The Sultanate of Oman is an off-the-beaten track desert destination for lovers of empty sand dunes rolling into the distance, and miles of pristine beaches lining the Gulf. Mountain trails lead to ancient tombs, desert forts, wadi oases and walled ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 69 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

The driver didn't really speak much, long silences during the taxi drive between sites. The Restaurant we were taken to was not of local Omani food, but a Pakistani restaurant. Food very disappointing. Not enough time at the souk.

Doing what: Private Tour: Muscat by Night

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2014

Excellent but this due to the Tour Operator not to Viator - we have used Viator in different countries with great satisfaction however this tour operator was the exception - your local management was both rude and totally unhelpful.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Due to a lack of other takers this tour turned into a private tour ! Everyone else probably wisely chose not to travel to Oman in the HOT season. Rasheed, my driver and guide, was excellent in both roles and a nice man to boot. Unfortunately the aforementioned 48 degree heat made everything - apart from sitting in the aircon in the car - difficult if not impossible. Bahla Fort was certainly of interest and also the old village of ???
This tour is definitely recommended but just do not do it in June, July or August.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Excellent tour! Our Omani driver was very polite, full of knowledge and drove safely. The day was full and exciting, the dune bashing and beauty of the wadi oasis was unparalleled. Would recommend, and is worth the price. Thank you

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was an affordable informative day tour of forts located in the interior of Oman. The guide picked us up in a comfortable van in the morning and dropped us off at Nizwa and Jabrin Forts as well as the ruins of an old village. Additionally, we walked through the Nizwa old city and tasted local food. The guide who took us around was very friendly and described life in modern Oman. We stopped to look at a few other historic and scenic sites along the way. An Audio guide was very informative at Jabrin fort. The scenery was a desert landscape spotted with date trees and black mountains. This tour gave me a vivid mental image of what arabian desert life was like 400 years ago.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

I could not have asked for more on this tour. As I was on my own for the tour I was a bit anxious about it, but when we got going there were two lovely couples and me, and we all got on well. The guide was really lovely and knowledgable man. He had lived in Muscat and really knew and loved his city, so that the trip was full of interesting stories and information. We went to numerous locations including the Sultan Qaboos Grand Mosque, which is beautiful. However we never felt rushed and his personal touch really made it an excellent tour. Wonderful value for money!

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Our guide was in every aspect the best one we ever had. It was a great trip: guide, Nizwa, lunch (the restaurant was recommended by our tour guide), very comfortable car. Coulden't have been better.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Excellent tour and the guide was very informative. The vehicle was very comfortable and clean. We saw all the sights of Muscat: The mosque, corniche, fish market, Sultans Palace, and many more! Great trip.

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The driver was very kind and helpful, even though he is neither a professional taxi driver nor a tourist guide.
So, buy a book and read yourself what you want to know about art and history of the place.
Apart from this, he came to visit all the sites with us (on foot after parking the car) and was flexible to adapt to all our requests. He bought water for us and even some food.
Car was absolutely new, comfortable and very clean.

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Very nice tour, we made quite a number of photo stops and saw the forts at Nizwa, Bahla and Jabreen. It was a clear day and from Jabreen Fort we could see the peak of Jebel Shams, highest mountain in Oman. Guide and driver were very good, although lunchtime was a little long, 1 hour, and then toilet stops as well, so I think a bit of time was wasted. But I enjoyed it very much and thought it was good value for money.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Guide/driver was excellent. Always on time, very friendly and knowledgable. This tour started at the mosque before the bus loads of tourists visit, so it was really great to enjoy the Grand Mosque quietly.

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

Barbara H
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

There were six members of the group in the land cruiser so it was a little tight. However out guide spoke excellent English. It is a long day but well worth the journey. I expected the forts to be in little villages and wasnt expecting the large towns that surrounded most of the forts. Make sure you take your own water and money to buy lunch as this isnt provided. A very informative day though.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Great tour, great guide. Very interesting site seeing.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

I booked this tour online through Viator. Unfortunately all the other tours from Muscat were private (expensive!) tours. This was the only shared one available. As a solo traveller I was disappointed I couldn't do the other tours or I'd be paying for 4 people in a 4WD. The tour is run by Orient tours in Muscat. I was picked up on time by a friendly informative guide. After other hotel pick ups we were off for our day trip. I couldn't fault it. We saw so much and had time for photo stops, wandering and for lunch (own expense). If you want a taste of old Arabia this tour is for you-forts, palaces, markets, old towns. The only slight criticism would be that we had to pay our entry fees into the fort and palace. I wondered why they couldn't be included when they were only $1.50 each! Seemed petty. The tour was about $75AUS so not cheap to begin with. We bought our own lunch but that was fine. Overall very informative, saw heaps, nice way to tour.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message