Oahu ATTRACTIONS See all

Pearl Harbor

A hallowed name in US history, Pearl Harbor was the site of the December 7, 1941, bombing by the Japanese that wrenched the United States into World War II. In total, nine U.S. ships were sunk and a further 21 damaged, and the eventual death ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 466 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Chito

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

My wife and I went on the Pearl Harbor excursion, we found that we enjoyed the sight seeing mini tour and the Pearl Harbor part was great and we would highly recommend it if you have never been to Pearl Harbor.

Doing what: USS Missouri, Arizona Memorial, Pearl Harbor and Punchbowl Day Tour

Jerald B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Pearl Harbor was informative and well worth the trip!

Doing what: Pearl Harbor Visitor Center Tour

Estela G

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

My husband and I enjoyed our Pearl Harbor tour. Our not having a rental car and this being our first visit to Pear Harbor, the convenience of having someone pick us up at our hotel and transport us to Pearl Harbor was great. The additional drive-by of downtown, Punchbowl and other areas of Honolulu with interesting commentary by our driver was interesting too.

Doing what: USS Missouri, Arizona Memorial, Pearl Harbor and Punchbowl Day Tour

Colleen D

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

This experience does NOT match your description of a guided tour. Our tour director, guy literally dropped us off with our tickets and told us not clearly where to meet when. At the Pearl Harbor visitors center, he told me what was not a museum but failed to point out the actual museum. Although my husband is clearly a disabled veteran he parked farthest from the storage locker. After we put our bags in, he told us it would be 3 hrs till we got them back! I am a very fair skinned red head and had to run back to get out my absolutely essential sunblock. All the Pearl Harbor facilities were very well organized and informative and the park staff were very helpful to my husband. If it weren' for them, this tour would rate a one for me!

Doing what: USS Missouri, Arizona Memorial, Pearl Harbor and Punchbowl Day Tour

Stanley L

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2016

We got picked up at 9:35 and drove to Pearl Harbor to find out that our tour was not scheduled to go on the Arizona until 2:30 PM. In the mean time we took a tour of Punchbowl and downtown Honolulu but that only was for a couple hours. We got back to Pearl Harbor a little after noon and had to kill 2 hours waiting for our Arizona tour. By the time we were done, it was close to rush hour and it took forever to drop everyone off. So for a half day tour, it really took a whole day but we only got a half day's value. In addition, the driver was rude. He completely ignored me when I tried to ask him a question.

Doing what: Arizona Memorial, Pearl Harbor and Punchbowl Sightseeing Tour

Katherine K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Loved our tour guide, she was very proud of Oahu and gave us lots of tidbits about the area. I'd recommend the tour especially if you want to see Pearl Harbor without worrying about getting there super early to receive the free tickets. Worth it!

Doing what: Arizona Memorial, Pearl Harbor and Punchbowl Sightseeing Tour

Marsha A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Our tour guide was very interesting and informative regarding not only the history of Pearl Harbor, but also the history of the island of Oahu. His sense of humor added to the tour He was very relaxed with our group. Quite an enjoyable tour

Doing what: Arizona Memorial, Pearl Harbor and Punchbowl Sightseeing Tour

Tamera L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Cousin J Jason, the tour guide, made our group feel welcomed from the first introduction through the last moments of the tour. He was very knowledgeable and we left the tour knowing more about the city of Honolulu, the state of Hawaii, Pearl Harbor, and The USS Arizona then we could have learned from a book. Our group took in several other adventures and restaurants Cousin J recommended and were absolutely delighted with his advice. I would highly recommend this tour for first time tourist the Oahu. The booking of the tour was easy and without complications. I would use Viator again when I travel.

Doing what: Honolulu Sightseeing Tour Including Pearl Harbor and USS Arizona Memorial

Jean Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Our tour was excellent. Pearl Harbor was excellent and moving. Being able to see the remains of the USS Arizona and still see oil coming up. The documentary before the memorial was extremely moving.
We recommend this tour to anyone visiting Oahu.

Doing what: Pearl Harbor, USS Arizona and Circle Island Day Trip

Shauneen M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

This guided tour was really good. Our driver Ty provided lots of information about O'ahu that we would not have learned otherwise. It's an early start - but necessary due to the crowds at the Pearl Harbor site. We were able to see the USS Missouri and then a quick bite to eat before we were scheduled to attend the Arizona Memorial. There is a video presentation prior to the trip out to the Arizona Memorial. Unfortunately, due to high winds, the trip to the memorial had to be canceled. Ty informed us that another attempt would be made the following day but we had already made plans. After departing the Pearl Harbor site, we made our way to downtown Honolulu. Again Ty was extremely knowledgeable of the history of Hawaii and the buildings we were viewing. The punchbowl burial site is really spectacular, and worth the quick drive through.

