Akaroa Cruise Port Akaroa is a historic French and British settlement not far from Christchurch on New Zealand’s South Island. Set on a long harbor and surrounded by volcanic hills, Akaroa’s French influence is still evident today. With a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 14 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our guide Antonio was fantastic! His knowledge of the history of Monte Alban was amazing and he was very personable. His English was clear and concise, we had absolutely no problems understanding him. He catered to the group and answered many questions. I would recommend this tour and would even take it myself again the next time we arrive in the beautiful city of Oaxaca

Doing what: Monte Alban Day Trip from Oaxaca

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

It was a pleasure to see our driver waiting for us after a long night of traveling. He was very friendly and gave us lots of info during our drive to the hotel. As first time visitors to Oaxaca this was very much appreciated.

Doing what: Shared Arrival Transfer: Oaxaca Airport to Hotels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The tour was amazing!
Gabriel, the tour guide, was extremely patient and took his time to answer questions, allow picture taking and wait for people who were lagging a bit behind. Though I believe the afternoon portion of the trip took longer than he was scheduled to work, he never made us feel rushed or as though we should not satisfy our curiosity. Though I had been to the archaeological ruins before, it was still fascinating as well as a wonderful introductory experience for my companion.
The tour company in Oaxaca was amazing!

Doing what: Mitla and Monte Alban Combo Tour from Oaxaca

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We took 3 tours while in Oaxaca and this one was our favorite!
The artisans were very generous about their time and explained everything in detail. Our tour guide (Moises) was funny but very informative. It is absolutely a "shopping" tour as compared to the other tours we took, but as it was the last one after a long week of visiting "sights", it was the perfect light-hearted day with which to end the week.

Doing what: Oaxaca Day Trip: San Bartolo Coyotepec, Santo Tomás Jalieza and Ocotlán de Morelos

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Great guide and wonderful way to explore around Oaxaca!

Doing what: Monte Alban, Arrazola, Coyotepec and Cuilapam Full-Day Tour from Oaxaca

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

I was delighted with this tour and with our guide - I am an Anthropology sudent and have studied some Meso - American cultures, but my partner is not so inclined. This trip was so well presented that both of us mainatained a high level of interest and enjoyment. We had been to the Santo Domingo Cultural Museum, the prior evening, which contains the treaures from the Monte Alban dig and this really rounded out the "Zapotec Experience" in Oaxaca. Sorry I didn't have time to do Mitla, but I'll be back for another tour. Five stars.

Doing what: Monte Alban Day Trip from Oaxaca

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

If you are in Oaxaca you undoubtedly need to take this trip. My boyfriend and I went on this excursion and we were accompanied by two other parties and an English speaking tour guide who was knowledgable and friendly. I recommend you wearing lots of sun screen because the only shade is in the van! Have fun!

Doing what: Mitla and Monte Alban Combo Tour from Oaxaca

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great cooking class! Oaxaca is known throughout Mexico (and the world!) as a culinary destination and this class is a great introduction to Oaxaca's food. Oscar is an amazing chef and guide and helps where necessary. The cool part about this cooking class and what sets it apart from others is that the menu for the day is entirely up to the group. Oscar will give his recommendations, but if you want to make something specific, you can! And since Oscar is so talented, he'll know exactly what ingredients to buy and the best way to make it! Great fun and would do it again in a heartbeat.

Doing what: Oaxaca Cooking Class

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Great overview of Oaxaca and you really can't beat the price! The guide's English was perfect and we walked around town talking about all things Mexico and Oaxaca related. From the Zocalo and it's impressive cathedral to the markets and the Oaxaca Regional Museum, this tour should not be missed!

Doing what: Oaxaca City Sightseeing Tour: Temple of Santo Domingo de Guzman, Oaxaca Regional Museum and Benito Juarez Market

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Great tour from start to finish! The operation was flawless from start to finish. Our guide was knowledgeable about the history of the Zapotec civilization and Monte Alban itself. It's just a short drive away from Oaxaca, which makes it a perfect short tour!

Doing what: Monte Alban Day Trip from Oaxaca

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Excellent driver who gave us great information on things to experience in Oaxaca. He was there to greet us at the airport in a nice vehicle and the ride was enjoyable.

Doing what: Shared Arrival Transfer: Oaxaca Airport to Hotels

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

The highlight of this tour was visiting the artisans and having a demonstration by them of the heritage techniques they use to produce their products. The black pottery and rugs made with natural dyes were particularly fascinating. Take some cash with you because there are some beautiful items which you will not see in places like Oaxaca or any where else and they are extremely reasonable priced.

Doing what: Oaxaca Day Trip: San Bartolo Coyotepec, Santo Tomás Jalieza and Ocotlán de Morelos

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

The tour started very well. Our tour guide Moses spoke good English and was very helpful and informative. We went first to Mitla, which was really interesting, helped by the information Moses contributed. Then we went to the Tule tree, which we hadn't expected, and it is really huge. The final part of the trip, visiting Monte Alban, was unfortunately not as successful as it might have been. The plan had been to go back back into Oaxaca to pick up some other people and drop others off but because there had been a strike and the roads were blocked we were very delayed. The trip to Monte Alban went ahead - we could have gone the following day but we weren't aware that the site closed at 5 p.m. This meant that we did not have sufficient time at the site to explore or to see the museum which was there too. We were disappointed about this as Monte Alban is really fascinating place to visit and we would have been better advised to put our visit off to the following day. For this reason, we have given 3 stars.

Doing what: Mitla and Monte Alban Combo Tour from Oaxaca

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

My rating is two stars. The visit to the wood carvers was a tourist trap--too much time for not much to do or see. There was a guy sitting there with a machette pretending to carve a piece. The lunch was beyond terrible. It was buffet style and flies were everywhere. There were women standing over the food to push the flies away! We had no choice but to pay around $15 / person and could eat nothing but the soups or rice which was covered. A real disappointment given all the amazing food we had in Oaxaca. The visit to the potters was nice as we watched a demonstration. And the monastery was worth it too. Monte Alban is certainly worth a visit and a little more time would allow us to see the museum as well as climb to the top to see the whole area.

Doing what: Monte Alban, Arrazola, Coyotepec and Cuilapam Full-Day Tour from Oaxaca

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message