The Japanese province of Kansai has Kyoto as its temple goddess, but working-class Osaka adds the down-to-earth charm of a very modern Japanese city to the province's list of attractions. By day, the city celebrates its river and castle, and at ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 90 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ron M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Osaka Cooking Class

Nikki J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Really enjoyable class. Yayo was lovely and friendly and helpful. We learned how to cook different dishes but also learned about normal life in Japan which was really interesting. Loved all the little gifts at the end... The chopsticks and rest we had used.. And also Yayo insisted on giving us both umbrellas when we left as it was raining. So sweet!

Doing what: Osaka Cooking Class

David E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Oku Japan did an excellent job on this tour. The itinerary was clear, and the support was punctual and helpful. Kumano Kodo is the way to go if you're headed for Japan and want a lovely hike, especially in the spring.

Doing what: 3-Day or 4-Day Self-Guided Hike on Kumano Kodo Pilgrimage Route Including Lodging and Transport

A M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was a hugely enjoyable experience and well worthy of the 5 stars that I and the other reviewers have given it. The class takes place in Yayo's home and she is a delightful and welcoming host who is obviously passionate about cooking. We made a number of dishes see the class description using the 'watch one do one' format and recipe/instruction sheets are provided that you can take away afterwards. Everything tasted delicious and I only wish that I hadn't had breakfast that morning! The meeting arrangements were excellent and the station that you meet at is only a few stops out of central Osaka. This is well worth including in a visit to Osaka.

Doing what: Osaka Cooking Class

Jeremy J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We had a very unique moment with our cooking teacher Yayo. She's very open-minded and we loved to ask her about japanese culture. We spent one month across Japan, and that cooking class is one of the best memories of our trip.

Doing what: Osaka Cooking Class

Kevin H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

It was a rainy day and the guide adjusted the tour to keep us happy and dry. It cleared by the afternoon and the guide gave us extra time to be sure we got to see everything. Excellent tour!!

Doing what: Osaka Full-Day Walking Tour with Osaka River Cruise

Mary D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The tour guide was very nice and know Osaka quite well Junko also took the time to help people to take photos.

Doing what: Osaka Full-Day Walking Tour with Osaka River Cruise

Ben Netherlands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was truly a memorable experience! Teacher Yayo came and picked me up from the railway station, along with two other participants who were waiting in the same spot. Yayo was dressed in traditional Yukata, and so was her little dog. :o
We were invited into her home where she prepared green tea for us and explained what we would be cooking.
There was a good balance between instruction/demonstration and us repeating the techniques after her.
It was nice that we also had the opportunity to eat together the dishes we had created: Dashimaki, Takoyaki, Okonomiyaki and Miso soup.
When the cooking class was concluded, we received some nice souvernirs from Yayo. She escorted us back to the railway station.
The class lasted slightly longer than scheduled, so we didn't feel rushed at any time.
I'll be back next time to try the sushi lesson in the evening. :o

Doing what: Osaka Cooking Class

Eric N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Yayo-San was an incredibly kind and helpful cooking instructor! My wife an I showed up at the JR and Yayo-san walked up to us with a sign with our names on it, then walked us to her cooking class. After entering and donning slipperware, she led us to the tatami room where she made us Machya green powder tea from scratch. It was delicious. From there, we washed our hands and sat at the dining table where the lesson began. She was very kind and interested in our lives which made it a very personable experience. Her kawaii dog Akane was very friendly and enjoyed our company as we enjoyed hers! Yayo-san offered us some of her home made sake which was absolutely delicious. After the lesson concluded and photos were taken, she walked us back to the JR train station and helped us get on the proper train line. And by the way, she insisted I keep her umbrella since it was raining, and there was no refusing : she is a selfless person with a great class. I greatly recommend this class for anyone looking to learn about Japanese food and culture or just looking for a good couple of hours to fill their vacation. She speaks English very well, although she will modestly tell you she doesn't. :D Thanks Yayo-san and Akane-chan!

