Oahu ATTRACTIONS See all

Dole Plantation

For a fun day out in the Hawaiian countryside, discover Oahu’s pineapple heritage at the Dole Plantation. What started out as a fruit stand in the middle of the pineapple fields in 1950 is now an extremely popular Hawaiian attraction. The Dole ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 67 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Very informative, very good overall. We did manage to get a flat tire, slight delay while another bus arrived. Only observation that should be addressed, our visit to the Dole plantation was excellent but no time to enjoy the various events available. the train ride was not an option as we were not there long enough to take it, as was the Maze. What good is a visit if you cannot participate in the amenities?

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very nice trour. Our driver Ken was very informative. Too little time at the Dole Plantation, could not see anything but the gift shop. The Cultural Center was beautiful, The trip back was very educational, learned a lot about Hawaii I never knew. Worth the money!

Doing what: Small-Group Polynesian Cultural Center, Dole Plantation and North Shore Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The tour guide really made this trip. The sights were amazing. The Dole plantation was very gimmicky. The ranch where we stopped for lunch was great. I recognised some Jurassic park scenes!!!

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

To be honest I did not enjoy this as much as I was expecting Full-day Oahu Grand Circle Island tour
120-mile (193-kilometer) trip around the island
Admission to the Dole Plantation browse the country store umm what gardens no time for a look the only thing we go to see here was the people trying sell stuff to us very pushy maze closed
Amelia Earheart Lookout can't remember this must of had a micro nap , Halona Blowhole non event really had 10 mins , Nu'uanu Pali Lookout yes there are list of chickens and a great view and world-famous North Shore surfing beaches stopped at sunset beach not impressed more people peddling goods to buy whizzed past waiimea bay this would have been a better stop than sunset beach oh look there are people jumping off the big rock oh we have passed it now
Admission to the Byodo-In Temple now this was an interesting place and could have stayed here longer chinamans hat interesting koulua I think that's how it's spelt trip up in trolley uninteresting some of the local history on the cattle ranch did not see any cattle though and lunch was a bit of a fight as there were so many bus loads there by the time we were served and ate it was time to get back on the packed bus

Commentary from your professional driver/guide on Grand Circle tour this was ok from Leo C oh well better luck next time I suppose you can't please everyone it might have pleased the other 50 people on the bus long day 8.45-5-45
Pickup and drop off from selected central Waikiki hotels it was a long day 10 hours

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2014

This was the most disappointing tour I've ever booked through with Viator. Previous tours we've been on were insightful, unrushed and definitely worth every dollar. But this tour has got to be the worst value for money tour.

Although you do get to go to the major sites, we were only given 10-15 minutes per location which is only enough time to fight through the crowds to get a glimpse of the landmark and take a few photos before time was up. Absolutely no time to experience the beauty of Oahu's natural landscape. The biggest thing that annoyed us was the time allocated to each stop where tours of the ranch and stops at the Dole Plantation store and Macadamia farm took priority over the natural landmarks. Time was wasted at these stops and we didn't book this tour to shop, but to immerse ourselves in the natural beauty of Oahu. Over an hour was spent at these pointless sites, which could have been dedicated to allowing us to snorkel or take up some extra activities.

This tour is an absolute waste of time and money and I strongly recommend renting a car and visiting the sites on your own. It'll probably work out to be so much cheaper and at least you can go at your own pace.

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

We didn't get much time at the Dole Plantation. I had wanted to go through the maze and ride the train, but we got there and were given 20 minutes to explore. I went in and got a Dole Whip (pineapple ice cream) and had time to walk out front to take a picture of a growing pineapple, but didn't get to see much. The tour of the North Shore was a bit disappointing too. Just mostly looked out the window while being told what things were. We did get out at two beaches for about 5-10 minutes each. However, we spent most of our time at the Polynesian Cultural Center which was very pleasant. We had time to catch three shows and shop after a great buffet lunch. If you want to be on a tour bus most of the day, then this is your tour. If you want to get out, walk the beaches for awhile, taste food from the shrimp trucks and such, rent a car.

Doing what: Small-Group Polynesian Cultural Center, Dole Plantation and North Shore Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Lots to see and do on this trip! Enjoyed the Dole Plantation!

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

It was a very enjoyable tour. The driver was excellent; the information he provided was both informative and humorous and the bus was quite comfortable. Our only disappointment was the Dole Plantation. It would seem that either the train ride or the plantation tour should be included in the price of the whole tour. We got the impression that the only reason we were dropped at the Dole Plantation was to spend money in the store!

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Very pleased with this tour. We saw much of Oahu, which was beautiful, the tour guide was enthuastic, and entertaining. We could have done without the visit to the Dole plantation, which offered basically nothing except an opportunity to purchase overpriced pineapple ice cream and sorbet.

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed trip, wonderful scenery, would have liked a bit extra time at Dole Plantation to do train trip. But overall a good trip, wonderful bus driver, with plenty of commentating.

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2014

The tour was OK. However the Driver decided to throw in a stop to the 'Macadamia Nut' factory so we could be 'marketed' to buy something. This was unnecessary and a waste of time. Also, the Dole Plantation has been sneakily advertised as a 'Plantation' however it is NOT!. Its a huge tourist shop. The tour used to also give us access to the train that went around the 'cacao' plants within the 'Dole Plantation' area however this was not done.

Also, the Driver was late as he told us he had to go to 18 hotels to pick other people up. Just a suggestion to perhaps get everyone to meet at a general point and the bus to get there on time. Whoever is not there by the agreed time, well then that's there loss.

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

GREAT TOUR OF OAHU AND THE DOLE PLANTATION IS HUGE ! GOOD VALUE !

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Great tour. Loved Dole Plantation, especially the pineapple ice-cream. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

Teresa D
Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Was a good overall tour of some of the highlights of the island of Oahu. The stop at the Dole plantation was disappointing however, as all there is to do there is buy merchandise and pineapple-based treats, and perhaps a short walk through the small gardens. I had thought that there would have been some sort of guided tour...
The other stops we're interesting though.

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2014

Good tour. We had bad luck at the start of tour. Bus broke down. Had to wait about an hour for a replacement bus.This put us behind on places to see.Did not spend as much time at places.Stoped at Dole Plantation. Only had time to go through store.No time for plantation tour. Was disapointed!!

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message