Nara, located in Japan's Kansai (Southern) region, was the country's first permanent capital city, established in the year 710 AD. Nara is easily accessible from Osaka via either high-speed train or bus and it's well worth the effort—especially if ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 41 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was excellent, and covers all aspects in the 11 hours. The guide was excellent and was very informative and caring of all passengers. He was of great assistance which was a huge bonus as we were able to ask many questions and further understand the culture of Kyoto and Nara. A wonderful tour for anyone wishing to see Kyoto and Nara in a day. Thank you Viator I would choose your tours again.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

It was my 1st viator tour/trip to osaka! Myself and mum truly enjoyed this 1 day kyoto/nara tour. The Eng guide was professional and informative. The only neg feedback is the pickup guide - she is friendly and helpful but she walks too fast! Should be mindful if there is oldie in the tour.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

From the time I booked my tour, to the actual tour itself, I was impressed with the efficiency professionalism of the entire operation. The booking process was easy and I appreciated the follow-up emails from Viator.

When I arrived at the Granvia Hotel, my pick-up point to start the tour, I found the tour operators to be well organized, professional and friendly. All the staff that I came in contact with more than met my expectations of what I expect from a professional tour company.

I truly appreciated their punctuality and their candor about everyone really needing to pay attention to time schedules. My tour guides were extremely knowledgeable about what we were seeing, and I also appreciated the extra they provided, especially the stories.

At the end of the tour, when taking the train from Nara back to Osaka, my guide provided excellent information to me on how to get to my hotel because I would be getting off the train before Osaka Station.

I will recommend Viator and the tour operator to others, and would not hesitate to book another tour with you. Thanks for making my Osaka, Kyoto and Nara trip very enjoyable.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

really enjoyed the tour. the tourist guides were very friendly and accomodating. they were also very helpful from the meeting place at the Granvia Hotel, the bus and train stations to the Shinsaibashi area even after the tour- teaching us where to go and what to look for. we really enjoyed the historical sites and the kids didnt get bored. they were so happy with the encounters with the deers at the deer park in Nara. the lunch was good and even kid friendly. the tour was in over-all excellent and we will surely book again with you. thanks for the experience.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

Dianne B
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We met our guide at a hotel in Osaka where he explained our itinerary for the tour. We proceeded to the train station where we all caught a train to Kyoto. We were dropped off by bus to another hotel and met up with other people joining the tour. We began the morning part of the tour, which we found to be a bit rushed. I understand we had to be quick, otherwise we would not have fitted everything in. After the morning tour we were taken to a restaurant for lunch which was traditional Japanese food beautifully presented. After lunch we were back on the bus and headed out to Nara for our afternoon tour, so glad we did the day tour and not just the morning or afternoon tour. We had a sleep in the bus on the way to Nara, then off to visit the shrine and temple which was amazing. Our guide was most informative and his jokes were quite entertaining. His English was good and he explained a lot about the Japanese culture which gave us a better understanding of the tour. I highly recommend this tour. If you have time make sure you do the whole day as I would not have wanted to miss any part of this tour.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

Elna
Philippines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Hubby and I really enjoyed this tour which allowed us to visit best sites in Kyoto and Nara. Our guide speaks really good English and very funny with her good sense of humor.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

this is an excellent tour. You get to see the highlights of Kyoto and Nara. The quality of service is top notch, as you would expect from the Japanese. Highly recommend it. You won't be disappointed.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

The gentleman who led us from the meeting point at the hotel to the bus, Mr. Yamamoto (?) is awesome in taking care of us! He is one of the best tour guides! Thanks so much.
In general, the Kyoto tour is worth the money with sightseeing tours, lunch, visiting famous places in Kyoto and Nara.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Awesome, well-paced tour. The tour guide, Yoshi, was great and friendly and the sights were worth seeing. The tour was on time and well worth the money. The Nara deer were adorable, but very hungry.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

What a fascinating tour! Since the Imperial Palace was closed on a Saturday, the alternative was still fascinating! Beautiful architecture and workmanship visiting the sights on the tour!!! The scenery were of postcard value. in spite of the crowds, the sights were just amazing! It would have been nicer to spend a few more time on each one but nonetheless, the time was enough to take in the commentary and take amazing photos for lovely memories! The deers at Nara Park were amazing!

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Nice 1 day tour of Kyoto and Nara from Osaka. Well organized with good English speaking guide is helpful. The lunch period was a rush, otherwise, it was a great value for money trip. A point to note, Japan's public facilities are not very friendly to children stroller if you are traveling with one!

