Centrally-located in the Bay of Plenty and home to a deep water harbor, the port of Tauranga is a popular cruise hub with over 85 ships per year. The cruise port itself is actually located in the township of Mt. Maunganui, a laidback beach town ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 201 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Mark S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The recent tour to Hobbiton was a truly memorable occasion and one I would highly recommend. The tour company, driver and guide were simply outstanding. A fantastic day!

Doing what: Hobbiton Shore Excursion Including Lord of the Rings and Hobbit Movies Set Tour

joecan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great itinerary. Very friendly and knowledgeable tour guide and driver.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Small-Group Bay of Plenty and Tauranga Tour

George

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Had a great time on this tour. It was worth every penny.

Doing what: Hobbiton Shore Excursion Including Lord of the Rings and Hobbit Movies Set Tour

KELLIHER J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

great trip and host-very informative-itinerary well laid out

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Highlights

sallyspelman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was an very good tour because it was just my husband and I with a tour guide. Our guide chatted with our constantly showing us all the interesting points. Kirsty was excellent and when she dropped us off at the hot pools we felt that we had learnt alot about the area. The hot pools were a lovely end to our tour and I could have stayed in for ever!!!!!

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Mt Drury and Moturiki Island Walking Tour including Mount Hot Pools Admission

AMANDA E Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I must confess before the tour I knew very little about LOTR nor was it of much interest - mainly doing his tour for my husband. Burt what a fabulous day it was! The scenery is simple breathtaking and the tour at Hobbiton is very well organized. The girl who took us around was so enthusiastic and told us many great stories. The free glass of ginger beer or stout if preferred was really nice and the pub had a great rustic atmosphere. We were very fortunate with our driver Les who as luck would have it worked on the movie set as a medic so he shared many fantastic stories along our drive. THe surrounding countryside is so beautiful. An unexpected quick stop to look at a kiwi farm on the way back was a nice surprise too. Was a wonderful day and well worth the price.

Doing what: Hobbiton Shore Excursion Including Lord of the Rings and Hobbit Movies Set Tour

Julie R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Do not hesitate to book this excursion. It will save you heaps of money compared to cruise ship prices and the tour driver we had Doug was full of knowledge and was passionate about his work. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Hobbiton Shore Excursion Including Lord of the Rings and Hobbit Movies Set Tour

Ngoc L H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

what a fantastic excursion! hobbiton is amazing!!! Our bus driver Doug was very knowledgeable and friendly and funny : lord of the rings fan or not - this tour is a must!

Doing what: Hobbiton Shore Excursion Including Lord of the Rings and Hobbit Movies Set Tour

Gloria L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Good tour and wonderful driver. On the way out of the port to Viator vehicle, my left leg went out and I could barely walk. I made it into the front of the SUV and at the Maori Cultural Center Brian borrowed a wheel chair. At lunch he drove right up to the restaurant. At Kiwi, he borrowed a wheel chair. He was a wonderful guide and tried to be very helpful.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Te Puia Maori Cultural Centre and Rotorua City Sightseeing

LEN M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour is the best way to see some culture and sights of Tauranga on a short stay. The driver was very knowledgable of the area and the history. The van was also very comfortable. Would highly recommend to anyone visiting Tauranga.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Highlights

Alan M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fantastic tour. Our guide Colin was very informative and he really made the excursion well worth while.

Doing what: Shore Excursion: Tauranga Highlights Including The Elms Mission Station

Sharon S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was excellent. The guides were extremely well informed and the time available to interact with the displays on the movie set was wonderful. Such a beautiful setting. It's so easy to see why it was selected. The level of detail was amazing that it was hard to pick any of the artificial vs the authentic. Would recommend this as a must do tour.

Doing what: Hobbiton Shore Excursion Including Lord of the Rings and Hobbit Movies Set Tour

jenndavebuck

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great trip Graham our driver was very knowledgable and professional , we covered a lot of ground and loved hearing about the Maori traditions.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Highlights

Sally J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our tour guide was informative and knew the area well. Our transport vehicle was also of a high standard and the cruise ship guarantee took the worry out of missing the ship, definitely value for money trip.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Te Puia Maori Cultural Centre and Rotorua City Sightseeing

Renee T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I was in a group of about 22 travelers who booked this excursion prior to our cruise. I was a bit hesitant as it wasn't booked through Royal Caribbean. I was pleasantly surprised at how wonderful the entire experience was. Our Driver was fantastic and the entire day was the high light of our 13 night cruise. I want to thank Viator for a wonderful excursion!!! I will recommend you to everyone travelling to New Zealand.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Highlights

susan m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Loved it thanks heaps will always book thru viator so well run.Thanks again for making our holiday memorable : our driver was also wonderful :

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Highlights

Nettie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Directions to bus from cruise ship easy.Bus driver willing to go out of her way to show us little extras
A well organised tour , loved it !!

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour

Jim

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour, except when the driver forgot to lock the bus during our absence and someone's backpack was taken.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Highlights

pteach

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was excellent. Our tour guide was great. The show at the cultural center was very authentic and informative. The geysers were amazing. Kiwi 360 was a lot of fun and very interesting.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Te Puia Maori Cultural Centre and Rotorua City Sightseeing

John H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This tour was excellent. The driver was informative and funny. The views were magnificent.

Doing what: Shore Excursion: Tauranga Highlights Including The Elms Mission Station

Sandra

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

I really enjoyed this tour. We started off in Rotorua where we were able to see a geyser go off and see the hot springs the area is famous for. I enjoyed our visit to Hobbiton where we also had our lunch. Lunch was great. The area is beautiful, so even if you are not a huge Lord of the Rings fan, you will enjoy the scenery. This was a very interesting tour and was a highlight of our trip.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour Including Rotorua Sightseeing

stsullins

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We enjoyed this tour very much. The guide was very good on the bus. The Maori village was interesting and entertaining.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Highlights

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message