• USD ($)
  • English
The Sultanate of Oman is an off-the-beaten track desert destination for lovers of empty sand dunes rolling into the distance, and miles of pristine beaches lining the Gulf. Mountain trails lead to ancient tombs, desert forts, wadi oases and walled ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 63 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was an affordable informative day tour of forts located in the interior of Oman. The guide picked us up in a comfortable van in the morning and dropped us off at Nizwa and Jabrin Forts as well as the ruins of an old village. Additionally, we walked through the Nizwa old city and tasted local food. The guide who took us around was very friendly and described life in modern Oman. We stopped to look at a few other historic and scenic sites along the way. An Audio guide was very informative at Jabrin fort. The scenery was a desert landscape spotted with date trees and black mountains. This tour gave me a vivid mental image of what arabian desert life was like 400 years ago.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

I could not have asked for more on this tour. As I was on my own for the tour I was a bit anxious about it, but when we got going there were two lovely couples and me, and we all got on well. The guide was really lovely and knowledgable man. He had lived in Muscat and really knew and loved his city, so that the trip was full of interesting stories and information. We went to numerous locations including the Sultan Qaboos Grand Mosque, which is beautiful. However we never felt rushed and his personal touch really made it an excellent tour. Wonderful value for money!

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Excellent tour and the guide was very informative. The vehicle was very comfortable and clean. We saw all the sights of Muscat: The mosque, corniche, fish market, Sultans Palace, and many more! Great trip.

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The driver was very kind and helpful, even though he is neither a professional taxi driver nor a tourist guide.
So, buy a book and read yourself what you want to know about art and history of the place.
Apart from this, he came to visit all the sites with us (on foot after parking the car) and was flexible to adapt to all our requests. He bought water for us and even some food.
Car was absolutely new, comfortable and very clean.

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Very nice tour, we made quite a number of photo stops and saw the forts at Nizwa, Bahla and Jabreen. It was a clear day and from Jabreen Fort we could see the peak of Jebel Shams, highest mountain in Oman. Guide and driver were very good, although lunchtime was a little long, 1 hour, and then toilet stops as well, so I think a bit of time was wasted. But I enjoyed it very much and thought it was good value for money.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Guide/driver was excellent. Always on time, very friendly and knowledgable. This tour started at the mosque before the bus loads of tourists visit, so it was really great to enjoy the Grand Mosque quietly.

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

Barbara H
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

There were six members of the group in the land cruiser so it was a little tight. However out guide spoke excellent English. It is a long day but well worth the journey. I expected the forts to be in little villages and wasnt expecting the large towns that surrounded most of the forts. Make sure you take your own water and money to buy lunch as this isnt provided. A very informative day though.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Great tour, great guide. Very interesting site seeing.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

I booked this tour online through Viator. Unfortunately all the other tours from Muscat were private (expensive!) tours. This was the only shared one available. As a solo traveller I was disappointed I couldn't do the other tours or I'd be paying for 4 people in a 4WD. The tour is run by Orient tours in Muscat. I was picked up on time by a friendly informative guide. After other hotel pick ups we were off for our day trip. I couldn't fault it. We saw so much and had time for photo stops, wandering and for lunch (own expense). If you want a taste of old Arabia this tour is for you-forts, palaces, markets, old towns. The only slight criticism would be that we had to pay our entry fees into the fort and palace. I wondered why they couldn't be included when they were only $1.50 each! Seemed petty. The tour was about $75AUS so not cheap to begin with. We bought our own lunch but that was fine. Overall very informative, saw heaps, nice way to tour.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Knowledgeable guide showing the highlights of Muscat and very willing to tailor the excursion to suit the participants interests

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Nice tour, interesting sights like the old town of Nizwa, the Jabreen Fort and some old villages with their typical irrigation system. We've been only 2 persons on our group tour and have been transported in a comfortable, normal car. The driver was a nice elderly Omani who explained a lot about his country. He was not a guide though, so we had to experience some sights on our own - but they are well explained or with (exeptionally good!) AudioGuides. The tour is really worth the money.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

Nice day out, to see the sights around Nizwa. Jabreen Castle was the highlight of the tour. Also stopped by a couple of abandoned villages which were also nice. Scenery of the mountains was nice and felt like it saved on doing another trip. The stop for lunch was poor however, very cheap and you got what you paid for could have been better. Nothing groundbreaking in the trip but well worth it especially when compared to the 'sights' on offer in Muscat itself which was very disappointing.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

A good tour - driver who was also the tour guide mostly very knowledgeable about his country although sometimes only said what he thought we wanted to hear ie no snakes in Oman. Delicious clean and freshly cooked Indian lunch. A long day but god value and well worth the cost.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was an excellent day tour. The service from Orient Tours was very good and although I was being picked up from the car park of a large shopping mall, they rang me and we found each other. The tour was interesting and the guide was informed and happy to vary things at the request of the group. I thought it was very well done and was happy with my choice. An easy and relaxed way to see some of the sights outside Muscat. My only disappointment was the short time we had at Nizwa Fort. Another 30 minutes would have allowed more time to explore but this is just a small preference for an otherwise great day.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2013

The tour was easy and comfortable as the car comes to pick you up and drives you around to different locations. However, the sites all have recently been refurbished and look brand new which takes away the character of what the forts originally were. It can be quite a dull experience since it lacks inspiration for imagination. Either way, the drive out from Muscat through the desert and mountains makes it worthwhile.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message