• USD ($)
  • English
Inter-island flights from Oahu are a great way to expand your vacation experience and see more of Hawaii. The islands offer national park beauty, volcanic landscapes and coastal vistas, and the flight times are ridiculously short - it takes just 40 ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 320 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Captain rob was on point, it's like he owned the company. He is always researching ways to make his tour better. Captain rob is what all of driver should be if their not. Great job captain rob

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2014

The volcanoes tour was way to long .we seen a volcanoes and lots of lava rock and more lava rock and more.,We spent five and a half hours looking at lava rock. I would not recommend this tour to anyone .It should be shorter.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

deluded
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This one was absolutely fantastic. The tour guide (Sharon) was very knowledgeable and kept the day interesting.

We had a clear sunny day and was able to take in the beautiful surroundings.

Doing a day trip means that it was a very long day, so be prepared.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

wonderful trip very informative

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Although the day is a long one (3:30am pick up in Oahu to the airport) it was fun to visit the Big Island! We got to see most of the island, including volcanos (no lava) -- and we were kept well informed on the history by our tour bus driver, Sal. We were a little bummed because we got to the airport to fly back to Oahu only about 12 minutes before the plane took off - and this was after being driven for what seemed like hours at night time to drop off folks staying on the island at their hotels. A good tour though and glad we did it!

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Grand Circle Island from Oahu

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

I'm sure I wouldn't be the first person to start a review of this tour with the words "It was an early start and a very long day...", but there was so much to squeeze in it couldn't be any other way. My partner and I have a great day and our tour guide was a fountain of information, although I think the poor guy was fighting a losing battle to entice a sense of enthusiasm out of any of us towards the end of the long, tiring day. The volcano park was amazing and spectacular, well worth the journey even without seeing any flowing lava. At times it was like walking on another planet. If I had any suggestion at all, however, it may be to offer a shorter day's tour just to the Volcanoes National Park. As much as the orchid farm and macadamia factory were interesting, and I know these tours help support the local economy (which I am all in favour of), it made for a really, really long day. But really, it was a great day, one which I would highly recommend.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

Our review is somewhat mixed. The tour operator was well organized and there were no issues with logistics. Our "day" in Volcanoes NP didn't start until 2pm although we arrived in Hilo airport just after 8am. We made several stops along the way before our arrival. A short stop viewing a waterfall in Hilo, a couple of souvenir stops, and lunch. After arrival in the park we spent too much time walking on lava rock and not much time at the craters. Would have liked to have seen the lava flows or perhaps have the option of a hike into a crater. Weather didn't cooperate as the last stop was supposed to be the highlight of the trip which was a stop at Jaggar Museum for a view of Kilauea Caldera. Clouds/Fog/Rain which arrived later in the afternoon obstructed the views. Well worth a return visit.....in a rental car.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

flor_dli
Argentina

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2014

Ww wanted to see the volcano, and it was only possible in the afternoon. All morning we visited boring things, like a macadamia nuts factory (just take us there to buy things).
It was nice, but there should be a good description of the tour.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Highly recommend this tour. Our tour guide Judy was great, she was very knowledgeable. Maui is different from Waikiki, not as hectic, at a much slower pace. Beautiful surroundings.

Doing what: Maui Day Trip: Haleakala, Iao Valley, Old Lahaina from Oahu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

I would like more stars to rate this experience properly!!!.................

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Outstanding experience. The logistics all worked as advertised, and the tour itself was amazing. Our guide Robert (aka Capt. Rob) was simply the best. He was a botanist, a vulcanologist and and expert on all things about the island of Hawai'i. His narrative was so informative, and his demeanor was so pleasant and accessible, that it was truly a pleasure to be on an organized guided tour with him - something we usually avoid as a rule. The guides for this trip rotate, so I can assure you that it is worth finding out when Capt. Rob is going to do the trip (if possible) and book the day he is the lead.

Wonderful, memorable trip!

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Early start (4:30 a.m.) but everything was organized perfectly. I had never used Viator before and was nervous especially about this large group of 7 people and the details surrounding getting us where we needed to be. The pick up bus was a little late, but other than that, everything worked great and we enjoyed our day tour of the big island. The tour guide/bus driver was very entertaining and knowledgeable. I would suggest reminding people in advance to tip the driver well. We hadn't thought about this until later in the day and did not have much cash left.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Grand Circle Island from Oahu

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Fantastic on the volcanoes which was after lunch time. Thoroughly enjoyed these 4 hours.
In the morning coming from Honolulu we had to get up at 4 am - no problem with that. But although we reached Big Island by 8am there was hardly anything happening ( except a short 20 minutes trip to the black sands beach which was nice) - ended up spending a lot of time in garden nursery, Macademia shop etc. All in the group felt it was such a waste of time coming to the Big Island for the first time and May be the only time. There must be more in the island to explore than having to spend time in Garden Nursery and shop outlets!

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2014

Very long day. The highlights were really the black sand beach which you see first and the volcano which you see last. The guide we had was hilarious and it was cool to see what resembled another planet.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message