Osaka ATTRACTIONS See all

Osaka Castle (Osaka-jo)

One of Japan's most famous castles, Osaka Castle played a major role in unifying Japan in the sixteenth century. First built in 1583 by one of Japan’s most fabled warlords, Hideyoshi Toyotomi, succeeded in ending century-long wars and using Osaka ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 14 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This tour was our introduction to Japan. We got to overlook the city from 173 m sky tower - spectacular views! Our guide was very helpful and informative. Osaka Castle is well worth going to see.

We are now on our way back to Australia after doing 6 Viator tours in Japan and I cannot recommend Viator tours more highly. It was easy to book/pay online and great to read other people's reviews which helped in making tour choices. Every tour was good value for money, well organised and had excellent guides and covered all the places we wanted to see. I will definately be booking with them for future overseas trips.

Doing what: Osaka Full-Day Walking Tour with Osaka River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

It was a great tour. Lots of insight information, great views of the castle and spectacular boat ride. Thank you.

Doing what: Osaka Afternoon Walking Tour with Osaka River Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

We enjoyed very much! Only problem is long walk to reach the Osaka Castle. It's so beautiful and majestic.

Doing what: Private Tour: Osaka City Sightseeing

Catherine C
Philippines

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

I expected a walking tour to most of Osaka's attractions but we walked mostly going to the subway and out,, the stations being located quite a distance from the attraction itself and we started late. Anyway, from our meeting place in Granvia Hotel Osaka, we walked to the nearby Umeda Sky building after which we went back to Granvia Hotel for lunch. After lunch, we took the subway to Temmabashi Station where we walked towards
the main tower of the Osaka Castle. We went up to the 5th floor(the elevator is only for going up) and you have to go down on foot as you browse through the museum but since we were given only a few min, there wasn't enough time to see everything. From there, we walked towards the pier located a good distance at the back of the castle for the river cruise. It was the nicest part of the tour which lasted almost an hour. Then we went back to our respective hotels by subway again.

Doing what: Osaka Full-Day Walking Tour with Osaka River Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Great tour, but lots of walking. Enjoyed the Osaka Castle.

Doing what: Osaka Full-Day Walking Tour with Osaka River Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

The walking tour was not worth writing home about, however, the lunch at the Granvia Hotel was the best of our stay in Osaka. We were rained on at the Osaka Castle and the river tour, but I would not have missed it.

Doing what: Osaka Full-Day Walking Tour with Osaka River Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Tour included a visit to the famous castle and a river cruise only. Thought the river cruise was a little too long. Recommend reducing the cruise duration and including a walking tour of the city center, The tour guide was very helpful.

Doing what: Osaka Afternoon Walking Tour with Osaka River Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2012

Our tour guide, Eiko San was very cheerful and we visited Osaka Castle. Very impressive. We love the floating Garden too but pity we did not have time to buy souvenirs. The time was so limited and we have to rush to catch the boat for our 60 minutes cruise round Nakanoshima.

Overall, our tour was fun.

Doing what: Osaka Full-Day Walking Tour with Osaka River Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

Mich, our tour guide, was very knowledgeable and fun. We would recommend him to our friends. The tour itself was quite average. The floating garden and Osaka Castle were good but the river cruise was boring and honestly a bit of a waste of time. It felt like the cruise could have been replaced with something better like a visit to the Museum of Housing and Living near the Osaka Castle which offers a combined ticket to both. The western lunch was not a problem at all for me but my husband thought it could have been better.

Doing what: Osaka Full-Day Walking Tour with Osaka River Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

The walking tour was good. The tour guide was polite and knowlegeable, and he mingled well with everyone in the group. I would say no one felt left out. My only gripe about the tour was its cost. It is on the high side. I took a tour to Kyoto and Nara, also with Viator, the following day, which cost slightly more than this tour, and that one took us to many more places and, sights and sounds. Price-wise, the two tours are not on par with each other, the Osaka tour is very much on the high side, with only two attractions (Osaka Castle and River Cruise) while Kyoto/Nara tour was a full day one packed with numerous venues, with coach transportation from venue to venue, and a buffet lunch thrown in.

Doing what: Osaka Afternoon Walking Tour with Osaka River Cruise

Catherine C
Philippines

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2010

I was a little disappointed because it was not really a walking tour; we took the subway to get to the Osaka Castle, where we were given only a few minutes inside, not enough time to see the museum. Worse, I was left behind! It would have been better if we were briefed on where we should go in case we got separated from the group like I did. Good thing the tour guide came back for me after I tried to contact the tour operator in spite the language barrier. I was helped by a kind Japanese couple who explained my predicament to them & who accompanied me to where the river boats were moored.

Doing what: Osaka Afternoon Walking Tour with Osaka River Cruise

Anonymous

Anonymous

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2009

Should be differently named as not a walking tour at all but a trip to the castle and a river cruise. But a very good afternoon with an informative guide.

Doing what: Osaka Afternoon Walking Tour with Osaka River Cruise

Haagse Harry.
Nederland

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2007

We saw the castle and went on the cruise. Neither one was very spectacular. The guide did her work and sometimes gave comments.

Doing what: Osaka Afternoon Walking Tour with Osaka River Cruise

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2011

Of the many tours I took this was the most unsatisfying - but that is my fault for not doing the research first. When i spoke with an Osaka resident the day before the tour he asked 'Why?'.

The guide was great and did his best but quite simply Osaka just isn't a city that has enough to organise a tour around! There are no 'stunning views' from what is now just a 'quite high' office building... The 'castle' is a museum built 50 years ago and the river cruise shows you nothing.

Doing what: Osaka Full-Day Walking Tour with Osaka River Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message