Oslo ATTRACTIONS See all

Akershus Castle & Fortress (Akershus Slott)

Akershus Castle, also known as Akershus Slott, is a historic Norwegian landmark that dates as far back as the medieval period when it was built in 1299 as a residence for the royal family. Since then it was updated and used for multiple purposes: ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 90 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

Hop-On-Hop-Off is more like "Mob-On-Mob-Off" at popular stops, especially the Vigelandsparken sculpture park. It would be helpful for the company to have a process that allows passengers to disembark before permitting others to board. Also, our driver did not announce our stops, so we missed the Viking Museum venue, which was at the top of our list. The map HOHO provided was ambiguous about the route. Our alternative was to stay on the bus for another one hour-plus loop, which our schedule did not permit.When we complained about this to the HOHO staff, they told us it was our responsibility to listen for the stops on our earphones, despite the fact that the earphones were difficult to use and the narrative was not easy to understand.

Doing what: Oslo City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This bike tour was the perfect opportunity to see all of Oslo's highlights in a few hours, especially since it's a smaller city. Curtis, our guide, was able to tell us so much about the history and culture of Norway along the way. i'm not a frequent bike rider, but he made me feel safe and comfortable and he took us through some lovely, out-of-the-way neighborhoods that i appreciated seeing. a great tour all around!

Doing what: Small-Group Oslo Bike Tour: City Highlights

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great tour. Highly recommend it.

Doing what: Small-Group Oslo Bike Tour: City Highlights

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our tour of Oslo was fantastic. Our guide was exceptionally knowledgeable. We enjoyed Norway immensely and will go back, despite the high cost of everything.

Doing what: Small-Group Oslo Bike Tour: City Highlights

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Curtis was a fantastic guide. We were lucky that it was a very small group and we were able to ask several questions and get much conversation time with him. The Vigelandsparken Sculpture Park was amazing and was certainly one of the highlights of the tour. The new Modern Art Museum and the Norway Opera House are examples of eye-catching architecture. We also pedaled around the palace grounds. The beginning of the tour was slightly uphill and the return was made easy as a result. I would recommend newcomers to experience the city this way.

Doing what: Small-Group Oslo Bike Tour: City Highlights

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

We had a great time and the guides were very friendly and told many interesting stories about Oslo and Norwegians in general. The route was suitable for everybody. We would do it again!

Doing what: Small-Group Oslo Bike Tour: City Highlights

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Got on bus at cruise terminal. Processed quickly with the prepaid voucher. Had to move several times to find an audio outlet that worked. Free WiFi worked very well. Got off at Nobel Museum. Buses came by frequently. Got a complete overview of Oslo in a short period of time.

Doing what: Oslo City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

We learned a lot and will do Hop On Hop Off when traveling again.

Doing what: Oslo City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

Audio on bus did not work changed seats but made no difference -

Doing what: Oslo City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2014

Could not understand anything the tour guide said. The headphone jacks did not work. When I asked the tour guide if I could find the painting "Scream" at the National gallery, she could not give me an answer.

Doing what: Oslo City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Easy way to see the city. Well worth the money. Bus was waiting right in front of our ship!

Doing what: Oslo City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Good tour with FREE WiFi on the bus. At the cruise boat price of $0.50/minute for internet... the bus was free.

Doing what: Oslo City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great way to get around the city from the cruise terminal. We only did 3 stops but that was all the time we had.

Doing what: Oslo City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Paul was very informative and just seemed to really twant o share his city with us. We had a baby on the back of one bike. Paul allowed for more "breaks" so the baby could stretch his legs.

Doing what: Small-Group Oslo Bike Tour: City Highlights

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

We enjoyed the convenience of the hop on hop off bus. We just wish we had more time to visit more museums. As we were on a cruise we had limited time in each port. We saw the hop on hop off buses in other cities, including Bergen, but the one for Oslo was the only one available online. It would have been nice to know that they were available in the other cities.

Doing what: Oslo City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message