Caen may not be on the tip of the tongue of every visitor to France. But for those who look into exploring the region of Normandy, it quickly becomes a logical base from which to see and do everything on your list. If you’d like to plan a getaway ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 24 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was pretty cool. The guide was very chill and very knowledgeable about the sites that we visited. I only took the half day trip in the afternoon, but it was enough time, as I was doing this for the day from Paris.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Awesome. Tour guide was extremely knowledgeable. Well organised and well worth the day trip from Paris.

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

Bradley C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

My wife and I both really enjoyed this day trip. Our guide Jonathon had an incredible amount of knowledge of the history of all the sites we visited and their surroundings. It was only the two of us on the tour, so he was very flexible and gave us the options of which sites and museums we wanted to visit. Highly recommended tour for anyone with an interest in learning the history of the area.

Doing what: Private Tour: Normandy Landing Beaches, Battlefields, Museums and Cemeteries from Bayeux

Bradley C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

A great day trip from Bayeux that my wife and I both enjoyed immensely. Our guide Jonathon was incredibly knowledgeable about the site and many other places we passed through on the trip, and he was very flexible in allowing us to see things at our own pace and to spend more time in the areas we found more interesting. Highly recommended for anyone visiting the area.

Doing what: Private Day Tour of Mont Saint-Michel from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

If I could give this 6 stars, I would. I wish we had done the full day trip but time didn't allow for us to do so.

Our tour guide, Daniel, was very outgoing, friendly, and knowledgeable.

We took the train from Paris and it took two hours. It was well-worth it. We were met at the train station and we left for the tour from there, picking up two other couples along the way.

The tour started at Pont du Hoc, then we went to Omaha Beach, and then ended at the American cemetery and museum.

My grandfather served in WWII (in the Pacific) and my husband is currently active duty Army. The whole experience was beyond educational and extremely sobering. I have always had a deep love and appreciation for our men and women and uniform and seeing this part of history up close and personal was something I will never forget.

We didn't have much time at the end of the evening for the museum, but from what I did see, it is awesome.

If you have the time, do the full tour! I wish we had.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our Bayeux tour was a complete success. I can't speak highly enough of Mathieu, our guide for the day.

We were looking for a short and focused tour that focused on the Canadian role in WWII and visiting relevant historical sites. Specifically, we wanted to visit Bény-sur-Mer Canadian War Cemetery, where my great uncle was buried. This tour fit the bill perfectly.

Mathieu picked up our small group of eight Canadians at the train station and we immediately set off into the countryside. Mathieu speaks English well and has a fun personality, and we all got along well. We fit a lot into our five hours together, including a stop at the Bay of Arromanches, time walking along Juno Beach, and a visit to the Juno Beach Centre, admission to which was included in the cost of this tour. (Advice: be sure to manage your time inside the centre.)

I was thrilled to visit the cemetery where my great-uncle is buried. I had looked up the location of his tombstone on the web, so quickly found it upon our arrival. That was a touching moment for the tour.

In terms of logistics, given our tight travel schedule, we wanted a tour short enough that we could do it as a day trip from Paris. This one worked quite well - we took an 8:45 am train out of Paris, which arrived in time to allow us to walk into town (under 10 min walk) for lunch. Mathieu picked us up at the train station at 1 pm and we were back shortly after 6 pm. As we had booked a 7:22 pm return train, we had plenty of time to head to a pub in town for dinner and a beer, before heading back to the station and Paris.

We'd like to return to Bayeux one day and spend more time there, but for now, this tour was exactly what we wanted. The registration process was easy and the experience was professional. We highly recommend this tour - a highlight of our trip to France.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - Canadian World War II Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Mag was our guide. She was fantastic. It was overwhelming to stand on Omaha Beach. Our day in Bayeux was filled with emotion. I would encourage anyone going to France to make this stop. We did the half day trip with 6 other Americans who were also doing independent travel. The day before that we went independently to the War Museum in Caen.
While you are in the Normandy area, we would also suggest spending a few days in Rouen. The Cathedrals, the spires, the chimes, Joan of Arc's Church, and their Beaux Arts Museum are just a few of the highlights
Lynne and Allan

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

We had a wonderful 1/2 day trip to Normandy. We were staying in Paris and took the train from the St. Lazare train to Bayeux...had to switch trains in Caen, but that was easy...small station. We walked from the train station in Bayeux to the Le Conquerant restaurant and had the most reasonably priced meal of our trip...and the folks were pleasant to deal with. We met our guide, Jonathan in front of the Churchill Hotel and he was actually a bit early...nice start to the trip. We drove to where the Army Rangers climbed steep cliffs to attack the Germans and it was awe inspiring. It was hard to imagine anyone doing this without someone shooting at you, I can't imagine the difficulty under fire. From there we went into the bunkers where you could see the damage done by flamethrowers. From there we went to the Normandy beaches where Jonathan explained how the landings went. He did a great drawing on the beach for us that illustrated the landing and went through it step by step. Nice touch. Finally, we went to the American cemetery where almost 10,000 soldiers lay. The whole experience was humbling. From start to finish the trip was first rate...thank you Jonathan and Viator.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Out half day trip to the Normandy beaches was very enjoyable. Our guide was very knowlegable and happy to answer questions. I would definitely recommend to others.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

We had a wonderful experience touring on the Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeaux and would definitely recommend this way to go to anyone.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Great half day trip. Our guide was knowledgeable and friendly. Highly reccomend this trip.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

This trip really is amazing. We went to Pointe du Hoc, Omaha Beach, the American Military Cemetery, and the surviving battery of German guns. It would've been nice to spend a little more time at the guns, and it would've also been nice to see actual equipment from that campaign. But that would have required a longer day. For a half-day trip, this was fantastic!

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

Excellent tour and even better tour guide; her name is "Noamie" and she added both historical information and local color commentary. The tour description accurately described the half-day trip to the beaches and then on to the cemetery. It's an excellent way to see this bit of history and made a lasting impression.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2010

The tour guide spoke perfect English, was well knowledgable of World war 2 and the history of all the sights we went to. The guide also was courteous, and had a great sense of humor. He also got alot done with the half day trip.

Doing what: Omaha Beach Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

This half day trip was perfect...small group, great guides, and enough time spent at the sites...

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message