Oahu ATTRACTIONS See all

Dole Plantation

For a fun day out in the Hawaiian countryside, discover Oahu’s pineapple heritage at the Dole Plantation. What started out as a fruit stand in the middle of the pineapple fields in 1950 is now an extremely popular Hawaiian attraction. The Dole ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 115 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Helga C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Our guide told us that 500,000 people visit this landmark every year. With good reason: the site is movingly and tastefully done. We followed this with a circle Oahu tour, which was great, even though it rained torrentially for the rest of the day. Don't miss our guide, Cousin Kev: he was funny, flexible, and prepared for the weather, in all quite possibly the best tour guide I have ever traveled with. Even the touristy stops were fun, the waves on the North Shore were frighteningly huge, and you could get a feel for what the island was like in the days of the sugar and pineapple plantations. Be warned, it is a very looong day!

Doing what: Small-Group Oahu Highlights Tour from Waikiki

Virginia A

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

This tour was least meaningful to us among the tours we took. Seeing the punchbowl cemetery and a beautiful Buddhist temple were nice, but the Dole Plantation was uninteresting. We felt like the day was largely wasted by the length of the tour, which took 7 or 8 hours.

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

Rodney C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

A must do. The whole day tour was great. Dole was very cool. The macadamian plantation was nice, since I love macadamians

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

Phil

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Had an awesome day. Our guide was the best. Very informative and fun. Pineapple sorbet was the bomb at the Dole Plantation.

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

William H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great to have only 12 on our tour. Bus is uncomfy in the backseat...avoid...needs new shocks! Also the only other complaints...not enough time at the Dole Plantation. Would love to have had time to ride the Pineapple Express train on the property. Our guide was FANTASTIC...I tipped him 20...he was that good! Polynesian Cultural Center has improved over the 38 years that I've been visiting Oahu. Do see it...lunch buffet was GREAT...so many times they are not. IMAX movie at PCC was terrific with atmospheric effects with seats that move...wind in your face, etc. There was a snafu on the reservations. The local tour operator hadn't receive my reservation info...even though I had my confirmation number. Took nearly one hour by phone to get it straightened out...but VIATOR was fantastic and most proficient in getting it resolved. I would still highly recommend this tour. It is long but very, very fast. Pearl Harbor was fantastic and very moving.

Doing what: Small-Group Oahu Highlights Tour from Waikiki

Dianne S

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

This tour is a good way to experience the Oahu outside of Honolulu. Our guide was excellent - gave us a lot of background in an entertaining way. We had plenty of time to take photos. The stop at the Dole Plantation is nothing more than a 45 minute shopping stop. The timing of the visit and the amount of time spent there meant that we could not do much more. We also stopped at a ranch for lunch - the food was very nice, but it wasn't mentioned on the itinerary for the tour I booked.

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

Lucy

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Not enough time at dole plantation, Polynesian cultural village is worthy to visit, love the Byodo-in temple and the Pali look out.

Doing what: Small-Group Oahu Highlights Tour from Waikiki

jeff

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great full day tour of the sites in Oahu, our tour guide did an excellent job point out the various sights as well as providing us plenty of history of the Island. She navigated us well through the crowds at the Pearl Harbor memorial. Overall it was a great experience. Being on a small bus rather than a big tour bus was a big plus that led to a much more personal experience.

My only real complaint is that I felt that the Dole Plantation and the Macadamia nut farm stops were a bit of a tourist trap. Fortunately we did not spend long at these locations.

Doing what: Small-Group Oahu Highlights Tour from Waikiki

Natasha C

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Great way to see the island if you don't have a car- not really clear what you have to pay for at the dole plantation

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

Janet L

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

Was disappointed that we did not actually stop at Diamond Head as listed in highlights only got roadside view. Dole plantation stop did not provide enough time to do train ride only to shop and grab a snack. Otherwise it was an enjoyable day. Tour guide was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

Queenie Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We had the best time on this tour. Our guide gave us so much history I did not know. He was funny too. The stops were really interesting. I think the only one I wasn't thrilled with was the Dole Plantation, which was basically a giant gift shop. Everything else held my interest the whole time. As a photographer I got some awesome photo's. I wish we had had more time at the Polynesian Village. The two shows he took us to were great and I would have liked to see more of the cultures. It was fascinating. The food was delicious. If you have to pick a tour, this is the one for sure. It covers so much in the space of 12 hours. I learned a lot about the Hawaiian culture and have so much respect for them. I would go on this tour again if I took another relative to Hawaii.

Doing what: Small-Group Oahu Highlights Tour from Waikiki

Allen A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Loved seeing all the sights in Oahu. Our bus driver was incredibly entertaining and made the trip exciting and informative. The only negative I can think of is the Dole Plantation. It's basically a gift shop with various pineapple treats. Tasty, but not as interesting as I expected.

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

Jimmy D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Could have spent more time at Dole Pineapple Plantation

Doing what: Small-Group Polynesian Cultural Center, Dole Plantation and North Shore Day Trip

Wendy Anne F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We enjoyed the Oahu full day tour. Very informative information provided by the driver and we made some great stops along the way. We really enjoyed the Buddhist temple - a very peaceful place. We also really enjoyed the pineapple ice-cream at Dole Plantation.

