• USD ($)
  • English

Nice ATTRACTIONS See all

Matisse Museum (Musée Matisse)

The Matisse Museum (or Musée Matisse) houses a splendid assortment of works by Henri Matisse. Its permanent collection is displayed in a red-ochre 17th-century Genoese villa overlooking the olive tree-studded Parc des Arènes. Nearby is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 39 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Excellent tour of three sites that we could not have managed to get to in one afternoon by ourselves. Very helpful driver who really knew her way around Nice. Villa Ephrussi quite marvellous.

Doing what: Nice Art Tour: Chagall Museum, Matisse Museum and the Villa Ephrussi de Rothschild

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We had a terriic afternoon on this excursion. Our guide Vasili was wonderful. He was kind to my elderly mother, explained things clearly, and made the day enjoyable. The Matisse Museum was nice, but the Chagall was really spectacular. And the Villa Ephrussi felt like a trip back in time. It was amazing.

Doing what: Nice Art Tour: Chagall Museum, Matisse Museum and the Villa Ephrussi de Rothschild

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

This tour shows you the main sights of Nice with great panoramic views, a tour of the old port and a visit to the Mosque. Also takes in a beautiful cathedral. A great way to get to know Nice in a hurry.

Doing what: Nice City Sightseeing Small Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Excellent guide, excellent tour, excellent weather

Doing what: Nice City Sightseeing Small Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Morgan, my tour guide is a gem. She is friendly, knowledgeable, and enthusiastic. Not only were the destinations beyond my expectations, every moment was packed with information about this beautiful city. I had plenty of time to enjoy the Museums and the Villa.

Doing what: Nice Art Tour: Chagall Museum, Matisse Museum and the Villa Ephrussi de Rothschild

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

the day trip was fantastic. The tour guide was very nice, friendly and very informative.
it was such a great memorable day. But i must say i was disappointing with Matisse Museum. there was not enough of his painting but a lot of fast portrait drawings and his gouache cut outs. But i'm glad that i have been and see it.

Doing what: Nice Art Tour: Chagall Museum, Matisse Museum and the Villa Ephrussi de Rothschild

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

Again, very expensive for what you got. The tour guide was good - very nice and knowledgeable, but you definitely overcharged.

Doing what: Nice City Sightseeing Small Group Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

Again, very expensive for what you got. The tour guide was good - very nice and knowledgeable, but you definitely overcharged.

Doing what: Nice City Sightseeing Small Group Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

This trip fufilled the tour plan faithfully. On reflection there was not enough time to fully experience the magnificent Villa Ephrussi de Rothschild. One hour is clearly insufficient time to see both the mansion and the garden. I would prefer to have a full half day just at this villa.

Doing what: Nice Art Tour: Chagall Museum, Matisse Museum and the Villa Ephrussi de Rothschild

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Our guide met us at our hotel on time. She was quite knowledgeable about the area, giving us some history of Nice during the drive to our destinations. At the end of the afternoon, she gave us a recommendation for a French Bistro in Nice, which turned out to be outstanding.

The tour itself of the Chagall and Matisse Museums met all expectations, although I would have liked more time at the Chagall Museum. I felt a little rushed to stay on schedule for the trip to the Villa Ephrussi. The gardens there were spectacular, and I enjoyed them more than the gardens at Versailles. All in all, we spent a lovely afternoon.

Doing what: Nice Art Tour: Chagall Museum, Matisse Museum and the Villa Ephrussi de Rothschild

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

The driver was genial but had only been on the job 3 weeks and was not really up on the area.............the museum visits were fine, but we needed an hour more at the Rothschild estate......we felt very rushed.

Doing what: Nice Art Tour: Chagall Museum, Matisse Museum and the Villa Ephrussi de Rothschild

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2013

It might have been better if we had the driver originally due to take us the guided tour, and though the substitute driver was pleasant and tried his best on a day that rained non stop, we had no explanation about the art forms and were merely delivered to the Chagall and Matisse Museums and told to return to the minibus at such and such a time. In addition, the minibus broke down and we did not get to go to the Villa Ephrussi. We are still waiting for a partial refund from the tour operator, Liven Up.

Doing what: Nice Art Tour: Chagall Museum, Matisse Museum and the Villa Ephrussi de Rothschild

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

it was nothing to be complained about, only two of us in the group, driver willing to send us anywhere. superb experience.

Doing what: Nice City Sightseeing Small Group Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

This was my third visit to Nice, but I had never before gone past the "Old Town" part of Nice, where I always stay. I thoroughly enjoyed the morning tour, which included driving to up to Castel Park, which overlooks the Bay of Angels, visiting the Matisse Museum, seeing the Franciscan Monastery and its beautiful 15th century gardens,with olive trees and roses. We also drove past the beautiful Russian Cathedral. Wow! Overalll, a great introduction to Nice, and thoroughly recommended.

Doing what: Nice City Sightseeing Small Group Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message