Nice ATTRACTIONS See all

Matisse Museum (Musée Matisse)

The Matisse Museum (or Musée Matisse) houses a splendid assortment of works by Henri Matisse. Its permanent collection is displayed in a red-ochre 17th-century Genoese villa overlooking the olive tree-studded Parc des Arènes. Nearby is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 57 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

WE DID NOT SEE THE MATISSE MUSEUM AS THE AUSTRIANS ON THE TRIP ONLY WANTED TO SEE CHARGALL

Doing what: Nice City Sightseeing Small Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The Matisse and Chagall museums were interesting and the Rothschild Villa was unbelievable.
Well worth the time. You also have a nice ride through southern France.

Doing what: Small-Group Arts Tour of the French Riviera from Monaco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We enjoyed our tour, although the main point of the tour was to transport us between destinations with some general commentary on the way. We were on our own in the museums. All three museums had excellent English audio tours part of our ticket tour price. Our only real disappointment that time at each place was so limited. We heeded others' comments, and concentrated our time in the Ephrussi gardens instead of the house. Enjoyed our tour guide. We were really lucky as we were the only 2 people on the tour!

Doing what: Nice Art Tour: Chagall Museum, Matisse Museum and the Villa Ephrussi de Rothschild

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tour guide was very knowledgeable and accommadating

Doing what: Nice City Sightseeing Small Group Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

The Chagall and Matisse museums were disappointing but the Rothschild mansion was breathtaking and by itself worth the tour.

Doing what: Nice Art Tour: Chagall Museum, Matisse Museum and the Villa Ephrussi de Rothschild

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Matisse Museum was somewhat disappointing. Chagall and Villa Ephrussi were both spectacular. Our guide was very friendly and a good driver. However, the content provided by our guide was somewhat thin--we might have enjoyed more information along the way.

Doing what: Nice Art Tour: Chagall Museum, Matisse Museum and the Villa Ephrussi de Rothschild

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

The hop on hop off bus was much better.

Doing what: Nice City Sightseeing Small Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

A must. Need more time at Cgagall and Rothschild.

Doing what: Nice Art Tour: Chagall Museum, Matisse Museum and the Villa Ephrussi de Rothschild

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2015

This is a solid introduction to the city. We had bad weather, and unfortunately our tour guide did not speak the best English. However, she was super flexible and we ended up getting to go into the Matisse Museum, which was awesome.

Doing what: Nice City Sightseeing Small Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

We loved the house and gardens, it was stunning and just the right size to look around and enjoy. Fantastic collections of porcelain and art.Highly recommended

Doing what: Small-Group Arts Tour of the French Riviera from Monaco

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

There was a lot that was packed into this tour. While all of the sites were interesting, it would be better if the last stop of the tour was something less time intensive than the Rothschild chateau. We only had at most an hour and a half to spend in the huge chateau and looking at all of the gardens. You could easily spend 3-4 hours doing this.

Doing what: Nice Art Tour: Chagall Museum, Matisse Museum and the Villa Ephrussi de Rothschild

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

we had a great tour guide and as we were the only couple on the tour our guide was able to spend value time with us and show us things which we may not have seen she gave a good description of everything and told us the history of various areas we went to

Doing what: Nice City Sightseeing Small Group Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Learned interesting info about Nice and beautiful views of the city and sea. Tour guide was great.

Doing what: Nice City Sightseeing Small Group Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Good tour and definitely worth taking.

Doing what: Nice City Sightseeing Small Group Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

The Chagall museum was interesting. The Matisse museum did not have a large collection. The Villa Ephrussi de Rothschild is well worth a visit. The tour guide was very good and drove us through the beautiful coast. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Nice Art Tour: Chagall Museum, Matisse Museum and the Villa Ephrussi de Rothschild

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Nice City Sightseeing Small Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

It was most enjoyable- our guide was excellent especially in getting us right to the front entrance of the Villa
de Rothschild when there would otherwise been a stiff gradient to climb(especially for two oldies!). Our main
comment though would be that the Villa definitely requires at least another half hour. We have travelled widely, seen many "great houses" and this definitely surpasses them, the house and contents were so interesting there was unfortunately no time for the wonderful gardens.

Doing what: Nice Art Tour: Chagall Museum, Matisse Museum and the Villa Ephrussi de Rothschild

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great tour! Sarah was friendly and knowledgeable and with each museum gave us just the right amount of time. We never felt rushed. Sarah was well versed with art history and was a grest driver. Very helpful with recommendations and understanding the locals. It was a wonderful afternoon!

Doing what: Nice Art Tour: Chagall Museum, Matisse Museum and the Villa Ephrussi de Rothschild

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a great tour. Our driver, Oliver, was excellent. He told us about the area as we drove from Monte Carlo to Nice. We wish we had more time at the Chagall Museum (only 45 min.), we barely finished the audio tour. Oliver was very accommodating and drove us thru Massena Sq. and on a little bit of the Prom. des Anglises for atmosphere. The Rothschild's Mansions was an additional treat - beautiful gardens and views of the Mediterranean. All in all, a memorable tour at a great price. Convenient pick-up at the pier, on time visits to the museums and congenial guide. This was our 1st Viator - we'll be back!

Doing what: Small-Group Arts Tour of the French Riviera from Monaco

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Really enjoyed this sightseeing tour and cannot give our guide enough praise, he was fantastic - Ralph I believe his name was. He was so informative and helpful, full of useful tips and made the tour really personal. We really enjoyed the panoramic viewing spots and as Nice is so big it was ideal to be taken to the different places by minibus then hop off to spend some free time exploring.

Doing what: Nice City Sightseeing Small Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Excellent tour of three sites that we could not have managed to get to in one afternoon by ourselves. Very helpful driver who really knew her way around Nice. Villa Ephrussi quite marvellous.

Doing what: Nice Art Tour: Chagall Museum, Matisse Museum and the Villa Ephrussi de Rothschild

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We had a terriic afternoon on this excursion. Our guide Vasili was wonderful. He was kind to my elderly mother, explained things clearly, and made the day enjoyable. The Matisse Museum was nice, but the Chagall was really spectacular. And the Villa Ephrussi felt like a trip back in time. It was amazing.

Doing what: Nice Art Tour: Chagall Museum, Matisse Museum and the Villa Ephrussi de Rothschild

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

This tour shows you the main sights of Nice with great panoramic views, a tour of the old port and a visit to the Mosque. Also takes in a beautiful cathedral. A great way to get to know Nice in a hurry.

Doing what: Nice City Sightseeing Small Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Excellent guide, excellent tour, excellent weather

Doing what: Nice City Sightseeing Small Group Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message