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

Allison

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

This was a nice way to see the island and it's changing landscape. Our tour guide was really great. He was funny and welcoming. He regaled our group with lots of information regarding the rich history and culture of the island. He provided us with maps so that we could follow along on our journey. I did this tour with my 17 year old daughter - she found it to be quite enjoyable - she was most pleased with the stop at the Dole Plantation.

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

TERI L R

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

WE REALLY ENJOYED OUR TOUR, THE DOLE PLANTATION TOUR WAS CUT SHORT BECAUSE OF TRAFFIC ISSUES, NOTHING CAUSED BY COUSIN BEN !

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

Irene M

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The tour is exactly that, a highlights tour, which has its pluses and minuses. The pluses are that you are able to see a lot of different sites, including 3hrs at the Arizona memorial and the Polynesian cultural center. By the end, we were exhausted. The minuses are that because it's a lot to squeeze in one trip, we couldn't spend much time at the Dole plantation 15min, Buddest Temple 15min, kona coffee and macademia tasting 15min, which I suppose shouldn't have exptected, but wasn't anticipating only a quick stop... This is still a great way to see a lot of different sites in Oahu if you only have one day, but if you have time and want to explore at each, I would try to break up these activities over multiple days. Although it made for a long day, it was still a very nice highlight of Oahu...

Doing what: Small-Group Oahu Highlights Tour from Waikiki

Charlene B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2015

Even though our tour guide was very good wer were extremely disappointed with the tour as a whole. I had been on Oahu last year and we had visted Pear Harbor and the Dole Pineapple Plantation a tour. There were 3 of us this year and 1 had never been to Hawaii at all. The USS Arizona Memorial is of course spectacular and very moving and the movie shown is excellent as well. However we did not get to go to the USS Missouri at all which is also spectacular to see. Then when we got to the Dole Pineapple Plantation we only had about 30 to 40 minutes there. We only had time to get some Dole Whip which is great and look around the shop for a few minutes and use the restrooms. We did not have time to take the train ride to see the fields and learn about the plantation nor did we have time to walk around the beautiful gardens. We were terribly disappointed and surprised. We had lunch at the Polynesian Cultural Center which was okay at best, but nothing special. Then we saw a few shows about some of the different cultures that were okay for what they were. Seeing the island and the gorgeous beaches and scenery was great, but we could see that on our own. There was so much more to experience at Pearl Harbor that we did not have time to do. So 2 of the major things we were looking so forward to seeing, the USS Missouri and the Dole Pineapple Plantation, we did not get to see at all or just a few minutes at Dole. Instead we spent WAY too much time at a glorified theme park. Pearl Harbor alone deserves so many more than 5 stars on its own, but the tour as a whole was very disappointing.

Doing what: Small-Group Oahu Highlights Tour from Waikiki

Josephine D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very good tour. Bus driver was friendly and knew the history very well. Great snapshot of the island, and the Dole Plantation is well worth the visit. The pineapple icecream is sooo tasty. Gives you a good idea on the places that you want to re visit, or a brief overview if short of time.

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

Victoria C

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The tour was great! We were picked up on time the only issue was that I had to specifically call the company in advance to get the meeting address. The driver-guide Leo was perfect with a lot of interesting stores to tell.
I was a bit disappointed by Dole plantation though. It would be worth it to stop at one of the North Shore beaches instead.

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

Lonni H

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Mike our driver and guide was very funny....but the island is really big and it was quite long. Highlights were the Byodo Temple. Dole Plantation was really a tourist trap! The Macadamia Nut Farm was interesting....touristy!

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

Matt C

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Was good to get a flavour of the island. Enjoyed most of the tour, especially the stops along the east coast. Knocking a star off because the longest stop was 45 minutes at the dole plantation which is basically a pineapple themed gift shop.

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

yolreg

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

A lot of time was spent on the bus but then a lot of territory was covered. It would have been nice to stop at Waimea Bay fro a photograph and not at the Macadamia Plantation or at least less time spent at the souvenir stops to allows for this.
Peter, our tour guide was friendly and extremely obliging in every way. He was very informative and I learnt a lot about the history of the island both from a factual and personal view.
My only complaint would be the lunch stop at Kualoa Ranch. Even though we were there for an hour some people had to wait 45 minutes for their lunches due to the disorganisation of the cooking facilities/restaurant. I waited 25 minutes for a hamburger then had to finish it walking to the bus. This made us late for the rest of the tour.

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

Bryan C

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

Great driver that took us to some special sights around the island. With his colourful narration and humor he made the entire tour unenjoyable. The sightseeing we did was amazing and I got some amazing photos to show my friends of places I had visited.

My biggest gripe would be that the whole tour felt like a bus to spending more money. Without the inclusions, it meant that I had to pay for lunch at the ranch. Moreover, the tour takes you on a visit to a store that sells jewellery and macadamia nuts -- where the tour guide simply tells you that the coffee is free. It felt like the tour guide was surely shoehorning us into spending money at these attractions.

The dole plantation was a great visit, but likewise to be able to do anything notable there you would need to spend money. The tour needs to either be restructured, or simply have some added inclusions to it.

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

beverly B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

Trip was to long. Some stops could be shorter such as ranch and horrible lunch. Really would have liked more time at dole plantation. Would not do it again!

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message