Nizwa is one of the most impressive of Oman’s numerous fort cities. It sits on a plain in the Hajar Mountains which was once a strategic point on the caravan route and, like Rustaq, served time as Oman’s capital. Its fort, with its warren of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 58 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Very informative. The forts were gorgeous. Wish we got to see more of Bahla. The lot of us were tired; it was an extensive and tiring day.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

Okay, though little bit complicated in reconfirmation process (I wonder why the Orient agent doen´t simply sent an mail to reconfirm... it costs a fortune for clients to phone from mobiles phones or hotels being in holidays to reconfirm... ). Not much substantial information about historic context, really just a drive and some little introduction as to where to go etc. ) The guide could´nt even tell me which year the fort of Nizwa was build and he did´nt know about East and West Souk.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

Our guide came to pick us up on time with a car (Lexus), because our party was small, only 3 people. He sent us to Nizwa market, Nizwa fort, Bahla fort, and Jabreen castle. He is a good driver but not a good guide. He always waited us at the entrance or an outside cafe and said "Watch and read explanatory notes on the wall."
He wanted to go back to Muscat early time but we requested the "Falaj Daris (famous national heritage)" and so on. He did not know them exactly, asked the residents and arrived there. I estimated his efforts but it was so strange for the fixed tour.
It was like chartering a taxi or renting a car by myself.
I understood it is difficult to get high class guides in Muscat, but I expected a better one at this tour.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Nizwa is very attractive and historical place.
Nizwa Fort and Falaji are worth to see.
Local people are very friendly and kind.I also enjoyed shopping at the souq.
I totally enjoyed this tour.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

The driver/guide was so flexible to change the itinerary in response to our requests and the changes in the circumstance such as hitting Dates Festival, which I was satisfied with. He was also helpful to learn the reasonable prices of goods at the souk. He did not, however, seem to be a professional guide in explaining the historical stories.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2014

Rasheed is a great tour guide, he really knows his stuff. Nizwa is a charming old town.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Nice trip, good value for money. Good guide. The only thing what I did not like so much was, sometimes I would have had a bit more time (we were visiting some old towns and it was only 5 or 10 minutes time). But maybe that's because I'm usually traveling by myself and can take as much time as I want. All in all, it was a great trip, do not miss it!!

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The pick up was prompt and the guide/driver very pleasant and eager to please. We visited all attractions as advertised. The only negative in my opinion was that we did not have a guide to accompany us through the forts and castles. Otherwise, it was a very enjoyable day.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

Zsolt J
Hungary

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

Good car, HORRIBLE and LAZY "guide", he always stayed in the car, never joined with us. There are much nicer sights in Oman, than this tour.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2014

Excellent but this due to the Tour Operator not to Viator - we have used Viator in different countries with great satisfaction however this tour operator was the exception - your local management was both rude and totally unhelpful.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Due to a lack of other takers this tour turned into a private tour ! Everyone else probably wisely chose not to travel to Oman in the HOT season. Rasheed, my driver and guide, was excellent in both roles and a nice man to boot. Unfortunately the aforementioned 48 degree heat made everything - apart from sitting in the aircon in the car - difficult if not impossible. Bahla Fort was certainly of interest and also the old village of ???
This tour is definitely recommended but just do not do it in June, July or August.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Excellent tour! Our Omani driver was very polite, full of knowledge and drove safely. The day was full and exciting, the dune bashing and beauty of the wadi oasis was unparalleled. Would recommend, and is worth the price. Thank you

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was an affordable informative day tour of forts located in the interior of Oman. The guide picked us up in a comfortable van in the morning and dropped us off at Nizwa and Jabrin Forts as well as the ruins of an old village. Additionally, we walked through the Nizwa old city and tasted local food. The guide who took us around was very friendly and described life in modern Oman. We stopped to look at a few other historic and scenic sites along the way. An Audio guide was very informative at Jabrin fort. The scenery was a desert landscape spotted with date trees and black mountains. This tour gave me a vivid mental image of what arabian desert life was like 400 years ago.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Our guide was in every aspect the best one we ever had. It was a great trip: guide, Nizwa, lunch (the restaurant was recommended by our tour guide), very comfortable car. Coulden't have been better.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message