Oman’s capital might have the same scrubbed-clean streets as the major Gulf cities but it replaces their dehumanizing skyscrapers with fascinating historical sites. Prime examples include the 16th century Portuguese-built forts of Al-Jalali and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 172 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Colin C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour although the old town was rather elusive! It would be very useful to know that the tour starts at the cruise terminal when ships are in, which is where we joined it. This info was not on the big bus web site. This also applies to Abu Dhabi

Doing what: Big Bus Muscat Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

mary h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Hi, to all concerned about muscat city hop on hop off bus.What can i say. this lovely open top bus will take you to lot,s of lovely places to see in muscat. They,re lovely to get round in. The souks. the parks the coffee shops, it,s all there. so a good price and the perfect way to get round.there,s always they,re very efficent and free water as you wish. Top marks.

Doing what: Big Bus Muscat Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Gail Annette T

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

This was a very pleasant and informative way to see as much of Muscat as I could in one whole day. Ms Aimee was very helpful in getting me set on the tour and I thoroughly enjoyed it and found the commentary excellent, especially as it was through a multi-track device and you could hear it in just one language. I would have liked to be able to see a more detailed map before hand so that if I wanted to hop off I would be able to get around.

Doing what: Big Bus Muscat Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Walter B

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

The big bus in Muscat is efficient and the staff is most helpful. We received great service from JHAY.

Doing what: Big Bus Muscat Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Stuart L

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Our day out was very good, we got to see many places and try food in a restaurant that we would not have had the opportunity to experience otherwise. Our guide was very good and knoweldgeable. The only drawback of the whole day was that we were sitting in the very back of the car that was very cramped. This was not so much of a problem on the way to our destinations as we were not in the car very long, but the journey home was very uncomfortable as we had to sit cramped up in the back of the car for over 2 hours. we were in the extra seats in the boot area of the car

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

Anthony W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Our guide Mr Rasheed was excellent and shared some wonderful information about each place. The Mosque is a must see! We shared a larger SUV with another couple so it was like a private tour. We saw a lot in 4 hrs !!

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

David H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A safe and pleasant driver taking us through stunning country to the Nizwa Fort. Very interesting, as was a stroll through the nearby souks, checking out the local coffee and Omani sweets. Then onto Jabreen Castle, which we considered even better than Nizwa. It was good being able to look around at our leisure, without being ordered around. We were not hassled, and could take our time, or not, as we chose. Lunch was taken at a roadside cafe. OK, but not particularly elegant. Next time we would take a packed lunch. All in all, a tour to be recommended.

Doing what: Private Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

Robert G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Though the travelling time is quite long, the end result to see the forts, castle and other sites is well worth it. Plus the air-conditioning was very efficient and welcome.
Rasheed our guide was very knowledgeable and made the visit all the more memorable.
An excellent trip and very good value.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

ShamSN

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The guide Rasheed was very good, patient and we saw and learnt a lot. It was very good value and packed in a lot of sights. An excellent day

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

Julián J

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Very Good excursion. Perhaps the guided was very quick and we do not have enaugh time to enjoy the places.

Doing what: Private 4x4 Desert and Wadi Safari - Wahiba and Wadi Bani Khalid

Kathryn S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Our guide was experienced, knowledgeable and had great English skills. We loved him.

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

Glenn T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Excellent as usual.

Doing what: Big Bus Muscat Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Martin W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The 'driver' guide we had, Racheed, was excellent a real pleasure to spend a morning with him. His knowledge was tremendous. It was the best part of our visit to Oman.

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

Jennifer K

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Really lovely tour! The staff was very friendly and were always offering us snacks and drinks. The boat was very clean and overall a great 2 hours spent cruising the omani coastline and watching the amazing sunset. If you're looking for a relaxing excursion, this is it.

Doing what: Sunset Dhow Cruise from Muscat

Deborah A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

It is always a good thing when you exit the arrivals hall at an airport at 4am and see a person waiting to greet you with your name written on a card. Relief. The young, friendly man who collected myself and my husband for our private transfer to our hotel in Muscat was not only a safe driver but along the way he delighted us by pointing out the sights of Muscat, something we didn't expect. He also corrected my poor Arabic pronunciation! We can highly recommend Viator for value for money and reliability in Muscat.

Doing what: Muscat Private Arrival Airport Transfer

Fred B

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

It was a very interesting experience with lots of relevant information supplied by a very capable tour guide. Basim did an excellent job to make a long trip most interesting. His driving skills are excellent as well - the sand was loots of fun! The visit to the wadi was also very interesting. The best part of these trips is that everybody can relax and observe and there is no driver who misses out on most of the good stuff.

Doing what: Private 4x4 Desert and Wadi Safari - Wahiba and Wadi Bani Khalid

Chantel P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A wonderful tour and a great guide Rasheed. Never felt rushed and had plenty of time to see everything listed. I highly recommend!

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

Chantel P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The guide, Rasheed, was wonderful. Very informative, nice, and a good driver. Loved seeing the forts and learning more about Oman. Definitely recommend!

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

bobburrows747

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

Ok Guide good all on time but to pay over 200 to see several forts and the main one closed so all we actually saw was a small fish market a couple of houses and the hot water springs

Rustaq we only saw from the distance

Doing what: Private Day Tour of Rustaq - Voyage into the Past

Max K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our guide Rashid was very knowledgeable and polite with perfect English. He was able to answer all our questions and we were so happy to have toured the city with him. We would highly recommend this tour and would recommend having an Omani as your tour guide if you get to choose.

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

Peter B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Comfy 4x4 excellent guide with decent English spoken Prompt pick-up.
Grand Mosque is simply stunning, fish market and souk less so! Well worth the modest cost.

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

Jairo D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

very nice tour guide a gentleman with a lot of experience about muscat he was on time and was a great experience I highly recommended this tour in 4 hours you get a good idea about muscat a how the city is running great experience

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

universal

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

A bad experience. They took me to first stop and next bus comes after 2 hours. Technically you can only go to three maximum locations ina day as every stop the bus frequency was 2 hours. A traveller can waste valuable Travel day into a hop on hop off bus, unlike other major cities in the world with frequent bus frequencies, this is a very bad option to visit Muscat.

Doing what: Big Bus Muscat Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Yvonne T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent value for money with a guide who took plenty of time to talk about the history of his country and the places he took me to. The only disappointment was the closure of Niswa Fort until later in September, but I saw and experienced so many other things that I really can't complain.

I'd booked the coach tour but as i was the only passenger, had a car and driver to myself. Rasheed was courteous and knowledgeable and made sure that I was comfortable at every step of the way. An excellent and instructive guide - thank you.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message