The pointy peak of Diamond Head forms a dramatic backdrop to Waikiki on Oahu’s south coast. Diamond Head is a State Monument, and a popular lookout point on Oahu. Formed from volcanic tuff, the crater is part of a geological outcrop of cones, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 82 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

You not only get the benefit of some exercise but the view at the top is a bonus. Our guide Dave was a lovely young man who kept up an interesting commentary about Diamond Head and Hawaii in general. There were only two of us on the sunrise tour and Dave personalized the tour for us. I'd highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Diamond Head Crater Small Group Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Phenomenal Adventure! We are senior citizens and were a little concerned about the physical aspect of this hike, but we needn't have worried. Not that it doesn't give you a workout--but a fun one. The tour included a Professional guide, Use of backpack, Personalized I Climbed Diamond Head certificate with a photo of the crater suitable for framing, Entrance fee, Local taxes, Hotel pickup and drop off. We were picked up exactly where they told us to be and right on time. Our professional tour guide was so knowledgeable, sweet, patient, and helpful. I wish I could remember her name, but I do remember that she knew so much about all the plant life along our hike to the top of Diamond Head. All of our tour group that day were senior citizens, and she was very patient and understanding. We took breaks whenever needed, water was supplied as well as walking sticks to help on the uneven trails. I will warn folks that there are quite a lot of stairs to climb at one point in the hike. I think there were at least 50 or so steps to the stairs. Some folks might find that a little difficult--as I did, but I made it to the top. The tour does take longer than 2.5 hours, so plan a little extra time. We left the hotel at 9:30, and did not get back until about 1:30. I highly recommend this tour. We had a blast!

Doing what: Diamond Head Crater Small Group Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Excellent way to start the morning. I recommend the 6am tour to avoid the tourists and to get some great photos of the rising sun. The hike was easy, however it has a section with stairs that can be difficult and rocks can be slippery in some areas. David, our guide, was very friendly. We were back to the hotel by 9:30am. A nice visit to Diamond Head.

Doing what: Diamond Head Crater Small Group Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our guide was very knowledgeable about the area and took his time walking us up to Diamond Head. Good to do this early in the morning as it got hot as we came down.

Doing what: Diamond Head Crater Small Group Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We took the shuttle to Diamond Head on Friday, December 5th. Our tour guide was Tiffany and she was awesome! On the trip out to Diamond Head she explained sites along the way and gave us the history of Diamond Head once we arrived on site. She was very enthusiastic, interesting and made us feel very comfortable. She informed us of the rules regarding our climb and the route/routes to take and gave us encouragement as we began the climb. She told us where to purchase water and refreshments after we finished the climb and where to meet her. After the climb she gathered us together and presented certificates to each of us. She made each of us feel special and to us it felt like a ceremony of achievement! We were very happy with the tour and especially with Tiffany and her knowledge of Diamond Head. We also noticed her respect for the islands of Hawaii and the Hawaiian culture. We were very pleased with this tour and we will recommend to our friends! Thank you for the wonderful adventure! Dan and Kathy Scheer

Doing what: Diamond Head Crater Small Group Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was great. The guide was VERY knowledge. He would tell everyone to watch out for this crack in the pavement or the shrubbery and if there was any litter along the way, he picked it up. When we got to the top of Diamond Head, he took photos for everyone. A very nice and caring man with a lot of knowledge to share.

Doing what: Diamond Head Crater Small Group Adventure

Lachlan T
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fantastic tour, did the early 6am start to avoid the heat, Justin our guide was extremely well informed about Diamond Head and Hawaii in general. Well worth doing, highly recommended.

Doing what: Diamond Head Crater Small Group Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

If you are not in shape, good luck getting up Diamond Head!! I made it up to the top by the grace of God!!! It was well worth it though when I reached the top. What a view! The tour guide was fantastic and very interesting. I would recommend this tour, but, suggest you do it during the morning hours.

Doing what: Diamond Head Crater Small Group Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our tour guide was Bethany, she was the best. She knows a lot about the Honolulu, Waikiki, and Diamond Head.

Doing what: Diamond Head Crater Small Group Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great Tour. Our tour guide, Mike, was fun and energetic. Well worth 3 hours of your day! The views from diamond head are amazing.

Doing what: Diamond Head Crater Small Group Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

One of the many highlights of our trip. So many beautiful and different landscapes in one trip. Possibly the most efficient way to see the south side of Oahu in a short half-day trip. From Diamond Head to Hanauma Bay, to the countryside and Pali Lookout, we even got in some added bonus like Coconut Island where they filmed Gilligan's Island and several other iconic Hollywood filming locations. There were plenty of stops and photo ops along the way, and just the drive itself is amazing. I would highly recommend this tour for people of all ages.

