• USD ($)
  • English

Oslo ATTRACTIONS See all

Akershus Castle & Fortress (Akershus Slott)

Akershus Castle, also known as Akershus Slott, is a historic Norwegian landmark that dates as far back as the medieval period when it was built in 1299 as a residence for the royal family. Since then it was updated and used for multiple purposes: ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 96 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very convenient and efficient way to see the major sites in Oslo along with good narration on the bus.

Doing what: Oslo City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Great afternoon with a nice and friendly guide.

Doing what: Small-Group Oslo Bike Tour: City Highlights

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

The tour began very well,and being met at the cruise terminal was terrific. The narration on the city was interesting and we hopped off at the Viking Museum, where it had just begun to rain. By the time we got out and wanted to continue to the Kon Tiki museum it was pouring. We ran to catch the bus and as we arrived the doors closed and we had to take a cab or drown. Thirty dollars for a 2 minute ride- no exaggeration. We hopped back on to return to the ship-and the only seat was next to the stairs. As we drove, the water cascaded down on me like Niagara Falls. I took Tour Maps, opened them and made a barrier so I wouldn't get soaked. There should be a contingency for rain. Many of the other standees were drenched as well. Great tour on a sunny day!!

Doing what: Oslo City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

Hop-On-Hop-Off is more like "Mob-On-Mob-Off" at popular stops, especially the Vigelandsparken sculpture park. It would be helpful for the company to have a process that allows passengers to disembark before permitting others to board. Also, our driver did not announce our stops, so we missed the Viking Museum venue, which was at the top of our list. The map HOHO provided was ambiguous about the route. Our alternative was to stay on the bus for another one hour-plus loop, which our schedule did not permit.When we complained about this to the HOHO staff, they told us it was our responsibility to listen for the stops on our earphones, despite the fact that the earphones were difficult to use and the narrative was not easy to understand.

Doing what: Oslo City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

Only go on this tour if you need the orientation and the transportation from one place to another. On board commentary was not really informative, and on many occasions the commentary did not correspond to the place the bus passed by. The buses are not very good. On the lower level the left side of the bus is mostly abstracted by the stair to the upper level. We had this tour when it was raining, and the roof of the bus had a leak, so the water was dripping on us. On many buses the upper level does not have windows, so the rain and wind will blow into your face. Only some of the buses have windows on the upper level.

Doing what: Oslo City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This bike tour was the perfect opportunity to see all of Oslo's highlights in a few hours, especially since it's a smaller city. Curtis, our guide, was able to tell us so much about the history and culture of Norway along the way. i'm not a frequent bike rider, but he made me feel safe and comfortable and he took us through some lovely, out-of-the-way neighborhoods that i appreciated seeing. a great tour all around!

Doing what: Small-Group Oslo Bike Tour: City Highlights

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great tour. Highly recommend it.

Doing what: Small-Group Oslo Bike Tour: City Highlights

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our tour of Oslo was fantastic. Our guide was exceptionally knowledgeable. We enjoyed Norway immensely and will go back, despite the high cost of everything.

Doing what: Small-Group Oslo Bike Tour: City Highlights

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Curtis was a fantastic guide. We were lucky that it was a very small group and we were able to ask several questions and get much conversation time with him. The Vigelandsparken Sculpture Park was amazing and was certainly one of the highlights of the tour. The new Modern Art Museum and the Norway Opera House are examples of eye-catching architecture. We also pedaled around the palace grounds. The beginning of the tour was slightly uphill and the return was made easy as a result. I would recommend newcomers to experience the city this way.

Doing what: Small-Group Oslo Bike Tour: City Highlights

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

We had a great time and the guides were very friendly and told many interesting stories about Oslo and Norwegians in general. The route was suitable for everybody. We would do it again!

Doing what: Small-Group Oslo Bike Tour: City Highlights

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Got on bus at cruise terminal. Processed quickly with the prepaid voucher. Had to move several times to find an audio outlet that worked. Free WiFi worked very well. Got off at Nobel Museum. Buses came by frequently. Got a complete overview of Oslo in a short period of time.

Doing what: Oslo City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

We learned a lot and will do Hop On Hop Off when traveling again.

Doing what: Oslo City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

Audio on bus did not work changed seats but made no difference -

Doing what: Oslo City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message