Nara, located in Japan's Kansai (Southern) region, was the country's first permanent capital city, established in the year 710 AD. Nara is easily accessible from Osaka via either high-speed train or bus and it's well worth the effort—especially if ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 53 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jessy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Yuki, our guide during the kyoto morning tour, was really good. She explained everything very well in English. The 3 stops were great except for the crowds at golden pavilion. The nara afternoon tour was also educational and we even saw cherry blossoms in full bloom at todaiji temple. KC, our guide, was really fun. A great experience to remember!

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

Keith L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour is long but well worth the time. We got through a lot of territory that would have been impossible to get through on your own. The guides were easy to listen to and very knowledgeable with great sense of humor. I highly recommend this tour for those who would like to experience Kyoto and Nara in one days time.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

gwapocat Philippines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Breathtaking Nara! It was great. Make sure you don't book on a holiday, to avoid the crowds and heavy traffic.

Doing what: Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine from Osaka

Kim A D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Amazing tour :)

Love the tour guide person he was very funny and energetic.

Tour to Nara was great such a lovely place. It was good we enjoyed it. Highly reccommended.

Thank you

Anne

Doing what: Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine from Osaka

Shayan Dominic P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was excellent, and covers all aspects in the 11 hours. The guide was excellent and was very informative and caring of all passengers. He was of great assistance which was a huge bonus as we were able to ask many questions and further understand the culture of Kyoto and Nara. A wonderful tour for anyone wishing to see Kyoto and Nara in a day. Thank you Viator I would choose your tours again.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

San San Doris H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

It was my 1st viator tour/trip to osaka! Myself and mum truly enjoyed this 1 day kyoto/nara tour. The Eng guide was professional and informative. The only neg feedback is the pickup guide - she is friendly and helpful but she walks too fast! Should be mindful if there is oldie in the tour.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

Patrick Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

From the time I booked my tour, to the actual tour itself, I was impressed with the efficiency professionalism of the entire operation. The booking process was easy and I appreciated the follow-up emails from Viator.

When I arrived at the Granvia Hotel, my pick-up point to start the tour, I found the tour operators to be well organized, professional and friendly. All the staff that I came in contact with more than met my expectations of what I expect from a professional tour company.

I truly appreciated their punctuality and their candor about everyone really needing to pay attention to time schedules. My tour guides were extremely knowledgeable about what we were seeing, and I also appreciated the extra they provided, especially the stories.

At the end of the tour, when taking the train from Nara back to Osaka, my guide provided excellent information to me on how to get to my hotel because I would be getting off the train before Osaka Station.

I will recommend Viator and the tour operator to others, and would not hesitate to book another tour with you. Thanks for making my Osaka, Kyoto and Nara trip very enjoyable.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

MARIA SUYEN M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

really enjoyed the tour. the tourist guides were very friendly and accomodating. they were also very helpful from the meeting place at the Granvia Hotel, the bus and train stations to the Shinsaibashi area even after the tour- teaching us where to go and what to look for. we really enjoyed the historical sites and the kids didnt get bored. they were so happy with the encounters with the deers at the deer park in Nara. the lunch was good and even kid friendly. the tour was in over-all excellent and we will surely book again with you. thanks for the experience.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

Dianne B Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We met our guide at a hotel in Osaka where he explained our itinerary for the tour. We proceeded to the train station where we all caught a train to Kyoto. We were dropped off by bus to another hotel and met up with other people joining the tour. We began the morning part of the tour, which we found to be a bit rushed. I understand we had to be quick, otherwise we would not have fitted everything in. After the morning tour we were taken to a restaurant for lunch which was traditional Japanese food beautifully presented. After lunch we were back on the bus and headed out to Nara for our afternoon tour, so glad we did the day tour and not just the morning or afternoon tour. We had a sleep in the bus on the way to Nara, then off to visit the shrine and temple which was amazing. Our guide was most informative and his jokes were quite entertaining. His English was good and he explained a lot about the Japanese culture which gave us a better understanding of the tour. I highly recommend this tour. If you have time make sure you do the whole day as I would not have wanted to miss any part of this tour.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

Elna Philippines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Hubby and I really enjoyed this tour which allowed us to visit best sites in Kyoto and Nara. Our guide speaks really good English and very funny with her good sense of humor.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

Yvonne Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

this is an excellent tour. You get to see the highlights of Kyoto and Nara. The quality of service is top notch, as you would expect from the Japanese. Highly recommend it. You won't be disappointed.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

