The north west of England's diversity promises good times for every kind of traveler. Music fanatic? Northwestern cities Manchester and Liverpool boast enviable rock 'n' roll pedigrees. Untamed nature more your thing? The Yorkshire Moors and Lake ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 71 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

We made fairly good use of the York Pass because York is a small city and fairly easy to get around, however some places are, even with the assistance of locals, well hidden and very hard to find. I am not sure that we saved any money by purchasing the Pass as we didn't get around all the places that we planned. If we returned to York, we would not buy the Pass again because having purchased it, we felt we needed to make best use of it, rather than 'going with the flow' and enjoying each experience.

Doing what: The York Pass

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

Very poor, a number of the attractions were only part open either due to being broken down or something else going on at venue. So buying these tickets worked out more expensive than buying them singular for the ones we visited.

Doing what: The York Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Absolutely lovely meal, service and environment. Very good value for money and including priority seating . I could not have asked for more . I will recommend it to friends :-)

Doing what: Hard Rock Cafe Manchester

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

This tour was brilliant but I would advise getting the 2 day pass as each attraction that we went to lasted about an hour and we wished we were able to do more...when I go back I will get the two day pass and do much more. Good value for money though the york dungeons was the best attraction by far!

Doing what: The York Pass

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

First time to York and we found the tour very informative. Enjoyed the fact that you can get on and off the bus as often as you like. Would have liked the bus to go a little slower so that I could absorb the history better although I appreciate that's not so easy in the traffic.

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Thomas J
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2015

Great tour but it's cheaper to buy a ticket from the driver than to book through Viator

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

The cards are a great way to see York as then you don't have to worry about how much visiting the places that you want to will cost great value

Doing what: The York Pass

Kenneth C
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Brilliant experience. Staff extremely friendly and we were shown to a table in a prime position with good service throughout our stay.
Well recommended

Doing what: Hard Rock Cafe Manchester

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

A worthwhile way to see York as it went to all the main attractions and gave us a chance to see places of interest. We were able to use it as transport to our pre-booked York Dungeons experience. We were able to visit York Minster and the Chocolate Story.

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Importantly, the meal and service was very good. The memorabilia decorating the walls and interior spaces was certainly worthwhile viewing. In all a pleasant afternoon in downtown Manchester

Doing what: Hard Rock Cafe Manchester

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

We started our vacation in Oxford. It sure helped when we had just left the train station and found the Hop on Hop off bus awaiting as we did. The driver was very friendly and polite. We enjoyed the commentary as well as the incredible history of the town. We HIGHLY recommend taking the tour to anyone planning to visit the town of Oxford.

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

IT WAS GREAT HAVING ALL THESE TICKETS IN ADVANCE AND WAS WELL WORTH THE PACKAGE. YORK HAS SO MUCH TO OFFER. I DID AS MUCH AS I COULD IN THREE DAYS.

Doing what: The York Pass

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

a good tour with some great history and facts well worth it !

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Great way of seeing the city and getting your bearings. Very useful to be able to come back to places you want to spend more time seeing. Commentary interesting and helpful.

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We went around several times as the guides changed and there was so much information to take in. We loved the convenience of being able to get on and off as we wished.

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The Guide was very knowledgable and had a terrific sense of humor. We enjoyed learning about the historiacal siginifcance of York, and it was presented in a very entertaining and informative manner

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

We have used Hop-on Hop-off buses in several European cities as a quick way to get orientated and see sites that you probably would not have bothered with otherwise. There was a stop a short walk from our hotel and easy enough to find. A bus arrived within a minute of the displayed time. The driver was able to quickly check our vouchers then hand us our tickets and maps. The view from the top deck was fine as we were near the front sheltered from any wind. The commentary was informative but I was surprised that no earphones were offered for alternative languages. Newcastle and Gateshead have some quite steep streets so the bus trip proved its worth in taking the strain. We stayed on the bus for the whole tour and did not do the hop-off, hop-on bit as anything we wanted to view proved to be within our walking range. The tour was value for money and we were satisfied that it fulfilled our wishes.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Newcastle Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

The tour was nice and commentary in English very clear. The stop at the Royal Mile was a bit crowded. The staff we very helpful.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Newcastle Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Our first visit to York and there will certainly be more! We stayed in lovely Dean Court Hotel so central and opposite the Minster. The YorkPass proved to be invaluable, first used at the York Museum to see the reconstructed head of King Richard iii, a wonderful sight. We then used it in a variety of shops and restaurants getting discounts.

The On/Off bus was a great success, giving us a good grounding on the centre and outskirts of York with the emphasis we wanted on the history of all we saw. We enjoyed the Ghost Walk and seeing parts of York which would be hidden from the casual observer.

The choir at Evensong in the Minister was a joy to always be remembered!

It was a short visit, so there is already an itinerary being prepared for the next visit!

Doing what: The York Pass

Hev
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

Great service, music to listen too and great burgers too, would recommend a visit.

Doing what: Hard Rock Cafe Manchester

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Quite comprehensive. Recommended for the first-timer.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Newcastle Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

We really enjoyed taking this tour, saw all the major attractions and were able to situate ourselves in London, thus being able to walk to the many attractions. Also included a Thames river cruise, which was unexpected.

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Being a Geordie of 66 years obviously I am biased but I have to admit I couldn't think of a much nicer way to spend a glorious July Sunday afternoon
Have done many city tours including San Francisco London Rome and Paris and even though my beloved Toon is not of the same magnitude of those great capitals this tour is very rewarding in as much the information given on the recorded commentary is excellent and viewing everything from the top of a bus puts things into a different perspective and you realise how beautiful the city of Newcastle actually is
Special word of mention to our driver who was a lovely guy and who told us about the Victoria Tunnel from Hancocks Museum to the Ouseburn and the apparently famous Vampire Rabbits on Amen Corner
Ideal way to do a leisurely pub crawl as stops near many en route
Will definitely do again in the not too distant future

Doing what: City Sightseeing Newcastle Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message