Oahu ATTRACTIONS See all

Dole Plantation

For a fun day out in the Hawaiian countryside, discover Oahu’s pineapple heritage at the Dole Plantation. What started out as a fruit stand in the middle of the pineapple fields in 1950 is now an extremely popular Hawaiian attraction. The Dole ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 124 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

bfoster

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Cousin Kevin was a blast! He made the trip a lot of fun. Great tour, as we experienced a lot of items in one day. We could not have done as much on our own. Only bad thing I can think of was that we did not have enough time at the Dole Plantation. More time needs to be allotted for there. Overall, a great tour that I would recommend to all.

Doing what: Small-Group Oahu Highlights Tour from Waikiki

Constance W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a wonderful trip. Our guide Lisa was very friendly and knowledgeable. Stops included a Japenese Temple, Waimea Falls, North Shore Beaches, a Coral Beach and a blow hole. The tour is a gastronomic delight too as there are stops at a Macademia Nut Farm, lunch at a Shrimp Farm and a stop at the Dole plantation for pineapple ice cream and fresh pineapple. Excellent day out which lasts eight hours.

Doing what: Oahu Coach Tour Including Dole Plantation and Waimea Falls

Cynthia B USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

Felt rushed on this tour. Would have liked to have spent more than half an hour at the Dole Plantation so we could have seen more than the gift shop. The tour was informative, but felt more like a shopping tour, not what I expected.

Doing what: Small-Group Polynesian Cultural Center and North Shore Day Trip

Michael F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We were visiting the Hawaiian islands for 2 weeks and went on several excursions. We arrived a day early and went on this tour. It was one of the best tours we took the whole trip. Our guide was Garfield, and I hope he's your guide too if you take this tour. He was informative, amusing, and knowledgeable. The only concern I have is that I was told when we scheduled the trip that we would be at the Dole Plantation for 90 minutes. It ended up being 40, with 30 of it being spent in line for Dole whip. So we didn't see much of the Dole Plantation.

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

Terri T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We had a very enjoyable day. Christine was our guide and although she was not native to the island, we learned a lot from her. There were lots of others also going to the Dole Plantation and the Cultural Center that day... So her tips on where to meet and which lines to stand in made it easy to avoid the rush and enjoy the whole experience.

Doing what: Small-Group Polynesian Cultural Center and North Shore Day Trip

Rhonda W USA

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

It started out fine, the bus driver was friendly. But as the tour went on it was clearly a tourist type of trap deal, the Dole Plantation was a real disappointment-just a place to spend money.

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

francis d

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

It started out pretty good but then just kind of died. very disappointed in the dole plantation. I thought we
would get more info on how it is raised harvested etc. all it turned out to be was a gift shop.

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

Lesley M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2016

We enjoyed the island tour of Oahu. The driver Cody was very informative and friendly. The cons were we did not get to stop at the North Shore and had limited time at the Dole Plantation after an unscheduled stop at a macadamia nut outlet. Other than the narration, I would recommend renting a car and driving the island on your own. No sense taking this tour more than once.

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

Helga C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Our guide told us that 500,000 people visit this landmark every year. With good reason: the site is movingly and tastefully done. We followed this with a circle Oahu tour, which was great, even though it rained torrentially for the rest of the day. Don't miss our guide, Cousin Kev: he was funny, flexible, and prepared for the weather, in all quite possibly the best tour guide I have ever traveled with. Even the touristy stops were fun, the waves on the North Shore were frighteningly huge, and you could get a feel for what the island was like in the days of the sugar and pineapple plantations. Be warned, it is a very looong day!

Doing what: Small-Group Oahu Highlights Tour from Waikiki

JOHN D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The North Shore was my favorite stop - always wanted to see those big waves - but alas they weren't that big the day we actually took the tour - loved the Dole Plantation - alas didn't see any samples of the pineapple - but the ice cream was to die for! The lunch at the Ranch was a bit of a let down - sounded fantastic but wasn't all that. the tour guide was phenomenal and very informative.

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

Virginia A

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

This tour was least meaningful to us among the tours we took. Seeing the punchbowl cemetery and a beautiful Buddhist temple were nice, but the Dole Plantation was uninteresting. We felt like the day was largely wasted by the length of the tour, which took 7 or 8 hours.

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

Rodney C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

A must do. The whole day tour was great. Dole was very cool. The macadamian plantation was nice, since I love macadamians

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

Phil

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Had an awesome day. Our guide was the best. Very informative and fun. Pineapple sorbet was the bomb at the Dole Plantation.

