• USD ($)
  • English

Nice ATTRACTIONS See all

Villa Ephrussi de Rothschild

Set on the serene Cap Ferrat cape jutting out over the Mediterranean, the picturesque Villa Ephrussi de Rothschild holds one of the most sought after settings on the French Riviera. The pink-painted villa, once belonging to wealthy Frenchwoman ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 12 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

It was most enjoyable- our guide was excellent especially in getting us right to the front entrance of the Villa
de Rothschild when there would otherwise been a stiff gradient to climb(especially for two oldies!). Our main
comment though would be that the Villa definitely requires at least another half hour. We have travelled widely, seen many "great houses" and this definitely surpasses them, the house and contents were so interesting there was unfortunately no time for the wonderful gardens.

Doing what: Nice Art Tour: Chagall Museum, Matisse Museum and the Villa Ephrussi de Rothschild

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great tour! Sarah was friendly and knowledgeable and with each museum gave us just the right amount of time. We never felt rushed. Sarah was well versed with art history and was a grest driver. Very helpful with recommendations and understanding the locals. It was a wonderful afternoon!

Doing what: Nice Art Tour: Chagall Museum, Matisse Museum and the Villa Ephrussi de Rothschild

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a great tour. Our driver, Oliver, was excellent. He told us about the area as we drove from Monte Carlo to Nice. We wish we had more time at the Chagall Museum (only 45 min.), we barely finished the audio tour. Oliver was very accommodating and drove us thru Massena Sq. and on a little bit of the Prom. des Anglises for atmosphere. The Rothschild's Mansions was an additional treat - beautiful gardens and views of the Mediterranean. All in all, a memorable tour at a great price. Convenient pick-up at the pier, on time visits to the museums and congenial guide. This was our 1st Viator - we'll be back!

Doing what: Small-Group Arts Tour of the French Riviera from Monaco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Excellent tour of three sites that we could not have managed to get to in one afternoon by ourselves. Very helpful driver who really knew her way around Nice. Villa Ephrussi quite marvellous.

Doing what: Nice Art Tour: Chagall Museum, Matisse Museum and the Villa Ephrussi de Rothschild

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We had a terriic afternoon on this excursion. Our guide Vasili was wonderful. He was kind to my elderly mother, explained things clearly, and made the day enjoyable. The Matisse Museum was nice, but the Chagall was really spectacular. And the Villa Ephrussi felt like a trip back in time. It was amazing.

Doing what: Nice Art Tour: Chagall Museum, Matisse Museum and the Villa Ephrussi de Rothschild

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Morgan, my tour guide is a gem. She is friendly, knowledgeable, and enthusiastic. Not only were the destinations beyond my expectations, every moment was packed with information about this beautiful city. I had plenty of time to enjoy the Museums and the Villa.

Doing what: Nice Art Tour: Chagall Museum, Matisse Museum and the Villa Ephrussi de Rothschild

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

the day trip was fantastic. The tour guide was very nice, friendly and very informative.
it was such a great memorable day. But i must say i was disappointing with Matisse Museum. there was not enough of his painting but a lot of fast portrait drawings and his gouache cut outs. But i'm glad that i have been and see it.

Doing what: Nice Art Tour: Chagall Museum, Matisse Museum and the Villa Ephrussi de Rothschild

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

This trip fufilled the tour plan faithfully. On reflection there was not enough time to fully experience the magnificent Villa Ephrussi de Rothschild. One hour is clearly insufficient time to see both the mansion and the garden. I would prefer to have a full half day just at this villa.

Doing what: Nice Art Tour: Chagall Museum, Matisse Museum and the Villa Ephrussi de Rothschild

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Our guide met us at our hotel on time. She was quite knowledgeable about the area, giving us some history of Nice during the drive to our destinations. At the end of the afternoon, she gave us a recommendation for a French Bistro in Nice, which turned out to be outstanding.

The tour itself of the Chagall and Matisse Museums met all expectations, although I would have liked more time at the Chagall Museum. I felt a little rushed to stay on schedule for the trip to the Villa Ephrussi. The gardens there were spectacular, and I enjoyed them more than the gardens at Versailles. All in all, we spent a lovely afternoon.

Doing what: Nice Art Tour: Chagall Museum, Matisse Museum and the Villa Ephrussi de Rothschild

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

The driver was genial but had only been on the job 3 weeks and was not really up on the area.............the museum visits were fine, but we needed an hour more at the Rothschild estate......we felt very rushed.

Doing what: Nice Art Tour: Chagall Museum, Matisse Museum and the Villa Ephrussi de Rothschild

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2013

It might have been better if we had the driver originally due to take us the guided tour, and though the substitute driver was pleasant and tried his best on a day that rained non stop, we had no explanation about the art forms and were merely delivered to the Chagall and Matisse Museums and told to return to the minibus at such and such a time. In addition, the minibus broke down and we did not get to go to the Villa Ephrussi. We are still waiting for a partial refund from the tour operator, Liven Up.

Doing what: Nice Art Tour: Chagall Museum, Matisse Museum and the Villa Ephrussi de Rothschild

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message