Oman ATTRACTIONS See all

Hajar Mountains

The Hajar Mountains abound in natural wonders as well as some of Oman’s most important and fascinating historical sites. Its arid expanses are periodically punctuated by green oases which loom mirage-like before your eyes. The remarkable town ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 9 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

Munir was our very nice and informative tour guide. The sights were great.

Doing what: Private 4x4 Safari - The Mountain of the Sun

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

We had a friendly and very knowledgeable guide (the most knowledgeable of any tour we took in Muscat) who spoke great english and the 4WD was very comfortable. We had problems as the guides let you explore by yourself and my husband managed to get very lost for 1 and half hours without water in the midday sun. Not the guides fault but maybe a map could be provided so something this serious (in the full sun without water) does not happen again. Not sure the price warrants the tour as although it was a long way from Muscat, there was limited photo opportunities and in reality not a lot to see. The lunch provided was a bit disappointing too and I left most of mine.

Doing what: Private 4x4 Safari - The Green Mountain

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2013

If you are happy to spend 6 out of 9 hours in a 4wd mainly on high speed roads then this is your trip. We found it disappointing and boring Our driver was great and flexible when we requested a change to the itinerary and it did improve. The Wadi drive was beautiful. Pack lunches are appalling.

Doing what: Private 4x4 Safari - The Mountain of the Sun

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

We had a very interesting and informative day touring the mountainous region of Oman. Our tour guide and driver for the day, Rasheed was excellent and extremely courteous. A great day.

Doing what: Private Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2012

Poor from start to finish. Driver late picking up from hotel, driving like maniac to fort. Dunes really not worth the 2 hour drive, as when you get to summit it feels like you're on a rubbish tip. Whilst on the summit the driver told us that the drive to the `red dunes' is much more worthwhile. Not even worth one star but couldn't complete survey without giving it a rating!! Very disappointing.

Doing what: Private Tour: 4x4 Desert Adventure Safari from Muscat

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

This is the third time I've done the tour and I can;t recommend it highly enough to anyone who wants the real Oman experience.

Doing what: Private Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2010

This trip would be better later in the year when the roses were out.

Doing what: Private 4x4 Safari - The Green Mountain

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2008

Our stay in Muscat was short, so we opted for a day trip, the private 4x4 Mountain of the Sun tour. This took in the town of Nizwa (Oman's former capital) and Jebel Shams ? Oman's very own Grand Canyon. This was definitely our best day in Oman. Ramadan restrictions obviously affected us, but the upside was that the roads and sights were very quiet. It gave us a real taste for the country, and a tiny indication of how much more there is to see. There's no getting away from the fact that any travelling in Oman involves a lot of time spent on the road. A comfortable vehicle definitely made all the difference to us, as did our extremely friendly and knowledgeable guide.

Doing what: Private 4x4 Safari - The Mountain of the Sun

Note from Viator: This review is by Louise Heal, who recently published a complete Oman tour report over on the Viator blog.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2008

Very good experience, well worth the money.

Doing what: Private 4x4 Safari - The Mountain of the Sun

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message