Inter-island flights from Oahu are a great way to expand your vacation experience and see more of Hawaii. The islands offer national park beauty, volcanic landscapes and coastal vistas, and the flight times are ridiculously short - it takes just 40 ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 478 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Carolyn S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The Big Island Trip was fantastic. A very long day but worth the sites. Sites I will probably never see again. The driver/guide was great and everything was wonderful.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

rayfrozen_98

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We loved this day trip. We loved black sand beach and hardened lava flows.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Amy G United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My husband and I were staying on Oahu for 10 days. We booked this day trip to Hilo to tour the volcanoes and I am so glad we did. I really think this was the highlight of our trip. You really have no idea until you see the National Park the magnitude of the volcanoes. It's amazing. Captain Rob was our guide and he was terrific. He was so knowledgeable and funny. Be prepared for a very long day from the time you are picked up at your hotel, until the time you are dropped back off but you will not be disappointed. The waterfall we saw was picture perfect, the black sandy beach we stopped at was quaint, and everything else in between. We really appreciated the fact that if you didn't want to do a lot of walking you didn't have to. The shuttle bus took you everywhere and really I think there was only one point that an older person in our group was not able to participate in. and it was not something that he was deprived of, believe me Captain Rob even made sure to lock the bus when we were off exploring, so you never had to worry about your stuff. The lunch stop was great too! You ordered your food once you are on the bus so that the restaurant was prepared for us. Very well organized. We had the bacon cheeseburger and it was awesome! I was even amazed at the airport in Hilo. The departure lounge was nothing like I have ever seen in an airport before. Definitely Hawaiian. Very laid back and comfortable! I highly recommend this tour! If you are thinking about a day trip... just do it! You will not regret it!

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Lori T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Kauai was beautiful. Tour was excellent. Only regret was would have liked more than one day there.

Doing what: Kauai Day Trip: Waimea Canyon, Wailua River from Oahu

Donald E M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a very memorable tour with an ethnic Hawaiian guide who informed us about flora and fauna, Hawaiian history and native traditions. I had learned when I was 12 the motto of Hawaii and recalled it because of his running narrative.

Doing what: Kauai Day Trip: Waimea Canyon, Wailua River from Oahu

Rodney S

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

This was a most fascinating tour although some things could have been better. The huge day starts with an early morning flight from Honolulu to Hilo. The breakfast stop soon after boarding the bus was most welcome. The next stop at the black sand beach could have benefited from the guide walking to the beach with us and explaining the black sand etc. Other stops on the way were ok except I dont get the relevance of the orchid nursery visit. Once we hit the solid lava fields our minds were totally captivated. The scenery is simply stunning and breathtakingly beautiful. Amazing shapes and formations. The end of the day visit to the observatory looking out over the caldera was truely amazing. Hints of molten rock could be seen in the distance as the light faded. A magic end to a most magical day. The transfers all were on time and hassle free. Well done to all involved. I would do this again but would like more time to walk around the caldera.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Mikey New Zealand

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

I had a very enjoyable time on this tour around Maui, Roy who was our driver and guide for the day was wonderful and had a plethora of historical knowledge to share with us throughout the whole tour. Make sure you get plenty of sleep the night before the tour, as it's a very long day beginning at 4:30am till 7pm. Unfortunately our return flight was delayed, and our bus pick up after we landed back in Oahu missed us? I had to call them and organise another pick up for 5 of us, the bus eventually collected us after 9pm, so it was a very very long day, and a frustrating way to end what was a wonderful day. Apart from this hick up, I'd still recommend this tour to new visitors to Hawaii and I'm glad I got the chance to visit Maui and capture some wonderful photos of it's natural beauty.

Doing what: Maui Day Trip: Hana Adventure from Oahu

Linda S

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

This was a very long day but well worth the effort. We were picked up on time and everything went according to plan. Lots of amazing sites to see. I must see for anyone who does not live with this kind of landscape.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Mary Kae B

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

We had a great time and our tour guide was fabulous! Would recommend to anyone.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Teri M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a great day. Our drive Jane was great at pointing out all the interesting sights. The only problem was the weather which was out of everyone's control.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

William M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

All travel connections went as scheduled and the tour guide was excellent. We learned a lot, saw a lot, and had a lot of fun.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

jess Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Very long day but with doing, tour guide was incredibly knowledgeable and helpful. Good opportunity to see the island and volcanic landscape

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

BRENDA G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Auntie Sharon was fabulous, humorous and knowledgeable at the same time.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Bruce J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent experience. Learn a lot about the island, it's history, horticulture and volcanos. Our guide John was very knowledgeable and had a lot of great stories. He kept the tour moving along quite smoothly and got us to the airport on time.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Karen T

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

Tour was very good, although a little too long. Expected to see more volcanic activity. Tour very expensive for what you get. The tour guide was excellent.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Triss USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A beautiful tour with an excellent driver/tour guide.

Doing what: Maui Day Trip: Hana Adventure from Oahu

Triss USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

What we saw was nice, but I had expected more for the Garden Isle. It was a little disappointing after a beautiful, 5-star trip along the Road to Hana in Maui a couple of days earlier. However, kudos to the driver who safely managed to bring the bus to a gentle stop on the roadside after a rear tire blowout.

Doing what: Kauai Day Trip: Waimea Canyon, Wailua River from Oahu

Lea-Anne G

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

Don't expect to get close to any actual lava or volcano activity.. that is not possible.. other than that a really good day out.. well paced... the dry lava fields were amazing..

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Carmel P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

A very long day but well worth it. Our driver /guide was Jane, she was very informative,entertaining and a pleasure to spend the day with.We feel we have covered most of the Big Island in one day,especially loved staying to twilight to watch the crater change colour.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Beth C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

My sister and I booked this day trip having read Moloka'i by Alan Brennert, and falling in love with the island of Molokai and its history. After a beautiful flight from Oahu be prepared for a tiny airplane, we arrived at the Kalaupapa Airport. While there is some downtime waiting for other tour members, we just enjoyed the idyllic setting of the island and the true peace and quiet that can only come from a place like Molokai. Our tour guide, Norman, was the most authentic human being I've ever met. The tour was a little slow off the start, and I was anxious to get to more of the history and story of the island, but that came eventually. If you haven't read the aforementioned book before booking this tour, do so. You will have a greater appreciation for all that you are seeing and experiencing. I re-read the book immediately afterward and fell in love with the history all over again and especially loved having true scenery to connect to what I'd read. A very special experience!

Doing what: Kalaupapa and Molokai Day Trip from Oahu

Kim B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Captain Rob was fantastic! He was very informative and personable. He was extremely entertaining. Kept everyone's attention.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Steven P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great day of fun and adventure. Early pick and hotel, full day in the Big Island! Very informative tour! Great guide!

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message