Oman’s capital might have the same scrubbed-clean streets as the major Gulf cities but it replaces their dehumanizing skyscrapers with fascinating historical sites. Prime examples include the 16th century Portuguese-built forts of Al-Jalali and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 156 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Kathryn S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Our guide was experienced, knowledgeable and had great English skills. We loved him.

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

Glenn T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Excellent as usual.

Doing what: Big Bus Muscat Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Jennifer K

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Really lovely tour! The staff was very friendly and were always offering us snacks and drinks. The boat was very clean and overall a great 2 hours spent cruising the omani coastline and watching the amazing sunset. If you're looking for a relaxing excursion, this is it.

Doing what: Sunset Dhow Cruise from Muscat

Deborah A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

It is always a good thing when you exit the arrivals hall at an airport at 4am and see a person waiting to greet you with your name written on a card. Relief. The young, friendly man who collected myself and my husband for our private transfer to our hotel in Muscat was not only a safe driver but along the way he delighted us by pointing out the sights of Muscat, something we didn't expect. He also corrected my poor Arabic pronunciation! We can highly recommend Viator for value for money and reliability in Muscat.

Doing what: Muscat Private Arrival Airport Transfer

Fred B

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

It was a very interesting experience with lots of relevant information supplied by a very capable tour guide. Basim did an excellent job to make a long trip most interesting. His driving skills are excellent as well - the sand was loots of fun! The visit to the wadi was also very interesting. The best part of these trips is that everybody can relax and observe and there is no driver who misses out on most of the good stuff.

Doing what: Private 4x4 Desert and Wadi Safari - Wahiba and Wadi Bani Khalid

Chantel P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A wonderful tour and a great guide Rasheed. Never felt rushed and had plenty of time to see everything listed. I highly recommend!

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

Chantel P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The guide, Rasheed, was wonderful. Very informative, nice, and a good driver. Loved seeing the forts and learning more about Oman. Definitely recommend!

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

bobburrows747

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

Ok Guide good all on time but to pay over 200 to see several forts and the main one closed so all we actually saw was a small fish market a couple of houses and the hot water springs

Rustaq we only saw from the distance

Doing what: Private Day Tour of Rustaq - Voyage into the Past

Max K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our guide Rashid was very knowledgeable and polite with perfect English. He was able to answer all our questions and we were so happy to have toured the city with him. We would highly recommend this tour and would recommend having an Omani as your tour guide if you get to choose.

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

Peter B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Comfy 4x4 excellent guide with decent English spoken Prompt pick-up.
Grand Mosque is simply stunning, fish market and souk less so! Well worth the modest cost.

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

Jairo D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

very nice tour guide a gentleman with a lot of experience about muscat he was on time and was a great experience I highly recommended this tour in 4 hours you get a good idea about muscat a how the city is running great experience

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

universal

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

A bad experience. They took me to first stop and next bus comes after 2 hours. Technically you can only go to three maximum locations ina day as every stop the bus frequency was 2 hours. A traveller can waste valuable Travel day into a hop on hop off bus, unlike other major cities in the world with frequent bus frequencies, this is a very bad option to visit Muscat.

Doing what: Big Bus Muscat Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Yvonne T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent value for money with a guide who took plenty of time to talk about the history of his country and the places he took me to. The only disappointment was the closure of Niswa Fort until later in September, but I saw and experienced so many other things that I really can't complain.

I'd booked the coach tour but as i was the only passenger, had a car and driver to myself. Rasheed was courteous and knowledgeable and made sure that I was comfortable at every step of the way. An excellent and instructive guide - thank you.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

Arturo M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent half day Tour in Muscat !

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

Yvonne T

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

I'm conflicted with this one on one hand it's an excellent way to see the city but on the other it's vastly overpriced and virtually impossible to hop on and hop off as the next bus is always two hours later. That makes it impossible to get off at every stop and explore the places there as you won't have enough time on your 24 hour ticket. Not good.

