Centrally-located in the Bay of Plenty and home to a deep water harbor, the port of Tauranga is a popular cruise hub with over 85 ships per year. The cruise port itself is actually located in the township of Mt. Maunganui, a laidback beach town ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 63 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Good trip really interesting and great driver/guide. Loved the fact that there was a guarantee to get me back to the ship on time.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Highlights

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This excursion was the highlight of my husband and my trip to New Zealand. We were on the Sea Princess and they didn't offer Hobbiton and Rotorua in the same excursion, as this was our first time I was worried about going with a company outside for an excursion but I had no need to worry. Grant from Zealander was very informative, courteous, punctual and helpful from start to finish. He had exceptional knowledge and nothing was too much for him. Could not praise him enough. He really made it a great tour for all aboard. We could only hope to have him again and would highly recommend this excursion to anyone. Grant and Zealander tours are a great combination. Thank you.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour Including Rotorua Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Knowledgeable tour guide and good value for the money. We enjoyed it very much and will use Viator in the future. This was our first tour and it was recommended by people on our cruise.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Te Puia Maori Cultural Centre and Rotorua City Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Wonderful tour from the moment we were greeted as we left the cruise ship until we were dropped off again. Informative, friendly bus driver and fantastic guides at Rotorua and Hobbiton. Our family of four highly recommend this tour and this company - a fantastic way to see two amazing sites in the one day and not feel rushed at either. Thank you to all involved!

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour Including Rotorua Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Rainy weather caused the tour guide to change a little bit of our itinerary however, he was very accommodating and very well organized about making sure we saw as much as possible. We went to the working Maori village and had an excellent tour, as well as we managed to be there at the right time to see the geyser in the thermal village go off. I was thankful of all their organization to make sure we saw what we could and enjoyed ourselves. The place selected for us to get lunch was very good quality and in a nice location as well.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Highlights

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Outstanding! Van driver was amazing. Because other passengers did not show up, my friend and I had Pete totally to ourselves and saw sites at leisure.

Thorough explanation of some of the Maori culture and traditions. Unfortunately, my camera went kaput and did not take enough photos, my bad. Worth the paid and then some. Thank you, Viator!

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Te Puia Maori Cultural Centre and Rotorua City Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Wonderful day. Our guide Peter was excellent, very friendly and very informative. Would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Small-Group Bay of Plenty and Tauranga Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

A wonderful tour to Rotorua - despite being an hour late off the ship due to docking issues. The bus picked us up right near the ship with very friendly and helpful staff guiding us to our bus. Our driver was funny and informative - and a very safe driver. Highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Highlights

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This was a wonderful tour, especially Mike Sowter from Zealandier Tours who met me at my ship and took me to Hobbiton. His commentary was most helpful and he provided a tasty lunch at the end. The actual Hobbiton Movie Set Tour was excellent, just seeing the Hobbit Houses built in to the sides of the hills was great, and ending up in the Green Dragon Pub for a free drink was also good. A great day was had by all.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Absolutely fantastic ...!!!
The tour guide a local was exceptionally informative in his commentary from the port to Matamata and back.
The tour of the movie set was also equally informative and interesting.
Well worth the visit and I highly recommend the tour company. Lunch at the movie set was included.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Excellent Excursion Mike our Tour Guide was Wonderful. Hobbiton is well worth placing on your things to do. Viator you chose the right tour company.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a great trip - terrific driver, small group and we got to see both Hobbiton and Rotorua in the same tour. Well worth the money. The kids and I loved it.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour Including Rotorua Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The day was very enjoyable! The guide did a great job!

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Te Puia Maori Cultural Centre and Rotorua City Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We had a wonderful tour with Shona, can't recommend it highly enough. Just the two of us on the tour so she used the total time to show us some extra spots. We had a wonderful day, thank you Shona. our booking experience was without fault. All went to plan, thank you a great experience.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Highlights

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We enormously enjoyed our Sea Princess tour around New Zealand late Oct. thru early Nov. 2014.

Being our first cruise, it took a few days to orient ourselves around the ship but soon got used to it aided by the supplied map of the ship. Particularly convenient was the "Ship-card" - which was all we needed to unlock our stateroom and to pay for everything necessary, including drinks, gifts and land excursions.

ALL staff were extremely helpful, friendly and courteous and the on-board entertainment, lectures and amenities were first class.

Particularly "dangerous" was the food, of which we cannot speak too highly - tempting ALL tastes.

My wife and I took a zillion pictures and videos (we are enthusiastic photographers) and have been busy, since our return, processing and arranging them - particularly the videos and panoramas for the enjoyment of out family and friends.

We are already planning another cruise for early next year.

Thank you,

John and Rosa Fowler
Bilambil Heights NSW 2486

PS - we'd be more than happy to submit photos/videos for your use.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Highlights

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message