• USD ($)
  • English
Nizwa is one of the most impressive of Oman’s numerous fort cities. It sits on a plain in the Hajar Mountains which was once a strategic point on the caravan route and, like Rustaq, served time as Oman’s capital. Its fort, with its warren of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 47 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Due to a lack of other takers this tour turned into a private tour ! Everyone else probably wisely chose not to travel to Oman in the HOT season. Rasheed, my driver and guide, was excellent in both roles and a nice man to boot. Unfortunately the aforementioned 48 degree heat made everything - apart from sitting in the aircon in the car - difficult if not impossible. Bahla Fort was certainly of interest and also the old village of ???
This tour is definitely recommended but just do not do it in June, July or August.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Excellent tour! Our Omani driver was very polite, full of knowledge and drove safely. The day was full and exciting, the dune bashing and beauty of the wadi oasis was unparalleled. Would recommend, and is worth the price. Thank you

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was an affordable informative day tour of forts located in the interior of Oman. The guide picked us up in a comfortable van in the morning and dropped us off at Nizwa and Jabrin Forts as well as the ruins of an old village. Additionally, we walked through the Nizwa old city and tasted local food. The guide who took us around was very friendly and described life in modern Oman. We stopped to look at a few other historic and scenic sites along the way. An Audio guide was very informative at Jabrin fort. The scenery was a desert landscape spotted with date trees and black mountains. This tour gave me a vivid mental image of what arabian desert life was like 400 years ago.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Our guide was in every aspect the best one we ever had. It was a great trip: guide, Nizwa, lunch (the restaurant was recommended by our tour guide), very comfortable car. Coulden't have been better.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Excellent tour and a "must do" while in Muscat. The drive alone to Nizwa is outstanding; huge mountains and hidden villages. Our guide/driver accommodated our requests to stop at some locations for photos. Guide was very knowledgable and answered all our questions easily. Jabrin Castle (the last stop) is outstanding!!! My only caution: our guide ate lunch with us, and we were tricked into paying for his lunch. If you want to avoid this situation, don't ask the guide to take you to a local restaurant -- go on your own.

Doing what: Muscat Shore Excursion: Private Nizwa Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Very nice tour, we made quite a number of photo stops and saw the forts at Nizwa, Bahla and Jabreen. It was a clear day and from Jabreen Fort we could see the peak of Jebel Shams, highest mountain in Oman. Guide and driver were very good, although lunchtime was a little long, 1 hour, and then toilet stops as well, so I think a bit of time was wasted. But I enjoyed it very much and thought it was good value for money.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

Barbara H
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

There were six members of the group in the land cruiser so it was a little tight. However out guide spoke excellent English. It is a long day but well worth the journey. I expected the forts to be in little villages and wasnt expecting the large towns that surrounded most of the forts. Make sure you take your own water and money to buy lunch as this isnt provided. A very informative day though.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Great tour, great guide. Very interesting site seeing.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

I booked this tour online through Viator. Unfortunately all the other tours from Muscat were private (expensive!) tours. This was the only shared one available. As a solo traveller I was disappointed I couldn't do the other tours or I'd be paying for 4 people in a 4WD. The tour is run by Orient tours in Muscat. I was picked up on time by a friendly informative guide. After other hotel pick ups we were off for our day trip. I couldn't fault it. We saw so much and had time for photo stops, wandering and for lunch (own expense). If you want a taste of old Arabia this tour is for you-forts, palaces, markets, old towns. The only slight criticism would be that we had to pay our entry fees into the fort and palace. I wondered why they couldn't be included when they were only $1.50 each! Seemed petty. The tour was about $75AUS so not cheap to begin with. We bought our own lunch but that was fine. Overall very informative, saw heaps, nice way to tour.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Nice tour, interesting sights like the old town of Nizwa, the Jabreen Fort and some old villages with their typical irrigation system. We've been only 2 persons on our group tour and have been transported in a comfortable, normal car. The driver was a nice elderly Omani who explained a lot about his country. He was not a guide though, so we had to experience some sights on our own - but they are well explained or with (exeptionally good!) AudioGuides. The tour is really worth the money.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

Nice day out, to see the sights around Nizwa. Jabreen Castle was the highlight of the tour. Also stopped by a couple of abandoned villages which were also nice. Scenery of the mountains was nice and felt like it saved on doing another trip. The stop for lunch was poor however, very cheap and you got what you paid for could have been better. Nothing groundbreaking in the trip but well worth it especially when compared to the 'sights' on offer in Muscat itself which was very disappointing.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

A good tour - driver who was also the tour guide mostly very knowledgeable about his country although sometimes only said what he thought we wanted to hear ie no snakes in Oman. Delicious clean and freshly cooked Indian lunch. A long day but god value and well worth the cost.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was an excellent day tour. The service from Orient Tours was very good and although I was being picked up from the car park of a large shopping mall, they rang me and we found each other. The tour was interesting and the guide was informed and happy to vary things at the request of the group. I thought it was very well done and was happy with my choice. An easy and relaxed way to see some of the sights outside Muscat. My only disappointment was the short time we had at Nizwa Fort. Another 30 minutes would have allowed more time to explore but this is just a small preference for an otherwise great day.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

Munir was our very nice and informative tour guide. The sights were great.

Doing what: Private 4x4 Safari - The Mountain of the Sun

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2013

The tour was easy and comfortable as the car comes to pick you up and drives you around to different locations. However, the sites all have recently been refurbished and look brand new which takes away the character of what the forts originally were. It can be quite a dull experience since it lacks inspiration for imagination. Either way, the drive out from Muscat through the desert and mountains makes it worthwhile.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message