Doing what: Osaka Cooking Class

Cecelia N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our tour guide KC is an excellent tour guide, very friendly and experienced. He guided us all through the Osaka Castle and river boat tour. He was helpful and knowledgable. We recommend this tour.

Doing what: Osaka Afternoon Walking Tour with Osaka River Cruise

Maria P Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We had a wonderful day with a lovely guide who was so knowledgeable and helpful. 3 course lunch was an unexpected bonus. Lot's of walking of cause but well worth it.

Doing what: Osaka Full-Day Walking Tour with Osaka River Cruise

Ely El Salvador

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We Lived and interesting expirence With YAYO. Great way of teaching Japanese food cooking. Her cordiality, kindness and teaching was amazing and also to Have the opportunity to penetrate in the common way of leaving of Japanese People. We really enjoyed. Congrats.

Doing what: Osaka Cooking Class

Michael A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

There is a good reason this class receives 5 stars from everyone...my wife and I are very happy that we took the class.

Doing what: Osaka Cooking Class

bruce_2110

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Nice walk from Osaka station to the Umeda Sky Tower, great views. Guid spoke english well and was very informative throughout the tour. Short train ride to the Castle which was impressive and then on to the river boat cruise. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Osaka Full-Day Walking Tour with Osaka River Cruise

James P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

What a great experience. From being met at the train station by Yayoi in a kimono to the hands on cooking class. We really felt like guests in her beautiful home and active participants in the kitchen. The preparation for the class was well done. We learned new techniques, Osaka style recipes, and enjoyed eating our creations. A good taste of Japanese culture and food. Highly Recommended.

Doing what: Osaka Cooking Class

Amber H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

An intimate tour! It was amazing being invited into the home of two lovely sisters to learn their Osakan cooking techniques, passed down from their grandmother. We learned traditional Japanese recipes and how to cook two iconic Osaka dishes.

Doing what: Osaka Cooking Class

Megan C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great time learning how to cook Japanese food. The teacher was super sweet.

Doing what: Osaka Cooking Class

Georgia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This your was fantastic!!! It was perfectly planned and exceeded our expectations. Our tour guide (Seiko) had great knowledge of not only the area but also the rich history of Osaka castle and its samurai warriors- mustn't also forget her brilliant sense of humour and passion for her work.

We were able to walk the tour at our own pace and had plenty of opportunities for photos ( most of which Seiko took for us).

We could not recommend this tour enough. But for an unforgettable experience ensure you ask for Seiko!

Doing what: Osaka Afternoon Walking Tour with Osaka River Cruise

Claire6

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This cooking class was so great! It was a highlight of my time in Japan. Learnt how to make some great food with lovely people and the sake tasting was great too! I highly recommend this class!

Doing what: Osaka Cooking Class

Gregory C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

The tour guide was very helpful! She even walked me to a store to buy old Japanese currency and stamps. Great way to learn your way around Osaka!

Doing what: Osaka Afternoon Walking Tour with Osaka River Cruise

Christine L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Yayo and Niro were so nice and accommodating was so full after the class and a little tipsy with all the sake tasting that we did.

Doing what: Osaka Cooking Class

daniel m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Love Japan ... Would go again

Doing what: Osaka Afternoon Walking Tour with Osaka River Cruise

wozzie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Great tour. Beautiful setting and lovely tour guide

Doing what: Osaka Full-Day Walking Tour with Osaka River Cruise

Tracy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Lovely day spent in Osaka. Cherry Blossom everywhere - stunning. Its a fast pace - in, out, quick. Frustrating but alot to cover. Recommend highly

Doing what: Osaka Full-Day Walking Tour with Osaka River Cruise

Lauren O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This tour was an excellent way to get oriented in Osaka and see some of the bigger tourist attractions. The guide was friendly and spoke great English. She gave a thorough overview of the city, and was good at keeping everyone engaged.

Doing what: Osaka Full-Day Walking Tour with Osaka River Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message