Centrally-located in the Bay of Plenty and home to a deep water harbor, the port of Tauranga is a popular cruise hub with over 85 ships per year. The cruise port itself is actually located in the township of Mt. Maunganui, a laidback beach town ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 50 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Carole W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

An amazing tour from start to finish. Never watched the movies but now feel inclined to do so. The journey back from Hobitton was the icing on the cake. Great small group tour

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour

grandma2

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Beautiful scenery and views. Great stop at the kiwi farm. Our guide, Colin, wS very informative.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion Including Mount Maunganui

CliffCheryl United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Top notch. Could have spent more time at Hobbiton but it was about right. The buffet lunch was superb, albeit not really what I would expect Hobbits to eat. The guided tour was very good and the guide was very knowledgeable and share lots of interesting trivia.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour Including Rotorua Sightseeing

RunaroundSue S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Very enjoyable day. From the first moment of booking right through to the end, I knew I had made the right choice. Grant was very knowledgeable and informative and made sure we got to see as much as possible. Highlight of the day was Hobbiton

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour Including Rotorua Sightseeing

Tylana H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The tour was fantastic. Our driver was friendly and knowledgeable. The guide at Hobbiton was enthusiastic and shared lots of interesting anecdotes. Tye site itself is well maintained, beautiful and more extensive than I expected.

I enjoyed my pint at the Green Dragon pub in the lovely, quaint environment from some of my favorite movies.

Doing what: Hobbiton Shore Excursion Including Lord of the Rings and Hobbit Movies Set Tour

Gavin S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

A great tour the driver was very informative and showed us extra highlights of the area.Hobbit town is everything that you see in the movies plus more .Would highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Hobbiton Shore Excursion Including Lord of the Rings and Hobbit Movies Set Tour

Kim S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Absolutely brilliant!! This was the only tour that combined Rotorua and Hobbiton on the same day. Great for those on a cruise.
Our tour guide was fantastic. He had great local knowledge and looked after us.
The small group we were with were lovely.
Would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour Including Rotorua Sightseeing

Edward W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

It was more than we could have hoped for. It was a detailed view of Tauranga and lots of cultural and historic information in addition. The pace was perfect and the views were stunning! Could not recommend it highly enough. And Doug, as a long time resident, was a great resource.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion Including Mount Maunganui

Cathy M D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was a great tour of the Hobbiton area with a smaller group and guide with a lot of information of the site and the filming at the site.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour

Forrest R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Our tour guide Laura of the Rings was an absolute expert on the movies. Best tour that we could have expected!!

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour Including Rotorua Sightseeing

hobbit

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

What a great trip! The drive to the site was so gorgeous and the guide was great. When we arrived at the set we were joined by the tour guide for the trip through Hobbiton. He was so knowledgeable and fun . He was a perfect choice to lead us through this beautiful place. The refreshments at the Green Dragon were great too!

Doing what: Hobbiton Shore Excursion Including Lord of the Rings and Hobbit Movies Set Tour

Delphine M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The trip to the Geyser was beautiful and the Geyser was great. We thoroughly enjoyed the traditional people and their entertainment. The other journey to Hobbiton was awesome. It was so special and the guide gave us plenty of information about the movies. The day was filled with 'aww' factor.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour Including Rotorua Sightseeing

Roslynne U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The most beautiful place. Loved it, guide had excellent knowledge and very friendly personality.

Doing what: Hobbiton Shore Excursion Including Lord of the Rings and Hobbit Movies Set Tour

Shezza

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We had the absolute pleasure of joining this Shore Tour from the Port of Tauranga. Linton was our amazing guide who entertained educated and engaged us all day...not only on Hobbiton, but gave us so much local information and pointed out so many points of interest along the way!

Hobbiton itself is just truly magical! Paul took over guiding duties and totally brought the scenes to life! He was funny, informative, helpful and really knew his movie trivia! We would have loved just a little more time to enjoy at the Green Dragon the pie was delicious and surprisingly really well priced!, but we totally understand the organisation and logistics of moving so many 1000s of visitors through....so its incredibly well organised and well run!

This was a great day and worth every penny! Do yourself a favour....and if you're lucky enough to have Linton as your bus driver/guide you're in for a real treat!

PS - Linton - we saw White Island as we sailed past exactly when you said we would! Thanks so much for the tip!

Doing what: Hobbiton Shore Excursion Including Lord of the Rings and Hobbit Movies Set Tour

patrick h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great tour. More to see than I expected. Great views from look-out. Tour guide was a gem ..he knew the area backwards.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion Including Mount Maunganui

Leanne M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Colin our tour guide was absolutely brilliant and really knew Tauranga. He was most informative and spoke in a very calm and easy to listen to voice. Colin went over and above with his commentary and we learned so many things about this town and NZ in general. Thanks Colin for making this Viator tour the best we experienced in NZ.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion Including Mount Maunganui

Danielle J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Fantastic experience. Shona our guide and driver was lovely and knowledgeable, and AJ our guide at Hobbiton was great and offered lots of interesting information and stories. The set is located in amazing countryside and is a great experience for fans.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour

Roger S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Excellent trip. The journey there and back was informative from a very friendly guide. The pick up set down point was directly outsid the port and could not have been more convenient. Small group in a comfortable coach. Hobbit on itself was magical made all the more interesting by the specialist guide Sam. Souvenirs were ridiculously expensive but the trip itself was excellent value for money being less than half the price of a similar trip sold via the cruise company.

Doing what: Hobbiton Shore Excursion Including Lord of the Rings and Hobbit Movies Set Tour

Gloria S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Very beautiful trip, Maori culture center is awesome with Geyser sprouts very long time, hobbit town
is very beautiful, the driver gave a lot information and controlled the time perfectly.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour Including Rotorua Sightseeing

Shirley m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was amazing, so much better than I expected it to be. Our small group travelled with Robin and he was a very good tour guide. He explained so much for us and answered varied questions. We loved the drive to the Hobbiton farm, and just loved all we saw. Lunch was yummy as well. A highlight of our NZ trip. The little Hobbit homes were beautiful, flowers everywhere, just loved it and so many more than I thought we would see.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour

John Paul F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The Lord Of The Rings in Hobbiton was better than I expected. It was a really neat experience that I would recommend to everyone.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour Including Rotorua Sightseeing

myollies2

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Out of the 5 tours we had throughout New Zealand, I've got to say I enjoyed this one the most. The whole day was just wonderful. Thank you

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour Including Rotorua Sightseeing

zorro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour was amazing. The grounds are beautiful and very well maintained. The guide was great and informative. The tour included a fantastic lunch and a free beer as well.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message