Thanks to its picturesque setting on the Mediterranean coast, Provence, in Southern France, is blessed with a warm climate, idyllic landscape and highly fertile soils that yield a range of fresh produce to fuel the region’s famous cuisine. Far from ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 85 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Vladimir S

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

The Tour was organised well, introducing us not only to local cuisine but a bit oif history of Nice as well. Claudia's choice of local specialities was spot on, adjusted to the preferences of the group and helped us to plan the rest of our gastronomic adventure in Nice, including selection of restaurants and bistro's

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

Lynne B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was really good Claudia was excellent
The tour was interesting and very informative
We even got some tips on places to eat which was very helpful
Would recommend it to everyone

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

David G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The Small -group Nice Food tour was an interesting tour. It is filled with all kind of surprises . Our tour guide Dorothy was particular tentative and add a charming delight to the tour. Having said that we highly recommend the tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

kasssa

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

Was expecting to learn to cook more traditional French food.

Doing what: Nice Food Market Tour and Cooking Class

Jonathan h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Lots of fun with taste treats you would not experience without a local guide. Great finish with a bottle of wine and assorted collection of freshly bought delicacies.

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

Gary J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great tour and I highly recommend it - Claudia was amazing and really made the tour the best ever !!!

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

Julie R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This tour was awesome! Although, I wish I had gone on this tour at the beginning of my trip or known that the sweaters, jackets, belts, leather bags and purses were a must buy. I bought all of these things and wish that I had packed light going to Nice so that I would have enough space to buy more. The next time that I go to Nice, this will be one of my first Group trips or I'll be sure to budget my finances so that I can buy more- the leather goods, sweaters and accessories are beautiful and good quality!

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

Amanda United States of ... 

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

This wasn't quite what we expected. Most of the class time was spent on chopping things for a Niçoise salad. I understand that's the typical salad of the region, but to us a salad does not constitute cooking. The other items we made stuffed vegetables and a chocolate lava cake were tasty, but neither really what we pictured as French cuisine when we signed up for this class. Also, the 3-course meal was supposed to include a starter, main course, and dessert- there was no main course, we didn't cook any meat or entree at all. We didn't get to touch any actual cooking implements at all stove or oven, the instructor did all of that. The instructor just told us to 'chop this' and such, didn't actually explain the steps or why things needed to be done a certain way. And we weren't even given the recipes to take away with us, so we don't have a way to duplicate the dishes if we wanted.

Overall, it was still an interesting experience I guess, but not what we thought we signed up for.

Doing what: Provençal Cooking Class in Nice

Life is Good

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Fun tour. Great guide.

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

CHARLES F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

First and foremost, what we wanted was a tour that emphasized foods, candies, baked goods and wines that are either unique or that are particularly noteworthy for Nice and the surrounding area. We also wanted pointers on where to shop for such things and which restaurants provided good examples. Both my wife and I thought the tour was well designed and was exactly what we were looking for. Our tour guide, Claudia, was excellent in several areas. She is well organized, personable and she asks questions of us attendees so that she could address our interests. She could not have done a better job from our perspective.

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

Henrik T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Very fine, funny and informative tour. Our guide, Claudia, were excellent !!

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

Louise W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This tour more than met our expectations.

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

George C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

our guide Claudia was fantastic and we had so many delicious snacks along the way!

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

bjschone

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

My wife and I loved this tour SO much - in fact, this is the second time we've taken it! We took the tour about a year and a half ago, and we decided to take it again on our second trip to Nice. Claudia was a fantastic tour guide and the food we tried was outstanding. Plus, the walking history tour along the way is super informative. We highly recommend this tour if you want to see the best of old-town Nice!

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

Boris G USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We have learned to look for such a tour on Viator when we travel to a new place. And we try to book it for shortly after our arrival: it is a great introduction to the charm and character of the location. This tour is no exception. It was very high quality, as we have come to expect. Dorothy was a great guide who mixed in history, architecture, food, culture, and modern life of Nice. The food is simply great. The shop owners and purveyors were friendly and skilled. It was very nice to be in a small group. Our group was diverse and very friendly. We went back to several of the shops after the tour to make additional purchases for gifts to others and to ourselves.

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

roxannmagee

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our guide Claudia was wonderful and our tasting of Nicoise and Provencal cuisines, olive oils and wines were second to none. We would recommend Claudia and this tour to our friends and we would take the tour again ourselves on our next trip to Nice, France! Joseph and Roxann, Broomfield, Colorado USA

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

Laurie R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Claudia our guide was amazing! She was flexible, shared tremendous knowledge of the city and the food, and took us to some wonderful places - we had a blast and enjoyed everything that we tried. Bought a lot of great foods to take home!

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

Leeza M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Amazing, if you do one thing in Nice do this tour foodies will love this! Tasted such a variety of food, culture and history in one morning. Our guides knowledge was superb, so enthusiastic and answered our many questions while staying on theme. If your staying on in Nice for a few days you will appreciate the food markets and historic tour of the old city. There was also a high level of engagement with the group, lots of laughs - a winner!

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

Meredith Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Kimberley was a great guide and was able to tailor the tour to accommodate our 2 less mobile companions. We enjoyed the markets and all the food and oil tastings. We'd recommend for anyone who likes food. Don't have a big breakfast beforehand though.

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

Meredith Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Kimberley was a great guide and was able to tailor the tour to accommodate our 2 less mobile companions. We enjoyed the markets and all the food and oil tastings. We'd recommend for anyone who likes food. Don't have a big breakfast beforehand though.

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

Robert S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Great walking tour of old town Nice markets and stores. We were part of a small group of six, which made it very easy to listen to our guide. Our group consisted of two Danes, two Aussies and two Texans, and the guide made it easy for us to get to know each other, which added to the enjoyment of the tour. She made a lot of recommendations for places to buy foods and for future restaurant bookings.

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

Victoria M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a great tour! We tried a variety of different foods and walked quite a bit around Old Town. Dorothy, our tour guide, was extremely knowledgeable and friendly and explained a lot about what we were tasting and how it pertained to the Nice culture! Would definitely recommend doing this on the first or second day of your trip in Nice!

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

Mary G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Claudia was a wonderful, entertaining, and informative guide. The small group Nice food tour was fun for our entire family. The morning passed quickly and this tour is one of our family's favorite memories of our France vacation. Great guide and excellent food!

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

Ronald A M

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

It was a nice experience visiting the food shops and the guide was great.

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

Stephanie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was exceptional! It was so fun to walk the streets of Nice and learn about the history of the food culture there. All the food tasting was delicious as well as wandering through the town as a local. It was cool to see the cheese shops, olive oil stores, and etc. that locals clearly go to to buy their everyday products. Our guide was fantastic and so adorable. I would recommend this tour to anyone in Nice!! Especially any foodie or food lover!

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message