Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

A Zapotec ceremonial center, Monte Albán crouches on a leveled mountain top. For a thousand years, the rulers of the city extracted wealth from the plains below. Today, the ruins offer panoramic views of the modern city of Oaxaca sprawling ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 14 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

David L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We never take tours while traveling we just do the research ourselves and wing it, but because Mitla and Monte Alban were over an hour from our hotel, we decided it would just be easier to let someone else do the driving. What we gained from the tour extended so far beyond the convenience factor--we had so much fun, took beautiful pictures, and loved the conversations with our tour guide. We look back at our trip and consider this tour a real cultural highlight. It was a truly great experience and I definitely recommend it for singles, couples, and groups.

Doing what: Mitla and Monte Alban Combo Tour from Oaxaca

Jamie Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was a highlight of our trip to Oaxaca. In the description they don't mention you also go to see the Tule (widest tree in the world) and a textile maker. Oaxaca is famous for its textiles, so it was truly a pleasure to stop and see what they are all about. We loved Monte Alban. The views are incredible. Our guide took us right up to the entrance gates after passing many people hiking up the hill toward the entrance. Mitla was also fantastic. Try the ice cream outside of the gates.

Doing what: Mitla and Monte Alban Combo Tour from Oaxaca

Dayle M Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our guide Antonio was fantastic! His knowledge of the history of Monte Alban was amazing and he was very personable. His English was clear and concise, we had absolutely no problems understanding him. He catered to the group and answered many questions. I would recommend this tour and would even take it myself again the next time we arrive in the beautiful city of Oaxaca

Doing what: Monte Alban Day Trip from Oaxaca

SYLVIA F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

I was delighted with this tour and with our guide - I am an Anthropology sudent and have studied some Meso - American cultures, but my partner is not so inclined. This trip was so well presented that both of us mainatained a high level of interest and enjoyment. We had been to the Santo Domingo Cultural Museum, the prior evening, which contains the treaures from the Monte Alban dig and this really rounded out the "Zapotec Experience" in Oaxaca. Sorry I didn't have time to do Mitla, but I'll be back for another tour. Five stars.

Doing what: Monte Alban Day Trip from Oaxaca

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Very much enjoyed this tour. I learnt so much about the archeological site of Monte Alban and it's worth every penny. Thanks!

Doing what: Monte Alban Day Trip from Oaxaca

Bandit USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Great tour from start to finish! The operation was flawless from start to finish. Our guide was knowledgeable about the history of the Zapotec civilization and Monte Alban itself. It's just a short drive away from Oaxaca, which makes it a perfect short tour!

Doing what: Monte Alban Day Trip from Oaxaca

Elaine A

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing. David was great and very informative. Definitely recommend food was delicious and Monte alban is beautifullll.

Doing what: Monte Alban, Arrazola, Coyotepec and Cuilapam Full-Day Tour from Oaxaca

Christopher A

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

We really enjoyed this tour and our guide/driver was courteous, informative, and spoke excellent English. The only thing that keeps me from giving it five stars is that we were only allowed 45 minutes of free time at Monte Alban, which is not nearly enough to explore the sight. If the tour could be adjusted to allow at least an hour and a half, it would be perfect. Despite that criticism I would still recommend this tour to others. It's particularly good for people whose time in Oaxaca is limited and who want to see as much as possible in a short amount of time.

Doing what: Monte Alban, Arrazola, Coyotepec and Cuilapam Full-Day Tour from Oaxaca

Andrea D

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

My husband and I were very pleased with this tour. We were picked up at our hotel in a very clean, air-conditioned bus with a very friendly driver. Our tour to Monte Alban was with only 1 other couple. Moses, our guide, spoke very good English and was extremely friendly and attentive. At the site, we were the only 2 on the English-speaking tour so we got our own guide. Moses spent a lot of time explaining not only the archeological history but the use of plants and other resources as well. We found this quite interesting. We had the last hour to roam the site, visit the museum, or shop the gift shop. Perfect 1/2 day trip! Glad we read the other reviews that recommended hats, sunscreen and water too. Quite useful.

