The Sultanate of Oman is an off-the-beaten track desert destination for lovers of empty sand dunes rolling into the distance, and miles of pristine beaches lining the Gulf. Mountain trails lead to ancient tombs, desert forts, wadi oases and walled ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 80 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Pick up from hotel was on time, we were sharing a small vehicle so there was the driver Rasheed and four on the tour. Rasheed was a very good guide who pointed out all the sights and escorted us around and even went out of his way to take me to the local Harley Davidson dealer after the others had been dropped at their hotels. Very helpful and spoke very good English. Tour was at a relaxed pace time at the Grand Mosque was good as we wanted to visit the Islsmic information centre which was on site. Had more than enough time at the fish market, about fifteen minutes then half an hour at the museum and the souk. Just enough time to have a quick look around the souk but you need to visit again to see it all. Because of Islamic new year the tour office was closed but I managed to find an email address for the tour company who run the trip and got the confirmation of pick up times from them via the email.

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Nizwa is very attractive and historical place.
Nizwa Fort and Falaji are worth to see.
Local people are very friendly and kind.I also enjoyed shopping at the souq.
I totally enjoyed this tour.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

This tour makes for an interesting introduction to the historic city of Muscat. Our guide, Rasheed, was very affable and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

The driver/guide was so flexible to change the itinerary in response to our requests and the changes in the circumstance such as hitting Dates Festival, which I was satisfied with. He was also helpful to learn the reasonable prices of goods at the souk. He did not, however, seem to be a professional guide in explaining the historical stories.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2014

Rasheed is a great tour guide, he really knows his stuff. Nizwa is a charming old town.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Nice trip, good value for money. Good guide. The only thing what I did not like so much was, sometimes I would have had a bit more time (we were visiting some old towns and it was only 5 or 10 minutes time). But maybe that's because I'm usually traveling by myself and can take as much time as I want. All in all, it was a great trip, do not miss it!!

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

Zsolt J
Hungary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent guide, great car, superb guiding MUSCAT is BEAUTUFIL, this is the best tour to know it better!

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

Zsolt J
Hungary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

OMG, this is a must to do, amazing route, very nice programme, and our guide was just amazing!

Doing what: Private Day Tour of Rustaq - Voyage into the Past

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The tour was at a great pace and I thoroughly enjoyed it. Although I would have preferred the guide (Mr, Rashid) to give us more info on the sites we visited (Sultan Qaboos Mosque, Bait al Zubair, Al Alam Palace, Muttrah Souk, Fish Market, etc.). The tour is a good introduction to the City of Muscat.

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The pick up was prompt and the guide/driver very pleasant and eager to please. We visited all attractions as advertised. The only negative in my opinion was that we did not have a guide to accompany us through the forts and castles. Otherwise, it was a very enjoyable day.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

Zsolt J
Hungary

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

Good car, HORRIBLE and LAZY "guide", he always stayed in the car, never joined with us. There are much nicer sights in Oman, than this tour.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

The driver didn't really speak much, long silences during the taxi drive between sites. The Restaurant we were taken to was not of local Omani food, but a Pakistani restaurant. Food very disappointing. Not enough time at the souk.

Doing what: Private Tour: Muscat by Night

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2014

Excellent but this due to the Tour Operator not to Viator - we have used Viator in different countries with great satisfaction however this tour operator was the exception - your local management was both rude and totally unhelpful.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Due to a lack of other takers this tour turned into a private tour ! Everyone else probably wisely chose not to travel to Oman in the HOT season. Rasheed, my driver and guide, was excellent in both roles and a nice man to boot. Unfortunately the aforementioned 48 degree heat made everything - apart from sitting in the aircon in the car - difficult if not impossible. Bahla Fort was certainly of interest and also the old village of ???
This tour is definitely recommended but just do not do it in June, July or August.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message