Nice ATTRACTIONS See all

Matisse Museum (Musée Matisse)

The Matisse Museum (or Musée Matisse) houses a splendid assortment of works by Henri Matisse. Its permanent collection is displayed in a red-ochre 17th-century Genoese villa overlooking the olive tree-studded Parc des Arènes. Nearby is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 68 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Gerard S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Victor was our tour guide. He spoke English, and was punctual and informative. Actually, he was same driver for the next tour we took, and we were pleased with both.

Doing what: Nice City Sightseeing Small Group Tour

Mona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Loved the tour

Doing what: Nice City Sightseeing Small Group Tour

Paulo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Beautiful beach nice city and nice view!

Doing what: Nice City Sightseeing Small Group Tour

FRANKLIN O

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Great guide...most enjoyable.

Doing what: Nice City Sightseeing Small Group Tour

Thomas J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The guide was excellent. The Matisse collection is small but rather significant. Nice is lovely and it would have been better to spend more than 2 night there.

Doing what: Nice Art Tour: Chagall Museum, Matisse Museum and the Villa Ephrussi de Rothschild

Arishna N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour guide was very friendly, knowledgeable, accommodative to all picture moments needs. Over all great experience.

Doing what: Small-Group Arts Tour of the French Riviera from Monaco

saraallardice

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

An excellent tour, both fun and interesting. Lucy our guide was knowledgable and friendly she is an excellent driver. I took my elderly father on the trip and he loved it. When I visit him again in I shall definitely book another tour. The air conditioned minibus was very clean and comfortable. The whole experience felt like the most incredible treat.

Doing what: Nice Art Tour: Chagall Museum, Matisse Museum and the Villa Ephrussi de Rothschild

AG-NC USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I was the only person on this tour and the drive is worth it alone even without the museums this is Paul Allen's house, this is Elton John's house, etc. There's plenty of time in each place and it does not feel rushed. I felt underwhelmed by the Villa. It's in a magnificent setting, but I've seen private homes, castles, etc. that have wowed me a lot more.

Doing what: Nice Art Tour: Chagall Museum, Matisse Museum and the Villa Ephrussi de Rothschild

SARAH D HUSFORD H

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

WE DID NOT SEE THE MATISSE MUSEUM AS THE AUSTRIANS ON THE TRIP ONLY WANTED TO SEE CHARGALL

Doing what: Nice City Sightseeing Small Group Tour

Joseph M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The Matisse and Chagall museums were interesting and the Rothschild Villa was unbelievable.
Well worth the time. You also have a nice ride through southern France.

Doing what: Small-Group Arts Tour of the French Riviera from Monaco

es

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We enjoyed our tour, although the main point of the tour was to transport us between destinations with some general commentary on the way. We were on our own in the museums. All three museums had excellent English audio tours part of our ticket tour price. Our only real disappointment that time at each place was so limited. We heeded others' comments, and concentrated our time in the Ephrussi gardens instead of the house. Enjoyed our tour guide. We were really lucky as we were the only 2 people on the tour!

Doing what: Nice Art Tour: Chagall Museum, Matisse Museum and the Villa Ephrussi de Rothschild

David K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tour guide was very knowledgeable and accommadating

Doing what: Nice City Sightseeing Small Group Tour

William M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

The Chagall and Matisse museums were disappointing but the Rothschild mansion was breathtaking and by itself worth the tour.

Doing what: Nice Art Tour: Chagall Museum, Matisse Museum and the Villa Ephrussi de Rothschild

Daniel

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Matisse Museum was somewhat disappointing. Chagall and Villa Ephrussi were both spectacular. Our guide was very friendly and a good driver. However, the content provided by our guide was somewhat thin--we might have enjoyed more information along the way.

Doing what: Nice Art Tour: Chagall Museum, Matisse Museum and the Villa Ephrussi de Rothschild

Vicki N

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

The hop on hop off bus was much better.

Doing what: Nice City Sightseeing Small Group Tour

anorthrop

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

A must. Need more time at Cgagall and Rothschild.

Doing what: Nice Art Tour: Chagall Museum, Matisse Museum and the Villa Ephrussi de Rothschild

Kelly T

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2015

This is a solid introduction to the city. We had bad weather, and unfortunately our tour guide did not speak the best English. However, she was super flexible and we ended up getting to go into the Matisse Museum, which was awesome.

Doing what: Nice City Sightseeing Small Group Tour

Karen G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

We loved the house and gardens, it was stunning and just the right size to look around and enjoy. Fantastic collections of porcelain and art.Highly recommended

Doing what: Small-Group Arts Tour of the French Riviera from Monaco

Kathy K

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

There was a lot that was packed into this tour. While all of the sites were interesting, it would be better if the last stop of the tour was something less time intensive than the Rothschild chateau. We only had at most an hour and a half to spend in the huge chateau and looking at all of the gardens. You could easily spend 3-4 hours doing this.

Doing what: Nice Art Tour: Chagall Museum, Matisse Museum and the Villa Ephrussi de Rothschild

Alan B

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

we had a great tour guide and as we were the only couple on the tour our guide was able to spend value time with us and show us things which we may not have seen she gave a good description of everything and told us the history of various areas we went to

Doing what: Nice City Sightseeing Small Group Tour

George E

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Learned interesting info about Nice and beautiful views of the city and sea. Tour guide was great.

Doing what: Nice City Sightseeing Small Group Tour

Jayanthi K

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Good tour and definitely worth taking.

Doing what: Nice City Sightseeing Small Group Tour

Jayanthi K

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

The Chagall museum was interesting. The Matisse museum did not have a large collection. The Villa Ephrussi de Rothschild is well worth a visit. The tour guide was very good and drove us through the beautiful coast. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Nice Art Tour: Chagall Museum, Matisse Museum and the Villa Ephrussi de Rothschild

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message