Oahu ATTRACTIONS See all

Polynesian Cultural Center

Hawaii means luaus, and some of the best and most authentic luaus in the Pacific are staged at the Polynesian Cultural Center. The center highlights the Polynesian cultures of many island people, including Hawaii, New Zealand, Tonga and Tahiti. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 387 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Cynthia O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A must see/must do in Honolulu! Make sure you check the schedule and attend all the different cultural presentations which are informative, entertaining and most are amusing! Almost all of the performers are from the nearby university, some coming from the South Pacific culture they represent, and you can see the dedication and passion in their energetic performances! Don't miss the colorful parade of boats at around 2pm!
The luau was a diner's delight! The meats were deliciously cooked just right, with tropical fruits and salads and other Hawaiian dishes to go with these. To cap off this culinary extravaganza was the Polynesian evening dinner show 'Ha: Breath of Life', which was just truly spectacular!

Doing what: Polynesian Cultural Center Luau

Wendy T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We did the full day, with lu'au and show at night. It was pricey, but the dinner was generous, and the show had Broadway quality production values. Definitely a good thing to experience for our first time in the islands.

Doing what: Polynesian Cultural Center Luau

Diana L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Highly recommend a visit to the Polynesian Cultural Center and Luau! Great day trip! Lots to see! Recommend walking shoes. Loved the luau and evening show.

Doing what: Polynesian Cultural Center Luau

Stephen C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We enjoyed a group of just six and a fantastic local guide who made sure we got the best use of our time. Thanks also to the office staff who got us on the tour at short notice.

Doing what: Small-Group Polynesian Cultural Center and North Shore Day Trip

Dayle K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This place was amazing! There was so much to see and do we went back a second day.

Doing what: Polynesian Cultural Center Luau

jlouisecraw

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Tour was lovely paid too much through viator and will never book again through your company.

Doing what: Polynesian Cultural Center Luau

Tracey S

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

This is an all day tour and well worth going to see the Cultural Village. We did not pay the extra for a guided tour of the centre, as when we arrived our bus driver provided us with a map that included a program of all the villages and the times that certain shows were on. We then just wandered from village to village and saw the shows when we wanted to. Most shows were on numerous times a day so if there were some at the same time you were able to see one and then the other one at another time. We didnt miss out on anything.
The Luau was good, although not in the traditional sense that it was in a big dining area under a roof, not on the beach as normally one would be. There were a lot of people there however we were not crammed in so that we couldnt enjoy our dinner, of which there was plenty. They had numerous buffet stations so the line to get your food moved relatively quickly. There was also entertainment during the luau.
The show that was on after the Luau was good but a bit repetitive it went for an hour and a half when an hour would have been enough. The seats arent that comfortable as they are hard plastic. The fire part of the show was excellent and they should have had more of that and less of the other dancing.
I would recommend going to the Cultural centre definitely to see the villages however next time we would go to a different Luau.
A bit of trivia the Cultural Centre is owned by The Church of the Latter Day Saints The Mormans.

Doing what: Polynesian Cultural Center Luau

James K

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

This entire area is under the control of the Mormons, so expect that they will force their values on all comers no alcohol. This should have been disclosed to me before I bought tickets, but was not.

So, the place does have a welcoming vibe, and the participants are all very friendly, but it has a bit of a Mormon-nesian feel, rather than a Polynesian feel.

Doing what: Polynesian Cultural Center Luau

Natalie M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

The tour was OK- the show was great.
It was extremely disappointing that I booked this and when we got to PCC, everything was closed, so if you would like to actually go through and experience the entire PCC I would NOT book this and go on your own. Also there was no option for dinner, and I missed the Luau dinner which was the reason why I wanted to go in the first place. Instead of booking through a third party Viator go through the cultural center- it would be way better for you and the general experience.

Doing what: Polynesian Cultural Center Admission

Ian S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed the show, wow what an amazing story Ha, is. Also the film story of Hawaii not to be missed. The whole area is wonderfully reconstructed from all the island traditions.

