• USD ($)
  • English
Osaka is an excellent location from which to explore various tourist attractions in Japan. In particular, Kyoto is widely regarded as one of the Japanese cities that are not to be missed for visitors from abroad interested in Japanese history and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 42 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

From the time I booked my tour, to the actual tour itself, I was impressed with the efficiency professionalism of the entire operation. The booking process was easy and I appreciated the follow-up emails from Viator.

When I arrived at the Granvia Hotel, my pick-up point to start the tour, I found the tour operators to be well organized, professional and friendly. All the staff that I came in contact with more than met my expectations of what I expect from a professional tour company.

I truly appreciated their punctuality and their candor about everyone really needing to pay attention to time schedules. My tour guides were extremely knowledgeable about what we were seeing, and I also appreciated the extra they provided, especially the stories.

At the end of the tour, when taking the train from Nara back to Osaka, my guide provided excellent information to me on how to get to my hotel because I would be getting off the train before Osaka Station.

I will recommend Viator and the tour operator to others, and would not hesitate to book another tour with you. Thanks for making my Osaka, Kyoto and Nara trip very enjoyable.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

JTB did a very good job in organizing the visits and we had a great time and enjoyed Kyoto very much.

Doing what: Kyoto Day Tour of Golden Pavilion, Nijo Castle and Sanjusangendo from Osaka

Dianne B
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We met our guide at a hotel in Osaka where he explained our itinerary for the tour. We proceeded to the train station where we all caught a train to Kyoto. We were dropped off by bus to another hotel and met up with other people joining the tour. We began the morning part of the tour, which we found to be a bit rushed. I understand we had to be quick, otherwise we would not have fitted everything in. After the morning tour we were taken to a restaurant for lunch which was traditional Japanese food beautifully presented. After lunch we were back on the bus and headed out to Nara for our afternoon tour, so glad we did the day tour and not just the morning or afternoon tour. We had a sleep in the bus on the way to Nara, then off to visit the shrine and temple which was amazing. Our guide was most informative and his jokes were quite entertaining. His English was good and he explained a lot about the Japanese culture which gave us a better understanding of the tour. I highly recommend this tour. If you have time make sure you do the whole day as I would not have wanted to miss any part of this tour.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

Elna
Philippines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Hubby and I really enjoyed this tour which allowed us to visit best sites in Kyoto and Nara. Our guide speaks really good English and very funny with her good sense of humor.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

this is an excellent tour. You get to see the highlights of Kyoto and Nara. The quality of service is top notch, as you would expect from the Japanese. Highly recommend it. You won't be disappointed.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

The gentleman who led us from the meeting point at the hotel to the bus, Mr. Yamamoto (?) is awesome in taking care of us! He is one of the best tour guides! Thanks so much.
In general, the Kyoto tour is worth the money with sightseeing tours, lunch, visiting famous places in Kyoto and Nara.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This is a must do if you're going to Kyoto! Yes, it was exhausting seeing so much in one day, but it gave us the chance to see all the more popular sights at once and other days could be focused on the "out of the way" locations. Lunch wasn't great, but it was a planned meal that we did not have to worry about. The best part was that the final stop is a short walk to the Gion District, so we just left the tour (informing the guide of course) walked to Gion for sightseeing and dinner, and took the trains back to our hotel. All in all this is well worth the money!

Doing what: Kyoto Day Tour of Golden Pavilion, Nijo Castle and Sanjusangendo from Osaka

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

We got picked up at the hotel by a cheery woman who took us on a train to Kyoto to join the other members of the tour. Our guide was funny and informative, always gave us enough time for photos and to leave the group for awhile. The sites were amazing and very beauti

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Highly recommended if you have only one day in Kyoto or Osaka and haven't explore Kyoto. Great sightseeing experience especially Golden Pavillion, Sanjusangendo and Kiyomizu-dera Temple. Apart of that, Nijo Castle brings interesting knowledge about the Shogun and the Imperial lifestyle during the ancient time.

Doing what: Kyoto Day Tour of Golden Pavilion, Nijo Castle and Sanjusangendo from Osaka

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Nice 1 day tour of Kyoto and Nara from Osaka. Well organized with good English speaking guide is helpful. The lunch period was a rush, otherwise, it was a great value for money trip. A point to note, Japan's public facilities are not very friendly to children stroller if you are traveling with one!

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

Great English guided tour to some of the most famous attractions in Kyoto. The tour was very well organized and proceeded as planned. I absolutely enjoyed every single attraction and the tour guide gave an excellent explanation to every location.

Doing what: Kyoto Day Tour of Golden Pavilion, Nijo Castle and Sanjusangendo from Osaka

Larry D
Philippines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2009

Enjoyed the tour, lets you experience Japanese history and culture in a day. The tour guide spoke good English and provided a number of interesting trivia. I found the morning Kyoto tour a bit rushy, but understandable because we had to cover more ground. The afternoon Nara tour was a lot more relaxing, we were given close to 2 hours free time to walk around the Nara temple and deer park. Lunch buffet can be improved though. Cheers.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2009

I really enjoyed the trip. I was met at my hotel in the morning with an escort to help me navigate the subway and trains to get to the tour location in Kyoto. She was wonderful. The tour was great. There were many wonderful sights to see, with time to explore some at each site. It was sort of busy, with school kids at each location, but it was not a major problem. I was able to see everything without a problem. I would have liked to have had more time at the Handicraft Center, but ended up going back on my own the next day so it was fine. One of my favorite parts was the Nara Deer Park, where if you hold the biscuits up high and bow, the deer will bow to ask for a biscuit. They can be quite assertive, so you need to firm in what you will do. The larg Buddha was amazing to see. This was such a wonderful tour. I would highly recommend it. After the tour I was met by another escort in Nara that helped me to return to my hotel in Osaka. I always felt well taken care of and the guides were very knowledgable. It was one of my better experiences in Japan. I felt completely comfortable traveling on the tour as a single woman traveling alone.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

Mark F
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

I was met at the agreed upon time by a fantastic tour escort, who looked after me from Osaka to Kyoto. In Kyoto, the group was about 20-25 people, and we were all well looked after. Nara was fantastic, and I highly recommend this tour if you are short on time and want to see as much as possible.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Well organized. The tour guides for Kyoto and Nara were both knowledgeable. Lunch was awesome. The only disapointment was that we did not get to see more of Kyoto.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message