Inter-island flights from Oahu are a great way to expand your vacation experience and see more of Hawaii. The islands offer national park beauty, volcanic landscapes and coastal vistas, and the flight times are ridiculously short - it takes just 40 ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 467 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Teri M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a great day. Our drive Jane was great at pointing out all the interesting sights. The only problem was the weather which was out of everyone's control.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

William M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

All travel connections went as scheduled and the tour guide was excellent. We learned a lot, saw a lot, and had a lot of fun.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

jess Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Very long day but with doing, tour guide was incredibly knowledgeable and helpful. Good opportunity to see the island and volcanic landscape

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

BRENDA G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Auntie Sharon was fabulous, humorous and knowledgeable at the same time.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Bruce J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent experience. Learn a lot about the island, it's history, horticulture and volcanos. Our guide John was very knowledgeable and had a lot of great stories. He kept the tour moving along quite smoothly and got us to the airport on time.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Karen T

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

Tour was very good, although a little too long. Expected to see more volcanic activity. Tour very expensive for what you get. The tour guide was excellent.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Triss USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A beautiful tour with an excellent driver/tour guide.

Doing what: Maui Day Trip: Hana Adventure from Oahu

Triss USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

What we saw was nice, but I had expected more for the Garden Isle. It was a little disappointing after a beautiful, 5-star trip along the Road to Hana in Maui a couple of days earlier. However, kudos to the driver who safely managed to bring the bus to a gentle stop on the roadside after a rear tire blowout.

Doing what: Kauai Day Trip: Waimea Canyon, Wailua River from Oahu

Lea-Anne G

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

Don't expect to get close to any actual lava or volcano activity.. that is not possible.. other than that a really good day out.. well paced... the dry lava fields were amazing..

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Carmel P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

A very long day but well worth it. Our driver /guide was Jane, she was very informative,entertaining and a pleasure to spend the day with.We feel we have covered most of the Big Island in one day,especially loved staying to twilight to watch the crater change colour.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Beth C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

My sister and I booked this day trip having read Moloka'i by Alan Brennert, and falling in love with the island of Molokai and its history. After a beautiful flight from Oahu be prepared for a tiny airplane, we arrived at the Kalaupapa Airport. While there is some downtime waiting for other tour members, we just enjoyed the idyllic setting of the island and the true peace and quiet that can only come from a place like Molokai. Our tour guide, Norman, was the most authentic human being I've ever met. The tour was a little slow off the start, and I was anxious to get to more of the history and story of the island, but that came eventually. If you haven't read the aforementioned book before booking this tour, do so. You will have a greater appreciation for all that you are seeing and experiencing. I re-read the book immediately afterward and fell in love with the history all over again and especially loved having true scenery to connect to what I'd read. A very special experience!

Doing what: Kalaupapa and Molokai Day Trip from Oahu

Kim B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Captain Rob was fantastic! He was very informative and personable. He was extremely entertaining. Kept everyone's attention.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Steven P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great day of fun and adventure. Early pick and hotel, full day in the Big Island! Very informative tour! Great guide!

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Waltraud M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Simply great - very impressive - super organized - worth the money

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Jean Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Fantastic. Transportation impeccable from our hotel to the big island and back to our hotel.
Great tour including full of happy surprises. The tour guide/driver Sharon was great and very informative.
We highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Larry E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Our guide Walter was amazing. He has unbelievable knowledge about the Volcano National Park and had the ability to share his information in a very easy to understand and interesting way. The entire day was very enjoyable and I highly recommend this day long trip.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Divya M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

I would recommend this tour for everyone though the day went slightly slow for us, we still loved the experience.
When the day started off, they picked us up almost 45 minutes late, and hence we were slightly disappointed. But as the day went along it became better. We went to a black sand beach, saw an active volcano, the whole day was full of activities. We loved it.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Rodney C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

I love it. The hike was great and what can I say about the volcano. It was a must see

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Sarah S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

I highly recommend this tour! Our guide Walter was a local who knew everything about the island and had a true passion to share history and sightseeing opportunities. He has made many visits to the volcano park in his life so he was able to tell us about lava activities and timelines. Great tour!

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Stephen J L Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

We totally enjoyed the trip. Be prepared for a very early start but it was great to be picked up from our condo at Waikiki Banyan at 4.30am and taken to the airport, where we met a another guide to received our flight details. We had time for a quick breakfast after going through security so don't forget passports and/or Id. At the Big Island we met our guide and driver for the day. Tommy gave us great information flavoured with humor and some local community information to make our day enjoyable. Tommy described what we would see at each stop and made sure everyone knew how to appreciate and understand the enviroment, or the production process and history to produce the products we were about to sample. The number of stops were ok but I personally would have liked one on local art/crafts but really we were interested in the volcanic park so we both felt the tour met our main objective for the trip. It was a big day for us and all was going well untill we arrived at Honolulu Airport. Well when we met the transfer resentative she was confussed about our arrival time and indicated we were very late but in fact we came straight from the plane to meet her. The transfer driver was unimpressed that he would have to go out of his way to drop us off at our condo and instead dropped us off at a nearby corner. This was not appreciated but we really had no choice but to leave the shuttle, this was disappointing and discourteous after being up from 3.30am and very tired after a 17.5 hour day. One has to ask who would have taken responsibility if we had had an accident whilst walking from the corner to our accommodation. Perhaps the company used needs to make sure their staff are well informed and follow procedure in a courteous and considerate way.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Grand Circle Island from Oahu

Martin J T

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

Great trip but you will be hungry. You get up to catch the bus to the airport at 5am and there are no restaurants open and you return around 10pm and again there are no restaurants open at the airport in Hilo or when you get back to Oahu unless you want bar food. Very poor tour planning for the price you pay to not include these meals as well as the lunch option.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Madeleine J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was a fantastic tour that ran smoothly from the pick up my hotel the flight to Hilo the marvelous tour with our leader Leroy, who was very knowledgeable and interesting, to seeing the Volcano and the return trip.
A day to remember.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Michelle B

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

This is an interesting day. Our driver/guide, Sharon, was very informative and a lot of fun. We had plenty of time at each stop and never felt rushed, especially at the Volcano. But don't expect to see lava flowing! We did however stop at some old flow sites and even walked on it, which was pretty cool. It is a good way to see some of the Big Island, and see that it is quite different to some of the other islands. But it is only a taste! The tour was well organised right from the pick up and flights, but it is a long day. I really enjoyed it

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

dykebrad

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

The tour was good. It was mostly rainy and overcast so difficult to see the steam vents and the caldera.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message