Doing what: Monte Alban Day Trip from Oaxaca

Rhian N

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

Our tour guide Antonio was good with loads of information in Spanish in English and happy to answer questions but be aware that you return to Oaxaca after the Mitla part to pick up people for the afternoon part of the tour. For us this meant we had a brief half hour to grab something to eat before heading off at 3pm to Monte Alban. It takes around 30 mins to get there and so by the time people in our group had bought tickets for those who didn't have them included in the price it was 3.45pm. Our guided tour lasted an hour and at 4.45pm the guards started blowing whistles and closing off areas to get people out of the site which shut at 5pm. We ran up to the top of the site to try and get some photos and were chased by security guards. It's a shame we couldn't have started half an hour earlier and been told to bring lunch so we would have had some time to wander, enjoy the setting and get some good photos as it's a beautiful place which deserves more than a quick hour to run around. We also didn't have time to even look in the museum.

Doing what: Mitla and Monte Alban Combo Tour from Oaxaca

Sally R

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

The tour started very well. Our tour guide Moses spoke good English and was very helpful and informative. We went first to Mitla, which was really interesting, helped by the information Moses contributed. Then we went to the Tule tree, which we hadn't expected, and it is really huge. The final part of the trip, visiting Monte Alban, was unfortunately not as successful as it might have been. The plan had been to go back back into Oaxaca to pick up some other people and drop others off but because there had been a strike and the roads were blocked we were very delayed. The trip to Monte Alban went ahead - we could have gone the following day but we weren't aware that the site closed at 5 p.m. This meant that we did not have sufficient time at the site to explore or to see the museum which was there too. We were disappointed about this as Monte Alban is really fascinating place to visit and we would have been better advised to put our visit off to the following day. For this reason, we have given 3 stars.

Doing what: Mitla and Monte Alban Combo Tour from Oaxaca

GEOFF F

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2016

Our tour guide was David and my wife and I were the only participants of this tour to see Monte Alban and Mitla. We were disappointed with the tour as David only shared sparce information about the history and culture. He did not seem enthusiastic about showing us the archeological sites. He concentrated mostly on the Zapotec but avoided the Aztec, Mayan and Spanish influences, and he was impatient with us asking questions, but we got to see the very impressive sights. When we asked a question, he usually began with, I just told you that already. He didnt take us to all of the important sights in Monte Alban and we did not get to see the museum. We asked him about a section of Monte Alban as we were leaving so he left us with 45 mins of free time and we quickly scoured the area to see what we had missed. We expected a highly knowledgable guide for this expensive tour. He did not seemed prepared and only seemed interested in giving us very general and minimal information. We knew enough about the history to know that he shared incorrect information at times.

Doing what: Mitla and Monte Alban Combo Tour from Oaxaca

Tasoulla H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

My rating is two stars. The visit to the wood carvers was a tourist trap--too much time for not much to do or see. There was a guy sitting there with a machette pretending to carve a piece. The lunch was beyond terrible. It was buffet style and flies were everywhere. There were women standing over the food to push the flies away! We had no choice but to pay around $15 / person and could eat nothing but the soups or rice which was covered. A real disappointment given all the amazing food we had in Oaxaca. The visit to the potters was nice as we watched a demonstration. And the monastery was worth it too. Monte Alban is certainly worth a visit and a little more time would allow us to see the museum as well as climb to the top to see the whole area.

Doing what: Monte Alban, Arrazola, Coyotepec and Cuilapam Full-Day Tour from Oaxaca

erinburns

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2015

This tour was not fully described. It included a brief stop at a 2,000-year old tree and a longer stop at a rug manufacturer, which was interesting, but also included some time at the showroom for shopping. The most misleading part of the tour is that it turned out to be two separate tours. After Mitla, where we had about an hour max, we went bacj into Oaxaca in heavy traffic to drop off some people an pick up others. By the time we got to beautiful Monte Alban, we only had one hour to explore. Out guide fir the day was not very informative.

Doing what: Mitla and Monte Alban Combo Tour from Oaxaca

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message