Orlando ATTRACTIONS See all

Universal's Islands of Adventure

Universal’s Islands of Adventure® Take an unforgettable journey through uniquely themed islands where your favorite adventures come to life. Soar above Hogwarts™ in The Wizarding World of Harry Potter™ - Hogsmeade™, help save the city on The ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 24 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Islands of adventure is certainly worth it and will remain a beautiful memory. You will want to come at the opening for Harry Potter's land though because of the unbearable crowd later during the day. Universal studios not recommended for families with small children.

Doing what: Universal Orlando Tickets

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

3 days is perfect to go thru Universal Studios and Islands of Adventure so this was a good deal, 3 for the price of 2!

Doing what: Universal Orlando Tickets

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

We purchased 2 day tickets to go to both Universal studios and Islands of Adventure. One tiny downfall was we had to commit to the first visit date. Naturally, hurricane Isaac dropped rain everywhere but if you did not go the tickets were voided. So we adventured out in the rain with our ponchos. Surprise surprise everything was open. only thunder and lightening will they close it down. second day we were able to go within 14 days before they expire.

Doing what: Universal Orlando Tickets

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Islands of Adventure at Universal is awesome! Good value for money with the 2 Park hopper ticket. If you can try to stay at one of the Universal resorts you also get complementary Front of the Line passes for most of the rides at the two parks. This will save you a lot of time waiting in queues.

Doing what: Universal Orlando 2-Park Bonus Ticket

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2012

As these tickets are sold at a slight discount online it's worth buying them this way. Be aware though that you still have to queue at the ticket windows to get your park entry pass and that you’ll be fingerprinted on entry to ensure that only you use your ticket on subsequent days. Visiting in December it was fairly empty and I was able to ride a number of the attractions multiple times. The rollercoasters are probably the best part of the traditional Universal park. Anyone who’s been to Los Angeles will notice that the Terminator and Simpsons rides are exactly the same. The Mummy is an upgrade, and during the parade I got a whole car to myself and there were no queues for any of the rides. The interactive rides (Twister etc) were pretty awful and I never figured out what to shoot in MIB - maybe the friendly aliens reduce your score as the rollercoaster goes round. The Islands of Adventure seem to be more child focused. The queues for Harry Potter were very long, even on a quiet day, though the queues for everything else were short. Those who've been to Los Angeles will recognise the Jurassic Park flume as being exactly the same, but again there are a number of reasonable rollercoasters for older people. Be aware that the Harry Potter ride is part rollercoaster, part digital simulation and lasts a long time. I felt a touch of motion sickness. The single rider queues at the traditional Universal park were very effective, less so for the Islands and especially at Potter where most of the riders weren’t single and the normal queue was quicker. Still worth it for the experience though.

Doing what: Universal Orlando Tickets

Neil F
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

Ecellent value ticket. Islands of Adventure was exceptionally busy over the Christmas break, so it was a real advantage to hop between parks, as was the 14 day time period for use. Islands of Adventure is great for grown ups.

Doing what: Universal Orlando 2-Park Bonus Ticket

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2011

Just a heads up for those taking Viator confirmation vouchers to the Universal Islands of Adventure gate....the print-out told us to present our voucher at any Universal kiosk. After being routed to two wrong kiosk lines aand waiting 30 minutes, we were finally directed to the kiosk on the far left at the gate, where the entrance procedure was swift and easy. I believe that it is a green building. Hope this saves people some time!

Doing what: Universal Orlando Tickets

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

Went to the Islands of Adventure side. It was awesome! Best rides were the new Harry Potter ride and Spiderman.

Doing what: Universal Orlando Tickets

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

Universal Islands of Adventure was much better than Universal Studios. The Harry Potter world was fantastic!

Doing what: Universal Orlando Tickets

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2010

I lived in Orlando for ten years, and had a year pass to Universal Studios / Island of Adventure for upwards of 6 years. The only reason I let it lapse is because I moved across country. I absolutely love Universal and IOA - and I can't wait to go back and see Harry Potter now that they've opened the new Island there. Roller Coasters, good beer, good times, lots of laughs, the employees are generally relaxed and very funny - they poke fun at the customers (all in good humor) and present a really nice atmosphere for hanging out. I can't say enough nice things about all of my memories in Universal and IOA. If you're young at heart, and looking for more of a day of thrills and fun - then you won't be disappointed. And BTW - don't miss the Beetlejuice show! It's campy - but totally fun, and the singers / dancers are REALLY good!

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2010

I had never been to Islands of Adventure but had been to Universal Studios two years ago. IOA is certainly for older children, my daughter is eleven and enjoyed it especially Harry Potter. I enjoyed both parks but IOA shades probably because I have not been there before and the roller coasters are awesome.

Doing what: Universal Orlando 3-Park Unlimited Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

this ticket is recommended. Islands of adventure is a lot of fun.

Doing what: Universal Orlando 2-Park Bonus Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2010

Wonderful vacation, Universal Studios and Islands of Adventure were great! The ticket purchase was flawless and we will use Viator again.

Doing what: Universal Orlando 2-Park Bonus Ticket

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2009

Universal Studios was great, loved the setup and everything about it. Islands of Adventure was good too, but I definitely liked Universal Studios much better. The lineups were quite long, 45-60 min; didn't experience this at Disney. They do sell the express pass for an additional 20 per person per day. I personally didn't think it was worth it for a family of 4. We went the last week of February and they were only open til 6pm. Wish they were open later. They also had Mardi Gras but only on Saturday nights, so we missed that as well because we arrived late Saturday and departed the following Saturday.

Doing what: Universal Orlando 3-Park Unlimited Ticket

Sally W
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2008

Tickets easy to exchange,loved Islands of Adventure and Universal Studios.

Doing what: Universal Orlando 3-Park Unlimited Ticket

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message