• USD ($)
  • English
Inter-island flights from Oahu are a great way to expand your vacation experience and see more of Hawaii. The islands offer national park beauty, volcanic landscapes and coastal vistas, and the flight times are ridiculously short - it takes just 40 ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 341 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a fun, stress free trip. The tour guide was funny, and very informative. We would defiantly go again!
It was very neat to see a different island, and learn about the Big Island of Hawaii.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

It was an outstanding trip. A perfect way to see Kauai. We will go back to Kauai and stay longer next time. The Island was beautiful! I highly recommend the tour.

Doing what: Kauai Day Trip: Waimea Canyon, Wailua River from Oahu

pretesh patel
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Fantastic tour outside Oahu giving a different perspective of Hawaii in this area of Hilo on the big island. Our tour guide Laura who was very passionate and knowledgeable on the tour made it a worthwhile day out.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

It is very informative and we had fun on the places we stopped by.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Overall, the trip was nice. There were too many sightseeing stops along the way, that were of little significance, making the trip a very long day. Towards the end of the trip, a lot of people were too tired to get off the bus to see some of the more significant sights. Plenty of opportunities to get something to eat. We brought our lunch and snacks and kept them on the bus. Saved us some money. The driver was very knowledgable and funny and everything ran efficiently and on time. Overall, I would do it again, but suggest they eliminate some unnecessary stops.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

The tour started off blandly...the Japanese garden was a sluggish start. It gathered steam during the day, and the Volcanoes Nat'l Park made up for the early sluggishness.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

First Thing: The spiel for this says: "Hike over the lava flow with the possibility of seeing lava flowing downstream" - There is NO possibility you will see lava flows. If that's why you are taking the tour, you will be disappointed. According to our guide it hasn't been possible to get to any of the flow areas for ten years as the only place that happens currently is on private land.

The tour itself is good but not mind blowing, you get too see many of the same areas of historic eruptions and a fair few craters, with some steam. Assuming you are OK with the price for that then you will enjoy the tour, its nice to get across to another island to see it as you do get to see a lot of the island and the rainforest areas etc.

The additional stops (A Nursery, Nut Factory and a Chocolate Shop) are all just filler and you aren't missing anything by not going to them..

Have a look at the recent photos from this trip gallery on Viator as that's pretty much the kind of things you will be able to see. As long as you set the necessary expectations, then you will enjoy the tour.

Would I do it again knowing what I do now - No I wouldn't, for what it is it's quite expensive. You can get a full holiday to Iceland for the same sort of money from the UK, and see much the same sort of thing.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

We spent a lot of time looking around gardens, orchid farm and nut factory but would have rather spent more time on the volcanoes. It poured with rain in afternoon which spoilt trip - should have swopped itinerary and done volcanoes first. Maybe should be more flexible. Shame no chance to see lava.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

Disappointed based on photos from ads and what was actually experienced.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

The Kauai Day Trip was a nice way to escape the crowds of tourists in Oahu although I found that their was not much to see on the island. The day was very drawn out with quite a few monotonous stops throughout the beginning of the day. The Wailua River was beautiful but I don't think the tour is good value for money considering the affordability of flights between each island as well as car rental. My tour guide Lisa was amazing, very knowledgeable and hilarious - she kept the bus entertained for 8 hours straight.

Doing what: Kauai Day Trip: Waimea Canyon, Wailua River from Oahu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

It was very interesting, guide was knowledgable about the area

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent tour from the word go. The rep Robert (Cap'n Rob) was superb. He's funny, knowledgeable and very informative. There's never a dull moment and the Cap'n kept everyone upbeat and clued in all the time. Would highly recommend this tour to anyone coming to the islands.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

An excellent day out which would have been even better if we had not had to wait over 2 hours each way for our flights. To be dropped at the airport at 5pm for a 7.26pm flight was such a waste of time. The tour guide was excellent and our group size (9 people) made it very personal. Not sure how good it would have been with a very large tour group. All in all a good day.

Doing what: Kauai Day Trip: Waimea Canyon, Wailua River from Oahu

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

I had a great guide and a lovely time. It's a beautiful island and I got to see a lot.

Doing what: Kauai Day Trip: Waimea Canyon, Wailua River from Oahu

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message