Caen may not be on the tip of the tongue of every visitor to France. But for those who look into exploring the region of Normandy, it quickly becomes a logical base from which to see and do everything on your list. If you’d like to plan a getaway ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 26 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

My wife and I took a day trip from Paris. Our guide picked us up and took us to all the important sites with plenty of time to walk around and explore them. Our guide was very knowledgeable of the historic events.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our tour guide was fantastic very personable and informative regarding the D-day landing in Normandy. Highly recommend to future travelers as it is a great day trip from Paris. This tour is a must for anyone who wants to learn more about WWII. All of the sites we visited were excellent a long day but so glad we went. Kudos to our guide and Viator for an excellent tour will use your services the next time we travel.
Patti

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was pretty cool. The guide was very chill and very knowledgeable about the sites that we visited. I only took the half day trip in the afternoon, but it was enough time, as I was doing this for the day from Paris.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Awesome. Tour guide was extremely knowledgeable. Well organised and well worth the day trip from Paris.

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

Bradley C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

My wife and I both really enjoyed this day trip. Our guide Jonathon had an incredible amount of knowledge of the history of all the sites we visited and their surroundings. It was only the two of us on the tour, so he was very flexible and gave us the options of which sites and museums we wanted to visit. Highly recommended tour for anyone with an interest in learning the history of the area.

Doing what: Private Tour: Normandy Landing Beaches, Battlefields, Museums and Cemeteries from Bayeux

Bradley C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

A great day trip from Bayeux that my wife and I both enjoyed immensely. Our guide Jonathon was incredibly knowledgeable about the site and many other places we passed through on the trip, and he was very flexible in allowing us to see things at our own pace and to spend more time in the areas we found more interesting. Highly recommended for anyone visiting the area.

Doing what: Private Day Tour of Mont Saint-Michel from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

If I could give this 6 stars, I would. I wish we had done the full day trip but time didn't allow for us to do so.

Our tour guide, Daniel, was very outgoing, friendly, and knowledgeable.

We took the train from Paris and it took two hours. It was well-worth it. We were met at the train station and we left for the tour from there, picking up two other couples along the way.

The tour started at Pont du Hoc, then we went to Omaha Beach, and then ended at the American cemetery and museum.

My grandfather served in WWII (in the Pacific) and my husband is currently active duty Army. The whole experience was beyond educational and extremely sobering. I have always had a deep love and appreciation for our men and women and uniform and seeing this part of history up close and personal was something I will never forget.

We didn't have much time at the end of the evening for the museum, but from what I did see, it is awesome.

If you have the time, do the full tour! I wish we had.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our Bayeux tour was a complete success. I can't speak highly enough of Mathieu, our guide for the day.

We were looking for a short and focused tour that focused on the Canadian role in WWII and visiting relevant historical sites. Specifically, we wanted to visit Bény-sur-Mer Canadian War Cemetery, where my great uncle was buried. This tour fit the bill perfectly.

Mathieu picked up our small group of eight Canadians at the train station and we immediately set off into the countryside. Mathieu speaks English well and has a fun personality, and we all got along well. We fit a lot into our five hours together, including a stop at the Bay of Arromanches, time walking along Juno Beach, and a visit to the Juno Beach Centre, admission to which was included in the cost of this tour. (Advice: be sure to manage your time inside the centre.)

I was thrilled to visit the cemetery where my great-uncle is buried. I had looked up the location of his tombstone on the web, so quickly found it upon our arrival. That was a touching moment for the tour.

In terms of logistics, given our tight travel schedule, we wanted a tour short enough that we could do it as a day trip from Paris. This one worked quite well - we took an 8:45 am train out of Paris, which arrived in time to allow us to walk into town (under 10 min walk) for lunch. Mathieu picked us up at the train station at 1 pm and we were back shortly after 6 pm. As we had booked a 7:22 pm return train, we had plenty of time to head to a pub in town for dinner and a beer, before heading back to the station and Paris.

We'd like to return to Bayeux one day and spend more time there, but for now, this tour was exactly what we wanted. The registration process was easy and the experience was professional. We highly recommend this tour - a highlight of our trip to France.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - Canadian World War II Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Mag was our guide. She was fantastic. It was overwhelming to stand on Omaha Beach. Our day in Bayeux was filled with emotion. I would encourage anyone going to France to make this stop. We did the half day trip with 6 other Americans who were also doing independent travel. The day before that we went independently to the War Museum in Caen.
While you are in the Normandy area, we would also suggest spending a few days in Rouen. The Cathedrals, the spires, the chimes, Joan of Arc's Church, and their Beaux Arts Museum are just a few of the highlights
Lynne and Allan

