• USD ($)
  • English
Centrally-located in the Bay of Plenty and home to a deep water harbor, the port of Tauranga is a popular cruise hub with over 85 ships per year. The cruise port itself is actually located in the township of Mt. Maunganui, a laidback beach town ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 30 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

It was awesome worth every dollar. They picked me up from the cruise ship and although it was only me, an irish couple and the driver, it was great. The driver we had went out of his way to make the trip enjoyable giving us cool facts and telling us interesting stories about the places we were headed. Hobbiton was all and more that I expected, absolutely fantastic. Best opportunity, Although we saw heaps it wasn't as if we were pressed for time, we got to see everything we wanted and got to waste some times on the gift shops before arriving at the dock in time to walk around for an hour before the ship left.

Great value for money. Looking at the prices at Hobbiton and Rotorua there is definitely no way that doing it yourself would be in any way cheaper.

The timing of the tour was fantastic as well. Going to hobbiton first meant we were on the first group tour which meant we could take awesome unobstructed views of hobbiton without previous groups in the way. It gave the whole place an awesome atmosphere as it was not too hot and not crowded. Then we drove to Rotorua hotsprings, this was incredibly interesting but incredibly hot. Unfortunately no opportunity to swim but the history and information about the place more than made up for that. Seeing the geysers and getting steam from the hot springs was amazing (really did help my asthma). Be prepared though, the hot springs certainly stink. They showed us the cooking pools they use and after watching a traditional maori dance we got the chance to purchase some corn cooked in the pool. I normally hate corn, but this was delicious, perfectly sweet and moist, best corn I have ever had.

I would highly recommend this tour to anyone visiting at Tauranga, especially to those people on cruise ships. The ships offer to do one or the other for approximately the same price as Viator offers both. And don't worry about getting back in time, the drivers are more than aware of the cruise times and will get you back.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour Including Rotorua Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Everything we asked for an more. I couldn't imagine a better tour. Definately recommend as you get to do more than the other tours offer and for a lot less. They timed and planned the day really well so you get to see the most at the best times and you don't feel particularly rushed. I would go on the tour again if I had the time. It let me see everything I wanted to and the driver went out of his way to make sure we got the most out of the experience, giving us heaps of information and telling the odd joke or two, making it overall a fun tour even for a lonely traveler ( my grandmother didn't want to come, showed her the photos after and she wished she had, said is was much better than the tour she did with the cruise ship.)

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour Including Rotorua Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Tauranga was a beautiful place. Our tour person was wonderful and took us to many places of interest - especially the waterfall, kiwi farm and honey bees. We were able to take many photos and didn't feel rushed.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Small-Group Bay of Plenty and Tauranga Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Fantastic! We thoroughly enjoyed this informative and entertain tour. Everything was as described on the Viator website and following the email instructions found Graeme our drive/ guide waiting for us. We travelled in a mini-bus with about 10 other cruise passengers and the small size of the party ensured we weren't waiting for lots of people to get back to the coach. Graeme gave us lots of information en route about the country, culture, economy, and wildlife. We had a wonderful day with just the right amount of time to spend in each place. Would happily recommend this tour to cruise visitors as it 'packed' so much in to port day without feeling rushed.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Highlights

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

By far one of the best tours. Saw so much between Tauranga and Rotorua such a beautiful spot. Mauri experience was fantastic. This was one of my favourite tours

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Highlights

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The tour was terrific, the guide was knowledgable and everything went very well. I would certainly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Te Puia Maori Cultural Centre and Rotorua City Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

very professional pickup, the guide and tour content excellent

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Small-Group Bay of Plenty and Tauranga Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This trip was terrific, so spoilt to have had such a luxury vehicle, only 4 on the trip and such a terrific tour guide. Thank you so much. Have already recommended this to friends who are thinking of travelling to NZ

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour Including Rotorua Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Great tour - saw lots in a relaxed manner - Jan from Zealandier was excellent

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Highlights

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

My husband and I ended being the only people on this tour. Our guide Wendy was outstanding! She was very personable and obviously loved showing us around her area. We visited the Bee Comvita company and the Kiwi Fruit company which were both interesting. We had a lovely lunch (not included) and spent time touring the area of the Bay of Plenty. We also did a short bushwalk to a falls in a park. Most of the people on the ship headed to the Rotorua area but we had been there before. We quite enjoyed the day that we spent with Wendy!

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Small-Group Bay of Plenty and Tauranga Tour

William L
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Our guide Wendy covered everything we wanted to see and more. Having tickets and tour times organised before we arrived at Rotorua ensured we wasted no time, but we weren't rushed. Because we had time to spare Wendy gave us a tour of Tauranga, having a small group meant no time waiting for a crowd to get on and off a bus, Lunch at a favourite lunch place for Wendy was lovely. Pick up and drop off at our cruise ship was timely and convenient.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Te Puia Maori Cultural Centre and Rotorua City Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

tour guide was great , tour was great went to Te Puia Maori Cultural Centre and rotorua sight seeing seen a lot of the country,geissers and natural springs would recommend

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Te Puia Maori Cultural Centre and Rotorua City Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Everything was like we had dreamed of. The indications were accurates, As soon as we got of the cruise ship the bus and the driver were ready to go. No time lost. The bus was clean. Our driver was very nice, we could feel he was happy to have us on board. He took the time to explain to us about everything there is to know on New-Zealand. We got to see Rotorua and Hobbiton movie set on the same day, that made us very happy. At the end of our tour the driver had a nice surprise for my teenagers and even for me I have to admit. Our driver had brought real swords and costumes to dress just like the ''personnages'' of the Lord of the ring movies and that include a perfect replica (made by the same person who did the one for the movies) of the famous ring. What a fantastic day.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour Including Rotorua Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

It was great, the guide was very informative and we really enjoyed a wonderful experience.
On a different note a would like to say how professional Viator was in refunding our money for a cancelled jet boat trip from Christchurch. We arrived home to find our refund already deposited in our account. I would definitely use Viator again and would recommend them to our friends.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Te Puia Maori Cultural Centre and Rotorua City Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Great tour. Interesting and entertaining - enjoyed the Mauri history also the singing and dancing .

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Highlights

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message