Inter-island flights from Oahu are a great way to expand your vacation experience and see more of Hawaii. The islands offer national park beauty, volcanic landscapes and coastal vistas, and the flight times are ridiculously short - it takes just 40 ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 363 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Wonderful tour guide! He was very knowledgeable. Tour was fabulous. Learned a lot about Hawaiian culture. Various stops/sites along the tour were great! Black sand beach was a little underwhelming. Overall, great tour!

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was the highlight of our 2 week stay in Hawaii. Hugh(our tour guide ) was a wealth of information and very pleasant. I was a little disappointed that I didn't see red hot lava but there were so many stops that I didn't expect it made up for it. The orchids were awesome and the macadamia nuts delicious. The most meaningful part of the tour was devastation trail which really bought home the power of nature.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Long day but well worth it. The Tour Guide shared his knowledge and as he grew up on the island he was very interesting and easy to listen to. A must do.....

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Rob was a wonderful tour guide. The weather wasn't the best so he did his best under the circumstances. I had hoped he had a website or printout of all the places we went that day so I could refer back to all the photos I had taken. Unfortunately, he didn't. Overall, I would recommend this tour!

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Great trip and tour guide. Only thing that would have made this better is getting to see active flowing lava which you do not see on this tour.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Despite the early start this is an amazing tour, well organised, although it would have been appreciated if fellow travelers had been a little more considerate and arrived back at the coach on time. You see many different types of terrain, walking through a lava tube, how often will you get the chance to do that! Sightseeing interspersed with a lunch stop as well as visits to both sweet and macadamia nut factories, delicious!

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Grand Circle Island from Oahu

Rick W
South Africa

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

I would have given this tour a 5 star rating, but I thought the morning was a bit of a waste of time for me personally. I wanted to go and see the volcanoes, but we spent most of the morning driving around various parts of the island, visiting a Macadamia Nut factory and Orchid nursery. We only went into the Volcanoes National Park after lunch. However, the wait was definitely worth it. The Volcanoes National Park was spectacular. Our tour guide for the day was a local islander, who was very knowledgeable and a great host for the day. This tour is a full day, with a very early start and a late return flight back to Honolulu.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Captain Rob showed us so many things on this tour and was very knowledgeable about volcanoes and The Big Island. The tour was very well paced and managed to fit in a great diversity of places of interest. I'd also like to say how very grateful I am that the tour operator was willing to change our tour dates when our whole Hawaiian trip was rescheduled due to the hurricanes. We are extremely appreciative of the flexibility shown to us and the efficiency of the good people at Viator for sorting things out for us.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Simply amazing tour and guide. Sharon was fun and knowledgeable. Bus a/c died part of the day but windows down mode worked fine. Won't see spewing lava as sort of implied but lots of older lava flows and the crater. Left with 20 lbs of macadamia nuts i think! Great day trip.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was more than I could've asked for! Though it does make for a long day you get to experience so many great aspects of the big island. We were met at the airport by our guide for the day John. He was extremely knowledgeable as he has lived on the island for 20-30 years and had items for "show and tell" which gave you a great perspective on exactly what he was talking about. Our first stop was at a local store in order to stock up on water (which I promise you will want and need) as well as to get breakfast or snacks for the day. After that we were off to touring. Stops on the tour included a Japanese garden, a black sand beach with an opportunity to see a little bit of green sand, a visit to the Mauna Loa macadamia nut factory, rainbow falls, visit to an orchid nursery, lunch and then the rest of the day was spent in volcanoes national park. You really get to experience so much on this tour and we thoroughly enjoyed every aspect. Ample stops are made within the park getting to experience craters, different types and anomalies in lave flow, and the lava tube. You get back to the airport in plenty of time and we even ended up with extra time at the end of our tour so john stopped where there were some fast food and coffee options to choose from so that we could have dinner and not rely on the very limited options at the airport.

This is definitely a long day but without having to break up your vacation and actually stay on the big island ,this is the best way to get the total experience. We brought a small backpack with TSA size sunscreen, and rain jackets just in case but I would highly recommend some sort of jacket as the weather in different areas of the park can be quite different. We also brought some snacks that we purchased prior to this day trip so that for the day we only had to purchase lunch and water/beverages.

Highly, Highly recommend!

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

I really enjoyed this tour, and especially thought the tour guide, Capt. Rob, did an amazing job. It was a bit of a bummer that you don't actually see lava, but I knew that going into the tour. My only complaint from the day was at the very end of the tour. When we flew back to Oahu we had to sit and wait at the airport for a different tour group to get back before our bus would take us back to the hotel. We ended up sitting and waiting on a bus for about 45 minutes. Overall though, the tour was fun and informative.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

The morning part of the tour was slow and a little boring. Once we got to the volcano area it was very interesting. It would have been nice to have spent more time there and maybe have started our day a little later and even finished earlier. The mountain bit was great, the guide was good. A good quality picnic lunch may work well.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Robyn
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

The tour covered a lot of ground in Mauai. The road to Haleakalo was very long and windy, which should have been mentioned for those that get travel sickness. The lunch stop although the food was delicious, other options nearby could be mentioned as an alternative to a full expensive meal, with added in gratuities to the bill. The stop to Old Lahaina we wish had of been longer as this was a very pretty town with great shops.

Doing what: Maui Day Trip: Haleakala, Iao Valley, Old Lahaina from Oahu

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message