Inter-island flights from Oahu are a great way to expand your vacation experience and see more of Hawaii. The islands offer national park beauty, volcanic landscapes and coastal vistas, and the flight times are ridiculously short - it takes just 40 ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 427 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Very fun and full day of learning about how the Hawaiian Islands were formed. Our guide Walter was wonderful.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent tour for those interested in volcanoes, it was a long day, make sure you take some food with you. The tour guide/driver was great Sharon, very informative and happy to answer questions. Great tour.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

A huge day, really enjoyed it! Sharon was our tour guide and she was full of information and lots of fun!

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Enjoyed this trip, it wasn't as full on as some of the other day trips we've done, great guide who was full of information about the Island.

Doing what: Kauai Day Trip: Waimea Canyon, Wailua River from Oahu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Tour guide was incredibly knowledgeable and friendly. The volcano was amazing! Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Loved Maui. I would stay here next time in Hawaii rather than Oahu.

Doing what: Maui Day Trip: Hana Adventure from Oahu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Another great trip through Viator! Our trip was seamless. We drove to the airport and were met by a tour guide who helped us get our boarding pass. We took a 40 min flight to the Big Island where we were met by our Driver/Guide Walter, who was one of the best guides we've ever had. He grew up on Hawai'i so he gave us a local's perspective and knowledge. He kept us on task in a non-rushed way. We saw so much more than was on our itinerary. We walked on old lava flows and a black sand beach. We saw water falls, an orchid farm, and the Mauna Loa Macademia nut farm. There were plenty of gift shops, bathroom stops, and picture taking stops. We stopped at a restauant for optional lunch purchase, which was not made clear in the itinerary. We brought sandwiches but had them for dinner instead as food at the airport on the return trip was limited. Volcanoes National park is awesome! Overall, a fabulous trip through Viator, the local tour company and our Guide Walter, and one we highly recommend!

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Awesome tour, we would love to have a closer view of the crater but we understand that is a matter of safety. Our Guide John was amazingly kind and knowledgeable. It was a long day but a pleasant experience.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

Walter, our tour guide was outstanding. I wish we were warned in advance that there were no active lava flows.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

If you are the kind of people that loves to view great landscapes through the window, do it. This is a bus tour, we only stopped for a 5-10 minutes at each view. Big stops were only for lunch at the restaurant and for an 1 hour swim at the sacred pools To get to the swimming area takes you about 10 mins each way. Overall, from 8 to 5 inside the bus with quick stops. To me it doesn't worth the effort of getting up at 4 to get picked up at the hotel at 5 to head to the airport, wait for you flight to arrive to Maui and then be on the bus for so many hours just watching and then get back to the airport and be back at your Waikiki hotel at 10 PM. May be if you are staying at Maui so you can go back to whatever you liked the most of the highlights.

Doing what: Maui Day Trip: Hana Adventure from Oahu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour. Jane was an amazing driver and tour guide. Long day but worth every minute. Perfectly organized. Would highly recommend to anyone.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Thoroughly enjoyed our adventure day. Our guide was very pleasant, humorous, and knowledgeable. Wish we had more time at the Jagger museum. Other than that the day was perfect. Good selection for the lunch meal. The food was delicious. We are 70 years old but did not find the day to be too strenuous even though we went to many sites. Would definitely go on another tour.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very well done. Could tighten up on time spent at airports waiting for other groups to join our tour.

Doing what: Kalaupapa and Molokai Day Trip from Oahu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amazing. The tour guide (Captain Rob) has a passion for the island, and it showed. The raw power and devastation of the volcano was contrasted by the beauty of the flora it brings.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour- will do it again.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Long day but fantastic! Our guide Walter was so knowledgeable and informative

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Can't rate this tour highly enough. Amazing to see something we may never see again.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was more than amazing I am so happy that I use Viator.com to help me put it together I highly recommended

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The tour was good, but things got off to a rough start with a driver that took us to the airport who seemed very unprepared for the task. Once we got to Kauai, our driver guide Kamu was exceptional. We made all our stops and the scenery was breath-taking.

Doing what: Kauai Day Trip: Waimea Canyon, Wailua River from Oahu

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The tour was good. The guide was amazing, much better than some of the other tour guides.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

From start to finish it was easy to follow. They tour guide gives you up to date information. There are moments in the tour that are spectacular!

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

We took this tour last week and are glad we got to see the Big Island. It wasn't what we imagined it to be. I was disappointed in a number of things that had nothing to do with the tour but with my own preconceived ideas: there's so much rain in this area that everything smells musty, the landscape is so barren unlike other islands, the restaurant we stopped at was horrendous and the black sand beach was nothing like I imagined. The orchid factory was nice and the flowers were absolutely beautiful. The overlook at the Jaggar Museum was very busy but once your turn at the edge came, boy was that something to see. The museum was nice and I would have liked more time there only because it was so busy. I think the lava tube was kind of a let down only because it wasn't as long as I thought it would be. Be sure to stay far away from the bathrooms at the lava tube - they were beyond disgusting. Again, this is not the tours fault. The Japanese garden was nice to walk through and I'm sure it's even more beautiful when the sun is shining. Seeing the lava fields that seem to go on forever ending in the ocean really put an eruption into perspective. Our driver/tour guide was fantastic and we learned so much during this day. The day is very long we were picked up at 5am and returned about 10pm but we were all glad we experienced this at least once.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

We saw a lot although it was a very long day. Flights were good and well organised. Would have preferrred more time in the Volcanoes National Park rather than other activities such as orchid sellers. Thurston lava tube was amazing. Be warned it was very wet and quite cold. Guide was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message