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

We had a wonderful 1/2 day trip to Normandy. We were staying in Paris and took the train from the St. Lazare train to Bayeux...had to switch trains in Caen, but that was easy...small station. We walked from the train station in Bayeux to the Le Conquerant restaurant and had the most reasonably priced meal of our trip...and the folks were pleasant to deal with. We met our guide, Jonathan in front of the Churchill Hotel and he was actually a bit early...nice start to the trip. We drove to where the Army Rangers climbed steep cliffs to attack the Germans and it was awe inspiring. It was hard to imagine anyone doing this without someone shooting at you, I can't imagine the difficulty under fire. From there we went into the bunkers where you could see the damage done by flamethrowers. From there we went to the Normandy beaches where Jonathan explained how the landings went. He did a great drawing on the beach for us that illustrated the landing and went through it step by step. Nice touch. Finally, we went to the American cemetery where almost 10,000 soldiers lay. The whole experience was humbling. From start to finish the trip was first rate...thank you Jonathan and Viator.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Out half day trip to the Normandy beaches was very enjoyable. Our guide was very knowlegable and happy to answer questions. I would definitely recommend to others.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

We had a wonderful experience touring on the Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeaux and would definitely recommend this way to go to anyone.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Great half day trip. Our guide was knowledgeable and friendly. Highly reccomend this trip.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

This trip really is amazing. We went to Pointe du Hoc, Omaha Beach, the American Military Cemetery, and the surviving battery of German guns. It would've been nice to spend a little more time at the guns, and it would've also been nice to see actual equipment from that campaign. But that would have required a longer day. For a half-day trip, this was fantastic!

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

Excellent tour and even better tour guide; her name is "Noamie" and she added both historical information and local color commentary. The tour description accurately described the half-day trip to the beaches and then on to the cemetery. It's an excellent way to see this bit of history and made a lasting impression.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2010

The tour guide spoke perfect English, was well knowledgable of World war 2 and the history of all the sights we went to. The guide also was courteous, and had a great sense of humor. He also got alot done with the half day trip.

Doing what: Omaha Beach Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

This half day trip was perfect...small group, great guides, and enough time spent at the sites...

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

This was a great choice for our day trip from Paris. Our tour guide, Mathias, was knowledgeable and interesting, sharing stories about his own family during the war. We saw several relevant sites and had time to wander around on our own. Mathias set the events in a historical context, and even related them to the movie The Longest Day, which we had watched recently. Reading accounts of the battle before hand helped us to understand what had happened there, but seeing the setting and hearing detailed descriptions, as well as visiting the American cemetery, were moving. We recommend the restaurant Il Bellagio in Bayeux. The peasant salad is wonderful, and they served our meal quickly so we could catch the train back to Paris.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

The half trip was fun, but definitely not enough time to see Normandy. The guide was really knowledgeable, but did speak with a thick French accent go figure it is France after all. I highly recommend the tour and guide but if at all possible go for the full day trip, you won't regret it.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Wonderful tour. The tour guide, Pierre, picked me up from the train station on time, and was very knowledgable about the local history surrounding Nazi occupation and D-Day. He was a very friendly and at times a comical guide. The half day trip left my group more than enough time to see the major sights of Point-du-hoc, the American Military Cemetery, and Omaha Beach. I highly recommend this tour to anyone wanting to expereince an A-quality Normandy tour.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2009

The half day Normandy tour is the BEST! It was the perfect combination of sites, and our guide made history come alive and made us appreciate and see it through the eyes of those--American, British, French and German--who lived through it. I highly recommend it as a day trip from Paris or as an introduction to a more in-depth exploration of Normandy. Merci beaucoup!!

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

Our tour was fantastic! Guide was the best, and I don't think we would have gotten 110th as much out of the trip had he not been our guide. What an amazing and powerful experience, and for what we could do, a half day trip from Paris worked out great!

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Excellent, informative tour that gives an overview of that heroic time in history. Now that we've.taken it, though, I'd go back on my own and spend much more time. While it was a half day trip, I felt rushed and unable.to explore.the visitors center and beaches as much as I'd have liked. Taps at the cemetery was very moving. I wish all Americans could.take this tour.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

We had a good guide and were able to see everything we had planned to in one full day trip. She shared a few personal family stories along with the straight history, threw out questions and answered ours. Our group of eight go to know one another, enjoying lunch together and rearranging the seating in the van at each stop. The final stop at the American cemetary left a lasting memory.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

This was a nicely arranged 1/2 day trip. We had nice weather, but since the majority of it is outside, I can't imagine what it would be like in bad weather. Make sure you come prepared. The only "complaint" I have was that there was not enough time at the cemetery memorial building. It is very rich in the history, but not enough time to see much of it. Overall good value for the $$.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message