Oman’s capital might have the same scrubbed-clean streets as the major Gulf cities but it replaces their dehumanizing skyscrapers with fascinating historical sites. Prime examples include the 16th century Portuguese-built forts of Al-Jalali and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 97 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2014

Excellent but this due to the Tour Operator not to Viator - we have used Viator in different countries with great satisfaction however this tour operator was the exception - your local management was both rude and totally unhelpful.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Due to a lack of other takers this tour turned into a private tour ! Everyone else probably wisely chose not to travel to Oman in the HOT season. Rasheed, my driver and guide, was excellent in both roles and a nice man to boot. Unfortunately the aforementioned 48 degree heat made everything - apart from sitting in the aircon in the car - difficult if not impossible. Bahla Fort was certainly of interest and also the old village of ???
This tour is definitely recommended but just do not do it in June, July or August.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Excellent tour! Our Omani driver was very polite, full of knowledge and drove safely. The day was full and exciting, the dune bashing and beauty of the wadi oasis was unparalleled. Would recommend, and is worth the price. Thank you

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Excellent tour of the wadi and dunes, our driver was very polite, drove safely and full of knowledge. Would recommend highly it is worth the price, not much to do in Muscat so great idea to book this

Doing what: Private 4x4 Desert and Wadi Safari - Wahiba and Wadi Bani Khalid

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

We enjoyed our tour of Muscat and our guide was very knowledgeable and good company. We were aware that our tour was starting too late to fit in entry to the Grand Mosque but were able to view and walk round the outside.
There was however a negative side to our experience because our meeting instructions very clearly stated we should meet our guide outside the main port gate. Having got there, with some difficulty, he was nowhere to be seen and it took 30 minutes to discover that he was waiting inside the port. As a consequence we also missed visiting the fish market which closed before we met the guide.

Doing what: Muscat Shore Excursion: Private City Highlights Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was an affordable informative day tour of forts located in the interior of Oman. The guide picked us up in a comfortable van in the morning and dropped us off at Nizwa and Jabrin Forts as well as the ruins of an old village. Additionally, we walked through the Nizwa old city and tasted local food. The guide who took us around was very friendly and described life in modern Oman. We stopped to look at a few other historic and scenic sites along the way. An Audio guide was very informative at Jabrin fort. The scenery was a desert landscape spotted with date trees and black mountains. This tour gave me a vivid mental image of what arabian desert life was like 400 years ago.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

I could not have asked for more on this tour. As I was on my own for the tour I was a bit anxious about it, but when we got going there were two lovely couples and me, and we all got on well. The guide was really lovely and knowledgable man. He had lived in Muscat and really knew and loved his city, so that the trip was full of interesting stories and information. We went to numerous locations including the Sultan Qaboos Grand Mosque, which is beautiful. However we never felt rushed and his personal touch really made it an excellent tour. Wonderful value for money!

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

I loved this tour - I enjoyed the freedom of planning my own day and sitting atop the bus with a warm breeze in my face and my eyes fixed on the sights and sounds of a Monday morning in Muscat. The guides were very helpful and advised me when and where to join the buses. They were punctual and comfortable and the commentary was informative. I joined at Jawharat al shatti. (stop 3) - a good place to catch a coffee and watch the early morning beach activity before heading off. I did the round trip listening to the commentary, without getting off and returned to stop 3 for lunch; then i re-joined the bus and really enjoyed the second run without commentary and just took it all in. This time I got off in time to join the 3pm walking tour in the Al Alam Palace district - this was very interesting (albeit quite hot at that time of day) and the guide really knew his stuff and did a good job. Highly recommend the freedom of this tour.

Doing what: Big Bus Muscat Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Our guide was in every aspect the best one we ever had. It was a great trip: guide, Nizwa, lunch (the restaurant was recommended by our tour guide), very comfortable car. Coulden't have been better.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

It was great! well worth it! only downside would be that the bus was late to start with, but I guess this is down to traffic and was stopping/picking up every hour, not every 30min. but if you can deal with this it was very, very nice!

Doing what: Big Bus Muscat Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Excellent tour and the guide was very informative. The vehicle was very comfortable and clean. We saw all the sights of Muscat: The mosque, corniche, fish market, Sultans Palace, and many more! Great trip.

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The driver was very kind and helpful, even though he is neither a professional taxi driver nor a tourist guide.
So, buy a book and read yourself what you want to know about art and history of the place.
Apart from this, he came to visit all the sites with us (on foot after parking the car) and was flexible to adapt to all our requests. He bought water for us and even some food.
Car was absolutely new, comfortable and very clean.

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Very nice tour, we made quite a number of photo stops and saw the forts at Nizwa, Bahla and Jabreen. It was a clear day and from Jabreen Fort we could see the peak of Jebel Shams, highest mountain in Oman. Guide and driver were very good, although lunchtime was a little long, 1 hour, and then toilet stops as well, so I think a bit of time was wasted. But I enjoyed it very much and thought it was good value for money.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Guide/driver was excellent. Always on time, very friendly and knowledgable. This tour started at the mosque before the bus loads of tourists visit, so it was really great to enjoy the Grand Mosque quietly.

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message