From the pulsing shores of Waikiki Beach to the hopping markets of Chinatown, the island of Oahu buzzes with activity during every season of the year. While all of the adventure can definitely be exciting, it can also get a little overwhelming being ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 22 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

It's been a month since we had the experience of a lifetime and we're STILL smiling!!!
I would do this again in a heartbeat!!! We arrived to our dive location after a short trip from the dock and right away there were sea turtles floating on the top of the water and you could see a dozen more below the boat. I really enjoyed the snorkeling prior to our turn on the scooters and took some good pics with my underwater camera.
The crew was great and so very helpful the entire time. For the Japanese visitors there was an interpreter for them. Crew provided some much needed water and bags of tasty chips.
My travel partner doesn't do small spaces well and did GREAT in the bell type helmet on the scooter. She was worried about the small space prior, but after getting settled in and going she said there was plenty of space and no worries!
There is ALWAYS a dive with each scooter and they check with you to make sure you're doing okay and let you do your thing! During your personal experience they'll snap some high quality photos and videos of you and those in your party and show them to you after to see if you want to purchase them. The cost isn't outrageous and email them to you within 24 hours!!!
Again.....we would do this again in a heartbeat!!!!

Doing what: Oahu Submarine Scooter Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Absolutely wonderful! The crew was kind and funny, there were underwater cameras available for purchase so we didn't have to worry about our go pro becoming a sunken treasure. We even got to see 7 sharks around us at on point! I only want to warn those of you with sea sickness to take your meds because it's a 15 minute ride to the point and can get really rocky. All in all, I'd definitely go again!

Doing what: Oahu Shark Dive

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Very good trip. Were able to see plenty of sharks. Several whales too (end of FEB). We could actually hear the whales when underwater!

Doing what: Oahu Shark Dive

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

My wife booked this adventure for us even though I was a little hesitant (non-swimmer here). Our adventure was scheduled for 12:00pm. We took a bus from Waikiki but were a little late, and discovered the boat had already left! Fortunately, the owner offered to take us out to meet the boat in his jet-boat, which was pretty awesome! We even stopped to see a whole bunch of dolphins along the way, and was an extra bonus to the adventure. Really appreciate the ride, thanks!

For others travelling from Waikiki by bus, I'd suggest aiming to get there an hour early. Bus 22 goes straight from central Waikiki to where you need to go, but it can be very packed to the point where it won't pick up additional passengers (so suggest intercepting it at an earlier stop towards the Hilton Village before it passes through the whole city towards the zoo). Also it only runs every 30 to 40 minutes, so if you miss it, be prepared for a plan-B.

Anyhow, once we got onto the main boat, we borrowed some wet-suits and prepared for our scooter ride! I was a little nervous, but everyone on the crew, from the captain to the divers, were super nice and supportive. You just go down the ladder on the side of the boat, grab on to the scooter (a diver is there to guide you), duck your head underwater to get it into the scooter bubble and you're done. The rest is just hanging on and enjoying the scenery.

There's a bit of pressure going down, and coming back up, so you'll need to hold your nose and swallow (divers will instruct you), but if you have some kind of inner-ear problem that could be affected by this, its something to consider (the sensation is much stronger than going on a flight or a very tall elevator).

The underwater adventure itself was fairly unique and memorable, especially for a non-swimmer! $100 is a fair bit of money, but it was definitely by far the most memorable part of the trip, and would do again 10x over! Thanks again to everyone involved for a great time!

Doing what: Oahu Submarine Scooter Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We had an incredible time on the Oahu Submarine Scooter Adventure. Our trip to Honolulu occurred on Dec 20-27 and this was our sixth trip to Hawaii in the last seven years. We ve done it all, whether its a Segway tour, parasailing, horseback riding, spearfishing, etc, we've pretty much done it all......that is until we tried the Scooter Adventure. My wife was a bit sceptical as she is a non swimmer, but after some coaxing, she did it and she had a blast. We all said that this was probably the highlight of our trip and let me tell you what separates this excursion from all others....ITS THE STAFF on board the boat that makes it all the worthwhile. Captain Chaz is not only helpful in so many ways, he is fun and makes the boat ride enjoyable. The guides in the water and the photographer are very professional . The owner of the operation(sorry, forgot his name) was even on board to explain the adventure and he even went to his house to pick up a T-shirt for me when they didn't have my size. We ordered the picture and video package and we are so thankful we did, because it was so amazing to be down there with the fish . I have to say that initially, my wife chickened out, as there is a two second moment when you have to put your head underwater to get into the helmet, but after Captain Chaz explained it and showed her again, she was fine. The crew aboard was so helpful and they are fully aware that there are kids and nonswimmers aboard and they do everything in their power to accommodate everyone. The departure is just behind a strip plaza and we finished off with a plate lunch that had incredible garlic shrimp.
If I had to rate this adventure out of ten, I d give it solid ten. I cant really find any flaws with it and it was so much fun. They know exactly how to run a professional business and I even saw them clean each helmet after each person was finished. Great job , guys...Looking forward to doing it again at our next visit.
Signed,
Monty from Canada