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

William H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great to have only 12 on our tour. Bus is uncomfy in the backseat...avoid...needs new shocks! Also the only other complaints...not enough time at the Dole Plantation. Would love to have had time to ride the Pineapple Express train on the property. Our guide was FANTASTIC...I tipped him 20...he was that good! Polynesian Cultural Center has improved over the 38 years that I've been visiting Oahu. Do see it...lunch buffet was GREAT...so many times they are not. IMAX movie at PCC was terrific with atmospheric effects with seats that move...wind in your face, etc. There was a snafu on the reservations. The local tour operator hadn't receive my reservation info...even though I had my confirmation number. Took nearly one hour by phone to get it straightened out...but VIATOR was fantastic and most proficient in getting it resolved. I would still highly recommend this tour. It is long but very, very fast. Pearl Harbor was fantastic and very moving.

Doing what: Small-Group Oahu Highlights Tour from Waikiki

Dianne S

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

This tour is a good way to experience the Oahu outside of Honolulu. Our guide was excellent - gave us a lot of background in an entertaining way. We had plenty of time to take photos. The stop at the Dole Plantation is nothing more than a 45 minute shopping stop. The timing of the visit and the amount of time spent there meant that we could not do much more. We also stopped at a ranch for lunch - the food was very nice, but it wasn't mentioned on the itinerary for the tour I booked.

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

Lucy

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Not enough time at dole plantation, Polynesian cultural village is worthy to visit, love the Byodo-in temple and the Pali look out.

Doing what: Small-Group Oahu Highlights Tour from Waikiki

jeff

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great full day tour of the sites in Oahu, our tour guide did an excellent job point out the various sights as well as providing us plenty of history of the Island. She navigated us well through the crowds at the Pearl Harbor memorial. Overall it was a great experience. Being on a small bus rather than a big tour bus was a big plus that led to a much more personal experience.

My only real complaint is that I felt that the Dole Plantation and the Macadamia nut farm stops were a bit of a tourist trap. Fortunately we did not spend long at these locations.

Doing what: Small-Group Oahu Highlights Tour from Waikiki

Natasha C

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Great way to see the island if you don't have a car- not really clear what you have to pay for at the dole plantation

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

Janet L

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

Was disappointed that we did not actually stop at Diamond Head as listed in highlights only got roadside view. Dole plantation stop did not provide enough time to do train ride only to shop and grab a snack. Otherwise it was an enjoyable day. Tour guide was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

Queenie Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We had the best time on this tour. Our guide gave us so much history I did not know. He was funny too. The stops were really interesting. I think the only one I wasn't thrilled with was the Dole Plantation, which was basically a giant gift shop. Everything else held my interest the whole time. As a photographer I got some awesome photo's. I wish we had had more time at the Polynesian Village. The two shows he took us to were great and I would have liked to see more of the cultures. It was fascinating. The food was delicious. If you have to pick a tour, this is the one for sure. It covers so much in the space of 12 hours. I learned a lot about the Hawaiian culture and have so much respect for them. I would go on this tour again if I took another relative to Hawaii.

Doing what: Small-Group Oahu Highlights Tour from Waikiki

Allen A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Loved seeing all the sights in Oahu. Our bus driver was incredibly entertaining and made the trip exciting and informative. The only negative I can think of is the Dole Plantation. It's basically a gift shop with various pineapple treats. Tasty, but not as interesting as I expected.

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

Jimmy D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Could have spent more time at Dole Pineapple Plantation

Doing what: Small-Group Polynesian Cultural Center and North Shore Day Trip

Wendy Anne F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We enjoyed the Oahu full day tour. Very informative information provided by the driver and we made some great stops along the way. We really enjoyed the Buddhist temple - a very peaceful place. We also really enjoyed the pineapple ice-cream at Dole Plantation.

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

Allison

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

This was a nice way to see the island and it's changing landscape. Our tour guide was really great. He was funny and welcoming. He regaled our group with lots of information regarding the rich history and culture of the island. He provided us with maps so that we could follow along on our journey. I did this tour with my 17 year old daughter - she found it to be quite enjoyable - she was most pleased with the stop at the Dole Plantation.

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

TERI L R

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

WE REALLY ENJOYED OUR TOUR, THE DOLE PLANTATION TOUR WAS CUT SHORT BECAUSE OF TRAFFIC ISSUES, NOTHING CAUSED BY COUSIN BEN !

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message