Francis H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

The gentleman who led us from the meeting point at the hotel to the bus, Mr. Yamamoto (?) is awesome in taking care of us! He is one of the best tour guides! Thanks so much.
In general, the Kyoto tour is worth the money with sightseeing tours, lunch, visiting famous places in Kyoto and Nara.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

Marie P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Awesome, well-paced tour. The tour guide, Yoshi, was great and friendly and the sights were worth seeing. The tour was on time and well worth the money. The Nara deer were adorable, but very hungry.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

Joas

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

What a fascinating tour! Since the Imperial Palace was closed on a Saturday, the alternative was still fascinating! Beautiful architecture and workmanship visiting the sights on the tour!!! The scenery were of postcard value. in spite of the crowds, the sights were just amazing! It would have been nicer to spend a few more time on each one but nonetheless, the time was enough to take in the commentary and take amazing photos for lovely memories! The deers at Nara Park were amazing!

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

Vincent H S C Malaysia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Nice 1 day tour of Kyoto and Nara from Osaka. Well organized with good English speaking guide is helpful. The lunch period was a rush, otherwise, it was a great value for money trip. A point to note, Japan's public facilities are not very friendly to children stroller if you are traveling with one!

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

Larry D Philippines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2009

Enjoyed the tour, lets you experience Japanese history and culture in a day. The tour guide spoke good English and provided a number of interesting trivia. I found the morning Kyoto tour a bit rushy, but understandable because we had to cover more ground. The afternoon Nara tour was a lot more relaxing, we were given close to 2 hours free time to walk around the Nara temple and deer park. Lunch buffet can be improved though. Cheers.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

Cindy B USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2009

I really enjoyed the trip. I was met at my hotel in the morning with an escort to help me navigate the subway and trains to get to the tour location in Kyoto. She was wonderful. The tour was great. There were many wonderful sights to see, with time to explore some at each site. It was sort of busy, with school kids at each location, but it was not a major problem. I was able to see everything without a problem. I would have liked to have had more time at the Handicraft Center, but ended up going back on my own the next day so it was fine. One of my favorite parts was the Nara Deer Park, where if you hold the biscuits up high and bow, the deer will bow to ask for a biscuit. They can be quite assertive, so you need to firm in what you will do. The larg Buddha was amazing to see. This was such a wonderful tour. I would highly recommend it. After the tour I was met by another escort in Nara that helped me to return to my hotel in Osaka. I always felt well taken care of and the guides were very knowledgable. It was one of my better experiences in Japan. I felt completely comfortable traveling on the tour as a single woman traveling alone.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

Janet P Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

Just awesome! our guide was great had a good sense of humour. Just mind the deers don't eat you at Nara.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

Mark F Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

I was met at the agreed upon time by a fantastic tour escort, who looked after me from Osaka to Kyoto. In Kyoto, the group was about 20-25 people, and we were all well looked after. Nara was fantastic, and I highly recommend this tour if you are short on time and want to see as much as possible.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

Jane C

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

A great tour, definitely worth a look. The temple and shrine are interesting and unique, and the tour gave us plenty of time to look around. The tour was well operated and the guide was helpful and spoke English well. Being able to feed and get close to the deer the shrine and temple are located within the deer park was fun and made for some great photos.
For those staying in Kyoto, it is worth trying to book the Nara tour departing from Kyoto to cut down traveling time. The tour departs Osaka to Kyoto via train on which you are not guaranteed a seat before continuing to Nara by bus.

Doing what: Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine from Osaka

P. L

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

There are many interesting places in Nara, but we had only limited time.

Doing what: Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine from Osaka

Bhushan L

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

If you are short on time and want to see best of what Kyoto and Nara has to offer then this is the tour for you. It is well organized and the guides are insightful. It was really good experience. I recommended this to my friends and they loved it to

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

Maryam A

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Hiro ,Matso oka and Yamaji these were our guides and they were so friendly and cooperative they work for the sunrise trours company which we think is the best in Japan for English speaking tours the golden temple was so beautiful the deers at the Nara temple were funny and the Nara park 20 min walk

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

Steven L

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Still i will still recommed this even thou we are not able to see the kyoto castle and nijo castle, because our tour is dec 30 but it was close for the holiday too bad but i still could like to suggest that viator advice in advance if the site suppose to visit is open or not... But im happy to visit the equally important site in kyoto and nara .....

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

hesham

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The tour was ausume. Kyoto is very beautiful city. The tour guiders are very good, kindness and helpful.

I recommend to this tour without Nara ( Kyoto full day or half day).

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message