Osaka is a perfect base from which to explore other parts of Japan. All of the country's major cities are accessible within a few hours by high-speed train, and a handful of desirable destinations make for great day trips. Kyoto  – 30 minutes  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 211 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The tour was very good. The guides looked after us well and were very knowledgable. The timings were good, we were allowed enough time in each place to see everything without feeling rushed. They even organised a taxi for us to take us back to our hotel. Most impressed!

Doing what: Hiroshima and Miyajima Day Tour from Osaka

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We were very happy with the tour. It started on time and ended on time. The tour guides were very well versed and knowledgeable. All in all it was a very good tour. Thank you Viator.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent tour and excellent guide. One thing to note is that the Miyajima part of the tour is really the majority of the time spent--more, actually, that was spent in Hiroshima. There was still time to see everything we wanted to in Hiroshima, but whereas we had thought the primary piece of the tour was going to be Hiroshima, that wasn't completely the case.

Doing what: Hiroshima and Miyajima Day Tour from Osaka

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was a fantastic tour! The best! The tour guide was very knowledgeable and very informative. She made traveling on the bus go by quickly with entertaining tidbits, games, songs and competitions with prizes!!! she was fabulous!!! Loved Miyajima island, the island in its self! Great shopping, could have use more time here! Loved this tour!!!!

Doing what: Hiroshima and Miyajima Day Tour from Osaka

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Although the trip was a drizzly day, the arrangement with the tour company, the tour representative and tour guide were very accommodating. They made sure we were by their sides when moving through the busy train stations, at the train's platforms and awaiting taxi service. They even offered to cover part of the taxi cost back to our hotel at the end.
Mariko was very patient with questions and made the trip very informational and fun. She was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Hiroshima and Miyajima Day Tour from Osaka

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

In one day I saw a lot! The guide was good. What I really appreciated was the guiding to get to the station and the bus in Kyoto. And even at the end of the tour there was a lovely girl/guide to bring me back to Osaka!! That was really fantastic. I really liked the Japanese lunch!!

Doing what: Kyoto Day Tour of Golden Pavilion, Nijo Castle and Sanjusangendo from Osaka

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Very good experience. All went smoothly done.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Lots to see in the morning. Staff were friendly and informative. Very professional. Only problem was too little time at the 3 shrines.

Doing what: Kyoto Morning Tour of Kinkakuji Temple, Nijo Castle and Kyoto Imperial Palace from Osaka

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

The tour from start to finish was great worth the time to go. The hosts very very knowledgeable great tour

Doing what: Kyoto Day Tour of Golden Pavilion, Nijo Castle and Sanjusangendo from Osaka

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Hi the tour was excellent the temples in kioto and the shrines in osaka we took lots of photos and the memories will remain with us forever.
Regards
Michael

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was excellent, and covers all aspects in the 11 hours. The guide was excellent and was very informative and caring of all passengers. He was of great assistance which was a huge bonus as we were able to ask many questions and further understand the culture of Kyoto and Nara. A wonderful tour for anyone wishing to see Kyoto and Nara in a day. Thank you Viator I would choose your tours again.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour. The tour guide is very knowledgable and has a good sense of humor.

Doing what: Kyoto Morning Tour of Kinkakuji Temple, Nijo Castle and Kyoto Imperial Palace from Osaka

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour was amazing but it could not go any better with the fun and informative guides I thank and commend all of them. Special thanks go to Ms. Noriko Yamaguchi who went out of her way to come with me to the JR office and help me book shinkansen tickets for Hiroshima and gave me booklets.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fantastic day everything went great and the highlight was the
friendly deer in the streets

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

great tour! Hiro-san wa taihen ii desu. great sense of history, of humor and was very able in assisting us for anything. will submit more later.

Doing what: Kyoto Day Tour of Golden Pavilion, Nijo Castle and Sanjusangendo from Osaka

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

It was my 1st viator tour/trip to osaka! Myself and mum truly enjoyed this 1 day kyoto/nara tour. The Eng guide was professional and informative. The only neg feedback is the pickup guide - she is friendly and helpful but she walks too fast! Should be mindful if there is oldie in the tour.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour was exceptionally well planned. The tour overview says that the guide will collect particpants from their respective hotel, but the reaility is that you have to get to the Granvia hotel. We had two guides: one for the morning and one for the afternoon. The one in the afternoon was a little difficult to understand at times; their knowledge was excellent and very engaging in their style. The pace was brisk, but I never felt rushed and it's great when points of interest are identified and an insightful commentary given. The return trip was largely on the subway and required a change of line which is a bit daunting because most of the signs are in japanese. However, the guides were excellent and went above and beyond to ensure that the group stayed together and even escorted me to the right exit in Osaka station. I have no hestitation recommending this tour to anyone. Overall, excellent and great value for money when you consider that the cost of train tickets (apart from the final leg of the subway journey wich cost JPY240), coaches and entrance to the sites.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Very interesting and the guides were very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Kyoto Day Tour of Golden Pavilion, Nijo Castle and Sanjusangendo from Osaka

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great trip well worth the price and time...guides were very good. Highly recommended for it's interesting places, good food and nicely timed pace...not too rushed and not boring.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The deer park is very enjoyable for kids my daughter really enjoyed it

Doing what: Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine from Osaka

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

From the time I booked my tour, to the actual tour itself, I was impressed with the efficiency professionalism of the entire operation. The booking process was easy and I appreciated the follow-up emails from Viator.

When I arrived at the Granvia Hotel, my pick-up point to start the tour, I found the tour operators to be well organized, professional and friendly. All the staff that I came in contact with more than met my expectations of what I expect from a professional tour company.

I truly appreciated their punctuality and their candor about everyone really needing to pay attention to time schedules. My tour guides were extremely knowledgeable about what we were seeing, and I also appreciated the extra they provided, especially the stories.

At the end of the tour, when taking the train from Nara back to Osaka, my guide provided excellent information to me on how to get to my hotel because I would be getting off the train before Osaka Station.

I will recommend Viator and the tour operator to others, and would not hesitate to book another tour with you. Thanks for making my Osaka, Kyoto and Nara trip very enjoyable.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Best part are the people, you will never get lost, people will leave what they are doing just to lead you to your destination :-) then the castle and temple, it will bring you back in time. The best trip ever :-) SAFEST place!!!

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Every part of the tour was excellent, from meeting our guide at the hotel to start the tour, to getting us back to the train station in Osaka at the end of the day.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message