Osaka is a perfect base from which to explore other parts of Japan. All of the country's major cities are accessible within a few hours by high-speed train, and a handful of desirable destinations make for great day trips. Kyoto  – 30 minutes  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 265 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jamie A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The tour guide, Seiko, was absolutely brilliant with the entire group. She was always willing to take photos, answer questions, and truly her English was amazing. On the way back she even helped us figure out the best way to get to Kyoto at the time of night we would be traveling. Truly a STAR.

I really liked the structure of the tour as well because it meant that we got to board one of the bullet trains and experience the Japanese rail network. The sites were pretty incredible on top of everything else and well worth the visit. The only thing we didn't love was the hotel lunch but that's pretty standard on a tour like this so not that disappointing. Overall we had a great time, got great advice and input from the amazing tour guide, and were treated to a really great outing from Osaka.

Doing what: Himeji Castle, Koko-en Garden and Akashi Kaikyo Bridge from Osaka

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Kondo San is a great guide. Informative and always smiling. Never hurried. We had a fantastic experience walking through the palaces, shrines and temples across two ancient capitals of Japan. Well maintained properties. We learned a bit about the architecture and funnily all wood structures have been rebuilt several times because of destruction by fire sometime or the other in the past. The travel officers ensured that we knew our way back at the drop off places. Very very helpful right throug the day. I lost my camera in an Osaka taxi at the start of the day. They called up the taxi company immediately, raced the taxi and manages to have my camera back! Happy memories.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

Kevin H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Perfectly run and organised! I had a great time.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

Michael D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Very interesting thoroughly enjoyable took lots of photos and tour guide Saiko very knowledgable and friendly

Doing what: Himeji Castle, Koko-en Garden and Akashi Kaikyo Bridge from Osaka

Michael D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Very interesting took lots of photos thoroughly enjoyable tour guide Saiko very knowledgable and friendly.

Doing what: Kyoto Afternoon Tour to Heian Shrine, Sanjusangendo Hall and Kiyomizu Temple from Osaka

Keith L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour is long but well worth the time. We got through a lot of territory that would have been impossible to get through on your own. The guides were easy to listen to and very knowledgeable with great sense of humor. I highly recommend this tour for those who would like to experience Kyoto and Nara in one days time.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

Bruce G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great tour, well organised. Amazing castle with peaceful gardens nearby.

Doing what: Himeji Castle, Koko-en Garden and Akashi Kaikyo Bridge from Osaka

Joseph M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great tour very enthusiastic guide : Thanks

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

Hawaii

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our guide made the tour...but I also think this tour is a must for anyone who loves a lovely area and history. Vegetarian lunch was really good.

Doing what: Mt Koya Day Trip from Osaka Including Okunoin and Danjo Garan Temples

gwapocat Philippines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Breathtaking Nara! It was great. Make sure you don't book on a holiday, to avoid the crowds and heavy traffic.

Doing what: Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine from Osaka

gwapocat Philippines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Fun and informative. Make sure you don't book on a holiday, those places can get pretty crowded on silver week.

Doing what: Kyoto Day Tour of Golden Pavilion, Nijo Castle and Sanjusangendo from Osaka

pook Thailand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent tour, all staffs from the tour company are friendly and good services. We are like it all the place we went. In the near future we will use Viator to book our vacations again and recommend my friends to use it.

Doing what: Kyoto Day Tour of Golden Pavilion, Nijo Castle and Sanjusangendo from Osaka

Kim A D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Amazing tour :)

Love the tour guide person he was very funny and energetic.

Tour to Nara was great such a lovely place. It was good we enjoyed it. Highly reccommended.

Thank you

Anne

Doing what: Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine from Osaka

Ernest A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour with good tour guides. Tour guides that took us from Osaka to Kyoto and back was really helpful. Guide in Kyoto was good too.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

Alanah D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide Mineko Miko was simply wonderful. She had such great knowledge about Kyoto and was an excellent guide. She is the reason I would recommend this tour to others as well as the fact it packs a lot into one day if you are short for time in Kyoto.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

Alanah D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide Mineko Miko was simply wonderful. She had such great knowledge about Kyoto and was an excellent guide. She is the reason I would recommend this tour to others as well as the fact it packs a lot into one day if you are short for time in Kyoto.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

Charles W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We enjoyed this tour from beginning to end!
The tour employees were with us every step of the way.
Their English was great. We understood everything they said.
In hindsight we should have booked with Viator in Toyko
instead of the Holland America Cruise Line tour.
It was very disappointing.
Next time we will certainly look into the Viator tours first.

Doing what: Kyoto Morning Tour of Kinkakuji Temple, Nijo Castle and Kyoto Imperial Palace from Osaka

jonazman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was a beautiful day and a wonderful trip. Tour guide very enthusiastic.

Doing what: Hiroshima and Miyajima Day Tour from Osaka

jonazman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour guide. She was enthusiastic about sites we toured and spoke good English.
A beautiful day and great tour.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

Lyn

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide Mariko was excellent. She was extremely knowledgeable and made the tour very rewarding especially in regards to the Peace Park and Museum.

We were very moved in going through the Peace Museum. This was the highlight of the tour.

The transport to and from Osaka and Hiroshima was very organised. Including taxis from the meeting point to the Osaka Shinkansen Station and when we arrived back to Osaka at 8:00 pm we were given 2000 yen to cover the taxi back to our hotel.

Doing what: Hiroshima and Miyajima Day Tour from Osaka

Janet Lee T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Comprehensive and complete trip. We were well taken care of.

Doing what: Kyoto Morning Tour of Kinkakuji Temple, Nijo Castle and Kyoto Imperial Palace from Osaka

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message