Thanks to its picturesque setting on the Mediterranean coast, Provence, in Southern France, is blessed with a warm climate, idyllic landscape and highly fertile soils that yield a range of fresh produce to fuel the region’s famous cuisine. Far from ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 98 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

robbiemccullough

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Marion was AWESOME!!

Funny

Sweet and So knowledgeable.. Plus she knew everyone!!

It was the touring highlight of our trip !

I couldn't recommend her any higher!!

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

Pedro K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Three words about Tam: She is amazing! Tam was our guide for the market tour and cooking class and she just exceeded our expectations. When I booked this, I didn't know that she was a season 3 contestant on France's version of MasterChef. In a country were their cousin is taken so seriously, this is actually a big deal because the show is extremely competitive. For example, she was one of 20 contestants chosen out of 24,000 that applied. Tam is an expert, but more importantly, she is patient and was able to communicate well with us with her basic culinary English. My wife and I were the only ones to attend the lesson and we were able to pick our products with Tam. We then went back to her business location, which included a beautiful kitchen prepared our meal. We had a genuine French meal and it was delicious. What we cooked was simple, we assisted with the cooking, and Tam took the lead to make sure that our meal was first class. The entire experience took about 4 hours, but it was well worth the price. The lunch was the best that we had in the 10 days in France. It was simply excellent!

Doing what: Nice Food Market Tour and Cooking Class

Julie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Highly Recommend - A must do!!

Thoroughly enjoyed our food tour, Dorothy was very informative and fun to be with
The size of the tour, 10 people made it personal

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

Tammy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was an excellent tour! Great history of city and food. It was very helpful to navigate the market with an expert. Be sure to bring water if you are traveling in the warmer months.

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

Rosalie I

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

A nice way to see Nice and sample some local foods.

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

April G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Tam was absolutely wonderful, she explains the process of what we and #39;re doing and ensures we are executing the process correctly. She is hands on and made it more fun by incorporating an egg cracking challenge (one hand and blind). I learnt a few new technniques and two pastries. I recommend her classes!

Doing what: French Patisserie Cooking Class in Nice

David G

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

The tour was well organized with excellent choice of foods that were purchased in the market. Thea tubal cooking experience was well done, great instruction and highly interactive. The only downside was the original booking had us meet at one place while the instructor was in a different location. Took a few phone calls to straighten out but would still recommend it

Doing what: Nice Food Market Tour and Cooking Class

Shari

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Loved the tour!!! My favorite of all things we done on this and other trips we've been on. Would def recommend.

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

Patricia K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The tour was great! What a wonderful way to experience Nice! Walking and eating and drinking!
Great Guide, Great time!

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

Karlis S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A wonderful tour with just the right balance of history, culture and food. I would even gladly take it again, provided I can have the same tour guide and better weather.

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

Mirko H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

It was one of the best Food Tours we did. Very good Tour Guide Marion, she did a great job.

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

Aubrey M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This tour was a favourite of our time in Nice. Our tour guide, Marion, was amazing. She provided useful and interesting information, was most friendly and thoughtful and our whole family found it fun and interesting. My grandsons learned a lot and wished that school could be more like this tour!!!!! We highly recommend this tour to all.

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

Sami G

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2016

The Tour guide did not show up when she was supposed to. Terrible!

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

Vladimir S

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

The Tour was organised well, introducing us not only to local cuisine but a bit oif history of Nice as well. Claudia's choice of local specialities was spot on, adjusted to the preferences of the group and helped us to plan the rest of our gastronomic adventure in Nice, including selection of restaurants and bistro's

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

Lynne B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was really good Claudia was excellent
The tour was interesting and very informative
We even got some tips on places to eat which was very helpful
Would recommend it to everyone

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

David G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The Small -group Nice Food tour was an interesting tour. It is filled with all kind of surprises . Our tour guide Dorothy was particular tentative and add a charming delight to the tour. Having said that we highly recommend the tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

kasssa

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

Was expecting to learn to cook more traditional French food.

Doing what: Nice Food Market Tour and Cooking Class

Jonathan h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Lots of fun with taste treats you would not experience without a local guide. Great finish with a bottle of wine and assorted collection of freshly bought delicacies.

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

Gary J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great tour and I highly recommend it - Claudia was amazing and really made the tour the best ever !!!

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

Julie R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This tour was awesome! Although, I wish I had gone on this tour at the beginning of my trip or known that the sweaters, jackets, belts, leather bags and purses were a must buy. I bought all of these things and wish that I had packed light going to Nice so that I would have enough space to buy more. The next time that I go to Nice, this will be one of my first Group trips or I'll be sure to budget my finances so that I can buy more- the leather goods, sweaters and accessories are beautiful and good quality!

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

Amanda United States of ... 

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

This wasn't quite what we expected. Most of the class time was spent on chopping things for a Niçoise salad. I understand that's the typical salad of the region, but to us a salad does not constitute cooking. The other items we made stuffed vegetables and a chocolate lava cake were tasty, but neither really what we pictured as French cuisine when we signed up for this class. Also, the 3-course meal was supposed to include a starter, main course, and dessert- there was no main course, we didn't cook any meat or entree at all. We didn't get to touch any actual cooking implements at all stove or oven, the instructor did all of that. The instructor just told us to 'chop this' and such, didn't actually explain the steps or why things needed to be done a certain way. And we weren't even given the recipes to take away with us, so we don't have a way to duplicate the dishes if we wanted.

Overall, it was still an interesting experience I guess, but not what we thought we signed up for.

Doing what: Provençal Cooking Class in Nice

Life is Good

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Fun tour. Great guide.

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

CHARLES F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

First and foremost, what we wanted was a tour that emphasized foods, candies, baked goods and wines that are either unique or that are particularly noteworthy for Nice and the surrounding area. We also wanted pointers on where to shop for such things and which restaurants provided good examples. Both my wife and I thought the tour was well designed and was exactly what we were looking for. Our tour guide, Claudia, was excellent in several areas. She is well organized, personable and she asks questions of us attendees so that she could address our interests. She could not have done a better job from our perspective.

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

Henrik T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Very fine, funny and informative tour. Our guide, Claudia, were excellent !!

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message