Circular Hanauma Bay is a particularly attractive, sheltered inlet of turquoise water, carved from a submerged volcanic crater east of Diamond Head. The sandy beach park is popular with families, with its calm waters, lifeguards, and gentle ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 69 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

For someone who doesn't have a car and wants to see Oahu, this tour is excellent! It takes you all around the island with stops at many key locations (Hanauma Bay, Byodo-In Temple, Sunset Beach, etc.) along the way. Our driver, Ed, was very knowledgeable about the island's history, and he did a great job explaining everything in a light and funny way :) Thank you!

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Well organised tour. It was great how once there the rest of the day was yours to do whatever you wanted. Would not hesitate to recommend this tour. Hanauma Bay was stunningly beautiful and a definite must do

Doing what: Hanauma Bay Snorkeling Adventure Half-Day Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

This tour is so boring . We expect seeing all kind if fish at the hanauma bay . But nothing there to see at the ocean . We just pay for the trip to swim at the other beach . Not worth it

Doing what: Hanauma Bay Snorkeling Adventure Half-Day Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

We arrived very late to Hanauma Bay itself and due to that I had only 1 hour of time for snorkelling.
No understanding for that from the staff.

Doing what: Hanauma Bay Snorkeling Adventure Half-Day Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

Hanauma Bay is a beautiful place and definitely worth visiting when in Waikiki.

The tour picks you up from your hotel, drives you to a store to pick up your snorkeling equipment, and then you a driven via taxi to Hanauma Bay. While collecting the snorkeling equipment, you are asked what time you wish to return and are given 3 time slots. My friend and I chose an earlier time as we appeared to have plenty of hours left and did not think we would need all day. Unfortunately, nobody on the tour gave us any indication as to how long everything would take.

When you arrive in Hanauma Bay, there are some great photo opportunities as you approach the entrance and then you must join a long queue to buy your tickets. Following the ticket purchase, you must then wait in another queue to attend a compulsory 10-15 minute film about the Bay. By the time all this is done and you've made your way down to the beach, you suddenly have very limited time to do what you came there for. If you have never snorkeled before, it does require practice with the breathing and swimming the big slippers. No-one explains to you how to use the equipment. By the time you have mastered it and are enjoying snorkeling in the bay, it is time to hurry back to the pick up location. There is no time to buy a snack or look in the gift shop.

My friend and I rushed back, only to be told there was not enough room in the taxi for everyone, so we had to wait for them to return. This is not good enough. There should be enough transport to take everyone back at the designated time. If I had known we would have to wait, I would have given myself more time to look for some gifts.

To sum it up, snorkeling in Hanauma Bay is worth doing. However, if you can hire snorkeling gear and get yourself there through alternative means, I'd recommend that. You'd be able to stay as long as you please and enjoy the scenery both below and above the water without all the rushing.

Doing what: Hanauma Bay Snorkeling Adventure Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I love Hanauma Bay! It is amazing to swim with all the fish. We did not rent a car so we had them pick us up and it included snorkeling equipment. We also loved our driver. You still have to pay the entrance fee but you get dropped off and you don't have to worry about the lot being full.

Doing what: Hanauma Bay Snorkeling Adventure Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

When the tour guide picked us up from hotel, I thought we were going straight to Hanauma Bay, but apparently not you stop at place to pick up your snorkeling gear and then you get in a taxi that takes you to Hanauma Bay and drops you off. I thought everything was at one place. Then you pay to get into Hanauma Bay which was not part of the package deal. The day we were Hanauma Bay the water was rough and was hard to see underwater the waves were just pushing you back to shore. Other than that it was an ok day, just wish the water was not as rough to enjoy it more. Make sure to take water and snacks with you, because there is no food at the bay to buy.

Doing what: Hanauma Bay Snorkeling Adventure Half-Day Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Great way to see the rest of Oahu. Unfortunately we didn't get to see Hanauma bay due to car park being full which was something I had been looking toward to.

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Everything was as described. We were picked up in time and delivered promptly to Hanauma Bay. The snorkeling equipment was adequate. We had a great day and would absolutely recommend this tour company.

Doing what: Hanauma Bay Snorkeling Adventure Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Hanauma Bay was gorgeous! Fun and perfect for first time snorkeling.

Doing what: Hanauma Bay Snorkeling Adventure Half-Day Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

Unfortunately we did notice in the confirmation that we needed to RECONFIRM that we required hotel collection until the morning of the tour. We tried to call but there as no answer. As a result we were not able to take the tour and ended up rebooking with another company. Hanauma Bay was lovely, but if there are a few of you, I would recommend buying some cheap snorkel gear from a nearby ABC Store (there are hundreds of them) and getting a taxi to drop you. Cheaper and the experience will be practically identical.

Doing what: Hanauma Bay Snorkeling Adventure Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

we loved our trip to hanauma bay, we loved snorkelling and the bay was so beautiful it was very well organised.
the only downside was that the shuttle bus was so noisy, the window in the back was broken and kept banging so the ride their and back wasn't very enjoyable

Doing what: Hanauma Bay Snorkeling Adventure Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Great stops, not too long driving times in between stops which was great. Highlights were Waimea Valley hike, Hanauma Bay and Pali Lookout.

Doing what: Small-Group Oahu Eco-Tour Including Waimea Valley Hike and Turtle Beach

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

Good stops. Highlights were the Halona Blowhole and Hanauma Bay!

Doing what: Natural Highlights of Oahu Small Group Adventure

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

Good trip - but more time at Sea life Park would have been good (only had time for the Dolphin Show and buy lunch). Drove past Hanauma Bay but didn't 'see' it (as stated in the tour description). Tour bus was on time, and guide friendly and knowledgeable

Doing what: Oahu South Shore Double-Decker Bus Tour with Sea Life Park Admission

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message