Doing what: Big Bus Muscat Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Maria Cristina A

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2015

IT IS VERY EXPENSIVE AND YOU WAIT EACH STOP FOR 2 HOURS, THEY DONT STOP IN THE GRAND MOSQUE.

Doing what: Big Bus Muscat Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

UMAR T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We had a lovely gentleman come pick us up from our hotel. The group was very small 2 other people besides us. We travelled in a 4x4 jeep a very nice spacious vehicle. Our guide was very friendly and informative. Gave us plenty of time at each venue we visited the whole time speaking to us and passing on very interesting details. at the end of the tour we asked for a special favour to be dropped of some other place besides our hotel and he obliged very kindly. Thanks to you all for giving us a wonderful experience and insight.

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

Maia C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The trip was incredible! Regular and wonderful stops along the way with a friendly and knowledgeable guide. A delicious lunch was included and the tour guide/driver helped recommend lovely traditional food.

Sadly the start of the trip was dampened by the poor service from the tour operator. I had been communicating with the head office about the pick up (we were staying outside of the city centre) and none of this had been communicated to the office in Muscat. Consequently we left late because the driver didn't think we were there any more and the office in town though we were staying at the hotel when we were waiting in the lounge. They had asked at the reception, who turned them away because they said we weren't staying there! It would have been much easier if I had booked it there straight through the office.

I would however, highly recommend doing this tour. An amazing way to see Muscat.

Doing what: Private 4x4 Safari - The Mountain of the Sun

SCHMIDT R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a fantástico tour with a great guide. The car was air-conditioned and the driver/guide had a very good level of English, he was opened and willing to explain everything with great knowledge about Muscat, Oman and Islam in general. Worth every penny!

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

Diana Lynn G

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

booked through Viator since it is cheaper than booking directly. we went on a low season, height of summer, so we were the only ones in the bus. we didn't hop off anymore as it was too hot and the next bus would come around after 2 hours. i think this is the only way to see Muscat in a day with the commentary as a guide. overall, i would say at this time, there are no tour companies offering much so this is the way to go. i have researched with several companies and it seems all they offer are private tours. the assistance in the bus was impeccable with the Filipino agents being so friendly. water is given for free.

Doing what: Big Bus Muscat Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Riad C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We were picked up on time by a car. The driver was very nice and well informed. We thought we were going on bus. But this was a private tour in a car which made it very pleasant. The driver was giving us information about every place we passed. We stopped at many places on route for a look around or refreshments. Nissan fort and the surrounding areas are interesting.
Very enjoyable day and highly recommend it.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

Catherine E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great day out: very informative, excellent guide and fascinating countryside and history

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

John Mo

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

Pros:
1. Free bottled water on the bus
2. Buses are clean, and the audio tour is informative.
3. Nice views of the city from the 2nd floor.

Cons: Many.Not what is advertised. The description is wrong on numerous occasions, and so this was not what I expected when I paid for it.
1. It makes it seem like the buses come regularly to all of the stops. However, regularly for them means every 2 hours, and since it is only open effectively from 9am to 5pm, you can't really see all of the sites properly unless you take another mode of transportation.
2. Also, they say there is a 3pm free tour. However, when I got there, there was no tour. I even asked the bus driver and he just told me to wait there till 3pm, and no one from the company came for the tour. Wasted a lot of time and effort trying to find this tour, which did not take place.
3. Description says that there is a free shuttle service to the Mosque. That is apparently outdated information, according to the Big bus employee. Need to take a taxi, which ran me 15 reales 39 roundtrip.
4. Only 10 stops in actuality, not 11.
5. They say they accept E-Voucher, but they actually do not. They told me I have to email the voucher to their email address in order to make it work, or print it out. In a foreign country where mobile data for my plan ran me 15/mb, it did not make sense for me to send an email. Luckily, I was able to convince the guy to just take my ticket info this time.

Overall, it was lacking, and misleading in its description.

Doing what: Big Bus Muscat Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Stephen H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Friendly,efficient,informative Very good!

Doing what: Muscat Private Arrival Airport Transfer

andy.wells140

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

very enjoyable, excellent guide

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message