -group Nice Food tour was an interesting tour. It is filled with all kind of surprises . Our tour guide Dorothy was particular tentative and add a charming delight to the tour. Having said that we highly recommend the tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

Jonathan h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Lots of fun with taste treats you would not experience without a local guide. Great finish with a bottle of wine and assorted collection of freshly bought delicacies.

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

Alisha D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

A must! Excellent, fun and info-packed trip. Good overview of Nice.. Would recommend it to everyone during their first day or two in Nice.

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

Stan L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Small group with all levels of abilities. Gustav was EXCELLENT. Would highly recommend this trip. Great introduction to exploring Nice, and all it's history

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

Gary J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great tour and I highly recommend it - Claudia was amazing and really made the tour the best ever !!!

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

Julie R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This tour was awesome! Although, I wish I had gone on this tour at the beginning of my trip or known that the sweaters, jackets, belts, leather bags and purses were a must buy. I bought all of these things and wish that I had packed light going to Nice so that I would have enough space to buy more. The next time that I go to Nice, this will be one of my first Group trips or I'll be sure to budget my finances so that I can buy more- the leather goods, sweaters and accessories are beautiful and good quality!

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

EUGENIA P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Very beautiful! We had such a nice time together and our guide Joe was very helpful and did everything he could to make the trip enjoyable, in spite of the heavy rain in the afternoon. We were lucky to have some sun in the morning, when we saw Nice from uphill and when we visited Monte Carlo.

Doing what: French Riviera Small Group Day Trip from Nice

5397diana USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed this tour. We departed Nice with overcast skies, but partway through the morning, the sun broke through and we had perfect weather for the rest of the day. Our first stop was in Eze where we meandered up to the Jardin Exotique for the lovely views. Following Eze, we stopped at the Fragonard perfume factory. Not being overly fond of perfumes, I thought this part of the tour would be of lesser interest. I was pleasantly surprised. The factory tour included a couple of interactive activities that were fun. After the Fragonard tour, we drove on the Moyenne Corniche to Nice. Our guide, Sandrine, gave us a brief tour of Monaco-Ville, before we had free time to explore and have lunch. We visited the Monte Carlo area after lunch before heading back to Nice.
My compliments to Sandrine for handling the unexpected traffic delay on the way into Nice with grace.
My regrets? There is a stunning view of Eze as you depart from Fragonard and wind around the next hill. Being a photography buff, I would have loved to take a brief stop to capture it. What I loved? The beauty of the area. I hope to be able to visit again!

Doing what: Monaco and Eze Small Group Day Trip from Nice

Kate H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We had a really fab day even though we turned up a day late!! The guys were really great and just fitted us into the next tour leaving only 30 mins later. Kevin couldn't have been nicer and really knowledgeable.
Would definitely recommend this as the only way to see Nice and get a real flavour

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

Eleni M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

At first I was dreading biking on my vacation, but it turned out to be a great experience. I highly suggest taking this tour the first day you get to Nice, the instructor told us all the ins and outs, hot spots, restaurants, shopping areas. You will not be disappointed. The ride up the hill is pretty challenging if you don't ride regularly but it was completely worth it once you stop at the top and see the breathtaking view!

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

Life is Good

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Fun tour. Great guide.

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message