Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

A relatively small Mixtec/Zapotec ruin, Mitla is notable for the detailed and well-preserved geometric stonework that decorates the buildings. The setting is pretty, with a cactus garden and shaded benches. From the ruins you can see the domed ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 8 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

David L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We never take tours while traveling we just do the research ourselves and wing it, but because Mitla and Monte Alban were over an hour from our hotel, we decided it would just be easier to let someone else do the driving. What we gained from the tour extended so far beyond the convenience factor--we had so much fun, took beautiful pictures, and loved the conversations with our tour guide. We look back at our trip and consider this tour a real cultural highlight. It was a truly great experience and I definitely recommend it for singles, couples, and groups.

Doing what: Mitla and Monte Alban Combo Tour from Oaxaca

Jamie Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was a highlight of our trip to Oaxaca. In the description they don't mention you also go to see the Tule (widest tree in the world) and a textile maker. Oaxaca is famous for its textiles, so it was truly a pleasure to stop and see what they are all about. We loved Monte Alban. The views are incredible. Our guide took us right up to the entrance gates after passing many people hiking up the hill toward the entrance. Mitla was also fantastic. Try the ice cream outside of the gates.

Doing what: Mitla and Monte Alban Combo Tour from Oaxaca

SYLVIA F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

I was delighted with this tour and with our guide - I am an Anthropology sudent and have studied some Meso - American cultures, but my partner is not so inclined. This trip was so well presented that both of us mainatained a high level of interest and enjoyment. We had been to the Santo Domingo Cultural Museum, the prior evening, which contains the treaures from the Monte Alban dig and this really rounded out the "Zapotec Experience" in Oaxaca. Sorry I didn't have time to do Mitla, but I'll be back for another tour. Five stars.

Doing what: Monte Alban Day Trip from Oaxaca

Helen B

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Great trip although a bit hurried at times. Needed more time at the Misol Ha waterfall. This could have been managed by shorter time at Mitla ruins.
Initial organisation into minibus seemed a little haphazard but overall, an excellent trip

Doing what: Day Trip to Mitla, Tule, Matlatan and the Teotitlan Valley from Oaxaca

Rhian N

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

Our tour guide Antonio was good with loads of information in Spanish in English and happy to answer questions but be aware that you return to Oaxaca after the Mitla part to pick up people for the afternoon part of the tour. For us this meant we had a brief half hour to grab something to eat before heading off at 3pm to Monte Alban. It takes around 30 mins to get there and so by the time people in our group had bought tickets for those who didn't have them included in the price it was 3.45pm. Our guided tour lasted an hour and at 4.45pm the guards started blowing whistles and closing off areas to get people out of the site which shut at 5pm. We ran up to the top of the site to try and get some photos and were chased by security guards. It's a shame we couldn't have started half an hour earlier and been told to bring lunch so we would have had some time to wander, enjoy the setting and get some good photos as it's a beautiful place which deserves more than a quick hour to run around. We also didn't have time to even look in the museum.

Doing what: Mitla and Monte Alban Combo Tour from Oaxaca

Holly W

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

The stops were all very interesting and it was timed well. The only issue that we encountered was the combination of a Spanish and English speaking tour where we were the only English speakers. They split us into two different suburbans and ours did not have an English speaking driver. He pointed out several sights to view from the car and we still have no idea what they are. The tour guide had to alternate between Spanish and English regularly, and I speak enough to know that he did not fully translate everything. Overall the tour was nice and once we got to Mitla the tour guide did a much better job of conveying the information into both languages, but I felt there was false advertising as we paid for an English tour and didn't fully get one.

Doing what: Day Trip to Mitla, Tule, Matlatan and the Teotitlan Valley from Oaxaca

Sally R

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

The tour started very well. Our tour guide Moses spoke good English and was very helpful and informative. We went first to Mitla, which was really interesting, helped by the information Moses contributed. Then we went to the Tule tree, which we hadn't expected, and it is really huge. The final part of the trip, visiting Monte Alban, was unfortunately not as successful as it might have been. The plan had been to go back back into Oaxaca to pick up some other people and drop others off but because there had been a strike and the roads were blocked we were very delayed. The trip to Monte Alban went ahead - we could have gone the following day but we weren't aware that the site closed at 5 p.m. This meant that we did not have sufficient time at the site to explore or to see the museum which was there too. We were disappointed about this as Monte Alban is really fascinating place to visit and we would have been better advised to put our visit off to the following day. For this reason, we have given 3 stars.

Doing what: Mitla and Monte Alban Combo Tour from Oaxaca

erinburns

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2015

This tour was not fully described. It included a brief stop at a 2,000-year old tree and a longer stop at a rug manufacturer, which was interesting, but also included some time at the showroom for shopping. The most misleading part of the tour is that it turned out to be two separate tours. After Mitla, where we had about an hour max, we went bacj into Oaxaca in heavy traffic to drop off some people an pick up others. By the time we got to beautiful Monte Alban, we only had one hour to explore. Out guide fir the day was not very informative.

Doing what: Mitla and Monte Alban Combo Tour from Oaxaca

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message