The tour itself is a must, but the company was fantastic, especially our guide, Cousin Dwight. The bus was practically new and very clean and comfortable. It had a bathroom and strong air conditioning. Our tour guide, Cousin Dwight is one of the most enthusiastic and passionate people I have ever met and he made our tour that much greater. He is hospitable and entertaining and has so much intricate knowledge of the island and culture. As a great added bonus, Cousin Dwight took us past the Hospital where President Obama was born, his grandmother's apartment, and even the local Baskin Robins where he worked as a kid scooping ice cream. I took so many beautiful photos on this trip and took home even more knowledge. Mahalo Cousin, and thanks for treating us all like Ohana!!!!

Doing what: Diamond Head & Oahu Coast Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Loved the hike on Diamond Head. Our tour guide, Damar, was wonderful. Very informative and made the hike fun! The views are definitely worth the hike!

Doing what: Diamond Head Crater Small Group Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was excellent and enjoyed by the entire family. Our tour guide was friendly and knowledgeable about not only Diamond Head, the the Hawaiian Islands as a whole.

Doing what: Diamond Head Crater Small Group Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Ronna was the best! We would take another tour with her in a heartbeat. The Diamond Head Crater is a must-see on the island. We enjoyed the day thoroughly!

Doing what: Diamond Head Crater Small Group Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Excellent tour and tour guide, who was very knowledgeable of Diamond Heads

Doing what: Diamond Head Crater Small Group Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

I forget my tour guides name. She picked us up within 10 minutes of the time set at the designated pickup, about 6:30am. The morning was overcast. We drove to Diamond Head and she offered everyone water and a back pack if we wanted one. She asked questions about our ability to climb and told everyone there was no hurry. We started up the switchbacks. Stopped in numerous locations to take pictures. Continued on to the "endless" stairs and arrived at the top. During our hike she gave us some history on Diamond Head. We were back at our hotel by 9:30 am. I would highly recommend this, if you wanted to hike Diamond Head but didn't have a car. It was really nice and we still had the whole day to do something else. Also, the morning is much cooler.

Doing what: Diamond Head Crater Small Group Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We climbed Diamond Head on our first full day on Oahu. What a great way to wake up and get ready for the rest of our time here. Our driver/guide, Stephanie, provided so much background detail about Hawaii and Diamond Head ... like history, botany, ornithology, and travel book all rolled into one! The steps are a little much, so you'd better be in shape to do the climb, but the views from the top were definitely worth it!

Doing what: Diamond Head Crater Small Group Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We took the 9:30 tour at the beginning of March. Weather was excellent and the clear sky allowed us to contemplate the scenic views from the peak. Panorama is well worth the effort to hike up the Diamond Head. The guide was very informative and friendly, ensuring that the group can make it safe and comfortable. We recommend the tour.

You will never be disappointed with Viator. Thanks again, Viator!

Doing what: Diamond Head Crater Small Group Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Again I was the only one booked but they provided me with another guide and did not cancel on me. I didn't write this guys name down but he took great care of me. I got to go all the way around the back side of Diamond Head and see parts of Honolulu that I would never have seen otherwise. Again this tour is not to be missed.

Doing what: Waikiki and Diamond Head Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This tour to the to top of Diamond Head was awesome. A nice little hike being done by young and old. We saw no one give up a few paused to rest. Once at the top the views were spectacular. We did this at 9AM. It may be a little more challenging in the heat of the day.

Doing what: Diamond Head Crater Small Group Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

One of the best tours we did on Oahu. Originally, we had scheduled the 9:30am tour, but then switched to the 6:30am tour. Glad we did, because it starts to get much warmer after the sun actually rises. Tour guide was very knowledgeable and personable. The view from the top of Diamond Head is spectacular and makes the climb more than worthwhile. The climb was a good morning workout for an in shape, athletic 60+ couple. Guide took appropriate breaks to let people catch their breath while giving us much background information about the area and how DH was formed. Unless you have some mobility issues, climbing DH is a must do and worth doing with a knowledgeable guide.

Doing what: Diamond Head Crater Small Group Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was an amazing tour to Diamond Head Crater. The guide shared his wealth of local knowledge with the group creating a memorable experience. I would highly recommend this Adventure as a must do.

Doing what: Diamond Head Crater Small Group Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Our guide Chris, from Nature Trails, was very informative and funny. The walk is pretty easy, especially if you do the early (sunrise) walk before it gets too hot.
The views of Waikiki from the top of Diamond Head are stunning, plus Chris was always available to take pictures of couples
Highly Recommended

Doing what: Diamond Head Crater Small Group Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Really enjoyed this tour. It was only short, but the view from Diamond Head over Waikiki is well worth the effort. Lots of stairs to climb! Highly recommend!

Doing what: Diamond Head Crater Small Group Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

This was a very illuminating tour on the natural history of the Hawaiian islands and Diamond Head. Our guide Mike was very knowledgeable and friendly. The hike itself was easy and we were rewarded with a spectacular view. The only downside is that with earlier sunrise, the 0600 start meant we were too late to view it. However, you still beat the crowds at that time. Unfortunately, we had 2 people no show but caused all of us to be late as Mike had to go and make sure they really were not coming before we made a move to Diamond Head. I would still recommend this tour as numbers are small, it was super informative and good vibes.

Doing what: Diamond Head Crater Small Group Adventure

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message