Thanks to its picturesque setting on the Mediterranean coast, Provence, in Southern France, is blessed with a warm climate, idyllic landscape and highly fertile soils that yield a range of fresh produce to fuel the region’s famous cuisine. Far from ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 30 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This is a 'must do' when visiting Nice! Wonderful guide Dorothy, delicious food and a great way to experience Nice. Do not miss this!

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was really worthwhile and far exceeded our expectations. Dorothy, the tour guide was just delightful. Very knowledgeable and she obviously loved what she was doing. The fun part was exploring parts of old town Nice and trying out the different food. Great stuff!

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had a wonderful time with Dorothee. As we walked through the Old City, she seemed to know EVERYONE! The tour was a nice mix of the city's ancient history, as well as the modern lifestyle of the locals. It was amazing to walk all over the city , from the market place in the valley to the castle on the bluffs, but the best part was getting to spend time with the girls at the gourmet olive oil and specialty foods shop. The women who worked there, along with Dorothee, spent so much time immersing us in their culture and food--they were SO NICE! Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Amazing tour! Very authentic and very local! Our guide, Dorothy was excellent and lived in Nice for 14 yrs. She surely knew all of the excellent local cheese, olive oil shops and cafes, etc to take us. We have lived in Geneva Switzerland so we always look for more in depth local tours. Well done!

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Marian was a super tour guide on the food tour in Nice! We visited a wide variety of shops to taste fruit candies, cheese (my favorite), olive oil and many more things. She provided a brief history of Nice also, which was interesting. I'd recommend this tour to anyone going to Nice!

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This food tour was great fun. We covered a lot of ground in 3 hours and got to taste many types of local food while learning about the history of Nice's food and culture. Great for an introduction to Nice! I'd definitely recommend doing this near the start of your trip.

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We had a lovely time with Dorothy. She explained about the food, market, restaurants
And the walk to and from the Waterfall. Lots of little tastes arranged by her contacts.
I will definitely book another Viator tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

What a wonderful way to be introduced to the Old Town of Nice! Our guide, Marion, was gracious, organized, knowledgeable, easy to understand, and had a good sense of humour. The tour Marion put together was interesting and tasty. She even brought extra items with her to complement the food of the stores and stalls we visited. Not only did we learn about wine and food specialties, we also learned about the area. We'd highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We loved this tour! Marion was friendly and informative, and took us round so many wonderful shops and stalls to sample the local delicacies. Such a treat for us to wander round the marketplace stalls with our expert guide showing us the best places. Thank you - we would certainly recommend this to others.

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We were only 2, therefore had a private tour to ourselves! We loved Marion, she was warm and knowledgeable about the food and history of Nice and is a charming person. The foods tasted were excellent and she also recommended local value restaurants. I would definately do this again. I am booking a similar tour through her agency for Paris in July.

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

mmae
USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This is by far the best tour we experienced in Nice. Marion (the owner, or a select employee) walks you through a taste of the Nice Old Town. You experience incredible seasonal produce (fava beans in February 2014), delicious local hot Socca (yummy flat bread), unbelievable chocolates from a shop established in 1820. The dark chocolate mint sample tasted like fresh crushed mint ! I am drooling just thinking about this tour... Miranda from California

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Marion is an excellent guide and local to Nice so you get a fabulous insight to Nicois cuisine and culture. The tastings are delicious and authentic. We did this tour on the first day of our week long stay in Nice which enabled us to both orientate ourselves with the old town and know which boulangeries, fromageries, shops and market stalls to buy our produce from for the rest of our stay.

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Marion, our Tour guide was very pleasant and knowledgeable on the foods of the area and the history of Old Nice. She brought us to several shops for tastings, and ended in a spectacular shop with oils, and spices that was very enjoyable. A part of our trip that we will always remember.

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

The tour was top rated by all participants-our guide was knowledgeable and friendly. It did seem a bit odd that she did not drink alcohol and therefore knew little about wine and spirits. it really didn't deter from the tour -just seemed not to fit.

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

My daughter and I really enjoyed our tour. Dorothy was a wonderful guide. She was pleasant and efficient.

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message