• USD ($)
  • English
Circular Hanauma Bay is a particularly attractive, sheltered inlet of turquoise water, carved from a submerged volcanic crater east of Diamond Head. The sandy beach park is popular with families, with its calm waters, lifeguards, and gentle ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 51 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

With this being our first trip to Hawaii, everything we did was awesome. But the snorkeling tour at Hanauma Bay was one of the highlights. It was well worth the money and we even got to see three whales inside the bay. All the different types and colours of fish that we saw incredible. The scenery of the area itself was amazing. We could have spent the whole day there. We would definitely go back in a heart beat. Put this tour on your "MUST DO" list. Ian and Rosemary, Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada.

Doing what: Hanauma Bay Snorkeling Adventure Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Great tour! Easy pick up at hotel, drop off at the bay, and pick up to go back. Driver showed some landmarks and helpful tips along the way to the bay. Hanauma Bay was beautiful! Lots of fish to see without having to go out too far or you can venture out past the large part of the reed. Snorkel gear was good. We went on a Saturday and it wasn't ridiculously crowded like I thought it might be. Price is right too. I took off one star because it wasn't made obvious that you need to CALL the place after you book to find out your actual pick up location. It says it on the voucher once you purchase, but I didn't look at the voucher until the night before. I emailed the tour and was worried they wouldn't see my email in time for the tour, but they got back to me very early in the morning before they opened and told me where I had to be. So I appreciated them checking their email so early! Also the voucher notes that the entrance fee is another $7.50 on top of the tour fee. That was fine with me but it's worth knowing before you get there.

Doing what: Hanauma Bay Snorkeling Adventure Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Snorkeling in Hanauma Bay was AMAZING! We were out of the pick-up range for this tour, so we drove ourselves. This was a little confusing and added some extra time walking. I would encourage being picked up by the tour if at all possible.

Doing what: Hanauma Bay Snorkeling Adventure Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Hanauma Bay Snorkeling was a beautiful event, except the tide was low which prohibitted us from going further out. Other than that, we could have stayed all day instead of a half day.

Doing what: Hanauma Bay Snorkeling Adventure Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Transportation to Hanauma Bay was well organized. The staff was friendly and informative.

Doing what: Hanauma Bay Snorkeling Adventure Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Some people may not like to snorkel when it's crowded with many tourists, but we like that part as it tells us that the place is a good spot to go. I've never seen clearly underwater and so many different kinds of fish either, but I did at Hanauma Bay. I felt like a kid swimming with the fishes.

Doing what: Hanauma Bay Snorkeling Adventure Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

It was a fantastic place to snorkel and swim, the beach and all the facilities were very clean. The transport and people that took us there were very friendly. The short movie clip helped us know a bit more about your effort to conserve the bay and its sea life. I saw a lot of big fish in the water. The food shop was handy as well. You definitely ensured that the tourists were well catered for. Well done. If we ever come back, Hanauma Bay will be the place that we will visit again. Mahalo for the lovely trip. Malele Family

Doing what: Hanauma Bay Snorkeling Adventure Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

This was a very good half day snorkelling trip. The bus picked up on time from our hotel and took us to their office for snorkel gear and flippers. We were straight away taken to Hanauma Bay and after a short 10 video we were snorkelling. Unfortunately my snorkel mask leaked but so I hired a replacement one at Hanuama Bay. The snorkel company were apologetic and gave a refund. Hanauma Bay is fantastic for snorkelling and like looking in a fish tank. The water was warm and clear and had sandy and coral pitches. We saw many varieties of fish from about 30-40 metres out but sadly no turtles. A must do trip in Oahu.

Doing what: Hanauma Bay Snorkeling Adventure Half-Day Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

We had to go with our car because il was too much time from the hotel go and back to hanauma Bay; but it was wonderful

Doing what: Hanauma Bay Snorkeling Adventure Half-Day Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2014

My family and I loved Hanauma Bay, but were upset because we only spent an hour in the water. The other 2-3 hours were spent in line for tickets and the 10 minute presentation. I suggest providing longer tours to accommodate time spent in line.

Doing what: Hanauma Bay Snorkeling Adventure Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

Great snorkelling, saw lots of fish, lots of variety. Good, informative guides to and from Hanauma Bay.

Doing what: Hanauma Bay Snorkeling Adventure Half-Day Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

Well organised trip , we took our own kit but equipment pick up well organised. Hanauma bay looks lovely from the cliff sadly in the water it's a different matter? Very little coral is left it has been destroyed by being over visited and I cannot see it ever recovering unless they close the bay and even then it would take decades .
Even after watching a video telling you not to stand on the reef we saw many people doing that - it doesn't help when people are allowed in at low water as there are sections where the reef is only just below the water line? Quite a few fish but apart from some sea cucumbers very little else - a noticeable lack of urchins etc.
A positive benefit may be that by letting this bay take so many visitors it may protect other sites from damage!

Doing what: Hanauma Bay Snorkeling Adventure Half-Day Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2013

Hanauma Bay is incredibly beautiful, however the snorkeling is not that great compared to other sites in Oahu and Maui. It is also a bit of a tourist trap, so watch out for the hidden extras!

Doing what: Hanauma Bay Snorkeling Adventure Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Snorkeling in Hanauma Bay was awesome!!

Doing what: Hanauma Bay Snorkeling Adventure Half-Day Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

Save your time and money and go there on your own. There is no guide when you are actually there anyway. If you go early, you can park there. We signed up for the 8:00, but they didn't pick us up until 8:45. Then the guy took the scenic route to the snorkel shop, narrating the entire drive, which we could only understand every other word. More waiting at the snorkel shop. Then we finally get to Hanauma Bay to find we could have just rented the equipment there. You also have to watch a short video......more waiting......before you are allowed to enter the park. Did see lots of fish. Water was beautiful. Bring food and drinks. I would do it again, but on my own.

Doing what: Hanauma Bay Snorkeling Adventure Half-Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message