Oman’s capital might have the same scrubbed-clean streets as the major Gulf cities but it replaces their dehumanizing skyscrapers with fascinating historical sites. Prime examples include the 16th century Portuguese-built forts of Al-Jalali and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 135 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour gives you a great overview of Muscat. This is helpful for planning activities and decide where you want to spend more time.

Doing what: Big Bus Muscat Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

There were 6 of us on this tour. Rasheed was our knowledgeable and gentlemanly guide. I have been to Oman many times but had not been to some of the places where there were old ruins. The highlights were Bahla Fort, which l had waited 20 years to see on opening after restoration, and Jabreen Castle, as we had time to see both, as well as Nizwa fort and Tanuf ruins. A great bunch of people, from US, Australia and UK and all interested in history. Recommended.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

A little worried at first as our driver was a little late but. This soon faded as he did his very best to accommodate all the group and the various requests made - even allowing us extra time at the cultural centre in the Muscat Mosque. All in all a fantastic trip, we'll organised and offering great value for money would have no hesitation in recommending this trip - ran by local tour oriental tours, only pity is we don't have time to take further trips around Oman with the company on this visit perhaps next time we would have no problem using them once again to go further afield.

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was simply a fantastic night tour by a great guide. Muhammad although a much older gentlemen, brought unique knowledge from living in Muscat for the better part of fifty years. The sights we went to were not only interesting but beautiful and it was topped off by a very welcoming and filling meal at the end.

Doing what: Private Tour: Muscat by Night

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our guide, Nasser, did a wonderful job of explaining the history of Oman both political and historical. He was proud of his country and eager to show us the highlights of Muscat. We really enjoyed exploring this area with him.

Doing what: Muscat Shore Excursion: Private City Highlights Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Sunset Dhow Cruise from Muscat

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour was excellent. The guide was friendly and helpful. It was a great sightseeing tour to all the major attractions in muscat.

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Had a great time on this 2 hour sunset cruise. Pick-up from the hotel was on time and after a 20 minute drive we were boarding a beautiful old dhow to take a cruise along Muscats coast line. Staff were very friendly: sweets, drinks, including Omani coffee were served. Perfect opportunities for photos were had by all. Great evening out in Muscat.

Doing what: Sunset Dhow Cruise from Muscat

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

A very informative and we'll paced tour. The grand mosque is particularly amazing. Our guide Eyed was very knowledgeable and a throughly nice person. Would recommend.

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour was very comprehensive and our driver from the tour company was polite and knowledgeable

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

This tour was very enjoyable. The information on the audio was informative and current.

Doing what: Big Bus Muscat Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Excellent service.

Doing what: Muscat Private Arrival Airport Transfer

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2015

My husband really enjoyed the trip to Nizwa and the Grand Canyon. Spectacular view once we got up the mountain side.

Doing what: Private 4x4 Safari - The Mountain of the Sun

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

It was a very relaxing experience.

Doing what: Sunset Dhow Cruise from Muscat

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Excellent trip, charming driver/tour guide, visited many forts. Lunch not the best.

Doing what: Private Day Tour of Rustaq - Voyage into the Past

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

The tour was awesome. Hotel pickup was prompt, the boat (and restrooms) were clean, and the staff were great. They offered hard candies, fresh dates, Arabic coffee, and unlimited water/soda. The views were amazing. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Sunset Dhow Cruise from Muscat

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

great trip, tour guide/ driver very informative, loved the Nizwa Souq.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2015

I do not recommend Orient Travel. They have no respect for their customers. I was the last to be picked up in a car with seven seats plus a driver and I took the remaining seat in the back row (3rd) middle. I'm a short guy and there was absolutely no leg room. My knees were bent at a 45 degree angle pressed into the seat in front of me. My right foot was immobilized and my left foot had an inch of wiggle room. After half an hour we stopped and my right leg was cramping. I discussed the problem with the driver who called his boss and had me speak to him. The boss, a shouting bully, maintained the car could comfortably seat 7 passengers and they would only use a larger car if they had 8 or more. Really, only children under age 12 could be comfortable in back. I was prepared to find a taxi back to Muscat as I could not continue. The driver solved the dilemma by having a very gracious and small young lady swap with me. Plenty of legroom in the front and middle row.
The tour itself was pretty good. Nizwa fort was good but the souk was empty and disappointing. The driver stopped at a couple of interesting deserted villages. The stand out of the trip was the final stop, Jabreen castle which was excellent.
Don't do the tour if you are not willing to chance being very uncomfortable. I give the tour itself 3 stars and Orient Travel ZERO stars

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Lovely!! The Mutrah was great once you got past all the crap, the mosque was gorgeous, the backstories of various parts of town were great, and I appreciated the closeness the tour guide had with various food vendors and museum personnel. Free museum entry, coffee, dates, dehydrated shark flesh. The whole bit.

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Very informative. The forts were gorgeous. Wish we got to see more of Bahla. The lot of us were tired; it was an extensive and tiring day.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

Okay, though little bit complicated in reconfirmation process (I wonder why the Orient agent doen´t simply sent an mail to reconfirm... it costs a fortune for clients to phone from mobiles phones or hotels being in holidays to reconfirm... ). Not much substantial information about historic context, really just a drive and some little introduction as to where to go etc. ) The guide could´nt even tell me which year the fort of Nizwa was build and he did´nt know about East and West Souk.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

We only saw one of the three sites that were recommended for us to see. We walked around the Sultan's home in Muscat, which was fantastic, but did not get to see the Opera House or the Grand Mosque. Without those two sites, I did not feel the tour was as good as it could have been. Overall the staff was very helpful and registration was easy at the site. The recordings were interesting as well.

Doing what: Big Bus Muscat Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

Our guide came to pick us up on time with a car (Lexus), because our party was small, only 3 people. He sent us to Nizwa market, Nizwa fort, Bahla fort, and Jabreen castle. He is a good driver but not a good guide. He always waited us at the entrance or an outside cafe and said "Watch and read explanatory notes on the wall."
He wanted to go back to Muscat early time but we requested the "Falaj Daris (famous national heritage)" and so on. He did not know them exactly, asked the residents and arrived there. I estimated his efforts but it was so strange for the fixed tour.
It was like chartering a taxi or renting a car by myself.
I understood it is difficult to get high class guides in Muscat, but I expected a better one at this tour.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message