Centrally-located in the Bay of Plenty and home to a deep water harbor, the port of Tauranga is a popular cruise hub with over 85 ships per year. The cruise port itself is actually located in the township of Mt. Maunganui, a laidback beach town ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 41 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a great trip - terrific driver, small group and we got to see both Hobbiton and Rotorua in the same tour. Well worth the money. The kids and I loved it.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour Including Rotorua Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The day was very enjoyable! The guide did a great job!

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Te Puia Maori Cultural Centre and Rotorua City Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We had a wonderful tour with Shona, can't recommend it highly enough. Just the two of us on the tour so she used the total time to show us some extra spots. We had a wonderful day, thank you Shona. our booking experience was without fault. All went to plan, thank you a great experience.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Highlights

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We enormously enjoyed our Sea Princess tour around New Zealand late Oct. thru early Nov. 2014.

Being our first cruise, it took a few days to orient ourselves around the ship but soon got used to it aided by the supplied map of the ship. Particularly convenient was the "Ship-card" - which was all we needed to unlock our stateroom and to pay for everything necessary, including drinks, gifts and land excursions.

ALL staff were extremely helpful, friendly and courteous and the on-board entertainment, lectures and amenities were first class.

Particularly "dangerous" was the food, of which we cannot speak too highly - tempting ALL tastes.

My wife and I took a zillion pictures and videos (we are enthusiastic photographers) and have been busy, since our return, processing and arranging them - particularly the videos and panoramas for the enjoyment of out family and friends.

We are already planning another cruise for early next year.

Thank you,

John and Rosa Fowler
Bilambil Heights NSW 2486

PS - we'd be more than happy to submit photos/videos for your use.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Highlights

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed every moment of this day and it's an experience that will stay with us forever,our tour guide went out of his way to make the day a memorable one

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Highlights

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Very happy with the itinerary and the driver/guide was very good and knowlageble

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Highlights

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great day out, was enjoyable. Excellent bus driver and service from the company used.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Highlights

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was fantastic. There were only four of us in the group, and the guide was brilliant. He took his time to show us the sights. Felt very safe with his driving. The tour to the Mauri village was interesting and included a cultural show as well as a guided tour within the village.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Highlights

AMANDA E
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This was a great tour-one of our favourites. The weather was very wet sadly but the driver Graeme made it all worthwhile. Not only was he very informative and local traditions, landscape and just life in general, ne was happy to take questions, but it was obvious he enjoyed his job. The venue was lunch was quaint and if it had been sunny it would have been very pretty spot. The kiwi farm was really interesting too and the shop there had lots of products to choose from. The visit to the maori village and springs and show was fantastic - really enjoyable hearing about their way of life and listening to their singing.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Highlights

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

It was awesome worth every dollar. They picked me up from the cruise ship and although it was only me, an irish couple and the driver, it was great. The driver we had went out of his way to make the trip enjoyable giving us cool facts and telling us interesting stories about the places we were headed. Hobbiton was all and more that I expected, absolutely fantastic. Best opportunity, Although we saw heaps it wasn't as if we were pressed for time, we got to see everything we wanted and got to waste some times on the gift shops before arriving at the dock in time to walk around for an hour before the ship left.

Great value for money. Looking at the prices at Hobbiton and Rotorua there is definitely no way that doing it yourself would be in any way cheaper.

The timing of the tour was fantastic as well. Going to hobbiton first meant we were on the first group tour which meant we could take awesome unobstructed views of hobbiton without previous groups in the way. It gave the whole place an awesome atmosphere as it was not too hot and not crowded. Then we drove to Rotorua hotsprings, this was incredibly interesting but incredibly hot. Unfortunately no opportunity to swim but the history and information about the place more than made up for that. Seeing the geysers and getting steam from the hot springs was amazing (really did help my asthma). Be prepared though, the hot springs certainly stink. They showed us the cooking pools they use and after watching a traditional maori dance we got the chance to purchase some corn cooked in the pool. I normally hate corn, but this was delicious, perfectly sweet and moist, best corn I have ever had.

I would highly recommend this tour to anyone visiting at Tauranga, especially to those people on cruise ships. The ships offer to do one or the other for approximately the same price as Viator offers both. And don't worry about getting back in time, the drivers are more than aware of the cruise times and will get you back.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour Including Rotorua Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Everything we asked for an more. I couldn't imagine a better tour. Definately recommend as you get to do more than the other tours offer and for a lot less. They timed and planned the day really well so you get to see the most at the best times and you don't feel particularly rushed. I would go on the tour again if I had the time. It let me see everything I wanted to and the driver went out of his way to make sure we got the most out of the experience, giving us heaps of information and telling the odd joke or two, making it overall a fun tour even for a lonely traveler ( my grandmother didn't want to come, showed her the photos after and she wished she had, said is was much better than the tour she did with the cruise ship.)

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour Including Rotorua Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Tauranga was a beautiful place. Our tour person was wonderful and took us to many places of interest - especially the waterfall, kiwi farm and honey bees. We were able to take many photos and didn't feel rushed.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Small-Group Bay of Plenty and Tauranga Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Fantastic! We thoroughly enjoyed this informative and entertain tour. Everything was as described on the Viator website and following the email instructions found Graeme our drive/ guide waiting for us. We travelled in a mini-bus with about 10 other cruise passengers and the small size of the party ensured we weren't waiting for lots of people to get back to the coach. Graeme gave us lots of information en route about the country, culture, economy, and wildlife. We had a wonderful day with just the right amount of time to spend in each place. Would happily recommend this tour to cruise visitors as it 'packed' so much in to port day without feeling rushed.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Highlights

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

By far one of the best tours. Saw so much between Tauranga and Rotorua such a beautiful spot. Mauri experience was fantastic. This was one of my favourite tours

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Highlights

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The tour was terrific, the guide was knowledgable and everything went very well. I would certainly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Te Puia Maori Cultural Centre and Rotorua City Sightseeing

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message