• USD ($)
  • English
Nara, located in Japan's Kansai (Southern) region, was the country's first permanent capital city, established in the year 710 AD. Nara is easily accessible from Osaka via either high-speed train or bus and it's well worth the effort—especially if ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 29 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

really enjoyed the tour. the tourist guides were very friendly and accomodating. they were also very helpful from the meeting place at the Granvia Hotel, the bus and train stations to the Shinsaibashi area even after the tour- teaching us where to go and what to look for. we really enjoyed the historical sites and the kids didnt get bored. they were so happy with the encounters with the deers at the deer park in Nara. the lunch was good and even kid friendly. the tour was in over-all excellent and we will surely book again with you. thanks for the experience.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

Dianne B
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We met our guide at a hotel in Osaka where he explained our itinerary for the tour. We proceeded to the train station where we all caught a train to Kyoto. We were dropped off by bus to another hotel and met up with other people joining the tour. We began the morning part of the tour, which we found to be a bit rushed. I understand we had to be quick, otherwise we would not have fitted everything in. After the morning tour we were taken to a restaurant for lunch which was traditional Japanese food beautifully presented. After lunch we were back on the bus and headed out to Nara for our afternoon tour, so glad we did the day tour and not just the morning or afternoon tour. We had a sleep in the bus on the way to Nara, then off to visit the shrine and temple which was amazing. Our guide was most informative and his jokes were quite entertaining. His English was good and he explained a lot about the Japanese culture which gave us a better understanding of the tour. I highly recommend this tour. If you have time make sure you do the whole day as I would not have wanted to miss any part of this tour.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

Elna
Philippines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Hubby and I really enjoyed this tour which allowed us to visit best sites in Kyoto and Nara. Our guide speaks really good English and very funny with her good sense of humor.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

this is an excellent tour. You get to see the highlights of Kyoto and Nara. The quality of service is top notch, as you would expect from the Japanese. Highly recommend it. You won't be disappointed.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

The gentleman who led us from the meeting point at the hotel to the bus, Mr. Yamamoto (?) is awesome in taking care of us! He is one of the best tour guides! Thanks so much.
In general, the Kyoto tour is worth the money with sightseeing tours, lunch, visiting famous places in Kyoto and Nara.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Awesome, well-paced tour. The tour guide, Yoshi, was great and friendly and the sights were worth seeing. The tour was on time and well worth the money. The Nara deer were adorable, but very hungry.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

What a fascinating tour! Since the Imperial Palace was closed on a Saturday, the alternative was still fascinating! Beautiful architecture and workmanship visiting the sights on the tour!!! The scenery were of postcard value. in spite of the crowds, the sights were just amazing! It would have been nicer to spend a few more time on each one but nonetheless, the time was enough to take in the commentary and take amazing photos for lovely memories! The deers at Nara Park were amazing!

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Nice 1 day tour of Kyoto and Nara from Osaka. Well organized with good English speaking guide is helpful. The lunch period was a rush, otherwise, it was a great value for money trip. A point to note, Japan's public facilities are not very friendly to children stroller if you are traveling with one!

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

Larry D
Philippines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2009

Enjoyed the tour, lets you experience Japanese history and culture in a day. The tour guide spoke good English and provided a number of interesting trivia. I found the morning Kyoto tour a bit rushy, but understandable because we had to cover more ground. The afternoon Nara tour was a lot more relaxing, we were given close to 2 hours free time to walk around the Nara temple and deer park. Lunch buffet can be improved though. Cheers.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2009

I really enjoyed the trip. I was met at my hotel in the morning with an escort to help me navigate the subway and trains to get to the tour location in Kyoto. She was wonderful. The tour was great. There were many wonderful sights to see, with time to explore some at each site. It was sort of busy, with school kids at each location, but it was not a major problem. I was able to see everything without a problem. I would have liked to have had more time at the Handicraft Center, but ended up going back on my own the next day so it was fine. One of my favorite parts was the Nara Deer Park, where if you hold the biscuits up high and bow, the deer will bow to ask for a biscuit. They can be quite assertive, so you need to firm in what you will do. The larg Buddha was amazing to see. This was such a wonderful tour. I would highly recommend it. After the tour I was met by another escort in Nara that helped me to return to my hotel in Osaka. I always felt well taken care of and the guides were very knowledgable. It was one of my better experiences in Japan. I felt completely comfortable traveling on the tour as a single woman traveling alone.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

Janet P
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

Just awesome! our guide was great had a good sense of humour. Just mind the deers don't eat you at Nara.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

Mark F
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

I was met at the agreed upon time by a fantastic tour escort, who looked after me from Osaka to Kyoto. In Kyoto, the group was about 20-25 people, and we were all well looked after. Nara was fantastic, and I highly recommend this tour if you are short on time and want to see as much as possible.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Great tour except the trip from Osaka to Kyoto, did not enjoy the train trip and the lunch was not the normal classy place Via tours selects, it lacked the ability to interface and socially visit other tour participants. Kyoto and Nara were more than expected, great tour guide.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

We saw a lot during a short span of time. I was a little worried that we over spent on this tour since it is pricey... but considering how much it would have costs in train rides just to get from Osaka to Kyoto/Nara, convinced me that it wasn't.
If you don't mind being a little rushed in viewing everything and eating lunch... than I would totally recommend it. Tour guide was great; the food was so-so.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2012

The Kyoto tour was interesting as we were being lead by a very interesting Tour Guide, Yoshitaka Harada San. He was very expressive and joked in between during his tour, giving us a very good impression of him.
We love the Golden Pavilion, Nijo Castle and the impressive Imperial Palace. It was well explained.
Pity we did not visit Kyoto Handicrafts Centre before our lunch so we missed that Centre.

As for Nara, it was lead by Yamaguchi San. Her pace was fast but her explanation was clear and understandable. She spoke very good English. Our visit to Todaiji to see the Great Buddha was nice. We had a great time taking pictures with those deers and finally we wen to Taisha Shrine in Nara.

This tour was very good overall. Interesting and worth our money.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message