Centrally-located in the Bay of Plenty and home to a deep water harbor, the port of Tauranga is a popular cruise hub with over 85 ships per year. The cruise port itself is actually located in the township of Mt. Maunganui, a laidback beach town ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 193 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Gloria L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Good tour and wonderful driver. On the way out of the port to Viator vehicle, my left leg went out and I could barely walk. I made it into the front of the SUV and at the Maori Cultural Center Brian borrowed a wheel chair. At lunch he drove right up to the restaurant. At Kiwi, he borrowed a wheel chair. He was a wonderful guide and tried to be very helpful.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Te Puia Maori Cultural Centre and Rotorua City Sightseeing

LEN M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour is the best way to see some culture and sights of Tauranga on a short stay. The driver was very knowledgable of the area and the history. The van was also very comfortable. Would highly recommend to anyone visiting Tauranga.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Highlights

Alan M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fantastic tour. Our guide Colin was very informative and he really made the excursion well worth while.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion Including Mount Maunganui

Sharon S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was excellent. The guides were extremely well informed and the time available to interact with the displays on the movie set was wonderful. Such a beautiful setting. It's so easy to see why it was selected. The level of detail was amazing that it was hard to pick any of the artificial vs the authentic. Would recommend this as a must do tour.

Doing what: Hobbiton Shore Excursion Including Lord of the Rings and Hobbit Movies Set Tour

jenndavebuck

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great trip Graham our driver was very knowledgable and professional , we covered a lot of ground and loved hearing about the Maori traditions.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Highlights

Sally J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our tour guide was informative and knew the area well. Our transport vehicle was also of a high standard and the cruise ship guarantee took the worry out of missing the ship, definitely value for money trip.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Te Puia Maori Cultural Centre and Rotorua City Sightseeing

Renee T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I was in a group of about 22 travelers who booked this excursion prior to our cruise. I was a bit hesitant as it wasn't booked through Royal Caribbean. I was pleasantly surprised at how wonderful the entire experience was. Our Driver was fantastic and the entire day was the high light of our 13 night cruise. I want to thank Viator for a wonderful excursion!!! I will recommend you to everyone travelling to New Zealand.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Highlights

Leeann C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Absolutely beautiful, Stunning.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion Including Mount Maunganui

susan m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Loved it thanks heaps will always book thru viator so well run.Thanks again for making our holiday memorable : our driver was also wonderful :

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Highlights

Nettie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Directions to bus from cruise ship easy.Bus driver willing to go out of her way to show us little extras
A well organised tour , loved it !!

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour

Jim

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour, except when the driver forgot to lock the bus during our absence and someone's backpack was taken.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Highlights

pteach

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was excellent. Our tour guide was great. The show at the cultural center was very authentic and informative. The geysers were amazing. Kiwi 360 was a lot of fun and very interesting.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Te Puia Maori Cultural Centre and Rotorua City Sightseeing

John H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This tour was excellent. The driver was informative and funny. The views were magnificent.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion Including Mount Maunganui

Sandra

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

I really enjoyed this tour. We started off in Rotorua where we were able to see a geyser go off and see the hot springs the area is famous for. I enjoyed our visit to Hobbiton where we also had our lunch. Lunch was great. The area is beautiful, so even if you are not a huge Lord of the Rings fan, you will enjoy the scenery. This was a very interesting tour and was a highlight of our trip.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour Including Rotorua Sightseeing

stsullins

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We enjoyed this tour very much. The guide was very good on the bus. The Maori village was interesting and entertaining.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Highlights

Robyn T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Unfortunately we missed this tour as our ship was delayed in Dunedin, very sad as it was the tour we most wanted to do!

Doing what: Hobbiton Shore Excursion Including Lord of the Rings and Hobbit Movies Set Tour

George C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Driver is very knowledgable. It covered quite a bit of places. Everything they promised and more.We even got free kiwi ice cream at the kiwi plantation. I have no complaint at all. Booked it ahead before your cruise. Don't waste money with cruise company. They charge you double or even triple than viator.com

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Highlights

Marjorie N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Loved this small group tour! Was able to get a personal tour of Kiwi 360 Experience with the owner of the farm. The honey plant was interesting and different.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Small-Group Bay of Plenty and Tauranga Tour

Tracey T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A most enjoyable day. Would have liked to spend more time in the Green Dragon Pub.

Doing what: Hobbiton Shore Excursion Including Lord of the Rings and Hobbit Movies Set Tour

elva234

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

unfortunately the ship was unable to enter the harbour, so the excursion did not proceed.
Viator were very helpful

Doing what: Hobbiton Shore Excursion Including Lord of the Rings and Hobbit Movies Set Tour

Heather H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A great day despite the awful weather.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Highlights

walshy693

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great tour with very informative guides, it was a great relaxed tour that was great value for money, our guide for Hobbiton Megan was lovely, very friendly and knowledgeable. I would definitely recommend this tour. Thanks for a great day

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message