Doing what: Polynesian Cultural Center Luau

Jeanine M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Had a great time here! We ate in the Prime Dining room. Good was outstanding and the servers were fabulous! The Breath of Life Show was beautiful!

Doing what: Polynesian Cultural Center Admission

Patricia W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We were picked up as instructed. The tour was good. Tour driver was excellent.

Doing what: Polynesian Cultural Center Luau

Kenny C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

You should visit when You stop over in Oahu!

Doing what: Polynesian Cultural Center Luau

Beverly L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our guide Keno, was superb. Told us innumerable facts about Hawaiian culture and history. Took his time, answered all our questions. Having been to the Cultural Center previously, I was raving to my friends about it. To only see 2 or 3 exhibits was a major disappointment. Please allow more time there to learn about the various islands. The canoe event was nice, but that time could have been better used learning.

Doing what: Small-Group Polynesian Cultural Center and North Shore Day Trip

T G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Very interesting and wonderful to see the different Polynesian cultures.

Doing what: Polynesian Cultural Center Admission

Craig S S

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

My family had a great time! My kids loved the food at the Luau. My husband was very imposed about the place and all the students that run it very knowledgeable. The show was great at night! The ice cream could've been better without the fruit in it.

Doing what: Polynesian Cultural Center Luau

colleen m a

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

The cultural center itself is very interesting and the shows are fun. The only problem we had was the tiered pricing. It's very confusing. We had to keep upgrading our tickets to get what I had originally thought we paid for. That aside, it's well worth the time and effort to go there and learn about the different cultures.

Doing what: Polynesian Cultural Center Luau

Bonnie W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Amazing worth the trip. Well done and would suggest the Ambassador package and also alot of time. there is so much to do and so much to see should allow more than one day and at least one full day ending with the show.

Doing what: Polynesian Cultural Center Luau

John O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great facility, friendly people, authentic experiences and very reasonable pricing.

Something for every age and hands on event. Good food and a great experience.

Doing what: Polynesian Cultural Center Luau

Clarence M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is an outstanding tour. We selected Master Ambassador and had our own private guide all day up to the show. it is a little more expensive but well worth the cost.

Doing what: Polynesian Cultural Center Luau

HANNO K

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

North Shore part was too short, otherwise everything was perfect.

Doing what: Small-Group Polynesian Cultural Center and North Shore Day Trip

Cynthia B USA

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

To enjoy the Center you will need to spend all day. Touring the different villages and seeing how each lived was wonderful. Glad we were warned about how much walking there would be, we rented a motorized scooter for my 81 year old mother. The food was good, recommend the mango rum drink that comes in a pineapple. Show had a very good story to tell about Polynesian cultures.

Doing what: Polynesian Cultural Center Luau

Cynthia B USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

Felt rushed on this tour. Would have liked to have spent more than half an hour at the Dole Plantation so we could have seen more than the gift shop. The tour was informative, but felt more like a shopping tour, not what I expected.

Doing what: Small-Group Polynesian Cultural Center and North Shore Day Trip

David H

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

1 didn't know we were coming and wasted a lot of time figuring out who we were and why we were there.

2 guide was friendly and provided good service. We would have given this tour 2 stars instead of 1 if he hadn't also made mistakes with our food preferences that made the whole thing even worse than it had to be see below.

3 the shows were awful, and after spending hours there we'd learnt nothing of substance.

4 the included western buffet in the evening was worse than bad... dog-food. The Hawaiian buffet was probably better, but even though we asked for it we put in the Western one, and only realized the mistake too late for the error to be corrected.

Overall it was a waste of time and money a lot of it too, even though we are easily in the reviled 1.

Doing what: Polynesian Cultural Center Luau

dburkhardt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was a really good tour. The biggest part of the day is spent at the Polynesian Cultural Centre. This was the main reason we decided to take this tour, as we have been on a circle island tour before that did not include the Polynesian Centre. Our driver was very funny. He entertained us all day. He knew the tricks to getting in early to all our stops to avoid any queues.

Doing what: Small-Group Polynesian Cultural Center and North Shore Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message