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

Larry D
Philippines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2009

Enjoyed the tour, lets you experience Japanese history and culture in a day. The tour guide spoke good English and provided a number of interesting trivia. I found the morning Kyoto tour a bit rushy, but understandable because we had to cover more ground. The afternoon Nara tour was a lot more relaxing, we were given close to 2 hours free time to walk around the Nara temple and deer park. Lunch buffet can be improved though. Cheers.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2009

I really enjoyed the trip. I was met at my hotel in the morning with an escort to help me navigate the subway and trains to get to the tour location in Kyoto. She was wonderful. The tour was great. There were many wonderful sights to see, with time to explore some at each site. It was sort of busy, with school kids at each location, but it was not a major problem. I was able to see everything without a problem. I would have liked to have had more time at the Handicraft Center, but ended up going back on my own the next day so it was fine. One of my favorite parts was the Nara Deer Park, where if you hold the biscuits up high and bow, the deer will bow to ask for a biscuit. They can be quite assertive, so you need to firm in what you will do. The larg Buddha was amazing to see. This was such a wonderful tour. I would highly recommend it. After the tour I was met by another escort in Nara that helped me to return to my hotel in Osaka. I always felt well taken care of and the guides were very knowledgable. It was one of my better experiences in Japan. I felt completely comfortable traveling on the tour as a single woman traveling alone.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

Janet P
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

Just awesome! our guide was great had a good sense of humour. Just mind the deers don't eat you at Nara.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

Mark F
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

I was met at the agreed upon time by a fantastic tour escort, who looked after me from Osaka to Kyoto. In Kyoto, the group was about 20-25 people, and we were all well looked after. Nara was fantastic, and I highly recommend this tour if you are short on time and want to see as much as possible.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Hiro ,Matso oka and Yamaji these were our guides and they were so friendly and cooperative they work for the sunrise trours company which we think is the best in Japan for English speaking tours the golden temple was so beautiful the deers at the Nara temple were funny and the Nara park 20 min walk

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Still i will still recommed this even thou we are not able to see the kyoto castle and nijo castle, because our tour is dec 30 but it was close for the holiday too bad but i still could like to suggest that viator advice in advance if the site suppose to visit is open or not... But im happy to visit the equally important site in kyoto and nara .....

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The tour was ausume. Kyoto is very beautiful city. The tour guiders are very good, kindness and helpful.

I recommend to this tour without Nara ( Kyoto full day or half day).

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Well organized. The tour guides for Kyoto and Nara were both knowledgeable. Lunch was awesome. The only disapointment was that we did not get to see more of Kyoto.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Enjoyed tour. Guides were very good. Lots of time to explore sites. Guides were very good at helping people get back to their Osaka hotels. Kyoto and Nara just don't have the fabulous sites like we enjoyed on Viator tours from Munich and Madrid. Maybe because we are westerners not Asians. Still enjoyed it very much.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

WOW !!! A full day of exploration.....starting with being picked up promptly by our guide and then being led for a subway-train ride to Kyoto where we boarded a bus for transportation to the various temples and palaces. The guide was able to provide enough background information to better appreciate each sight.
The itinerary was followed and so our appreciation of the city was enhanced.

A lunch break was folloed by a bus transfer to Nara where the highlight was a visit to Nara Park; a park with literally hundreds of deer roaming around and begging for food, typically crackers that could be purchased for a few cents. Here, as in Kyoto, there was lots of walking and visit to several temples.

If one's objective is to get the "flavor" of the area, this tour will provide it!

To experience to public transportation system is eye-opening for an expatriate New Yorker. The extent of service and cleanliness is interesting in that it helps reduce private auto use.

All expenses were covered....with the exception of one subway train fare for a few yen. A hint though...after purchasing a ticket, it is inserted into the turnstile and returned to you. KEEP IT !!! When you exit, it must be inserted into the exit turnstile!

Again, for an overview for the flavor of the cities, this tour will provide it. I have no difficulty is recommending it to others with the same interest, an overview...not an in-depth exposure.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Great tour except the trip from Osaka to Kyoto, did not enjoy the train trip and the lunch was not the normal classy place Via tours selects, it lacked the ability to interface and socially visit other tour participants. Kyoto and Nara were more than expected, great tour guide.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

We saw a lot during a short span of time. I was a little worried that we over spent on this tour since it is pricey... but considering how much it would have costs in train rides just to get from Osaka to Kyoto/Nara, convinced me that it wasn't.
If you don't mind being a little rushed in viewing everything and eating lunch... than I would totally recommend it. Tour guide was great; the food was so-so.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2012

The Kyoto tour was interesting as we were being lead by a very interesting Tour Guide, Yoshitaka Harada San. He was very expressive and joked in between during his tour, giving us a very good impression of him.
We love the Golden Pavilion, Nijo Castle and the impressive Imperial Palace. It was well explained.
Pity we did not visit Kyoto Handicrafts Centre before our lunch so we missed that Centre.

As for Nara, it was lead by Yamaguchi San. Her pace was fast but her explanation was clear and understandable. She spoke very good English. Our visit to Todaiji to see the Great Buddha was nice. We had a great time taking pictures with those deers and finally we wen to Taisha Shrine in Nara.

This tour was very good overall. Interesting and worth our money.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

Me, my wife and my two boys ( 10 and 9 years old ) had a terrific time in kyoto and nara. our tour guides, especially for the nara leg of the tour, were very insightful, funny and informative. lunch was ok, but we were taken to a different restaurant as opposed to the one stated on the itinerary which is the buffet lunch at Handicraft Center. No explanation was given for the switch. Overall, I would recommnend this tour for first time visitors of Kyoto and Nara.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message