• USD ($)
  • English

Oslo ATTRACTIONS See all

Kon-Tiki Museum

The Kon-Tiki Museum is home to a variety of boats and other artifacts from the famous Thor Heyerdahl’s expeditions. Thor Heyerdahl is a Norwegian expeditionary and ethnographer who famously sailed by raft from South America to the Tuamotu Islands. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 32 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Really enjoyed this tour, got to visit quite a few museums. Unfortunately we missed the boat ride (confusion of pickup spot) but were taken in other boat to meet with group. Loved the Ski Jump and Sculpture Park - it was well thought out and very informative and all the most important places to see in Oslo are in this tour. We were happy we chose this one. Excellent time.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

I took this tour on my first day in Oslo, and it was a great starting point. The boat tour was nice, if cold (I was grateful that they had some fleece blankets on board, because the wind on the fjord was pretty chilly). I was a little disappointed that it was almost impossible to hear the tour guide at the back of the boat due to the wind and engine noise, though. The rest of the tour was very nice, if fast-paced. We saw several museums in 'highlight mode', hitting the key exhibits as we followed the schedule. It gave me a good idea of what I wanted to re-visit when I planned my remaining days, though!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

We saw so much in one day. Our guide Sandra was very kind and helpful. We had a great time. I like this combination of boat, bus and museums. The tickets for museum were included, so the price for this tour is reasonable. Highly recomended.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

A well-organized tour, The beauty of Oslo and the surroundings became familiar. Poor weather spoiled the Holmenkollen view. One comment concernig the Viator details The menu of the boat did not include a buffet of prawns shrimps for lunch, a minor detail! The acoustics in the boat was not good. The personnel very good

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2008

Tour was great. Our tour guide was pleasant and knowledgeable. Lunch was just okay.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2008

This is a well organised and good value for money tour. Has numerous stops including entry in several museums and a boat ride. If you want to see most of Oslo in 1 day this is the tour to take.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Great way to see a lot in a short amount of time. A quick bus tour around the city - which is helpful to get briefly acquainted to with getting around the city. The stop at the Holmenkollen is brief, but honestly how much time do you need to see a ski jump? Also the tour of Vigeland Park is very very short - so if you really want to walk around the park and see it, you will have to come back on your own. The viking museum was very interesting and I felt that the time allowed there was quite sufficient. The time allowed for the Polarship Museum is definitely not enough to really see it all. There are three floors with lots of information - but if your not really into reading every fact about this ship and the history behinds it's voyages, then it's fine. The Kon-Tiki museum was good - definitely didn't need more time than we were given there. All in all I felt the tour was definitely a good value for everything we went to see. A great way to see a lot in a short amount of time. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and spoke great English!

Doing what: All-Inclusive Oslo City Tour: Viking Ship Museum, Vigeland Park, Polarship Fram Museum and Kon-Tiki Museum

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

****

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

The tour was great but the cruise was a let-down.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2009

Great coverage of sailing museums didn't like the very slow harbor tour with prawns only for lunch, and having to buy a lunch drink enthusiastic tour guide and ample time for self-discovery and gift shop buying.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2008

I thoroughly enjoyed my grand tour of Oslo. The guide and the crew aboard the boat and coach were extremely friendly. The guide gave us useful tidbits of information that made the tour that much more fun. It would be nice to have more time to spend at some of the attractions like the Vigelands park, which was so scenic, or the ski jump. The time provided at the other museums was sufficient All in all, this was a great start at seeing this lovely city!

hamad
Kuwait

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

it was very nice and helpful. most beuatiful thing is you get back to first point by large wooden boat.but it was hard to find start point for trip( bus not pick us from hotel and i stayed in the center of city)

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

the tour was an excellent introduction to Oslo if you only have a short time in the city.Our only issue was the tour was supposed to leave at 10:15am so we arrived at the designated spot at 10:00am in front of pier 3 opposite the city hall. we could not find the tour bus at all. We finally found a tour kiosk and we were told no it was leaving from the other side of city hall to at 10:30am. This confusion added unnecessary stress as we thought we had missed the tour and we almost did because it left from a different spot. It would also be useful to have additional information on the tour voucher saying the name of the tour company as I was running back and forth to different buses trying to find out if it was our tour.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

Instructions on voucher not clear - we almost missed bus. We went on May 16 and instructions said "Tour departs from Pier 3, between September and May tour departs in front of City Hall". Does that include or exclude May? We ran back and forth between the two points since first two local operator Batservice employees did not know how to honor the Viator vouchers, claiming they were recently incorporated into their system and had differing opinions on what we did first (bus or boat ride). Interesting, since the tour never mentioned a boat ride. We would later find out the itinerary was different than what we purchased. It would be helpful to know where exactly you are supposed to get on the bus - in front of city hall is very vague and there are a few different buses. Helpful to know you will be looking for an HMK bus.

We paid for: 4 hour city tour, visiting "Vigeland Sculpture Park, Fram Museum, Viking Ship Museum, Kon-Tiki Museum and Holmenkollen Ski Jump ."

What we did get: Vigeland Sculpture Park, Holmenkollen Ski Jump, Viking Ship Museum and 30 minute boat ride from there back to Pier 3/City Hall area. No Fram, and no Kon-Tiki. That was disappointing as I really wanted to see Kon-Tiki and didn't have any extra time to make that trip.

That being said, the tour we did get was still informative and we saw a fair amount of Oslo in a short amount of time. We were a group of 3 between age 30 and 60 and had no problem keeping up with the pace but a word of caution - you will only get 30 minutes at each stop which means you will have to really hike it through Vigeland Park, up some stairs, etc. to make it through to the end and really need to hustle if you want to stop and take pictures. A few elderly patrons opted to stay on the bus for that portion of the tour.

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2013

Guide was a bit dull. Not much interaction with tourists.

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message