• USD ($)
  • English
Oman’s capital might have the same scrubbed-clean streets as the major Gulf cities but it replaces their dehumanizing skyscrapers with fascinating historical sites. Prime examples include the 16th century Portuguese-built forts of Al-Jalali and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 90 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was an affordable informative day tour of forts located in the interior of Oman. The guide picked us up in a comfortable van in the morning and dropped us off at Nizwa and Jabrin Forts as well as the ruins of an old village. Additionally, we walked through the Nizwa old city and tasted local food. The guide who took us around was very friendly and described life in modern Oman. We stopped to look at a few other historic and scenic sites along the way. An Audio guide was very informative at Jabrin fort. The scenery was a desert landscape spotted with date trees and black mountains. This tour gave me a vivid mental image of what arabian desert life was like 400 years ago.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

I could not have asked for more on this tour. As I was on my own for the tour I was a bit anxious about it, but when we got going there were two lovely couples and me, and we all got on well. The guide was really lovely and knowledgable man. He had lived in Muscat and really knew and loved his city, so that the trip was full of interesting stories and information. We went to numerous locations including the Sultan Qaboos Grand Mosque, which is beautiful. However we never felt rushed and his personal touch really made it an excellent tour. Wonderful value for money!

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

I loved this tour - I enjoyed the freedom of planning my own day and sitting atop the bus with a warm breeze in my face and my eyes fixed on the sights and sounds of a Monday morning in Muscat. The guides were very helpful and advised me when and where to join the buses. They were punctual and comfortable and the commentary was informative. I joined at Jawharat al shatti. (stop 3) - a good place to catch a coffee and watch the early morning beach activity before heading off. I did the round trip listening to the commentary, without getting off and returned to stop 3 for lunch; then i re-joined the bus and really enjoyed the second run without commentary and just took it all in. This time I got off in time to join the 3pm walking tour in the Al Alam Palace district - this was very interesting (albeit quite hot at that time of day) and the guide really knew his stuff and did a good job. Highly recommend the freedom of this tour.

Doing what: Muscat Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

It was great! well worth it! only downside would be that the bus was late to start with, but I guess this is down to traffic and was stopping/picking up every hour, not every 30min. but if you can deal with this it was very, very nice!

Doing what: Muscat Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Excellent tour and the guide was very informative. The vehicle was very comfortable and clean. We saw all the sights of Muscat: The mosque, corniche, fish market, Sultans Palace, and many more! Great trip.

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The driver was very kind and helpful, even though he is neither a professional taxi driver nor a tourist guide.
So, buy a book and read yourself what you want to know about art and history of the place.
Apart from this, he came to visit all the sites with us (on foot after parking the car) and was flexible to adapt to all our requests. He bought water for us and even some food.
Car was absolutely new, comfortable and very clean.

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Very nice tour, we made quite a number of photo stops and saw the forts at Nizwa, Bahla and Jabreen. It was a clear day and from Jabreen Fort we could see the peak of Jebel Shams, highest mountain in Oman. Guide and driver were very good, although lunchtime was a little long, 1 hour, and then toilet stops as well, so I think a bit of time was wasted. But I enjoyed it very much and thought it was good value for money.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Guide/driver was excellent. Always on time, very friendly and knowledgable. This tour started at the mosque before the bus loads of tourists visit, so it was really great to enjoy the Grand Mosque quietly.

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

Barbara H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Very informative tour and a good way to see the very extensive city. It is much larger than you anticipate. By the end of the 24 hours we were quite familiar with all the sites. There is an additional free bus tour out to the mosque which is well worth it, a taxi can cost almost £40 depending on where you are stopping. Plan your hotel so you are close to a bus stop to save money.

Doing what: Muscat Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

It was very good. The young people working there were very helpful and everything went perfect. Thanks Pia Clemens

Doing what: Muscat Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Barbara H
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

There were six members of the group in the land cruiser so it was a little tight. However out guide spoke excellent English. It is a long day but well worth the journey. I expected the forts to be in little villages and wasnt expecting the large towns that surrounded most of the forts. Make sure you take your own water and money to buy lunch as this isnt provided. A very informative day though.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Great tour, great guide. Very interesting site seeing.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Our guide/driver was wonderful, very friendly and shared a lot about his own life with us. The tour was a good over view of the city, the fish market and the mosque were especially memorable.

Doing what: Muscat Shore Excursion: Private City Highlights Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

I booked this tour online through Viator. Unfortunately all the other tours from Muscat were private (expensive!) tours. This was the only shared one available. As a solo traveller I was disappointed I couldn't do the other tours or I'd be paying for 4 people in a 4WD. The tour is run by Orient tours in Muscat. I was picked up on time by a friendly informative guide. After other hotel pick ups we were off for our day trip. I couldn't fault it. We saw so much and had time for photo stops, wandering and for lunch (own expense). If you want a taste of old Arabia this tour is for you-forts, palaces, markets, old towns. The only slight criticism would be that we had to pay our entry fees into the fort and palace. I wondered why they couldn't be included when they were only $1.50 each! Seemed petty. The tour was about $75AUS so not cheap to begin with. We bought our own lunch but that was fine. Overall very informative, saw heaps, nice way to tour.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Knowledgeable guide showing the highlights of Muscat and very willing to tailor the excursion to suit the participants interests

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message