Doing what: Oahu Submarine Scooter Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our trip on the Submarine Scooter Adventure was awesome! The staff of Island Water Sports assured our safety and confidence. They were professional and friendly. The scooters allowed us to be submerged and in control while we explored the designated area. The staff assured we didn't drift away. They also took underwater photos and video which we bought for a very reasonable fee. The best part was the up close encounter we had with fish and turtles swimming along with us. Absolutely outstanding experience! If we have the opportunity, we would do this again.

Doing what: Oahu Submarine Scooter Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Fantastic fun. If your staying in Waikiki take the number 23 bus to Hawaii Kai will take about 40 minutes cost $2.50. We were greeted on arrival by all. Short boat ride out to site where the support boat was waiting for us. The divers explained the process of getting into the subs and assisted us with it. The scooters where easy to navigate, the fish where everywhere. The water was so clear, we even saw a turtle. There was a group of four of us underwater on the scooters and there were four divers underwater to assist us which was really good. When your dive has finished you can jump off the boat and snorkel around the reef all equipment is supplied.
Definitely take sea sick tablets. Only negative of the trip was no toilet on the boat.

Doing what: Oahu Submarine Scooter Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

My favourite tour item! Had a great undersea experience with very capable operators. Loved every minute underwater, the commentator was both funny and extremely knowledgeable. Felt very safe and completely engaged the whole time. Saw lots of fish and a few huge turtles as well. Not to be missed!

Doing what: Oahu Atlantis Submarine Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This was an epic way to end my trip! Friendly staff and the dive itself was surreal! I'm glad I did this trip and it is definitely a must if you go to Hawaii! I didn't buy an underwater camera and glad I didn't because I bought the video.

Doing what: Oahu Shark Dive

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

It was fantastic. We saw whales, a pie fish and sea birds... all before we saw the sharks! We were allowed to take underwater cameras in the cage with us and there were about 30 sharks circling the cage. We were in there about 25-30minutes and it was thrilling fun! At no point did we feel we were in danger or at risk (they are bottum feeding sharks so wouldn't go for humans anyway) and it was by far one of the highlights of our trip to Hawaii.

Doing what: Oahu Shark Dive

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

This experience was awesome. My wife can't swim and I was worried about it. The divers did a great job making everyone feel safe. My wife had the best time in her life and that's what makes my experience even better. Everyone saw the pics and the underwater video, and they are amazed at the experience we had underwater. I think everybody we know wants to experience it. Ready to go again.

Doing what: Oahu Submarine Scooter Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

This excursion was truely remarkable! We could see everything underwater - even without my glasses - as the bubble magnified everything. It was amazing to be in and amoung the fish and sea turtles. It was also very safe - with rescue swimmers very close so I never felt afraid or out of my comfort zone. Not only would I highly recommend this tour - I WILL be going on it next time!

Doing what: Oahu Submarine Scooter Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

WOW, Great experience. The Family absolutely loved it. Staff were great, informative, entertaining, and unobtrusive while underwater. We took soooo many pictures and also purchased the pictures and videos takes by the guides. We have been raving about the experience to Family and friends. Fantastic!

Doing what: Oahu Submarine Scooter Adventure

JandP
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

Even though the weather was rough, the water was choppy. It was so serene underwater. I was scared to do this, the sharks are large, but they were not interested in us, they just swim by the cage, close encounters which is great for picture opportunities. Well worth doing. I loved it.

Doing what: Oahu Shark Dive

Lee M
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Highly recommend, was a great experience. Would suggest taking an underwater camera or you can purchase on board. Lots of sharks and 20 minutes was a perfect amount of time. The captains were very good and helpful and experienced. Transfers to get there were pricy but unless you want to hire a car it's really the only option.

Doing what: Oahu Shark Dive

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message