The Sultanate of Oman is an off-the-beaten track desert destination for lovers of empty sand dunes rolling into the distance, and miles of pristine beaches lining the Gulf. Mountain trails lead to ancient tombs, desert forts, wadi oases and walled ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 114 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Kathryn S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Our guide was experienced, knowledgeable and had great English skills. We loved him.

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

Jennifer K

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Really lovely tour! The staff was very friendly and were always offering us snacks and drinks. The boat was very clean and overall a great 2 hours spent cruising the omani coastline and watching the amazing sunset. If you're looking for a relaxing excursion, this is it.

Doing what: Sunset Dhow Cruise from Muscat

Chantel P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A wonderful tour and a great guide Rasheed. Never felt rushed and had plenty of time to see everything listed. I highly recommend!

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

Chantel P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The guide, Rasheed, was wonderful. Very informative, nice, and a good driver. Loved seeing the forts and learning more about Oman. Definitely recommend!

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

bobburrows747

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

Ok Guide good all on time but to pay over 200 to see several forts and the main one closed so all we actually saw was a small fish market a couple of houses and the hot water springs

Rustaq we only saw from the distance

Doing what: Private Day Tour of Rustaq - Voyage into the Past

Max K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our guide Rashid was very knowledgeable and polite with perfect English. He was able to answer all our questions and we were so happy to have toured the city with him. We would highly recommend this tour and would recommend having an Omani as your tour guide if you get to choose.

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

Peter B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Comfy 4x4 excellent guide with decent English spoken Prompt pick-up.
Grand Mosque is simply stunning, fish market and souk less so! Well worth the modest cost.

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

Jairo D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

very nice tour guide a gentleman with a lot of experience about muscat he was on time and was a great experience I highly recommended this tour in 4 hours you get a good idea about muscat a how the city is running great experience

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

Yvonne T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent value for money with a guide who took plenty of time to talk about the history of his country and the places he took me to. The only disappointment was the closure of Niswa Fort until later in September, but I saw and experienced so many other things that I really can't complain.

I'd booked the coach tour but as i was the only passenger, had a car and driver to myself. Rasheed was courteous and knowledgeable and made sure that I was comfortable at every step of the way. An excellent and instructive guide - thank you.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

Arturo M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent half day Tour in Muscat !

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

UMAR T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We had a lovely gentleman come pick us up from our hotel. The group was very small 2 other people besides us. We travelled in a 4x4 jeep a very nice spacious vehicle. Our guide was very friendly and informative. Gave us plenty of time at each venue we visited the whole time speaking to us and passing on very interesting details. at the end of the tour we asked for a special favour to be dropped of some other place besides our hotel and he obliged very kindly. Thanks to you all for giving us a wonderful experience and insight.

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

SCHMIDT R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a fantástico tour with a great guide. The car was air-conditioned and the driver/guide had a very good level of English, he was opened and willing to explain everything with great knowledge about Muscat, Oman and Islam in general. Worth every penny!

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

Riad C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We were picked up on time by a car. The driver was very nice and well informed. We thought we were going on bus. But this was a private tour in a car which made it very pleasant. The driver was giving us information about every place we passed. We stopped at many places on route for a look around or refreshments. Nissan fort and the surrounding areas are interesting.
Very enjoyable day and highly recommend it.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

Catherine E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great day out: very informative, excellent guide and fascinating countryside and history

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

andy.wells140

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

very enjoyable, excellent guide

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

Carol C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

There were 6 of us on this tour. Rasheed was our knowledgeable and gentlemanly guide. I have been to Oman many times but had not been to some of the places where there were old ruins. The highlights were Bahla Fort, which l had waited 20 years to see on opening after restoration, and Jabreen Castle, as we had time to see both, as well as Nizwa fort and Tanuf ruins. A great bunch of people, from US, Australia and UK and all interested in history. Recommended.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

ernest s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

A little worried at first as our driver was a little late but. This soon faded as he did his very best to accommodate all the group and the various requests made - even allowing us extra time at the cultural centre in the Muscat Mosque. All in all a fantastic trip, we'll organised and offering great value for money would have no hesitation in recommending this trip - ran by local tour oriental tours, only pity is we don't have time to take further trips around Oman with the company on this visit perhaps next time we would have no problem using them once again to go further afield.

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

Reuben K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was simply a fantastic night tour by a great guide. Muhammad although a much older gentlemen, brought unique knowledge from living in Muscat for the better part of fifty years. The sights we went to were not only interesting but beautiful and it was topped off by a very welcoming and filling meal at the end.

Doing what: Private Tour: Muscat by Night

marcel.ritter

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Sunset Dhow Cruise from Muscat

Junaid k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour was excellent. The guide was friendly and helpful. It was a great sightseeing tour to all the major attractions in muscat.

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

Chad P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Had a great time on this 2 hour sunset cruise. Pick-up from the hotel was on time and after a 20 minute drive we were boarding a beautiful old dhow to take a cruise along Muscats coast line. Staff were very friendly: sweets, drinks, including Omani coffee were served. Perfect opportunities for photos were had by all. Great evening out in Muscat.

Doing what: Sunset Dhow Cruise from Muscat

Carly P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

A very informative and we'll paced tour. The grand mosque is particularly amazing. Our guide Eyed was very knowledgeable and a throughly nice person. Would recommend.

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

Clint B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour was very comprehensive and our driver from the tour company was polite and knowledgeable

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

Christina S

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

It was a very relaxing experience.

Doing what: Sunset Dhow Cruise from Muscat

Margaret M

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Excellent trip, charming driver/tour guide, visited many forts. Lunch not the best.

Doing what: Private Day Tour of Rustaq - Voyage into the Past

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message