Thanks to its picturesque setting on the Mediterranean coast, Provence, in Southern France, is blessed with a warm climate, idyllic landscape and highly fertile soils that yield a range of fresh produce to fuel the region’s famous cuisine. Far from ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 24 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This food tour was great fun. We covered a lot of ground in 3 hours and got to taste many types of local food while learning about the history of Nice's food and culture. Great for an introduction to Nice! I'd definitely recommend doing this near the start of your trip.

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

What a wonderful way to be introduced to the Old Town of Nice! Our guide, Marion, was gracious, organized, knowledgeable, easy to understand, and had a good sense of humour. The tour Marion put together was interesting and tasty. She even brought extra items with her to complement the food of the stores and stalls we visited. Not only did we learn about wine and food specialties, we also learned about the area. We'd highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We loved this tour! Marion was friendly and informative, and took us round so many wonderful shops and stalls to sample the local delicacies. Such a treat for us to wander round the marketplace stalls with our expert guide showing us the best places. Thank you - we would certainly recommend this to others.

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We were only 2, therefore had a private tour to ourselves! We loved Marion, she was warm and knowledgeable about the food and history of Nice and is a charming person. The foods tasted were excellent and she also recommended local value restaurants. I would definately do this again. I am booking a similar tour through her agency for Paris in July.

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

mmae
USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This is by far the best tour we experienced in Nice. Marion (the owner, or a select employee) walks you through a taste of the Nice Old Town. You experience incredible seasonal produce (fava beans in February 2014), delicious local hot Socca (yummy flat bread), unbelievable chocolates from a shop established in 1820. The dark chocolate mint sample tasted like fresh crushed mint ! I am drooling just thinking about this tour... Miranda from California

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Marion is an excellent guide and local to Nice so you get a fabulous insight to Nicois cuisine and culture. The tastings are delicious and authentic. We did this tour on the first day of our week long stay in Nice which enabled us to both orientate ourselves with the old town and know which boulangeries, fromageries, shops and market stalls to buy our produce from for the rest of our stay.

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Marion, our Tour guide was very pleasant and knowledgeable on the foods of the area and the history of Old Nice. She brought us to several shops for tastings, and ended in a spectacular shop with oils, and spices that was very enjoyable. A part of our trip that we will always remember.

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

The tour was top rated by all participants-our guide was knowledgeable and friendly. It did seem a bit odd that she did not drink alcohol and therefore knew little about wine and spirits. it really didn't deter from the tour -just seemed not to fit.

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

My daughter and I really enjoyed our tour. Dorothy was a wonderful guide. She was pleasant and efficient.

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This tour was fantastic, not only did we get to taste all kinds of food items but we received historical information about nice from our guide as well. We went to a outdoor market, olive oil producer, tasted some local rose wine, and went to a cheese shop. This was a wonderful way to discover the local food items from Nice that we would have otherwise never known about.

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

My mom and I went on this tour and it was the highlight of our time spent in Nice. Marion was our guide and she was incredibly knowledgable about the history, culture and food of the region. We started out trying traditional Nice specialties from the market, picked up baked goods, stopped in a lovely cheese shop, made a stop at a cafe for socca and espresso and concluded at an olive oil shop where we sampled the oil and sat down to enjoy the treats we purchased in the morning with some great rose wine. This is a must do tour for anyone wanting an insiders look into old Nice. Thank you Marion!

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

This was a wonderful tour with our guide Marion, she was absolutley the best. So knowledgeable about the area and food. We had many tastings in many shops and ended up drinking wine In a lovely olive oil shop......she even gave us more time then scheduled for. Rating above EXCELLENT!

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Amazing must-do tour of Nice. If you can only do 1 tour in Nice, this is the one to take.
We are a couple with an infant and we had great time strolling through Nice and the markets. We’ve been to many city walking and tasting tours and this is by far the best; well organized, enough time to stroll through and savor the smells from the market and taste the yummy local foods, drinks, sweets. The walk to the top of Castle Hill was easy even with a stroller. I suggest that you come hungry to the tour as you will be doing a variety of tastings. All the store shop owners were friendly, especially the final stop at the Provincial Food Store.
Marion, the tour guide, is amazing, kind, and well informed taking the time to answer all our questions.

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Awesome food tour! A Must for foodies. Gives you a chance to try a good range of French/Nice/Provençal specialties - noteworthy of which are the cheese, olive oil and Rose wine! Brings you to the BEST shops in the area and none of those tourist traps with mediocre quality food. Marion was awesome!!

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Marion gave us a wonderful tour of Old Town Nice! She was personable and her English was excellent!
She adjusted the tour to include places we had not seen yet and was able to please all 8 of us on the tour!
I would definitely recommend this tour to others. Even if you are familiar with Nice she showed us places that we had overlooked in past visits. Even our Son-in-law who lives in Nice and used to have a restaurant there was impressed with the tour! The cheese shop and the olive oil shops were very big hits and we went back to each several times during our stay.

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message