Doing what: USS Missouri, Arizona Memorial, Pearl Harbor and Punchbowl Day Tour

John A

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

A must do tour while in Honolulu. The bus driver was informative and kept everything moving on time. The tour at Pearl Harbor was interesting and we had a lot of time to explore on our own, but I would like to have had a little more guided and narrated information. This is a full day tour with pick up from our hotel which was nice.

Doing what: USS Missouri, Arizona Memorial, Pearl Harbor and Punchbowl Day Tour

jilkmom

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2016

This tour was a bust. In fairness part of that had nothing to do with the tour itself but even then I would have rated it maybe with 2 stars. The main issue was that it was nothing special. At all. We were picked up at our hotel and were first to be picked up. We then stopped at several other places and picked up until the bus was almost full. That was fine and good news is that we were the first off at the end so that was ok. The bus driver was also the tour guide. That was problem 1. You really can't be a dynamic tour guide while you are driving a bus. Or maybe you can but this driver was not. He was pleasant but not dynamic. Then we got to Pearl Harbor. This is where things really went downhill. First, this was the day after Xmas and, unbeknownst to us, apparently that is the black Friday of Pearl Harbor. It was packed. the parking lot was so full in the bus parking area that the bus went around twice and then finally stopped in a red zone to let everyone out. The driver was talking to himself ans was rather panicked about leaving the bus. Then we all got out and were following the driver to the line to get us the tickets. It was crazy busy. The bus driver went to the ticket booth and then signaled us to get in a group to talk. The driver/guide then announces to us that 1 the tickets to the Memorial were sold out and 2 there were no shuttles going to the Memorial at all that day. Everyone was confused about what was going on and what was supposed to happen. He kept repeating both of these problems and the tour participants were upset because the tour promises that you would have tickets. Now, once we understood that the shuttles were not running at all, we got that there was nothing we could do about the sellout but everyone was frustrated and upset

Doing what: Arizona Memorial, Pearl Harbor and Punchbowl Sightseeing Tour

Michael P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The local knowledge our guide added enhanced our experience. We had plenty of time at Pearl Harbor and at the Arizona Memorial.

Doing what: Arizona Memorial, Pearl Harbor and Punchbowl Sightseeing Tour

Klaus M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

A good way to see a lot from Oahu. Even the destination was Pearl Harbor but one good see a lot from other parts of the city. We also stopped at the Hawaii 5.0 head-quarter. My wife and me we both enjoyed very much.

Doing what: Arizona Memorial, Pearl Harbor and Punchbowl Sightseeing Tour

Kathy K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great tour with our guide Leo B. He put the 4 parts of this tour together into an enjoyable, seamless experience and took great care of us. I found the Arizona Memorial commemorates the bombing of Pearl Harbor and the U.S. Missouri tour the ship where Japan formally surrendered to the Allies the most interesting parts of the tour.

Doing what: World War II Pearl Harbor Heroes Adventure Tour

Loretta D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The mighty Mo ....Pearl Harbor is not to be missed!

Doing what: USS Missouri, Arizona Memorial, Pearl Harbor and Punchbowl Day Tour

Dianne S

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Highly recommend this one! The time spent at the Pearl Harbor site could have been longer as there is so much to see. Unfortunately, the Arizona Memorial was closed to visitors at the time we visited. The USS Missouri was excellent. A tour guide gave some background and then we were able to explore on our own. The drive through Punchbowl was good and the driver slowed so that we could get some scenic photos of Honolulu. The drive through historic Honolulu was probably unnecessary as there were no photo stops.
If you are going on this tour, you are limited with what you can take. Despite all the instructions, we had people get on the bus with backpacks etc. There were lockers but you do not have access to them at anytime during the tour.

Doing what: USS Missouri, Arizona Memorial, Pearl Harbor and Punchbowl Day Tour

Debbie M

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Pearl Harbor has always been on my bucket list, loved it, but thought that the time you spent at Pearl Harbor itself was very limited, not much time to view other things there prior to trip out to the memorial and on return pretty much straight back to bus. Still loved it though.

Doing what: Arizona Memorial, Pearl Harbor and Punchbowl Sightseeing Tour

John W

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Kahleo, our tour guide and bus driver was informative and fun. We really enjoyed our tour of Pearl Harbor. The only negative was we were a little rushed to get to all that was planned for the day, I would have liked more time to see everything.

