The Sultanate of Oman is an off-the-beaten track desert destination for lovers of empty sand dunes rolling into the distance, and miles of pristine beaches lining the Gulf. Mountain trails lead to ancient tombs, desert forts, wadi oases and walled ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 86 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Lovely!! The Mutrah was great once you got past all the crap, the mosque was gorgeous, the backstories of various parts of town were great, and I appreciated the closeness the tour guide had with various food vendors and museum personnel. Free museum entry, coffee, dates, dehydrated shark flesh. The whole bit.

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Very informative. The forts were gorgeous. Wish we got to see more of Bahla. The lot of us were tired; it was an extensive and tiring day.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

Okay, though little bit complicated in reconfirmation process (I wonder why the Orient agent doen´t simply sent an mail to reconfirm... it costs a fortune for clients to phone from mobiles phones or hotels being in holidays to reconfirm... ). Not much substantial information about historic context, really just a drive and some little introduction as to where to go etc. ) The guide could´nt even tell me which year the fort of Nizwa was build and he did´nt know about East and West Souk.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

Our guide came to pick us up on time with a car (Lexus), because our party was small, only 3 people. He sent us to Nizwa market, Nizwa fort, Bahla fort, and Jabreen castle. He is a good driver but not a good guide. He always waited us at the entrance or an outside cafe and said "Watch and read explanatory notes on the wall."
He wanted to go back to Muscat early time but we requested the "Falaj Daris (famous national heritage)" and so on. He did not know them exactly, asked the residents and arrived there. I estimated his efforts but it was so strange for the fixed tour.
It was like chartering a taxi or renting a car by myself.
I understood it is difficult to get high class guides in Muscat, but I expected a better one at this tour.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

It was an interesting Tour. If you love to see old castles and fortresses, the mountains and hot springs, then this tour is for you. Rasheed was our driver and tour guide and we had a good time with him. He explained everything very well.

Doing what: Private Day Tour of Rustaq - Voyage into the Past

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Pick up from hotel was on time, we were sharing a small vehicle so there was the driver Rasheed and four on the tour. Rasheed was a very good guide who pointed out all the sights and escorted us around and even went out of his way to take me to the local Harley Davidson dealer after the others had been dropped at their hotels. Very helpful and spoke very good English. Tour was at a relaxed pace time at the Grand Mosque was good as we wanted to visit the Islsmic information centre which was on site. Had more than enough time at the fish market, about fifteen minutes then half an hour at the museum and the souk. Just enough time to have a quick look around the souk but you need to visit again to see it all. Because of Islamic new year the tour office was closed but I managed to find an email address for the tour company who run the trip and got the confirmation of pick up times from them via the email.

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Nizwa is very attractive and historical place.
Nizwa Fort and Falaji are worth to see.
Local people are very friendly and kind.I also enjoyed shopping at the souq.
I totally enjoyed this tour.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

This tour makes for an interesting introduction to the historic city of Muscat. Our guide, Rasheed, was very affable and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

The driver/guide was so flexible to change the itinerary in response to our requests and the changes in the circumstance such as hitting Dates Festival, which I was satisfied with. He was also helpful to learn the reasonable prices of goods at the souk. He did not, however, seem to be a professional guide in explaining the historical stories.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2014

Rasheed is a great tour guide, he really knows his stuff. Nizwa is a charming old town.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Nice trip, good value for money. Good guide. The only thing what I did not like so much was, sometimes I would have had a bit more time (we were visiting some old towns and it was only 5 or 10 minutes time). But maybe that's because I'm usually traveling by myself and can take as much time as I want. All in all, it was a great trip, do not miss it!!

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

Zsolt J
Hungary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent guide, great car, superb guiding MUSCAT is BEAUTUFIL, this is the best tour to know it better!

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

Zsolt J
Hungary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

OMG, this is a must to do, amazing route, very nice programme, and our guide was just amazing!

Doing what: Private Day Tour of Rustaq - Voyage into the Past

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The tour was at a great pace and I thoroughly enjoyed it. Although I would have preferred the guide (Mr, Rashid) to give us more info on the sites we visited (Sultan Qaboos Mosque, Bait al Zubair, Al Alam Palace, Muttrah Souk, Fish Market, etc.). The tour is a good introduction to the City of Muscat.

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message