Oman’s capital might have the same scrubbed-clean streets as the major Gulf cities but it replaces their dehumanizing skyscrapers with fascinating historical sites. Prime examples include the 16th century Portuguese-built forts of Al-Jalali and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 139 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The trip was incredible! Regular and wonderful stops along the way with a friendly and knowledgeable guide. A delicious lunch was included and the tour guide/driver helped recommend lovely traditional food.

Sadly the start of the trip was dampened by the poor service from the tour operator. I had been communicating with the head office about the pick up (we were staying outside of the city centre) and none of this had been communicated to the office in Muscat. Consequently we left late because the driver didn't think we were there any more and the office in town though we were staying at the hotel when we were waiting in the lounge. They had asked at the reception, who turned them away because they said we weren't staying there! It would have been much easier if I had booked it there straight through the office.

I would however, highly recommend doing this tour. An amazing way to see Muscat.

Doing what: Private 4x4 Safari - The Mountain of the Sun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a fantástico tour with a great guide. The car was air-conditioned and the driver/guide had a very good level of English, he was opened and willing to explain everything with great knowledge about Muscat, Oman and Islam in general. Worth every penny!

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

booked through Viator since it is cheaper than booking directly. we went on a low season, height of summer, so we were the only ones in the bus. we didn't hop off anymore as it was too hot and the next bus would come around after 2 hours. i think this is the only way to see Muscat in a day with the commentary as a guide. overall, i would say at this time, there are no tour companies offering much so this is the way to go. i have researched with several companies and it seems all they offer are private tours. the assistance in the bus was impeccable with the Filipino agents being so friendly. water is given for free.

Doing what: Big Bus Muscat Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We were picked up on time by a car. The driver was very nice and well informed. We thought we were going on bus. But this was a private tour in a car which made it very pleasant. The driver was giving us information about every place we passed. We stopped at many places on route for a look around or refreshments. Nissan fort and the surrounding areas are interesting.
Very enjoyable day and highly recommend it.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great day out: very informative, excellent guide and fascinating countryside and history

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

Pros:
1. Free bottled water on the bus
2. Buses are clean, and the audio tour is informative.
3. Nice views of the city from the 2nd floor.

Cons: Many.Not what is advertised. The description is wrong on numerous occasions, and so this was not what I expected when I paid for it.
1. It makes it seem like the buses come regularly to all of the stops. However, regularly for them means every 2 hours, and since it is only open effectively from 9am to 5pm, you can't really see all of the sites properly unless you take another mode of transportation.
2. Also, they say there is a 3pm free tour. However, when I got there, there was no tour. I even asked the bus driver and he just told me to wait there till 3pm, and no one from the company came for the tour. Wasted a lot of time and effort trying to find this tour, which did not take place.
3. Description says that there is a free shuttle service to the Mosque. That is apparently outdated information, according to the Big bus employee. Need to take a taxi, which ran me 15 reales 39 roundtrip.
4. Only 10 stops in actuality, not 11.
5. They say they accept E-Voucher, but they actually do not. They told me I have to email the voucher to their email address in order to make it work, or print it out. In a foreign country where mobile data for my plan ran me 15/mb, it did not make sense for me to send an email. Luckily, I was able to convince the guy to just take my ticket info this time.

Overall, it was lacking, and misleading in its description.

Doing what: Big Bus Muscat Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Friendly,efficient,informative Very good!

Doing what: Muscat Private Arrival Airport Transfer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

very enjoyable, excellent guide

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour gives you a great overview of Muscat. This is helpful for planning activities and decide where you want to spend more time.

Doing what: Big Bus Muscat Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

There were 6 of us on this tour. Rasheed was our knowledgeable and gentlemanly guide. I have been to Oman many times but had not been to some of the places where there were old ruins. The highlights were Bahla Fort, which l had waited 20 years to see on opening after restoration, and Jabreen Castle, as we had time to see both, as well as Nizwa fort and Tanuf ruins. A great bunch of people, from US, Australia and UK and all interested in history. Recommended.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

A little worried at first as our driver was a little late but. This soon faded as he did his very best to accommodate all the group and the various requests made - even allowing us extra time at the cultural centre in the Muscat Mosque. All in all a fantastic trip, we'll organised and offering great value for money would have no hesitation in recommending this trip - ran by local tour oriental tours, only pity is we don't have time to take further trips around Oman with the company on this visit perhaps next time we would have no problem using them once again to go further afield.

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was simply a fantastic night tour by a great guide. Muhammad although a much older gentlemen, brought unique knowledge from living in Muscat for the better part of fifty years. The sights we went to were not only interesting but beautiful and it was topped off by a very welcoming and filling meal at the end.

Doing what: Private Tour: Muscat by Night

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Sunset Dhow Cruise from Muscat

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour was excellent. The guide was friendly and helpful. It was a great sightseeing tour to all the major attractions in muscat.

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Had a great time on this 2 hour sunset cruise. Pick-up from the hotel was on time and after a 20 minute drive we were boarding a beautiful old dhow to take a cruise along Muscats coast line. Staff were very friendly: sweets, drinks, including Omani coffee were served. Perfect opportunities for photos were had by all. Great evening out in Muscat.

Doing what: Sunset Dhow Cruise from Muscat

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

A very informative and we'll paced tour. The grand mosque is particularly amazing. Our guide Eyed was very knowledgeable and a throughly nice person. Would recommend.

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour was very comprehensive and our driver from the tour company was polite and knowledgeable

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

This tour was very enjoyable. The information on the audio was informative and current.

Doing what: Big Bus Muscat Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Excellent service.

Doing what: Muscat Private Arrival Airport Transfer

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2015

My husband really enjoyed the trip to Nizwa and the Grand Canyon. Spectacular view once we got up the mountain side.

Doing what: Private 4x4 Safari - The Mountain of the Sun

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

It was a very relaxing experience.

Doing what: Sunset Dhow Cruise from Muscat

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Excellent trip, charming driver/tour guide, visited many forts. Lunch not the best.

Doing what: Private Day Tour of Rustaq - Voyage into the Past

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

The tour was awesome. Hotel pickup was prompt, the boat (and restrooms) were clean, and the staff were great. They offered hard candies, fresh dates, Arabic coffee, and unlimited water/soda. The views were amazing. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Sunset Dhow Cruise from Muscat

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

great trip, tour guide/ driver very informative, loved the Nizwa Souq.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message