Doing what: World War II Pearl Harbor Heroes Adventure Tour

Nancy D

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

We were quite disappointed in the timing of the day. From the company description. we expected 9.5 touring hours. We were at Pearl Harbor from 10-4 6 hours. We knew that the bus would be picking up hotel guests, but we did not expect to sit at the airport waiting for flight arrivals from other islands, and returning to the airport early for guests to make their return flights. Our bus driver/tour guide was very congenial, providing lots of local information, and tried to keep us together, but the way the entire Pearl Harbor experience is orchestrated does not lend itself to big bus groups. Our group was separated multiple times due to the bus circuits. If we ever are lucky, blessed, enough to visit again, we will simply go to Pearly Harbor on our own, VERY EARLY, and spend time at each very special memorial exhibit according to our own needs. The base has its own protocol. We felt quite stressed at trying to meet the demands of the timing. Pearly Harbor should be included in every American's travel itineraryjust not sure that this is the right way to experience it.

Doing what: World War II Pearl Harbor Heroes Adventure Tour

Julie

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2015

My husband and I were in Oahu 2 years ago and took a Pearl Harbor tour. There was not enough time on this tour at Pearl Harbor to see everything and felt rushed, but we had never been to see Punchbowl. It was sad we couldn't stop for a few minutes to walk around a little.

Doing what: USS Missouri, Arizona Memorial, Pearl Harbor and Punchbowl Day Tour

darci B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2015

Ditch the ride around Honolulu portion so more time is available at Pearl Harbor and USS Arizona. While our tour team was friendly, engaging and very knowledgeable, the drive by approach to select attractions was insufficient to be meaningful. Focus on either a driving tour or Pearl Harbor, but not both. The Hop On/Hop Off tour approach would be better to allow for customers to decide where they want to spend more time.
In out case, nor only was the time available to visit Pearl Harbor visitor center and museums too brief by the time we arrived, we were unable to get to the USS Arizona Memorial since the winds made the Navy cancel all trips from noon through the rest of the day. Even if we could have gone, there would not be enough time before we would be due back on the bus.

Doing what: Honolulu Sightseeing Tour Including Pearl Harbor and USS Arizona Memorial

Edward S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2015

On Friday, September 11th, we participated in the Pearl Harbor Heroes Tour. We can honestly say that this was one on the most disappointing things we have ever done, and we place that opinion on the tour guide.
Our tour guides name was Michael. During the bus ride to Pearl Harbor, Michael chatted about mostly trees and how he came to be living in Oahu.
I must admit that the weather could not have been worse, with frequent heavy rain throughout the day. This fact did contribute to our frustration, but this added to our tour guides attitude and actions made for a miserable tour.
To our, and everyone elses, surprise our tickets to the USS Arizona Memorial were at 2:15 PM and not first as described in the Viator brochure. No explanation was given for this. We first arrived at the entrance to Pearl Harbor where persons with purses and backpacks were able to place them in storage.
From there, we drove to the USS Missouri where our tour guide walked us to the ship, turned us over to the USS Missouri tour guide and instructed us to meet him back at the bus at an assigned time. With the heavy rain, the time allowed to tour the ship was excessive. Most people were finished early and sat under the gift shop canopy or snack bar waiting for the rain to let up enough for them to run back to the bus.
After the USS Missouri, we drove to the Pacific Aviation Museum. Again, our tour guide walked the group into the building to the museum entrance and advised everyone to be back at the bus at an assigned time. There was no mention that museum admission included the audio device. We noted a few other people in the museum had them and went back to the entrance to try to purchase them. At that time we were advised they came free with museum admission. We took it upon ourselves to find members of our large tour group and advise them of this. When the assigned time to return to the bus came, it was raining again. OUT OF CHARACTERS - LOTS MORE TO SAY

Doing what: World War II Pearl Harbor Heroes Adventure Tour

Craig H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our guide Jason was awesome, very knowledgeable and interactive about the culture and history of the Pearl Harbor area

Doing what: Honolulu Sightseeing Tour Including Pearl Harbor and USS Arizona Memorial

Marrianne H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our day tour to Pearl Harbor was very interesting and eye opening. Our bus driver, a lovely lady whose name escapes me at present my apologies to her, was full of knowledge about the places we visited during the day. This included a quick visit to the National Memorial Cemetery of the Pacific, which was both very moving and unexpected. I would definitely recommend this tour if you are visiting Oahu.

Doing what: USS Missouri, Arizona Memorial, Pearl Harbor and Punchbowl Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message