Osaka is a perfect base from which to explore other parts of Japan. All of the country’s major cities are accessible within a few hours of Osaka by high-speed train, and a handful of desirable destinations make for great day trips. Here are the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 28 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

It was my 1st viator tour/trip to osaka! Myself and mum truly enjoyed this 1 day kyoto/nara tour. The Eng guide was professional and informative. The only neg feedback is the pickup guide - she is friendly and helpful but she walks too fast! Should be mindful if there is oldie in the tour.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour was exceptionally well planned. The tour overview says that the guide will collect particpants from their respective hotel, but the reaility is that you have to get to the Granvia hotel. We had two guides: one for the morning and one for the afternoon. The one in the afternoon was a little difficult to understand at times; their knowledge was excellent and very engaging in their style. The pace was brisk, but I never felt rushed and it's great when points of interest are identified and an insightful commentary given. The return trip was largely on the subway and required a change of line which is a bit daunting because most of the signs are in japanese. However, the guides were excellent and went above and beyond to ensure that the group stayed together and even escorted me to the right exit in Osaka station. I have no hestitation recommending this tour to anyone. Overall, excellent and great value for money when you consider that the cost of train tickets (apart from the final leg of the subway journey wich cost JPY240), coaches and entrance to the sites.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

From the time I booked my tour, to the actual tour itself, I was impressed with the efficiency professionalism of the entire operation. The booking process was easy and I appreciated the follow-up emails from Viator.

When I arrived at the Granvia Hotel, my pick-up point to start the tour, I found the tour operators to be well organized, professional and friendly. All the staff that I came in contact with more than met my expectations of what I expect from a professional tour company.

I truly appreciated their punctuality and their candor about everyone really needing to pay attention to time schedules. My tour guides were extremely knowledgeable about what we were seeing, and I also appreciated the extra they provided, especially the stories.

At the end of the tour, when taking the train from Nara back to Osaka, my guide provided excellent information to me on how to get to my hotel because I would be getting off the train before Osaka Station.

I will recommend Viator and the tour operator to others, and would not hesitate to book another tour with you. Thanks for making my Osaka, Kyoto and Nara trip very enjoyable.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Every part of the tour was excellent, from meeting our guide at the hotel to start the tour, to getting us back to the train station in Osaka at the end of the day.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

Dianne B
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We met our guide at a hotel in Osaka where he explained our itinerary for the tour. We proceeded to the train station where we all caught a train to Kyoto. We were dropped off by bus to another hotel and met up with other people joining the tour. We began the morning part of the tour, which we found to be a bit rushed. I understand we had to be quick, otherwise we would not have fitted everything in. After the morning tour we were taken to a restaurant for lunch which was traditional Japanese food beautifully presented. After lunch we were back on the bus and headed out to Nara for our afternoon tour, so glad we did the day tour and not just the morning or afternoon tour. We had a sleep in the bus on the way to Nara, then off to visit the shrine and temple which was amazing. Our guide was most informative and his jokes were quite entertaining. His English was good and he explained a lot about the Japanese culture which gave us a better understanding of the tour. I highly recommend this tour. If you have time make sure you do the whole day as I would not have wanted to miss any part of this tour.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

I gave this rating a 5 star because I have always loved Japan and was excited to go on a tour. the guide was OK but what made up for the OK tour was the efficiency of the Tour. The Japanese are so organized and we accomplished everything without delay. We had just enough time to do what we needed to see and discuss. I understand that the guide himself was ok because of the size of the group and he had to get information to everyone in a timely fashion. I was delighted to see everything I got to see on this tour. My brother, sister and I got off a tour in China with an amazing guide and I missed not having the same personal and dynamic guy in Osaka.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Highly recommended if you have only one day in Kyoto or Osaka and haven't explore Kyoto. Great sightseeing experience especially Golden Pavillion, Sanjusangendo and Kiyomizu-dera Temple. Apart of that, Nijo Castle brings interesting knowledge about the Shogun and the Imperial lifestyle during the ancient time.

Doing what: Kyoto Day Tour of Golden Pavilion, Nijo Castle and Sanjusangendo from Osaka

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Nice 1 day tour of Kyoto and Nara from Osaka. Well organized with good English speaking guide is helpful. The lunch period was a rush, otherwise, it was a great value for money trip. A point to note, Japan's public facilities are not very friendly to children stroller if you are traveling with one!

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

Francis N
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

It was our 1st day on this tour after arriving the night before into Osaka. We loved it all, the temples & castle in the morning, especially the Golden Pavillion. It actually snowed for us while there, and they say it happens only 1-2 times per year. The lunch was brilliant & the afternoon deer park & Shinto shrines. Others only did the morning part & said now that they should have taken the full day tour with us. My only objection was that the price could have been a bit lower.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2009

I really enjoyed the trip. I was met at my hotel in the morning with an escort to help me navigate the subway and trains to get to the tour location in Kyoto. She was wonderful. The tour was great. There were many wonderful sights to see, with time to explore some at each site. It was sort of busy, with school kids at each location, but it was not a major problem. I was able to see everything without a problem. I would have liked to have had more time at the Handicraft Center, but ended up going back on my own the next day so it was fine. One of my favorite parts was the Nara Deer Park, where if you hold the biscuits up high and bow, the deer will bow to ask for a biscuit. They can be quite assertive, so you need to firm in what you will do. The larg Buddha was amazing to see. This was such a wonderful tour. I would highly recommend it. After the tour I was met by another escort in Nara that helped me to return to my hotel in Osaka. I always felt well taken care of and the guides were very knowledgable. It was one of my better experiences in Japan. I felt completely comfortable traveling on the tour as a single woman traveling alone.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

Mark F
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

I was met at the agreed upon time by a fantastic tour escort, who looked after me from Osaka to Kyoto. In Kyoto, the group was about 20-25 people, and we were all well looked after. Nara was fantastic, and I highly recommend this tour if you are short on time and want to see as much as possible.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

mimie
Malaysia

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Overall, very nice tour. I met the tour guide (first tour guide) at Granvia Hotel Osaka and later with a group of other tourists we took the JR train to Kyoto. At Kyoto, a coach was waiting for us, and we visited the Nijo Castle, a temple and Kyoto Imperial Palace. The whole trip was well-organized. The tour guide (second tour guide) at Kyoto explained everything clearly. Later at around 12:30pm, I was sent back to the hotel near Kyoto JR station, and the first tour guide took be back (by train) to Osaka. Thanks Viator!

Doing what: Kyoto Morning Tour of Kinkakuji Temple, Nijo Castle and Kyoto Imperial Palace from Osaka

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

This tour combines a morning and an afternoon tour of Kyoto, separated by a lunch. It is a very long and tiring day and would be better enjoyed if taken separately. The tour guide was excellent as was the driver, and the representative showed us where and how to take the subway after getting off the JR at the Osaka train station. She even showed us how to buy our tickets. This was very helpful for the remainder of our stay in Osaka.

Doing what: Kyoto Day Tour of Golden Pavilion, Nijo Castle and Sanjusangendo from Osaka

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Enjoyed tour. Guides were very good. Lots of time to explore sites. Guides were very good at helping people get back to their Osaka hotels. Kyoto and Nara just don't have the fabulous sites like we enjoyed on Viator tours from Munich and Madrid. Maybe because we are westerners not Asians. Still enjoyed it very much.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Great tour except the trip from Osaka to Kyoto, did not enjoy the train trip and the lunch was not the normal classy place Via tours selects, it lacked the ability to interface and socially visit other tour participants. Kyoto and Nara were more than expected, great tour guide.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message