Inter-island flights from Oahu are a great way to expand your vacation experience and see more of Hawaii. The islands offer national park beauty, volcanic landscapes and coastal vistas, and the flight times are ridiculously short - it takes just 40 ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 354 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Captain Rob showed us so many things on this tour and was very knowledgeable about volcanoes and The Big Island. The tour was very well paced and managed to fit in a great diversity of places of interest. I'd also like to say how very grateful I am that the tour operator was willing to change our tour dates when our whole Hawaiian trip was rescheduled due to the hurricanes. We are extremely appreciative of the flexibility shown to us and the efficiency of the good people at Viator for sorting things out for us.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Simply amazing tour and guide. Sharon was fun and knowledgeable. Bus a/c died part of the day but windows down mode worked fine. Won't see spewing lava as sort of implied but lots of older lava flows and the crater. Left with 20 lbs of macadamia nuts i think! Great day trip.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

I really enjoyed this tour, and especially thought the tour guide, Capt. Rob, did an amazing job. It was a bit of a bummer that you don't actually see lava, but I knew that going into the tour. My only complaint from the day was at the very end of the tour. When we flew back to Oahu we had to sit and wait at the airport for a different tour group to get back before our bus would take us back to the hotel. We ended up sitting and waiting on a bus for about 45 minutes. Overall though, the tour was fun and informative.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

The morning part of the tour was slow and a little boring. Once we got to the volcano area it was very interesting. It would have been nice to have spent more time there and maybe have started our day a little later and even finished earlier. The mountain bit was great, the guide was good. A good quality picnic lunch may work well.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

This was a great trip! Well worth the early flight. Our driver, Leroy, was knowledgable and funny and knew the answer to every question. We had plenty of opportunities to eat, take pictures and bathroom breaks. I highly recommend doing this rather than trying to organize it yourself .

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Very good tour with a great guide , unfortunately we did not see lava flowing

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Overall, this was a fabulous day. Upon arrival in Hilo, it started a little slowly, with sights and locations en route to the Volcano National Park. But overall it was a fascinating and really enjoyable tour. Well worth the long day.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The waterfall is a real let down after the excitement of flying over the volcano and seeing the flowing lava. The helicopter ride was cool and worth doing overall.

Doing what: Maui Day Trip: Haleakala, Iao Valley, Old Lahaina from Oahu

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

Tour was fair to OK, but padded out with frequent stoppages to fill in the day. Half hour stops at gardens and black sands/canoes are a waist of time. Just filling in the morning. Orchid displays and macadamia nut farm were ok, but could be classed as time fillers also. Time was also waisted at cemeteries, to help fill in the morning and time allocated at these morning stops was not enforced by tour guide. e.g. the 30 minutes allowed often expanded to 45 minutes and guide was not worried by this extended time. This only indicated that he was filling in time. Waited all day to see larva flow, larva tube and volcano, which was very good. Tour promotion is over rated and not good value for money. Shot gun approach to seat allocation on plane was another minus for the tour. Could not recommend tour at its current price and time wasting format. Day on island could be shorter, just concentrate on main features. I.E. Volcano, larva flow, larva tube, and Rainbow falls. The day is very long, pick up at 5am, return home at 9:30pm. So consider this before booking

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

False advertising at its greatest. The Lava hasn't flowed for 2 years. How can they justify advertising this when it it only possible to see some smoke ( not even a peak of red ) from 3 miles away. I was very disappointed as i paid for 6 members of my family to have an adventure. Shame shame

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

carolmiller
United Kingdom

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2014

Oh dear, this trip was one of the longest trips ever and rather tideous at times !!
We had our departure time changed from 7.30 am to 5.30am !! Not really what you want on your holidays!
We then had 4 hours of going too the Macademia Nut company and the orchid nursery ,we didn't see any volcanic scenery till after 1pm !!
The scenery was stunning but unfortunately the weather had turned and we were all losing the will listening to our guide Cousin Lauren who droned on about anything !!
We didn't see any lava flows although apparently there were some but not safe to see them which when you think about it,it was always going to be the case really .
The black beach was very disappointing and if you have visited the Canary Islands youu will be disappointed .
We wished we had taken a helicopter tour of Big Island as you would see more.
We didn't get back till 9.30 pm , it was a very long day indeed .We would not recommend this trip.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a fun, stress free trip. The tour guide was funny, and very informative. We would defiantly go again!
It was very neat to see a different island, and learn about the Big Island of Hawaii.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

It was an outstanding trip. A perfect way to see Kauai. We will go back to Kauai and stay longer next time. The Island was beautiful! I highly recommend the tour.

Doing what: Kauai Day Trip: Waimea Canyon, Wailua River from Oahu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The trip to the Big Island with Granddaughters was very nice. I was there several years ago but saw different things on this trip. Our trip guide JANE was very good and answered any questions we had.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

pretesh patel
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Fantastic tour outside Oahu giving a different perspective of Hawaii in this area of Hilo on the big island. Our tour guide Laura who was very passionate and knowledgeable on the tour made it a worthwhile day out.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message